Bhutto Family tree

They are small peasants grow vegetables some people also call them baghban or gardner

The indigenous Arain family in my ancestral village in Gujranwal district indeed used to grow vegetables, they were and are still our closest family friends in our village, very nice people really. But the migrant Arains that I have in my city neighborhood are known to be pretty arrogant and rude, it looks to me a signature of east punjab culture. Even here in Germany I noticed the same kind of rudeness among Sikhs from indian punjab that I met here in germany. It looks to me cultural habits have strong regional connection.

I am really interested to know more about Arain, We have a lot of them in Gujranwala city. They are divided into two groups, one are indigenous living in Gujranwala district for centuries and the other group are migrants from east punjab post 1947. To me the two groups look very distinct in terms of their looks, life style and habits. The indigenous Arain Mehar are no different in habits or culture than any other indigenous bradari of Gujranwala. But the migrant ones have somewhat "arrogant" and "rude" culture. The migrant one's don't even marry among the indigenous Arain of Gujranwala probably due to "cultural" differences.

Although it's changing now but you are right, Arains migrated from east Punjab normally don't marry with local Arains, even among migrant they prefer the ones migrated from same areas of east Punjab. But life style or habits isn't the only reason, it's more easier for them to trace the family and satisfaction that they aren't marrying their Child to imposters.

But the migrant Arains that I have in my city neighborhood are known to be pretty arrogant and rude, it looks to me a signature of east punjab culture.

They couldn't have survived living among Sikhs & Hindus as minorities by being softies. So, sure there's some influence of the place where they have been living - local Arains are normally more humble by nature while migrants are not. :coffee:

I am really interested to know more about Arain, We have a lot of them in Gujranwala city. They are divided into two groups, one are indigenous living in Gujranwala district for centuries and the other group are migrants from east punjab post 1947. To me the two groups look very distinct in terms of their looks, life style and habits. The indigenous Arain Mehar are no different in habits or culture than any other indigenous bradari of Gujranwala. But the migrant ones have somewhat "arrogant" and "rude" culture. The migrant one's don't even marry among the indigenous Arain of Gujranwala probably due to "cultural" differences.
You are right.All arains are not racially same.Results of DNA testing of several Arain individuals are available on internet.Some of the Arains who were told that their forefathers came from M.east When they got their DNA tested came to know that their DNA is same like jatts, gujjars and rajputs of punjab
Actually Long before partition there was a clear divide in working segment of the society specially in the peasantry with respect to religion.
All Muslim peasants does not matter which cast or area they belong to used to call themselves as Arains.
Thats why you will never find any Arain having different reliegion other than Islam

All Hindu peasants does not matter which cast or area they belong to used to call themselves as Kambohs.
All Sikh peasants does not matter which cast or area they belong to used to call themselves as Sainis.
In gazzeter of India 1964 it is mentioned that during the census process a question of place origin was asked to every community.All kambohs and sainis told that they are basically low cast Hindus. When the question of origin was asked to Arains in different areas of Punjab.Answer were very surprising.Some told they donot know any thing about their origin.Some claimed that they are jatts and rajputs.Most surprisingly in some of the areas Arains claimed that they are from Afghanistan. Their forefathers came with invaders and did not go back and they adopted the profession of
peasantry.To me this sound somewhat correct. Arains who live in my area are very good looking. Blond hairs blue and green eyes are very common in them.

Here in Canada I met an Indian Punjabi Muslim.He told me that he is Arain and his sub cast is SIDDHU. But we know usually sidhus are jats in Punjab.

peasantry.To me this sound somewhat correct.Arains who live in my area are very good looking. Blond hairs blue and green eyes are very common in them.

This also matches with my observation in Gujranwala Arains, the migrant one's living in our neighborhood are usually lighter skinned and good looking whereas the indigenous one's tend to have average looks and usually average complexion, I always thought that these two types of Arains cannot be from same ancestors in the past. They are just called Arain because in the past they were landless peasants working as "Mazara" on "crop share" basis on the lands owned by local jatt landlords of Gujranwala that included both muslims as well as sikh jatt landlords before 1947. However a lot of them were also involved in growing vegetables and fruits which was pretty specific to them.

This also matches with my observation in Gujranwala Arains, the migrant one's living in our neighborhood are usually lighter skinned and good looking whereas the indigenous one's tend to have average looks, I always thought that these two types of Arains cannot be from same ancestors in the past. They are just called Arain because in the past they were landless peasants working as "Mazara" on "crop share" basis on the lands owned by local jatt landlords of Gujranwala that included both muslims as well as sikh jatt landlords before 1947. However a lot of them were also involved in growing vegetables and fruits which was pretty specific to them.
Your observation is absolutely correct.Migerant arains are light skinned and local Arains are 0f average look.I give you the example.There are two TV anchors from my city Aftab Iqbal and Junaid Saleem.Both are Arains.Aftab is local and use the title of Mian while Junaid saleem is Muhajir and use tittle of Chaudhry.Both have somewhat different complexion.

