Boeing Asks India to Confirm Helicopter Deal Worth $2.5bn, Warns Govt of Price Rise

CONNAN

US defence firm Boeing warned Indian authorities that the $2.5 billion deal to supply 22 Apache attack and 15 Chinook heavy-lift helicopters could see prices increase in case the contract is not finalised soon.

apache-attack-helicopter.jpg

Apache Attack HelicopterReuters
A Boeing executive said a decision at this time would be in the interest of all parties involved.

Boeing President for India Pratyush Kumar noted that every quote had a timeframe attached, and that the end of that timeframe was close.

"They (Defence Ministry) kept asking for extensions and we did provide them as and when appropriate. It is not always possible to keep extending, because we live in a world where we feel inflationary pressure," he responded to a query on the validity of the commercial bid.

Sources have indicated that the quoted price would be valid only for a couple more months. Boeing has been eyeing the deal for the last five years.

Defence officials have indicated that in the event the original manufacturer seeks a higher price, against the agreed upon rate, the tender could be terminated and a fresh call for proposal will be issued, reported The Economic Times.

The latest six-month extension was granted in October 2014.

ch-47-chinook-helicopter.jpg

A CH-47 'Chinook' helicopter lands during an exercise at the U.S. military base in Grafenwoehr February 10, 2014.Reuters
World's Largest Weapon Importer

India has gradually moved to US and Israel for many of its defence requirements, against its earlier supplier – Soviet Union and latter day Russia.

India has seen Russian machinery perform to the standards indicated, which helped the nation win three wars. And also faced the threat of terrorism, especially in the border areas. The Russian equivalent of the weapons that India seeks from US is considerably cheaper.

Russia's Mil Mi-26 is the closest equivalent to the Chinook. The Apache attack helicopter Russian equivalent is the Mil Mi-24, Kamov KA-50 and the Mil Mi-28.

Boeing Asks India to Confirm Helicopter Deal Worth $2.5bn, Warns Govt of Price Rise

This was reported 2 weeks ago, only be rehashed because some defence "journalists" attended a briefing by Boeing India today where they reiterated this.

The current extension is valid until April 2015, so no need to start panicking now. The DAC has cleared these two purchases, the Fin Min needs to sign off on them then it will go to the CCS and the deals will be signed.

Rafale is on hold.Tejas and Sukhoi PAK FA no where to be seen and now Heli. Good going india .

Ache din ane wale han ????

Are you gonna buy anything. People holding top echelons are either incompetent or way too much corrupt

pls go ahead and increase the price if u have buyers lined up...India is not in hurry, we do business our way and pay price which we find worth paying!

Looks like second warning ! Finger crossed ...

pls go ahead and increase the price if u have buyers lined up...India is not in hurry, we do business our way and pay price which we find worth paying!
:o:

Hopefully we won't be Make In India :lol:

Let's not get jingoistic. Boeing have a legitimate claim that after April the cost of these deals may go up, they have extended the validity of their bids multiple times in the past 3 years, they can't keep doing so indefinitely. We all know the slow pace deals have moved in the past 10 years, things need to change and Modi/Prakkor have promised better so time to put their money where their mouths are....

This was reported 2 weeks ago, only be rehashed because some defence "journalists" attended a briefing by Boeing India today where they reiterated this.

The current extension is valid until April 2015, so no need to start panicking now. The DAC has cleared these two purchases, the Fin Min needs to sign off on them then it will go to the CCS and the deals will be signed.

If Parrikar or the NDA mean it when they claim about self reliance, indigenous developments and more efficient forces, they kill the Apache deal and save the money for Rudras and LCH. More over, they would finally fix the issue between IAF and IA about who gets the combat helicopters and not pay a huge ammount of money for a helicopter in low numbers that doesn't add many advantages.

Lolwut, what inflationary pressure? Inflation rate in US and Canada is less than 1%. Besides , products are supposed to get cheaper as technology gets older , not more expensive.

Have India actually signed any deal and paid money for it?

Cost negotiations with Boeing ended 18 months ago.

According to Pratyush Kumar, Boeing India president, "We are inching closer to a situation where our ability to hold prices will not be there." In other words, there is a possibility that India would need to re-negotiate the commercial aspects of the $2.5 billion (over rupees 15,000 crores) deal and end up paying more for helicopters that the armed forces urgently require.

I think it means that these Helicopters will be delivered to armed forces within no time.

Cost negotiations with Boeing ended 18 months ago.

According to Pratyush Kumar, Boeing India president, "We are inching closer to a situation where our ability to hold prices will not be there." In other words, there is a possibility that India would need to re-negotiate the commercial aspects of the $2.5 billion (over rupees 15,000 crores) deal and end up paying more for helicopters that the armed forces urgently require.

I think it means that these Helicopters will be delivered to armed forces within no time.

Yaar on everything you are inching closer.... India main inch chota hai yaa distance zayada hai.

This is the plaguing problem with all defense accusation look at all the big ticket items they all have been stuck in negotiation phase for such a long time that prices have risen by a margin.