Chattagram, an orphaned city

bluesky

Bangladesh
https://www.thedailystar.net/opinion/the-grudging-urbanist/chattagram-orphaned-city-1598824
12:00 AM, July 03, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:21 AM, July 03, 2018

A large part of Chittagong city is seen flooded after consecutive days of rain. Photo: COLLECTED

Adnan Morshed

I went to Chattagram to celebrate Eid with my family. It took me two hours and a half to reach home from the city's Shah Amanat International Airport. The distance was about 10 miles. I was jubilant to reach home quicker than what I was anticipating. My sister-in-law took over four hours the previous day. This is the state of affairs in Chattagram.

While a lot of road “beautification” goes on in the city—for instance, a bizarre heat-producing concrete wave near the airport on the road median—the road itself is literally hell. People pray for enduring the punishing traffic congestion near the Export Processing Zone!

The journey from the airport to the city is one example of why Chattagram today seems like an orphaned city. Going around Porto Grande—as the Portuguese once called it for its strategic maritime location—one feels that nobody cares one bit about this city, neither the central government, nor the local. The city has no “parents” to take care of it, no guardians to champion its promises. The city seems hopelessly abandoned. Is it destined to die a slow, painful death?

Here is an example from the orphaned city. The mayor recently said: It is not the responsibility of the Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) to fix the city's waterlogging problem, but we would be happy to help out whoever tries to solve the crisis. How benevolent! When the mayor makes such a statement, it should raise a huge red flag. The city's real crisis is the lack of leadership, exacerbated by a weak civil society.

Consider the city's perennial waterlogging problem. Nobody seems to have a genuine desire to solve it. The most devastating waterlogging in Chittagong of recent times, in June 2014, should have been a wake-up call. The submerged areas of Bakalia, Chawkbazar, Agrabad, Halishahar, Kapasgola, Chandgaon, Shulakbahar, Bahaddarhat and Probartak intersection became a climate-change icon around the world.
But we know that we can't blame it on global warming and excessive rain alone. It is also a spectacular failure of the city's urban administration, or rather its absence. Four thousand years ago, the Indus Valley Civilisation probably had a better water management system!

Chattagram continues to go underwater even after moderate rain. And, the authorities in charge of the city's water management—CWASA, CCC, Bangladesh Water Development Board, Chittagong Port Authority, and Chittagong Development Authority—blame each other and shirk their responsibilities. Despite the five-stage Chittagong Storm Water Drainage and Flood Control Master Plan 1995, proposed for the period 1995–2015, the city today appears to have no plan whatsoever. Even if there is one, there is no real change on the ground.

The problem is that we don't think holistically and proactively. We just don't do it as a nation. We do reactive planning. There is a problem, and we try to come up with a solution. Rearguard planning often fails because the problematic urban DNA has already been set. For instance, in 1961, the first master plan for Chattagram was proposed with emphasis mostly on zoning maps for housing and industries, with very little consideration for drainage planning. And, since then, drainage planning has been developed, without any integration with ongoing land-use planning, and often as a reactive solution when waterlogging started to become Chattagram's constant urban problem. Politically-driven ad hoc planning made the city into a permanent band-aid urban agglomeration.

Blaming budget constraints is a popular excuse. But the real problem is nobody is owning up to the city's problems. Let's again use the “parent” metaphor. Would a parent wait to see who put his or her child in danger? The fact is that if the child is in danger he/she must be saved and protected before anything else. The self-proclaimed nagar pitas seem more eager to transform the city into a giant supermarket—market, market everywhere!

While visiting the old town recently, I wondered: What does it take to restore the Chaktai canal, the backbone of the port city's drainage system? While the city fails to revive its life-sustaining canal network, Chittagong City Corporation is happily building a mega-swimming pool (with paid membership?), sacrificing the once-picturesque outer stadium in Kajir Dewri, next to MA Aziz Stadium.

The green outer stadium used to be Chittagong's identity-shaping maidan, a sort of city centre where generations of kids played football and cricket. Thus, memories abound here. Like many other kids, I, too, learned how to play cricket in the outer stadium. Once Chattagram's famous outdoor eatery, Darul Kabab used to be located in the adjacent green patch in front of the Circuit House. That green disappeared too, because nagar pitas decided that a kitschy shishu park was the most urgent necessity for the city!

If you visit the area today, it feels like a war zone: the battle to occupy every square inch of land with buildings, shops, dumpsters, noise, and greed. There is no polis, only people, chaos, congestion, and the spectre of disaster.

What did this city of rich history, unique geography, and immense tourism potentials do to deserve this state of despair?

