Compulsory military training for Indian Youths?

RPK

Compulsory military training: In reply to a question on compulsory military training, Mr Antony said the government is not in favour of making military training compulsory to all the youth of the country since India is a democratic republic and the Constitution does not provide for compulsory military training.
Military training to all the youth of the country may also lead to militarisation of an entire nation.
With the socio-political and economic conditions, it is highly undesirable, lest some unemployed youth trained in military skills join the ranks of undesirable elements, he said.

The Statesman:

Compulsory military service (conscription) is difficult in countries with large populations.

Because it leads to a situation where the professional soldiers end up having to "babysit" teenagers who don't really want to be there.

So Military training is a good compromise. It doesn't place additional burden the professional armed forces, and it instills discipline in the younger generation.

Not feasible in a country like India. Too large population, too much diversion of resources and effort and too little benefit, not to mention the possible negative outcomes like militancy etc.

Compulsory military service (conscription) is difficult in countries with large populations.

Because it leads to a situation where the professional soldiers end up having to "babysit" teenagers who don't really want to be there.

So Military training is a good compromise. It doesn't place additional burden the professional armed forces, and it instills discipline in the younger generation.

I hear China has military training. For everyone? What does it include?

You will train 1.25 billion people!!!:woot:

So. enemies get ready for 1.25 billion strong Indian Armed Forces(exclude me :ashamed:) :sniper:

So we can have professionally trained jihadis and maoists?

I allways wanted to join for voluntary training .. but every time i call they say they are not taking recruits

So we can have professionally trained jihadis and maoists?

dafaq are you talking about

That would be a bad idea. I am happy GOI isn't in the favour for it.
It will create more problems than the advantage it will offer.

Simple example being police will have to handle some very well trained criminals if everyone is trained.

It is good to give some very basic training and more importantly survival techniques as a part of compulsory university level education.

It should be more like disaster mgt, survival techniques, swimming etc.

I think a military training setup would be really good.

This should include activities like meditation, martial arts, rock climbing, swimming, survival techniques in forests and other remote areas, disaster management, first aid training, rescue techniques, rope climbing and other such skills.

Imagine if heavens forbid something like Uttarakhand disaster happened again, how wonderful it would be to have such additiona youths trained to handle disaster and rescue people.

Years back , my company gave a letter of intent to the state govt (Maharashtra) in which we required a peice of land to build tackle courses, dormitories and a general soccer sized field (for multi-sports). Our intent was to open up a private boot-camp area for budding youth who would want to experience de-facto military type of physical training / discipline / team sports / First Aid skills (with certificates) / water sports with life guard accredition as well. This was what it was going to be - JUST A sort of holiday BOOTCAMP with a difference . Ex military officers (retired) were on board as well as eager and active paper pushers and as team members who wanted such an idea to be of fruition in India .

After 3 years of beuracratic delays , our plan - thoroughly scrutinised and verified by various govt departments (police, Navy, MOD, Income Tax Dept et al , was rejected as (believe it or not), ".. not in the best interest of the security of India.." (to paraphrase).

I could have understood the "security" aspect if guns were involved. Ours was a "BOOTCAMP" of sorts , sans guns !!! Go figure :) Mera desh mahaan bhai aur beheno !!

Years back , my company gave a letter of intent to the state govt (Maharashtra) in which we required a peice of land to build tackle courses, dormitories and a general soccer sized field (for multi-sports). Our intent was to open up a private boot-camp area for budding youth who would want to experience de-facto military type of physical training / discipline / team sports / First Aid skills (with certificates) / water sports with life guard accredition as well. This was what it was going to be - JUST A sort of holiday BOOTCAMP with a difference . Ex military officers (retired) were on board as well as eager and active paper pushers and as team members who wanted such an idea to be of fruition in India .

After 3 years of beuracratic delays , our plan - thoroughly scrutinised and verified by various govt departments (police, Navy, MOD, Income Tax Dept et al , was rejected as (believe it or not), ".. not in the best interest of the security of India.." (to paraphrase).

I could have understood the "security" aspect if guns were involved. Ours was a "BOOTCAMP" of sorts , sans guns !!! Go figure :) Mera desh mahaan bhai aur beheno !!

That's because most of these insecure types draw conspiracy theories about how a trained youth brimming with confidence and knowledge would be a threat to babudom in the future.

Also obviously, some dumb secretary of a babu would have been told to 'deal with the situation' and he'd have done just that.

The two Rs to success learn Reading & Running. (at least for me)

Reading for knowledge and Running for character.

The army does both exceptionally well ..we should imbibe these values into our lives.