Abingdonboy
Not gonna happen, GoI/MoD is too far down the road. Not to mention the IAF is in desperate need of replacing Bisons.
It is in great interest of india that it should buy mmrca and should not cancel the deal of 20 billions dollars ! India has so many hostile countries around itself and nepal and bhutan are prominent and srilanka is emerging too.. so to defend big gaps in airspace india needs valaity jets to counteract threats!! if india will spend money on mmrca i think it would make all of us happy , we want india to spoil money like that........
if people think the meduim to long term answer to PLAAF is over priced euro canards that we will need SERIOUS money and we will learn nothing ourselves.
HOW EVER painful or slow for ME both the LCA & AM,CA are or should be india,s no1 priority. SPEND the money here, buy the technology or steal it.
IT works for china and for PAF why not india
WE are too big a nation to be BUYING LOCK STOCK AND BARREL from overseas still.
Hmm... a clever Indian.
If your politicians thought this way, then today you might have already been producing indigenious alternatives to the MMRCA and keeping the money inside your own country, rather than sending it overseas.
Now this is very much a hypothetical equation..
Another 4 to 5 years are required for MKI to reach to the 270/280 mark.... Upgradation of the entire fleet of Mirage-2000 would take a time period of nine years.... Mig-29s upgradation to be completed by 2013...Tejas requires another 2 to 3 years for complete maturation...
Your figures don not match with the ground realities...
And yeah, MRCA is too expensive and too late.. US$ 158.7 ml per unit (flyaway cost/weapon system cost).Original Post By Emmie
Those dates of 2017 ARE FINE
IAF will have 270 su30mki by 2017 AS THEY have 150+ ALREADY & HAL has is assemblying 14 per year at present withy 42 SU30MK MK3 coming from russia between 2014-2017
The Jaguar & mig29 upg will be dobe by 2014 NOT 2017 and the mirage2000 upgrade runs at 6 planes per year started NOW so by 2017 36 of the 51 will be upgraded
TEJAS mk1 FOC is slated for this NEXT year AND EVEN AT ONLY 8 PLANES per year IAF will be at 40 planes by 2017
HECK 2017 is 6 years away (i know IAF is slow but surely i have been very pessimistic with my nos)
The Jaguar & mig29 upg will be dobe by 2014 NOT 2017
and the mirage2000 upgrade runs at 6 planes per year started NOW so by 2017 36 of the 51 will be upgraded
No, its the IOC-2 which is expected by mid-2012 and the final operational clearance (FOC) could be scheduled two years after that... One can't be sure of FOC, IAF can't operate Tejas until Tejas is awarded with FOC. Now what did I mention "Tejas requires another 2 to 3 years for complete maturation".TEJAS mk1 FOC is slated for this NEXT year AND EVEN AT ONLY 8 PLANES per year IAF will be at 40 planes by 2017
HECK 2017 is 6 years away
F-35 would come with lot of riders and constraints and on later stages of maintenance it will pinch us.Our fighters should operate to suit our requirements as long as they are not free of cost.
and from where the hell you got this figure of $8 billion.......MoD is all set to spend more if required.....You are thinking way too advance!
I seriously doubt that US would ever agree to sell 126 F-35 for $8 billion.
As i know bhartis are asking for ToT, local production unit, technical & operational training in US and life time maintenance, in the same price.
super duper economy ko kuch nahi hua....someone asked a question on a forum and you start jumping with joy.....and drawn all the conclusions!!!...great.Kyo akya hua super duper indian economy ko about which indians shout 24/7 on this board.if that supposed to be super duper economy cant even buy you a small plane then its a waste economy of chana zor garam babu.
I don't think it is too late by any stretch of imagination...As far as costly is concerned then talk in real terms...Compare the inflation in India vs Inflation in Europe and then get to the real number...
and from where the hell you got this figure of $8 billion.......MoD is all set to spend more if required.....