The uniqueness of its land-water topography, its historic origin, its local dialect, its multi-faith social amalgamation, its history of anti-British movement, its Porto Grande global attraction through the ages—all reminds us today how we have failed this city. Would we think for a second how the Chinese traveler poet Hsuan Tsang's 7th-century depiction of the city as “a sleeping beauty emerging from mists and water” was a reference to Chittagong's hilly idyll? Where are the hills today? These days we learn about the city's hills only when landslide kills the urban poor living in shacks at their foot or when the powerful land-mafia flatten them.

What went wrong? What did Chattagram do to deserve this? With a population of about eight million, Chattagram is Bangladesh's second largest city, and the main seaport of Bangladesh. The city hosts about 9.4 percent of the country's urban population and nine percent of urban economic establishments. The port city enables about 75 percent of the country's total exports and 80 percent of total imports. Its GDP contribution is about 12 percent.

Yet, about 30 percent waste in the city remains uncollected. Streets stink and the city quite literally becomes a “smellscape.” We can't expect to attract foreign investment in a city where garbage rots on streets for days. CWASA supplies only about 40 percent of the city's water need. Only about two percent of waste is recycled. Have you seen a functional traffic light in Chattagram recently? I haven't. Does this sound like the “financial capital” of the country?

The problem is not that we don't have technical solutions or financial means. We do. We have technical examples from other countries that worked. Let's not forget that we are now building a tunnel under the Buriganga River. The real problem is leadership. Chattagram lacks city leaders who would go to bed at night thinking about a problem and wake up thinking about the same problem. This is the type of passionate ownership of a problem that leads to solutions. Unless somebody owns up to the problem, the city will continue to degenerate. This is where Anisul Haque seemed like a new type of urban leader in Bangladesh. We need serious city leadership in Chattagram and a vocal civil society.

Chittagong is where Dhaka was 10 years ago. Their development projects are doing more harm than good.

I was quite enthusiastic when I read about the Taka5,600 Crore project to rid the Chittagong City of waterlogging. The writer here is very pessimistic in his thoughts about this. I was wondering why did not he mention the big project? Does not he know about it? Then I started to find information from other sources and now I understand why he or the Chittagong people are so pessimists.

Please read the feature below to know that the government initiative is too late and too little to alleviate the city from its waterlogging curse. The BAL govt. is more interested in circulating the state money to its cronies than to solve this issue. Read the feature below about the reality of the project. I am really heartbroken after reading this account. Now, I feel no reason to believe that the country will not remain an underdeveloped one.

http://www.theindependentbd.com/arcprint/details/110790/2017-08-23
23 August, 2017 00:00 00 AM
Project to solve Ctg waterlogging ‘flawed’
Shamsuddin Illius, Ctg

A Tk. 5,616-crore project of the Chittagong Development Authority (CDA) to ameliorate the perennial problem of water-logging in the port city has not followed the updated drainage master-plan of the Chittagong Water Supply and Sewerage Authority (CWASA), said experts.

Experts have expressed apprehensions that if the drainage master-plan is not followed, Chittagong will not be fully rid of water-logging. CWASA had designed the drainage master-plan in 2016 to resolve the problem of water-logging in Chittagong.

The CWASA drainage master-plan contains a proposal to excavate 57 canals of the city and remove 14 lakh cubic metres of waste matter and soil from these canals. But the CDA’s plan has proposed to excavate only 36 canals and remove just 9.5 lakh cubic metres of waste matter and soil from these canals.

The CWASA master-plan intends to set up 24 tidal regulators at the mouth of 24 canals that enter the Karnaphuli and Halda, but in its plan, the CDA has proposed to set up only 12 water-regulators at the mouths of 12 canals that enter these rivers.

The experts fear that if the mouths of 12 canals remain open, tidal waters could enter the city, inundating it under tidal and rainwaters. This would be more likely to exacerbate the problem of water-logging instead of deriving benefits from the project.

CDA executive engineer Ahmed Moinuddin said, “Though 57 canals are mentioned in the drainage master-plan, considering the importance of our project, we recommended 36 canals. Basically, water-logging is created in the city because of the 36 canals. We will build 24 tidal regulators. Some of these would be built by the Bangladesh Water Development Board. Thanks to the shortage of space, the sizes of the silt-traps have been reduced.”

The CWASA drainage master-plan has proposed to construct 100km of new drains while the CDA plan has proposed to construct only 10km of new drains. In its plan, CWASA said it intends to construct nine surface sluice-gates, but this is not included in the CDA’s plan.

In the drainage plan, it has been proposed that 500km of drains would be cleaned on a regular basis, 39km of unpaved drains would be made concrete and 10-sq.-km slabs would be constructed on drains and canals in populated and hilly areas.

