Callous rhetoric “Poor of Bangladesh still go hungry so they cross over to India”: Amit Shah’s ‘anti-Bangladeshi card’ can jeopardize ties

Dude I might have grown up abroad for overwhelming majority of my life but it is because my Father was a diplomat first for pakistan and then for Bangladesh.

My comment is not anecdotal but a reality from basicly the BD diplomatic and political circles whose second home is north west london. I grew up with the sheikh rehanas family and Ziaur Rahmans brothers family. My wider BD social circle remains the same.

Whoa lots of infos. Now i see where do you get your news from on BAF's MRCA.

Patronisation of Hindu minority is a reality of the current regime to create a favorable and capture long term the levers of power. It is a deliberate and a dangerous policy and is an issue that often comes up and is talked about.

You may have a different view from the ground and perhaps I am wrong. I do not have any problem with minority succeeding through merit, that is how it should be, best person for the job. But from what i hear that is not the case.
I don't know if there is any data publicly available that will show Bangladesh civil servants and members of the Police by their religion. Most likely there won't be any for obvious privacy reasons.

@mb444 well, BAL will certainly need majority's support. They can't last without them anyway and they are already in BAL's pocket like they always do when new party comes to rule. Few Hindus in certain higher positions can't change anything and can't help BAL if the majority doesn't. So i am gonna still consider it as speculation/conspiracy theory. Because ⤵

@leonblack08 may be a bit more specific search can help. Like which rank/position, which ministry/wing/section/zone/area/range/district/division/police station and how many. May be we can find something more clearly then. I see lots of data and news reports available on internet about IG, DIG, police super, promotion, transfer, shuffle etc.

And from those data and news reports it doesn't look anything out of ordinary (Judging by each news report-data and putting them together, both ways). One-three Hindus in some places, 14 in only one but majority are Muslims. (Newly promoted assistant police supers out of total 155 in 2018, can't find anything on how many ASPs we have in total) Doubt that those Hindus even make 2% of total officers. The percentage varies.

I am sorry that i can't share those links here cause they contain names, badge/id nos, photos, phone numbers, emails etc though their infos are on public domain (feels like i shouldn't). Data are available on home ministry, police's website. So if you want to check, kindly do it yourself. I still have those links opened in separate tabs, so if you think it's safe/ok to share then i am gonna do it. It's hard to figure out (in details) how many total officers we have in each rank and area. Forgot to add that for each promotion every police has to pass an exam AFAIK.

Again, still can't confirm if they are being favored or not. So i guess no point in argument.

Especially in Police, those with connections or are active AL politics through BCL, BJL, and the lots.

I heard about this one. This one seems possible and believable. BUT they get through the non-cadre recruitment process (From constable to sub-inspector). To apply for sub-inspector you need to be under graduate. AFAIK these recruitment process are less transparent and corrupted as bribery and leaking question paper happens often. Last time i heard they stopped the leaking of question paper for sub-inspector recruitment exam, not sure if it's still like that or not.

Typically many Hindus in Bangladesh are actively involved in BAL politics.

As expected. People think BAL is more Hindu friendly as it's closer to India than any other parties and BNP-Jamat has bad rep on treating minority. But one has freedom to choose and support any party he wants.

But various senior administrative positions like District Commissioner positions are also disproportionately Hindu.

Out 64 DCs, only two are Hindu DC. (confused about one's name but still considering him as Hindu) That's disproportionate? @mb444 @leonblack08

While in Bangladesh, under Sheikh Hasina, gigantic statues of Hindu Goddess Saraswati graces our primary seat of higher education, Dhaka University. Forget Jamaat/Hefazat attacking Hindus, Hasina's student cadre (themselves Muslim) are protecting it.

Utter BS. That's Jagannath Hall of DU. It's for minorities. Since British era Saraswati puja held every year in BD in many educational institutions including Jagannath Hall and my school. Nobody needs protection here cause nothing ever happened during this puja AFAIK.

So a couple of things to show the stark difference of tolerance between Bangladesh and India.
And then we have that low class chhotolok chandala woman go up to trump and claim that Hindus are "oppressed" in Bangladesh.
And then, concerning Hindu preference in appointments in Bangladesh, there are reports even from Indian press, that Hindus who left for land of milk and honey (India) are now returning to Bangladesh. Why would they return, if Hasina did not guarantee a better life for them??
Why do Bangladeshi Hindus say one thing (they are oppressed in Bangladesh) while doing another (returning to Bangladesh)??

