Change in Punjab

So what are you trying to say? is there any one who can control the forces of nature? show me one country

lack of proper governance, and failure to develop cities with proper planning are the main reasons why 2-3 hours rain floods the whole city and turn it into Venice.

and for floods, its basically failure to make reservoirs and Dams,they & dictators both responsible.

CLBjqnqUsAEnCeG.jpg

You didn't notice UNGLI of Hamza Shahbaz :rofl:

11813359_1212169808796853_1812322356600706151_n.jpg

Peshawar Ko Lahore jysa bananay ka azm to khud Khattak sahib NY assembly KY floor par Kia tha :lol:
but not like shoobaz way :cheesy:

You didn't notice UNGLI of Hamza Shahbaz :rofl:

11813359_1212169808796853_1812322356600706151_n.jpg

hahahhaha :rofl:

Nukta cheeni ni hia haqeeqat hai sir g 90 din ki tabdeeli or 2 saal me bht Farq hota hai can't even remove the encrochments in 2 years

Encroachments to blame for casualties, destruction during floods: K-P CM
Encroachments to blame for casualties, destruction during floods: K-P CM - The Express Tribune

read my post again heavy rains is the cause of the Flood every year and that to some areas of Lahore not all of Lahore... You can even see Islamabad Flooded sometimes when it rains heavy ..... The thing is they need to build the flood canal for rain water to Leave the city something like this... Only Sewerage system is not Enough for such water to leave the roads and result is flood.... But who is ready to leave their house or shops ?? people will not give their land to government ?? can you give a better solution please en-light me with that....

so what shoobaz is doing for last 26 years building metro or photoshoot in rain every ****ing time

its been 70 years flood came leader fly helicopter take pictures army send helicopter aid and then wait for next year . cant these guys make damn dams or public ask them for it ? her sal yehi drama

Pakistan is fortunately and unfortunately a flood plain for mighty Indus system. This plain makes our lands fertile but also inundates them during monsoon.

This cycle has been going on for 1000s of years and no one can control them. We can only reduce its impacts by declaring certain areas as HIGH flood zones (almost 60% of areas).

Anyone living in HIGH flood zone is on his own. you cannot expect taxpayers to bail out those who take risks beyond certain level.

You can't just tell a crores of people to move to other places on their own and leave everything behind...

And taxpayers money goes to the national exchequer, to be used in exactly such circumstances and for the welfare of the under-priveleged.

Once that money has gone to the federal government, you can't choose who it goes to.

You can't just tell a crores of people to move to other places on their own and leave everything behind...

And taxpayers money goes to the national exchequer, to be used in exactly such circumstances and for the welfare of the under-priveleged.

Once that money has gone to the federal government, you can't choose who it goes to.

Once we declare an area as 10 foot flood zone, then anyone building a house there should be asked to have 10 feet clearance for a shelter. Doesn't matter who provides it. taxpayers or people themselves.

The idea is to know ahead of time for every property owner as to what he is getting into.

Once we declare an area as 10 foot flood zone, then anyone building a house there should be asked to have 10 feet clearance for a shelter. Doesn't matter who provides it. taxpayers or people themselves.

The idea is to know ahead of time for every property owner as to what he is getting into.

Any such examples of where an area has been declared a 10 foot flood zone and people still keep on building?

People know them already. Most of the areas flooded this years have been flooded once or more within last 10 years

Only the educated elite in the cities do not know

So perhaps you and I should o form and NGO and put the data in computer.

People know them already. Most of the areas flooded this years have been flooded once or more within last 10 years

Only the educated elite in the cities do not know

So perhaps you and I should o form and NGO and put the data in computer.

So I am an educated elite? hehe

Sir jee, my family lives besides river Chenab in Gujrat district in a village consisting of around 50 homes, we have rice and wheat fields and every year they flood...

No previous warning by admin, no electricity for 14 hours a day, no rescue apparatus...and we all get flooded.

Has the government warned anyone officially and made arrangements? No.

That is why now we had to raise the whole house by 3 feet to prevent frequent flooding.