But the CDA has proposed to clean only 302km of drains on a regular basis and expand 15 drains. Again, it did not include the construction of slabs on drains and canals as part of its project.

Apart from this, the CWASA drainage plan includes a proposal to clean the 2.90-km box culvert of Sheikh Mujib Road, but the CDA has not included this in their project.

According to the recommendation of the drainage master-plan, a suggestion has been made to rebuild 21 narrow bridges and nine silt traps and to build 13 new silt-traps, the size of each of which is set at 2,650 sq. m. However, the CDA proposes to construct 48 bridges, six culverts and 48 silt-traps. The size of each silt-trap would be 1,080 sq. m.

To derive the benefits of the water-logging project, the CDA should follow the recommendations of the drainage master-plan, said an engineer, Humayun Kabir, who was involved in the design of the CWASA drainage master-plan as an expert.

“If the excavation of canals is not done and simultaneously tidal regulators are not implemented, the city will get inundated under tidal waters,” warned Kabir, who is a former chief engineer of the Bangladesh Water Development Board (BWDB).

He said, “The CDA has excluded many of the recommendations of the master-plan and added some more. But we don’t know from where they have added these. We assume they will apply the recommendations of the drainage master-plan during the implementation of the project.”

On August 9, the Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) approved a project involving Tk. 5,616.50 crore to ameliorate the problem of perennial water-logging in Chittagong.

The proposed project will be implemented by June 2020. With the approval of the ‘canal re-excavation, extension, renovation and development to resolve water-logging in Chittagong city’, the government has directed that the project be implemented in an integrated manner.

The local government and rural development (LGRD), housing and public works and water resources ministries and the Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) are part of the project. The CDA alone has not been made responsible. Following the directions of LGRD minister Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain on August 12 and August 14, the CCC, CDA and CWASA held two review meetings.

In the observations of the meetings, it was mentioned that in the CDA’s project, the recommendations of the CWASA’s drainage master-plan were not properly followed. CCC mayor AJM Nasir Uddin will hand over the observations of the meetings to the LGRD minister.

Mayor AJM Nasir told media-persons that the agencies are responsible for ensuring the benefits of the projects reach the citizens, for whom Prime Minister has approved the project. So, the project should be taken up on the basis of the experts’ suggestions. Otherwise, there will be doubts over the benefits to be derived from these projects.

Now, if there are limitations on the CDA project, the project would have to be implemented after taking these into consideration and with coordination between various agencies. This is required to ensure that the city’s residents get rid of water-logging.

Town planner Prof. M Ali Ashraf told The Independent, “To derive the benefits from the project, the entire department that is involved should coordinate it.

If anything has been dropped, the CDA can include it. For this, the higher echelons of government should issue directions to form a mechanism with a clear set of guidelines. Coordination is essential: without coordination, it would not be possible.”
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Low-lying areas of the port city of Chattogram was submerged on Tuesday after overnight rains. This photo of public sufferings due to waterlogging was taken in Chawkbazar area. It is a bdnews24.com photograph taken on 3 July 2018.

Photo: Sumon Babu

Water-logging-Chittagong-030718-3.jpg

Years after years they are duct taping this problem. Total wast of money while worsening the situation. We need an effective and long lasting solution.

Well. There’s a reason why you make roads with slight gentle slopes and have good drainage, instead it’s all ultra flatly made. Especially when some areas are low-laying.

Other than if building city or town in the CHT on around hills and mountains. Sylhet City has the best potential in BD to be a city free from floods. Most part of Sylhet City is on the higher ground away from natural floods, only any floods arises due to drain blockage from heavy rain. Otherwise most areas I know are on sloppy, hilly sides. Theres no chance of it being underwater the slopes will divert waters down streams. It needs good drainage like any others do.

The CWASA master-plan intends to set up 24 tidal regulators at the mouth of 24 canals that enter the Karnaphuli and Halda, but in its plan, the CDA has proposed to set up only 12 water-regulators at the mouths of 12 canals that enter these rivers.

Years after years they are duct taping this problem. Total wast of money while worsening the situation. We need an effective and long-lasting solution.
An effective and long-lasting solution requires so many things. Take the case of providing regulators at the mouths of the canals. CDA has finalized only 12 regulators when the requirement is 24. I give you a normal explanation. Think of a bucket with 24 holes. You plug 12 holes only. It means water will sprinkle out through the unplugged 12 holes.