Why do you keep comparing situation of Muslims in India with situation of Hindus in BD? What's the point in comparison? Should we start treating this minority badly just because of Indian Muslims cause that's what i sense from your comment judging by your previous statements and past incidents in BD. When Hindus do anything bad to Muslim in other country, some people attack our Hindu minority for revenge sometimes. This kinda attack happened before.

Just because Hindus are in better situation in BD doesn't really mean that the situation is all rosy for them under current regime.

Major incidents like Nasir Nagar, Ramu, Rana Plaza (the land was illegally occupied by BAL's own goon) etc happened during BAL rule. Before abd after Hefazot's rampage they were attacked too. (Ex- Sunamganj incident). Search with "মন্দির ভাংচুর" or "Hindu temple vandalized in Bangladesh" and see how many results you get.

Can we blame Priya Saha for crying to Trump when WE are giving her and others the chances/excuses/reasons to cry? If Hasina guarantees a better life for them then would it be wrong to say that we are responsible for it too? Perhaps Hasina has to give more attention to Hindu minority because of us, the violence and vandalism we cause. Perhaps we are pushing her to do it to save our country's image.

Why they return? Cause they can. Any rule there which dictates they can't come back? If they return because of Hasian's guarantee for a better life, should we say that they were in worse situation before under previous governments? Cause the documents say they were.

Like i said above, people think that BAL is more Hindu friendly party as it has closer relation with India. Last fifteen years rule clearly indicates that. So it's not wrong to say that they feel safe to return under BAL regime though there have been some reports of attack on Hindus.

@waz bhai and @WebMaster bhai - my posts are being deleted for being sectarian when reported by Indians and Bangladeshi Indian sympathizers at PDF. I take serious exception to these actions.

This is a huge problem in Bangladesh. Hindus appointed to top financial positions leaving the country with huge intolerable embezzlements. It is an established pattern now.

PDF moderators cannot be accessory to muzzling of these news reports -which are for information and benefit of wider Bangladeshi audience.

This is what happens when you trust a person who has more allegiance to India than to Bangladesh (regardless of religion) and is appointed as a head of a large bank. And which has been made possible by India-compliant govt. in Bangladesh.

Is 10,000 crore embezzlement and flight to Canada small change?

I guess these are examples of "Hindu Oppression" in Bangladesh.

How could Bangladesh govt. let this happen? Aren't these Hindu director appointments looked at by govt. officials before looking at flight risk?

@Atlas bhai look at this....I don't know what Tk. 10,000 crore is in US dollars. Let's do the math.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PK Halder refuses to return today
Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:13, Oct 25,2020

119908_112.jpg

Prashanta Kumar Halder

Former NRB Global Bank managing director Prashanta Kumar Halder on Saturday informed the office of the attorney general and the Anti-Corruption Commission that he would not be able to return to the country today as scheduled as he was suffering from COVID-19 symptom.

PK Halder made the U-turn two days after the company court of the High Court had asked the inspector general of the police and the ACC to arrest him immediately on his arrival at the Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka from Dubai and ensure his presence in the lower court where is wanted in a corruption case.

‘Instead of October 25, I will inform you a new date and time as soon as I become physically fit,’ said Halder in an email addressed to the International Leasing and Financial Services Limited’s managing director.

ILFSL’s lawyer Mahfuzur Rahman Milon forwarded the email to the Attorney General and the ACC lawyer Khurshid Alam Khan.

The company bench of Justice Muhammad Khurshid Alam Sarkar on October 21 allowed Halder, who had fled the country after allegedly embezzling over Tk 10,000 crore, to assist the High Court in disposing of a case filed by the International Leasing and Finance Services Limited for the recovery of the money he had borrowed from the ILFSL and other leasing companies.

The court issued the directive after hearing an application filed by the ILFSL seeking directive on the law enforcement agencies to ensure PK Halder’s ‘safe return’ to the country at 8:10am on October 25 in a flight from Dubai.

It asked the police to produce Halder before the Dhaka Metropolitan Sessions Judge’s Court in connection with a case against him filed by the ACC on January 8 for money laundering and amassing wealth worth Tk. 274.91 crore beyond any known income source.