Exactly that is the kind of difference I am also talking about.

You are right.All arains are not racially same.Results of DNA testing of several Arain individuals are available on internet.Some of the Arains who were told that their forefathers came from M.east When they got their DNA tested came to know that their DNA is same like jatts, gujjars and rajputs of punjab
Actually Long before partition there was a clear divide in working segment of the society specially in the peasantry with respect to religion.
All Muslim peasants does not matter which cast or area they belong to used to call themselves as Arains.
Thats why you will never find any Arain having different reliegion other than Islam

All Hindu peasants does not matter which cast or area they belong to used to call themselves as Kambohs.
All Sikh peasants does not matter which cast or area they belong to used to call themselves as Sainis.
In gazzeter of India 1964 it is mentioned that during the census process a question of place origin was asked to every community.All kambohs and sainis told that they are basically low cast Hindus. When the question of origin was asked to Arains in different areas of Punjab.Answer were very surprising.Some told they donot know any thing about their origin.Some claimed that they are jatts and rajputs.Most surprisingly in some of the areas Arains claimed that they are are from Afghanistan. Their forefathers came with invaders and did not go back and they adopted the profession of
peasantry.To me this sound somewhat correct. Arains who live in my area are very good looking. Blond hairs blue and green eyes are very common in them.

Here in Canada I met an Indian Punjabi Muslim.He told me that he is Arain and his sub cast is SIDDHU. But we know usually sidhus are jats in Punjab.
This also matches with my observation in Gujranwala Arains, the migrant one's living in our neighborhood are usually lighter skinned and good looking whereas the indigenous one's tend to have average looks and usually average complexion, I always thought that these two types of Arains cannot be from same ancestors in the past. They are just called Arain because in the past they were landless peasants working as "Mazara" on "crop share" basis on the lands owned by local jatt landlords of Gujranwala that included both muslims as well as sikh jatt landlords before 1947. However a lot of them were also involved in growing vegetables and fruits which was pretty specific to them.

How the word Arain came into existence is actually unknown as all you find about it is theories. But yes, contrary to belief of some wannna bes - Arains are as indigenous people as other inhabitants of region and are Muslim converts from different local clans - saying all of them were small vegetable growers is as true as saying every jatt had big lands, every Rajput is offspring of King, every Qureshi of Punjab is Arab or every Syed in Pakistan actually have linkage to Holy Prophet - all these are feel good stories and narratives concocted by people who still are stuck in cast mentality which have been in subcontinent for thousands of years :)

Alot of people on here confusing "Khan" with being pashtun or Central Asian.

In reality one of the things Britishers used to earn loyalty of locals was to give titles unto people such as Khans and Sirs among other methods such as vast land, treasure and women.

I know cuz my Great Grandfather was one, a colonel in British Indian army. He also got a huge part of land from British raj.

Khan is not a surname but a title, it was only used lates as a caste to hide their caste or by people not knowing there caste (no offense), just like sheikh is used as a replacement caste for a lot of hindu converted families.

On the matter of bhutto family changing castes. This is nothing new there are examples of families adopting what they feel is more favorable.

On the other side of our borders people are maligning caste /ancestry of nehrus and now it seems we are trying to do same with our past leaders here, which is not good.

In sindh--Arain caste is called Bhutto---( correct me please ).
Not in Sindh but also in Punjab....

Arain have many sub casts (not casts but professions)

Bhutto, Bhattay, Karadar, Teerandaz, Sapal, Ramday, Rattay etc

They are small peasants grow vegetables some people also call them baghban or gardner
Come and I will show you who is small peasant? be my Guest :agree:

We are almost exclusively Punjabi -we are tightly knit and you can almost always find a relative in any random arian family....happened to my family so many times....

Dad and chacha during their childhood and young adult times made random friends who latter turned out to be Arian (we in our family didn't use to ask bararderi) and guess what we also managed to trace common relatives with these random friends...even chacha son made random Arian friend who turned out to be a distant relative of a distant relative.....its crazy I tell you...almost always we are related somehow

and we can't be ethnically SindhI ....
:omghaha:

At the end Pakistanis remain in the hindu caste system
Converts would always trace their history back to their tribe,division among us is like spider web.

Come and I will show you who is small peasant? be my Guest :agree:
Rattay sahab aap ke baat nahi kar raha hai.

Bhutto are just sindhi form of Saraiki south punjab zaat/qabila Bhutta. Both are agriculturist groups with similar status in sindh and south punjab rural areas. However the funny thing is some Bhutta in punjab consider themselves Jatt, others as Rajput and still others as Arain. Most of the agricultural castes of south punjab are independent tribes but they can be found assimilated among jatts, rajputs and arains in other areas.
Bhutta's are not Rajputs.
Sadday wallon inkar samjhoo :D