But, what are the holes I am talking about? Note that the BoB has a very high and low tide (জোয়ার এবং ভাটা). BoB water rushes to Karnafuli during the high tides and raises the water level by more than 4 meters. If so, it is obvious that the flood water from the city cannot be flushed out to Karnafuli by gravity. Flushing out of flood water requires all the canals to be fitted with regulator, water gate and pump station. Without these the high Karnafuli water will rush into the unplugged 12 canals.

But, the govt plan is to build only 12 regulators instead of the required 24. There are many other flaws in the Tk5,600 crore project undertaken by the govt. I do not think Chittagong waterclogging issue will subside with the present project. Govt people in BD have very low IQ and they lack vision. Similar thing happened also in the Teesta Barrage project.

@Hasan89

An effective and long-lasting solution requires so many things. Take the case of providing regulators at the mouths of the canals. CDA has finalized only 12 regulators when the requirement is 24. I give you a normal explanation. Think of a bucket with 24 holes. You plug 12 holes only. It means water will sprinkle out through the unplugged 12 holes.

But, what are the holes I am talking about? Note that the BoB has a very high and low tide (জোয়ার এবং ভাটা). BoB water rushes to Karnafuli during the high tides and raises the water level by more than 4 meters. If so, it is obvious that the flood water from the city cannot be flushed out to Karnafuli by gravity. Flushing out of flood water requires all the canals to be fitted with regulator, water gate and pump station. Without these the high Karnafuli water will rush into the unplugged 12 canals.

But, the govt plan is to build only 12 regulators instead of the required 24. There are many other flaws in the Tk5,600 crore project undertaken by the govt. I do not think Chittagong waterclogging issue will subside with the present project. Govt people in BD have very low IQ and they lack vision. Similar thing happened also in the Teesta Barrage project.

@Hasan89

Why are you so negative all the time?
So what is being done is not enough, does not mean that the rest cannot be done afterwards.
BD has limited resources and so cannot pour the required funds to completely alleviate water logging in Chittagram in one go.
I wish you would think a bit more before posting.

Why are you so negative all the time?
So what is being done is not enough, does not mean that the rest cannot be done afterwards.
BD has limited resources and so cannot pour the required funds to completely alleviate water logging in Chittagram in one go.
I wish you would think a bit more before posting.
But, why do you always inhibit others from expressing his mind? I will report if you do it again. Please keep on writing your own Chetona thinking without giving any thought to the reality on the ground. Read the two features I have posted. When all the educated people are writing the reality, you are here to show off your profound knowledge when you do not have any such thing. Just shut up your mouth, will you? This forum is not your father's property. Yet, you are bent on sending trash and destroying every thread.

Please report my post if you think it breaks any forum rules.

But, stop whining like an old toothless ugly woman, idiot. It is also time that you learn some manners that your parents failed to teach you.

We
https://www.thedailystar.net/opinion/the-grudging-urbanist/chattagram-orphaned-city-1598824
12:00 AM, July 03, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:21 AM, July 03, 2018

A large part of Chittagong city is seen flooded after consecutive days of rain. Photo: COLLECTED

Adnan Morshed

I went to Chattagram to celebrate Eid with my family. It took me two hours and a half to reach home from the city's Shah Amanat International Airport. The distance was about 10 miles. I was jubilant to reach home quicker than what I was anticipating. My sister-in-law took over four hours the previous day. This is the state of affairs in Chattagram.

While a lot of road “beautification” goes on in the city—for instance, a bizarre heat-producing concrete wave near the airport on the road median—the road itself is literally hell. People pray for enduring the punishing traffic congestion near the Export Processing Zone!

The journey from the airport to the city is one example of why Chattagram today seems like an orphaned city. Going around Porto Grande—as the Portuguese once called it for its strategic maritime location—one feels that nobody cares one bit about this city, neither the central government, nor the local. The city has no “parents” to take care of it, no guardians to champion its promises. The city seems hopelessly abandoned. Is it destined to die a slow, painful death?

Here is an example from the orphaned city. The mayor recently said: It is not the responsibility of the Chittagong City Corporation (CCC) to fix the city's waterlogging problem, but we would be happy to help out whoever tries to solve the crisis. How benevolent! When the mayor makes such a statement, it should raise a huge red flag. The city's real crisis is the lack of leadership, exacerbated by a weak civil society.

Consider the city's perennial waterlogging problem. Nobody seems to have a genuine desire to solve it. The most devastating waterlogging in Chittagong of recent times, in June 2014, should have been a wake-up call. The submerged areas of Bakalia, Chawkbazar, Agrabad, Halishahar, Kapasgola, Chandgaon, Shulakbahar, Bahaddarhat and Probartak intersection became a climate-change icon around the world.
But we know that we can't blame it on global warming and excessive rain alone. It is also a spectacular failure of the city's urban administration, or rather its absence. Four thousand years ago, the Indus Valley Civilisation probably had a better water management system!