On September 7, the bench directed the ILFSL to communicate with PK Halder through e-mail or short message service to know his flight schedule of arrival at the Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport.

The court issued the directive after hearing an application filed by the ILFSL, on behalf of PK Halder, for allowing him to return to the country and giving him security on his surrender to the court.

The court said that it wanted to keep him in its ‘safe custody’ for a limited period for the recovery of the defaulted loans.

PK Halder in a written statement to the ILFSL said that he would assist the company to recover its defaulted loans ‘if he is ensured safe arrival in Bangladesh by allowing him to surrender in the court’s custody’.

The ILFSL said that PK Halder’s return would be a ‘great achievement’ not only for company but also the financial sector for the recovery of the loans he had embezzled from different leasing companies by way of borrowing by creating fake companies.

The ACC’s anti-money laundering unit has found that PK Halder, also former managing director of Reliance Finance, and his associates embezzled at least Tk 10,200 crore from four NBFIs, including the ILFSL Using 30 organizations, owned by PK Halder and his associates, PK Halder misappropriated the money and sent a large portion to Canada, Singapore and India.

Commission officials said that PK Halder, who allegedly fled to Canada, embezzled Tk 2,500 crore from the ILFSL, Tk 2,200 crore from FAS Finance, Tk 3,000 crore from Peoples’ Leasing and Tk 2,500 crore from Reliance Finance.

On January 19, the High Court asked authorities concerned to confiscate the properties and to freeze bank accounts and passports of PK Halder and asked him not to leave the country.

The company bench also directed the Bangladesh Bank and all the private banks to seize bank accounts of the 11 shareholder directors and the top executives of ILFSL including its chairman and former Janata Bank managing director MA Hashem, managing directors Nurul Alam and Rashedul Haque, independent directors Zahirul Alam, Nasim Anwar, Bashudeb Banerjee, Momtaz Begum, Nowsherul Islam, Anwarul Kabir, Nuruzzaman and Muhammed Abul Hashem.

The court also directed the home secretary and the IGP to seize passports of the 11 directors of ILFSL to stop them from leaving the country.

This is the biggest bank heist in Bangladesh history.

These people should be jailed if not lined up and shot.

How can a Bangladeshi Citizen gain Indian citizenship so easily and transfer embezzled funds to India so easily if not being a Hindu ??

Here is another gem. Justice CJ Sinha (first non-Muslim SC judge in Bangladesh), accused of money laundering and bank embezzlement.

Unfortunately this sort of embezzlement is becoming a huge problem with non-Muslims in Bangladesh appointed to high positions, as they have little allegiance to this country.

There are many other examples...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ACC charge ex-CJ Sinha, 10 others in embezzlement, money laundering case
Tribune Desk
  • Published at 04:04 pm July 10th, 2019
SK Sinha

File photo of former chief justice Surendra Kumar Sinha Collected

The accused also include six officials of the now defunct Farmers Bank.

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) has filed a case against 11 people, including former chief justice Surendra Kumar Sinha, and six officials of the now defunct Farmers Bank Ltd, for their alleged involvement in embezzlement, and money laundering.

ACC Director Syed Iqbal Hossain filed the case with the anti-graft watchdog’s Integrated District Office-1 in Dhaka on Wednesday, ACC Secretary Mohammad Delwar Bakth told reporters.

According to case details, Justice Sinha and 10 others have been accused of embezzling Tk4 crore from Farmer’s Bank – which has since been rebranded as Padma Bank Ltd.

This is the first incident in Bangladesh’s history in which a former chief justice is being charged in a case.
The other accused are: former Farmers Bank managing director and CEO AKM Shameem, first vice-presidents Swapan Kumar Roy and Shafiuddin Askaree, senior executive vice-presidents Gazi Salauddin and Ziauddin Ahmed, and vice-president M Lutful Haque.

The other four accused, who were clients of Farmers Bank, are Md Shahjahan, Niranjan Chandra Saha, his uncle Ranajit Chandra Saha, and Ranajit’s wife Santree Roy.
Also Read- 10 Supreme Court officials, including registrar general, transferred
The ACC found that both Niranjan Chandra Saha, and M Shahjahan deposited Tk2 crore each into Sinha’s personal account in Sonali Bank, transferred from their accounts with the Farmers Bank’s Gulshan Branch, by separate pay orders in 2016.

