Can India solve its waste and sanitation problems by 2019?

why bring Pakistan into this???
don't like the thread ignore and move on
anyways from the article in your link
" in Pakistan, specifically; 43 million people remain deprived of toilets "
that makes it 20-25% of the whole population
with over 600 million in Indian that makes it over 50%

no :)

khud andhe ho aur hume rasta dikhane chale....

and the reason y he pointd of ur country is cause in evr single indian thread be it mars or any othr thread u bring same toilet issue...
and atleast we are man enuf to except our problm unlike othr hypocrites...
so first solve your countries sanitation issues then point at us...!

Aannnd here comes the Indo-Pak shit-shovelling competition... by the way, both the articles you linked to show that Pakistan is better off when compared to India, percentage-wise about 20% of Pakistanis lack toilets while that figure is 45-50% in India.
There is no doubt that India has achieved more than Pakistan in certain areas but there is no doubt that Pakistan is better off in others.
With great populations come great power and great problems, India.

That's Pakistani newspaper claiming 44% Pakistanis don't have toilet, why complaining to me. :wacko:
i am quoting the same article " in Pakistan, specifically; 43 million people remain deprived of toilets and are forced to defecate in the outside" now do your maths
when giving a link to prove your claim its helpful to read the whole thing not just look at the headline

khud andhe ho aur hume rasta dikhane chale....

and the reason y he pointd of ur country is cause in evr single indian thread be it mars or any othr thread u bring same toilet issue...
and atleast we are man enuf to except our problm unlike othr hypocrites...
so first solve your countries sanitation issues then point at us...!
no i don't....i posted once on a mars related thread and that was to congratulate

Well it is going to be a tough task, but the onus is on the local bodies, such as, Panchayats, muncipalitys and corporations....If these guys decides i am sure they could do it before in 2-3 years time....... But the reality is the highest corruption happens in this bodies, Since the huge money is split in to small amounts (once that is been allotted to different bodies)these corruption go unnoticed..... Even central govt cant do anything about it......

But i think it is doable........But to do that we need to over haul our system....

Over 600 million Indians defecate in the open. That’s just one obstacle for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s #SwachhBharat(link is external) campaign, aimed at cleaning India by 2019. Videos of Modi and celebrities wielding brooms have swept social media, raising public interest in sanitation. But critics question how realistic the drive is, pointing to deep-rooted social attitudes and a government focused on economic growth. So, will this campaign succeed where others have failed?
discussion on ALJAZEERA stream
Cleaning India
ISLAMABAD:
Lack of access to a clean and private toilet can expose individuals to the risk of disease. But the taboo attached to ‘toilet talk’ is the biggest hurdle in addressing sanitation issues to decrease the prevalence of diseases such as malaria, diarrhoea, cholera, typhoid and tuberculosis, which annually kill over 40,000 children in Pakistan alone.

World Toilet Day: Lack of sanitation kills 40,000 children in Pakistan annually – The Express Tribune

Wash Media -South Asia — a representative group of journalists from Pakistan has recently highlighted that approximately a fourth of the Pakistani population still defecates in the open.

Toilet facilities — a luxury for most Pakistanis – The Express Tribune

KARACHI - At least 44% of Pakistan’s population does not have access to safe toilets, while 53% women in Pakistan don’t have sanitation options with privacy.

44pc people yet to find toilets

hr.png

Aannnd here comes the Indo-Pak shit-shovelling competition... by the way, both the articles you linked to show that Pakistan is better off when compared to India, percentage-wise about 20% of Pakistanis lack toilets while that figure is 45-50% in India.
There is no doubt that India has achieved more than Pakistan in certain areas but there is no doubt that Pakistan is better off in others.
With great populations come great power and great problems, India.

44 % in total and 53 % for women of pakistan....
jab tumhare womens ke liye toilet banaonge na tab india ko sikhao ji....
karachi main yeh hal hai toh small towns main kya honga....

ISLAMABAD:
Lack of access to a clean and private toilet can expose individuals to the risk of disease. But the taboo attached to ‘toilet talk’ is the biggest hurdle in addressing sanitation issues to decrease the prevalence of diseases such as malaria, diarrhoea, cholera, typhoid and tuberculosis, which annually kill over 40,000 children in Pakistan alone.

World Toilet Day: Lack of sanitation kills 40,000 children in Pakistan annually – The Express Tribune

Wash Media -South Asia — a representative group of journalists from Pakistan has recently highlighted that approximately a fourth of the Pakistani population still defecates in the open.

Toilet facilities — a luxury for most Pakistanis – The Express Tribune

KARACHI - At least 44% of Pakistan’s population does not have access to safe toilets, while 53% women in Pakistan don’t have sanitation options with privacy.

44pc people yet to find toilets

hr.png
well again you people keep bringing Pakistan into it just read the whole thing for once
"He indicated that almost 1.1.billion people defecate in the outside and in Pakistan, specifically; 43 million people remain deprived of toilets and are forced to defecate in the outside"
in India over 600 million are forced to defecate outside
don't like the thread ignore it
want to discuss Pakistan's problems make a separate thread but don't derail this one

44 % in total and 53 % for women of pakistan....
jab tumhare womens ke liye toilet banaonge na tab india ko sikhao ji....
karachi main yeh hal hai toh small towns main kya honga....
I fail to see the difference between a woman's toilet and a man's toilet, how is that even calculated? I never saw a different kind of toilet for men and different kind for women, must be only in India.

Latest figures show 43 million Pakistanis do not have access to toilets, last time I checked Pakistan's population was 180 million.
According to the WHO:
Pakistan: 48 million Of Pakistan's 177 million people, about 48 million go where they please. But Pakistan has seen incredible gains over the past two decades, with 47 million people no longer defecating in the open.

According to UNICEF:
In Pakistan, more than 43 million people defecate in the open.
UNICEF Pakistan - Media centre - Life without Toilet has Devastating Consequences for the Health and Development of Children

According to this UN document, 55 million people are below the required sanitation standards in Pakistan. For India, it's 755 million. Also, Pakistan has 62% total sanitation, India has only 28%.
http://esa.un.org/iys/docs/san_lib_docs/Scaling Up Rural Saniltation.pdf

Numbers don't lie.

I dont think its possible but even if we get 10 percent more, I will be happy.
First of all they should build toilet for women in all govt buildings.

Under Modi's brilliant leadership, anything is possible and achievable.

India will definitely solve all sanitation issues by 2019 and become a superpower by 2020!

The govt. Can Only help in all ways
its the indian villagers and some padhe likhe zaahils who have to make sure that they want to build toilets.
And if they do so then it can happen.

During my school time back some 12-13 years, we did a project to increase awareness for sanitation facilities in rural areas(Because in urban areas we hardly found one in hundred of house without sanitation facility). There were some shocking facts that came out of it:
1. In villages a lot of people who have sanitation facility in their home don't use them.
2. A lot of people who can easily afford sanitation facility are not willing to create one in their homes.
3. A lot of people argued with us stating that going out in open increases fertility of soil.
4. We did find some very poor people who instead of having sanitation facility need some other basic things and it's not in their list.

We did convinced some of the people. But we have long way to go...

For a trolling sample - Indians defecate in open as they don't have the free hand to do so in PDF, unlike our Brothers from the west. The mods have a shoot at sight protocol for us. To maalik tatti ayegi to kaheen na kaheen to karenge naa?
On topic, @osama zafar @Green Arrow thanks for the encouraging words. We should not bring Pakistan into this as this is our problem. Sensitizing such a huge population is a mammoth task, otherwise a toilet isn't that big an investment.