Chattagram continues to go underwater even after moderate rain. And, the authorities in charge of the city's water management—CWASA, CCC, Bangladesh Water Development Board, Chittagong Port Authority, and Chittagong Development Authority—blame each other and shirk their responsibilities. Despite the five-stage Chittagong Storm Water Drainage and Flood Control Master Plan 1995, proposed for the period 1995–2015, the city today appears to have no plan whatsoever. Even if there is one, there is no real change on the ground.

The problem is that we don't think holistically and proactively. We just don't do it as a nation. We do reactive planning. There is a problem, and we try to come up with a solution. Rearguard planning often fails because the problematic urban DNA has already been set. For instance, in 1961, the first master plan for Chattagram was proposed with emphasis mostly on zoning maps for housing and industries, with very little consideration for drainage planning. And, since then, drainage planning has been developed, without any integration with ongoing land-use planning, and often as a reactive solution when waterlogging started to become Chattagram's constant urban problem. Politically-driven ad hoc planning made the city into a permanent band-aid urban agglomeration.

Blaming budget constraints is a popular excuse. But the real problem is nobody is owning up to the city's problems. Let's again use the “parent” metaphor. Would a parent wait to see who put his or her child in danger? The fact is that if the child is in danger he/she must be saved and protected before anything else. The self-proclaimed nagar pitas seem more eager to transform the city into a giant supermarket—market, market everywhere!

While visiting the old town recently, I wondered: What does it take to restore the Chaktai canal, the backbone of the port city's drainage system? While the city fails to revive its life-sustaining canal network, Chittagong City Corporation is happily building a mega-swimming pool (with paid membership?), sacrificing the once-picturesque outer stadium in Kajir Dewri, next to MA Aziz Stadium.

The green outer stadium used to be Chittagong's identity-shaping maidan, a sort of city centre where generations of kids played football and cricket. Thus, memories abound here. Like many other kids, I, too, learned how to play cricket in the outer stadium. Once Chattagram's famous outdoor eatery, Darul Kabab used to be located in the adjacent green patch in front of the Circuit House. That green disappeared too, because nagar pitas decided that a kitschy shishu park was the most urgent necessity for the city!

If you visit the area today, it feels like a war zone: the battle to occupy every square inch of land with buildings, shops, dumpsters, noise, and greed. There is no polis, only people, chaos, congestion, and the spectre of disaster.

What did this city of rich history, unique geography, and immense tourism potentials do to deserve this state of despair?

The uniqueness of its land-water topography, its historic origin, its local dialect, its multi-faith social amalgamation, its history of anti-British movement, its Porto Grande global attraction through the ages—all reminds us today how we have failed this city. Would we think for a second how the Chinese traveler poet Hsuan Tsang's 7th-century depiction of the city as “a sleeping beauty emerging from mists and water” was a reference to Chittagong's hilly idyll? Where are the hills today? These days we learn about the city's hills only when landslide kills the urban poor living in shacks at their foot or when the powerful land-mafia flatten them.

What went wrong? What did Chattagram do to deserve this? With a population of about eight million, Chattagram is Bangladesh's second largest city, and the main seaport of Bangladesh. The city hosts about 9.4 percent of the country's urban population and nine percent of urban economic establishments. The port city enables about 75 percent of the country's total exports and 80 percent of total imports. Its GDP contribution is about 12 percent.

Yet, about 30 percent waste in the city remains uncollected. Streets stink and the city quite literally becomes a “smellscape.” We can't expect to attract foreign investment in a city where garbage rots on streets for days. CWASA supplies only about 40 percent of the city's water need. Only about two percent of waste is recycled. Have you seen a functional traffic light in Chattagram recently? I haven't. Does this sound like the “financial capital” of the country?

The problem is not that we don't have technical solutions or financial means. We do. We have technical examples from other countries that worked. Let's not forget that we are now building a tunnel under the Buriganga River. The real problem is leadership. Chattagram lacks city leaders who would go to bed at night thinking about a problem and wake up thinking about the same problem. This is the type of passionate ownership of a problem that leads to solutions. Unless somebody owns up to the problem, the city will continue to degenerate. This is where Anisul Haque seemed like a new type of urban leader in Bangladesh. We need serious city leadership in Chattagram and a vocal civil society.

Were you travelling to Chattagram after long time? Please tell us more about the demographic of this city and its population. Thanks

We

Were you travelling to Chattagram after long time? Please tell us more about the demographic of this city and its population. Thanks
Better do not worry about Chittagong demography if you have nothing to contribute to the discussion.