The duo had collected the money through a loan from the same bank, which was processed illegally, and without following due process with the help of the accused bank officials.

Ranajit was allegedly a personal secretary of Sinha’s, and Ranajit and Shahjahan are childhood friends, the ACC found during its investigation.

What the accused committed is a scheduled offence under the Money Laundering Prevention Act, 2012, the case statement says.

The ACC launched an enquiry on April 25, 2018, following up on a complaint from an unknown source, who said Tk4 crore had been deposited in the bank account of former chief justice Sinha from two accounts of Farmers Bank.

The anti-graft watchdog interrogated Shahjahan and Niranjan in this regard, who said they had transferred the money to Sinha as part of the payment for a six-storey building in Uttara, which he had sold to Tangail resident Santree in 2016, their lawyers told reporters on May 6, 2018.

ACC public relations official Pranab Kumar Bhattacharya confirmed then that Shahjahan and Niranjan had been interrogated from 10am to 4pm at the ACC headquarters on May 7, 2018.

The ACC launched the investigation against Sinha four and a half months after he resigned as chief justice on November 10, 2017 amid huge controversies over the 16th amendment of the constitution.

Conflict between Sinha and government

On September 30, 2017, five judges of the Appellate Division held a meeting with President Abdul Hamid, and declared that they could not continue working with the then chief justice Surendra Kumar Sinha,
because of “11 gross allegations of money laundering, financial scams, corruption, and moral degradation” against him.

Also Read- PM: SK Sinha lost CJ post due to conflict with other judges

Two weeks later, Sinha, the first non-Muslim chief justice of Bangladesh, left the country for Australia on October 13, 2017.

I see the "Indian dalal" tag and personal attack is back again. :rolleyes: My my!! so much anger!! :lol: Aren't you diverting the topic? I thought we were discussing about Hindus getting favored in "senior positions specially in law enforcement disproportionately". So Hindu people can't be oppressed just because some of them are involved in corruption? That's how you want to prove your previous point? :lol:

If you are trying to insinuate something with these two articles on CORRUPTION then you better check how much corruptions are committed by majority of us Muslims who has houses in Begum Para and accounts in Swiss bank. I think you already know it but you won't admit it because you will loose the argument, AGAIN.
  • FYI number of loan defaulters stands at 8,238 who owed Tk 96,986.38 crore to various public and private banks till November last year. How many of them do you think are Hindus?
  • Your articles also show that there are other Muslim people involved with CJ Sinha and PK Haldar in corruption. Clearly shows that there are more Muslims than Hindus in top positions.
  • According to TIB, USD 3.1 billion or Tk 26,400 crore is being illegally remitted from Bangladesh every year. According to GFI statistics, an average amount of US$7.53 billion is laundered each year from Bangladesh through international trade, which is equivalent to Tk 640 billion. Are all these Hindus fault?
  • PK Haldar was flushed out during casino scandal. Who is the main culprit in that scam?
  • PK Haldar laundered the money through his organization's accounts and with his associates.
  • India doesn't allow dual citizenship. So PK Halder can launder the money to India by other means. Doesn't necessarily have to be an Indian citizen for that. He is living in Canada. Why don't you talk about HOW EASILY he got Canadian citizenship and laundered money to Canada and Singapore?
  • Appointing public limited company's director needs govt approval? So appointing Hindu as directors needs govt's approval? :what: Pump the racism brake Thanos!!
  • Looks like CJ Sinha's case is political as he angered Hasina (according to his own statement). Your article even shows that he had problem with others.
1619098472131.png

I see the "Indian dalal" tag and personal attack is back again. :rolleyes: My my!! so much anger!! :lol: Aren't you diverting the topic? I thought we were discussing about Hindus getting favored in "senior positions specially in law enforcement disproportionately". So Hindu people can't be oppressed just because some of them are involved in corruption? That's how you want to prove your previous point? :lol:

If you are trying to insinuate something with these two articles on CORRUPTION then you better check how much corruptions are committed by majority of us Muslims who has houses in Begum Para and accounts in Swiss bank. I think you already know it but you won't admit it because you will loose the argument, AGAIN.
  • FYI number of loan defaulters stands at 8,238 who owed Tk 96,986.38 crore to various public and private banks till November last year. How many of them do you think are Hindus?
  • Your articles also show that there are other Muslim people involved with CJ Sinha and PK Haldar in corruption. Clearly shows that there are more Muslims than Hindus in top positions.
  • According to TIB, USD 3.1 billion or Tk 26,400 crore is being illegally remitted from Bangladesh every year. According to GFI statistics, an average amount of US$7.53 billion is laundered each year from Bangladesh through international trade, which is equivalent to Tk 640 billion. Are all these Hindus fault?
  • PK Haldar was flushed out during casino scandal. Who is the main culprit in that scam?
  • PK Haldar laundered the money through his organization's accounts and with his associates.
  • India doesn't allow dual citizenship. So PK Halder can launder the money to India by other means. Doesn't necessarily have to be an Indian citizen for that. He is living in Canada. Why don't you talk about HOW EASILY he got Canadian citizenship and laundered money to Canada and Singapore?
  • Appointing public limited company's director needs govt approval? So appointing Hindu as directors needs govt's approval? :what: Pump the racism brake Thanos!!
  • Looks like CJ Sinha's case is political as he angered Hasina (according to his own statement). Your article even shows that he had problem with others.
View attachment 736454

Did someone say 'Dalal' ?!

Can't miss a beat these last couple weeks, my name being invoked in every thread..

Did someone say 'Dalal' ?!

Can't miss a beat these last couple weeks, my name being invoked in every thread..
what are you eating these days ? i heared from india you sleep hungry :lol: :P please shear your sehri and aftari pics here with my name on paper and date .

@waz bhai and @WebMaster bhai - my posts are being deleted for being sectarian when reported by Indians and Bangladeshi Indian sympathizers at PDF. I take serious exception to these actions.

This is a huge problem in Bangladesh. Hindus appointed to top financial positions leaving the country with huge intolerable embezzlements. It is an established pattern now.

PDF moderators cannot be accessory to muzzling of these news reports -which are for information and benefit of wider Bangladeshi audience.

This is what happens when you trust a person who has more allegiance to India than to Bangladesh (regardless of religion) and is appointed as a head of a large bank. And which has been made possible by India-compliant govt. in Bangladesh.

Is 10,000 crore embezzlement and flight to Canada small change?

I guess these are examples of "Hindu Oppression" in Bangladesh.

How could Bangladesh govt. let this happen? Aren't these Hindu director appointments looked at by govt. officials before looking at flight risk?

@Atlas bhai look at this....I don't know what Tk. 10,000 crore is in US dollars. Let's do the math.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PK Halder refuses to return today
Staff Correspondent | Published: 00:13, Oct 25,2020

119908_112.jpg

Prashanta Kumar Halder

Former NRB Global Bank managing director Prashanta Kumar Halder on Saturday informed the office of the attorney general and the Anti-Corruption Commission that he would not be able to return to the country today as scheduled as he was suffering from COVID-19 symptom.

PK Halder made the U-turn two days after the company court of the High Court had asked the inspector general of the police and the ACC to arrest him immediately on his arrival at the Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka from Dubai and ensure his presence in the lower court where is wanted in a corruption case.

‘Instead of October 25, I will inform you a new date and time as soon as I become physically fit,’ said Halder in an email addressed to the International Leasing and Financial Services Limited’s managing director.

ILFSL’s lawyer Mahfuzur Rahman Milon forwarded the email to the Attorney General and the ACC lawyer Khurshid Alam Khan.

The company bench of Justice Muhammad Khurshid Alam Sarkar on October 21 allowed Halder, who had fled the country after allegedly embezzling over Tk 10,000 crore, to assist the High Court in disposing of a case filed by the International Leasing and Finance Services Limited for the recovery of the money he had borrowed from the ILFSL and other leasing companies.

The court issued the directive after hearing an application filed by the ILFSL seeking directive on the law enforcement agencies to ensure PK Halder’s ‘safe return’ to the country at 8:10am on October 25 in a flight from Dubai.

It asked the police to produce Halder before the Dhaka Metropolitan Sessions Judge’s Court in connection with a case against him filed by the ACC on January 8 for money laundering and amassing wealth worth Tk. 274.91 crore beyond any known income source.

On September 7, the bench directed the ILFSL to communicate with PK Halder through e-mail or short message service to know his flight schedule of arrival at the Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport.