So you can't blame the people for living there.

Adha Punjab kasoorwar hai is tarah sir jee.

Flood kaya swereage se nikla hay? If Peshawar had faced the quantum of rain that poured in Lahore, things could have been far worse.
Nah so you are comparing the floods in kpk to a few rainfalls . Really and not pointing the finger at the incompetant punjab govvt . Really!!!!!

So I am an educated elite? hehe

In my book you are!
unless you prove me wrong. :-)

Sir jee, my family lives besides river Chenab in Gujrat district in a village consisting of around 50 homes, we have rice and wheat fields and every year they flood...
that means your family has chosen out of free will to live in a flood zone.

That was my point. If we know area xyz is getting flooding every rainy season, then it is? what?

Not safe to live in (period).

However flood zones are incredibly fertile and thus excellent to grow wheat or rice or pretty much every crop,.

So what should be done?

A government baboo to come by and tell you that your house will be flooded this year. Naaaaaah!

you know it already. So as you guys did. Raise your house 3-5 feet.

Now to the serious issue of warnings. I believe unless levies (bundh) breaks, flood waters do not rise by 10 feet in 1 hour

Thus giving ample time to move animals, and food up a higher level .

It is time we quit crying about government baboos when we know flash floods are hard to predict,

but Chenab I believe is not flash flooded. and the water rises at rather slower pace.

I have observed this phenomenon in Western countries. There no insurance company would cover your property if it lies in a flood zone.

Nah so you are comparing the floods in kpk to a few rainfalls . Really and not pointing the finger at the incompetant punjab govvt . Really!!!!!

Why is this tendency among Imrania sect and Nawazia sect to fork each other all the time .

Why?

In my book you are!
unless you prove me wrong. :-)

Educated, yes. Elite, far from it! :)

that means your family has chosen out of free will to live in a flood zone.

Since 1947, it's an ancestral land, people can't just leave it like that. And if they do leave it, then go where? Not exactly a whole lot of options left. There are ancestral graveyards, lands, homes, businesses, baradari etc...people can't leave them that easily. Especially without government support or incentives.

That was my point. If we know area xyz is getting flooding every rainy season, then it is? what?

Not safe to live in (period).

And my point is that instead of telling half of Punjab to move elsewhere, improve your flood management system and response system, and try to mitigate disaster. You can't completely wipe it, but you can at least be prepared.

However flood zones are incredibly fertile and thus excellent to grow wheat or rice or pretty much every crop,.

So what should be done?

A government baboo to come by and tell you that your house will be flooded this year. Naaaaaah!

you know it already. So as you guys did. Raise your house 3-5 feet.

Why can't it be done? This is the electronic age. Mobile SMS, Radio, TV, anything can be done.

Not everyone is so resourceful to have enough money to raise their homes.

Now to the serious issue of warnings. I believe unless levies (bundh) breaks, flood waters do not rise by 10 feet in 1 hour

Thus giving ample time to move animals, and food up a higher level .

Agree with you on that on the basis of what I have seen

It is time we quit crying about government baboos when we know flash floods are hard to predict,

No one is singling out the baboos, but at least they should play their part and take responsibility.

The correct people who you should be giving this advice to is those who populate the Leh Nullah and embed their foundations right in the water way...

Every other year we get houses taken away or damaged...but people don't learn.

Now that is stupidity.

Educated, yes. Elite, far from it! :)

you are truly a humble person Sir. my salute to you.

So what should be done?

Why can't it be done? This is the electronic age. Mobile SMS, Radio, TV, anything can be done.

the answer is right there. Please make a trip upriver to the next village and town before next year's flood season

exchange 4-5 mobile numbers to few reps there. and ask them to sms you flood levels.

They can do the same by coordinating with the next village/town upriver

And in no time you have a private and efficient network to provide and spread flood info in a timely fashion..

Self help is always better than something given by the government baboos

Peace

Uniform is also changed with *Tabdeeli*... Atleast he is not wearing *neeele wale lambe jooote* *khaaki shalwar qameez* and *Safaid Topi*