The court issued the directive after hearing an application filed by the ILFSL, on behalf of PK Halder, for allowing him to return to the country and giving him security on his surrender to the court.

The court said that it wanted to keep him in its ‘safe custody’ for a limited period for the recovery of the defaulted loans.

PK Halder in a written statement to the ILFSL said that he would assist the company to recover its defaulted loans ‘if he is ensured safe arrival in Bangladesh by allowing him to surrender in the court’s custody’.

The ILFSL said that PK Halder’s return would be a ‘great achievement’ not only for company but also the financial sector for the recovery of the loans he had embezzled from different leasing companies by way of borrowing by creating fake companies.

The ACC’s anti-money laundering unit has found that PK Halder, also former managing director of Reliance Finance, and his associates embezzled at least Tk 10,200 crore from four NBFIs, including the ILFSL Using 30 organizations, owned by PK Halder and his associates, PK Halder misappropriated the money and sent a large portion to Canada, Singapore and India.

Commission officials said that PK Halder, who allegedly fled to Canada, embezzled Tk 2,500 crore from the ILFSL, Tk 2,200 crore from FAS Finance, Tk 3,000 crore from Peoples’ Leasing and Tk 2,500 crore from Reliance Finance.

On January 19, the High Court asked authorities concerned to confiscate the properties and to freeze bank accounts and passports of PK Halder and asked him not to leave the country.

The company bench also directed the Bangladesh Bank and all the private banks to seize bank accounts of the 11 shareholder directors and the top executives of ILFSL including its chairman and former Janata Bank managing director MA Hashem, managing directors Nurul Alam and Rashedul Haque, independent directors Zahirul Alam, Nasim Anwar, Bashudeb Banerjee, Momtaz Begum, Nowsherul Islam, Anwarul Kabir, Nuruzzaman and Muhammed Abul Hashem.

The court also directed the home secretary and the IGP to seize passports of the 11 directors of ILFSL to stop them from leaving the country.

This is the biggest bank heist in Bangladesh history.

These people should be jailed if not lined up and shot.

How can a Bangladeshi Citizen gain Indian citizenship so easily and transfer embezzled funds to India so easily if not being a Hindu ??
Bhai, 10000 crore is equivalent to AROUND 1.18 billion USD ( 1 =85) .

Thanks @Atlas bhai.

If some person embezzled this amount of money and sent most of it to a neighboring 3rd world country (in this case India), it would make headlines in every country.

For Allah's sake, this is bigger amount than that Bangladesh Bank heist by North Korea through the Philippines connection and that indeed made headlines.

Govt. sycophants made sure no big waves were made in Bangladesh media. And none were made in world media either. Superb cover up by AL.

There should at least be accountability for this Bangladesh govt. screw up, given claims of AL people as clean and free from corruption.

As usual India supporters are saying that this type of embezzling is too common. Well I don't remember hearing about any other Bangladeshi in the media about them actually embezzling a Billion dollars. Wow.

But this person (I don't want to bad mouth this embezzler in Ramzan) got away with it, probably by paying off a few hundred million to Hasina and Modi. Not even a few peeps from the media.

This reeks of govt. high level collusion in Bangladesh and rampant actual theft of govt. money to India with the help from Indian side.

The reason I say this is that if you try to deposit anything over $10,000 in US Banks, they have strict financial regulations to trace the source of the money (money laundering regulations that prohibit ill gotten wealth through illicit means like graft and embezzlement).

The world does not run with the law of the jungle like in Bangladesh and India.

After laundering the money in India, it was sent to Canada using some BS business channel. If a big wave was made in the Canadian media, I'm sure Canadian govt. would look into it. However none was made. That request would need to be made from Bangladesh, which won't happen.

I am sure India has same money-laundering laws like this (like US and Canada) in the books. Either those laws were not applied or people were paid off with collusion of Indian govt.

Personally I thought that these RSS/BJP goons will keep their hatred of Bangladesh hidden for a while...to keep BD pacified disguising it as "friendship"...keeping BD away from going into China's camp.
...guess I overestimated @Avicenna
No. Indians despises Bangladeshis and Pakistanis equally. In some cases they hate Bangladeshis more than Pakistanis like cricket.

But Indians hate Bangladeshis not because of religion but because they believe they are superior to Bangladeshis in every sense. Even before BJP came to power during Congress rule, Indians considered Bangladeshis are someone of low status. They even criticized Bangladeshis in movies and made fun of the Bangladesh cricket team.

However Indians hates Pakistanis because of religion. India Pakistan conflict is a classic Hindu Muslim war.

Thanks @Atlas bhai.

If some person embezzled this amount of money and sent most of it to a neighboring 3rd world country (in this case India), it would make headlines in every country.

For Allah's sake, this is bigger amount than that Bangladesh Bank heist by North Korea through the Philippines connection and that indeed made headlines.

Govt. sycophants made sure no big waves were made in Bangladesh media. And none were made in world media either. Superb cover up by AL.

There should at least be accountability for this Bangladesh govt. screw up, given claims of AL people as clean and free from corruption.

As usual India supporters are saying that this type of embezzling is too common. Well I don't remember hearing about any other Bangladeshi in the media about them actually embezzling a Billion dollars. Wow.

But this person (I don't want to bad mouth this embezzler in Ramzan) got away with it, probably by paying off a few hundred million to Hasina and Modi. Not even a few peeps from the media.

This reeks of govt. high level collusion in Bangladesh and rampant actual theft of govt. money to India with the help from Indian side.

The reason I say this is that if you try to deposit anything over $10,000 in US Banks, they have strict financial regulations to trace the source of the money (money laundering regulations that prohibit ill gotten wealth through illicit means like graft and embezzlement).

The world does not run with the law of the jungle like in Bangladesh and India.

After laundering the money in India, it was sent to Canada using some BS business channel. If a big wave was made in the Canadian media, I'm sure Canadian govt. would look into it. However none was made. That request would need to be made from Bangladesh, which won't happen.

I am sure India has same money-laundering laws like this (like US and Canada) in the books. Either those laws were not applied or people were paid off with collusion of Indian govt.
Canada dont care much as long as money keeps pouring in. This amount of money taken out and no one in bd government knows lol....very believable.

There are specific laws on the books in Canada. I find it hard to believe Canadian govt. would assist money laundering.

All one has to do (Canadian Citizens) is that they can supply the name of PK Halder and his company, which is common knowledge by now in Canada and they will look into the sources of his money transfers to Canada and where the funds came from (most probably India and some directly from Bangladesh too).

Canadian govt. is duty bound to investigate International money laundering law violations, otherwise they will get fined by Courts in the Hague. They would also act quite fast if media broke this story in the Canadian newspapers.

There are specific laws on the books in Canada. I find it hard to believe Canadian govt. would assist money laundering.

All one has to do (Canadian Citizens) is that they can supply the name of PK Halder and his company, which is common knowledge by now in Canada and they will look into the sources of his money transfers to Canada and where the funds came from (most probably India and some directly from Bangladesh too).

Canadian govt. is duty bound to investigate International money laundering law violations, otherwise they will get fined by Courts in the Hague. They would also act quite fast if media broke this story in the Canadian newspapers.
There are ways you can bring money here through holding companies and invest in real estate. I live in Vancouver and there are too many cases of asian money laundering happened here when liberals was in power in BC. But that's another days discussion.....

I am not pissed at canada government more at bangladesh government it self. If millions comes from hong kong i dont care its good for canada but from bangladesh?

Where you cant legally bring even more then 5k with you? And i keep seeing so many fucking bd gundas lnvesting in Vancouver Toronto and Montreal....its happening cause we have a shitty incompetent government. Does bangladesh bank have any competency or independence to do there job? I doubt. This happens when you destroy all the key institutions of a country and no one can operate independently.

Callous rhetoric: Amit Shah’s ‘anti-Bangladeshi card’ can jeopardize ties

Anando Mostofa
  • Published at 11:29 pm April 13th, 2021
Amit Shah

File photo: Home Minister Amit Shah gestures as he arrives at the Parliament House in New Delhi on December 10, 2019AFP

India ranks 94 among 107 nations in Global Hunger Index 2020 while Bangladesh ranks 75 Describing cross-border infiltration as West Bengal’s biggest problem, Indian Home Minister Amit Shah claimed that the poor in Bangladesh still go hungry.

India’s ruling Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is yearning to capture power in the state and Shah, a former president of the party, is leading the front.

In an interview with Anandabazar Patrika on Tuesday, Shah said that only the BJP can stop infiltration in the state as the ruling Trinamool Congress patronizes it.

In response to a query referring to the economic development Bangladesh has witnessed in the last 10 to 15 years, Shah said there are two reasons for cross-border infiltration.

“One, the benefit of the development has not reached the marginalized people in the border areas. When a nation develops, the affluent at the centre gets the benefit first,” he told the newspaper.

The poor still go hungry and cross over the border, said Shah before adding: “And they are not just staying in Bengal. They are in different states, reaching as far as Jammu and Kashmir.”

According to Shah, the second reason is administrative problems, which he said the governments in West Bengal never dealt with.

In this interview, I believe that in the excitement of the election campaign, the home minister of the neighbouring country has forgotten the diplomatic etiquette and unknowingly misinterpreted the social and economic data on development.

What does data say?

India was slightly below Bangladesh in terms of per capita GDP in 2020.

According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Bangladesh per capita GDP was likely to expand by 4% in 2020 to $1,888 while in case of India, it was expected to fall by 10.5% to $1,877. The GDP number for both countries was at current prices.

Bangladesh has been able to maintain positive growth even during the coronavirus pandemic.
Amit Shah claims the poor in Bangladesh “go hungry” but figures say otherwise.

India ranks 94 among 107 nations in Global Hunger Index 2020 below Bangladesh and Pakistan and falls under serious category. Bangladesh ranks 75, 13 notches up from the previous year.

The population living below the national upper poverty line in Bangladesh has declined to 20.5% in 2019 from 24.3% in 2016 while the population below the lower poverty line also fell to 10.5%.

Bangladesh has been able to meet the UN-determined per capita gross national income, human resource index and economic fragility index and is on track to become a developing nation by 2024.

According to the World Bank's 2016 classification, Bangladesh has reached lower-middle-income status from a lower-income nation.

Callous rhetoric

It has become a habit of some Indian ruling party leaders to demean Bangladesh.

At the top is Amit Shah, who was the deputy home minister of Gujarat under the then-chief minister Narendra Modi during the 2002 riots and the home minister in Prime Minister Modi's cabinet during the 2020 Delhi riots.

About 2,000 people were killed in the Gujarat riots and 53 in Delhi, most of them were Muslims.

Shah has a long history of making hateful, insulting remarks about Bangladesh. On and off, he insults Bangladeshis going as far as describing them as “termites”.

On February 11, he said that when the BJP came to power in West Bengal, “stay away from the border - not a single bird will be able to enter.”

In a meeting with the BSF in November 2020, he said “voters from Bangladesh came to India to vote. The borders will be sealed so that even mosquitoes and flies cannot enter.”

In 2019, he said, “Bangladeshis will be expelled from West Bengal.”

Among his offensive remarks, the issue of Bangladeshis being called “termites” in 2016 was also criticized in India.

‘Anti-Bangladesh card’

The BJP is yearning to rule West Bengal by ousting Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress.
And for geographical reasons, the most popular anti-Pakistan card does not work in this state, so the BJP resorted to the anti-Bangladesh campaign.

Why move to India to live as a third class citizen as a Muslim — is the biggest question. With the BJP in power, Muslims’ love-marriage with Hindus has become “forbidden” while there have been several incidents where Muslims have been killed over beef.

According to official data, some 2.2 million Bangladeshis visited India in 2017 as tourists. The United States is in second place.

Many businesses in Kolkata have been left high and dry as Bangladeshis have stopped going due to visa restrictions in the wake of the pandemic.
As a Gujarati, Shah is well aware of the role of Bangladeshi tourists in the economy of the state. Bangladeshis also top the list of foreigners visiting the country for medical reasons.

There’s no reason to believe that Shah does not understand any of these, but his political rhetoric based on unfounded remarks about Bangladesh can jeopardize ties between the countries.

illegal immigrants are real , we are facing this problem .

You are not facing any problem. There are no proof of mass scale illegal migration from any census or available data. It’s a mass scale propaganda by BJP and parroting same lies again and again prompted you to believe there are illegal migration in reality which is not.

illegal bangladeshis are apprehended daily from allover india , they are handed over to bangladesh authorities , there are crores of illegal bangladeshis in india . so called secular parties support them for muslim votbank , but hindus are aware of danger of islamisation of india that is why BJP is taking action .