Benazir to give IAEA access to A.Q. Khan

Salaams,

I highly doubt that she will be relected. I personally would vote for Musharraf again... Benazir & Nawaz are both half-crazy. After their corruption, Ha the only thing happening in the courts is just plain "drama." If you hadn't known...one of the main purposes of having an army, is to safeguard the Nation's & People's best interests during times of crisis. Obviously I'm pretty sure the Indian Army would come up, if there was a Maoist Upheavel in Orissa, M.P. & Bihar or revolution in India. Not like Benazir is causing a revolution, but sharing national milltary secrets is obviously not in the best interest's of the state / people!

This is one question which many forum members avoid answering. If she is corrupt

1. Why do a deal with her and her party ?
2. If she is corrupt why she not in jail ?

The Army in most countries are for defending against an external threats not for running the country.

This is one question which many forum members avoid answering. If she is corrupt

1. Why do a deal with her and her party ?
2. If she is corrupt why she not in jail ?

The Army in most countries are for defending against an external threats not for running the country.
1. I really doubt there would be a deal. She's an American personal favorite, Musharraf's going to keep her happy till his positions' weak.

2. It's no longer a question of IF she is corrupt. My work took me to one of her real estate projects in Dubai. I was so amazed to see the level of interior design. Everything blurted out SUPER EXPENSIVE. Where did THAT kind of money come from? Nawaz hailed from a super rich family and even he just managed to put up some big villas in Lahore. But shes swimming in Dubai's Super expensive real estate. That raises obvious questions.

The proof against her is weak. Her swiss bank accounts were bombarded by the Pakistani government till it was possible. Her husband was jailed for several years, but since the prosecution really didn't have a good case, he was let out.

She's also not been in jail since she's not returned since her government was dissolved by President Leghari.

These Secularist thugs are hell bent to destroy Pakistan at the cost of they getting support from Pakistan. If one studies her role in Pakistani politics, she has always tried to harm Pakistan, whether its the economy, nuclear assets, Islamic character of the nation etc.
I don't know how people elect such leaders again and again.

1. I really doubt there would be a deal. She's an American personal favorite, Musharraf's going to keep her happy till his positions' weak.

2. It's no longer a question of IF she is corrupt. My work took me to one of her real estate projects in Dubai. I was so amazed to see the level of interior design. Everything blurted out SUPER EXPENSIVE. Where did THAT kind of money come from? Nawaz hailed from a super rich family and even he just managed to put up some big villas in Lahore. But shes swimming in Dubai's Super expensive real estate. That raises obvious questions.

The proof against her is weak. Her swiss bank accounts were bombarded by the Pakistani government till it was possible. Her husband was jailed for several years, but since the prosecution really didn't have a good case, he was let out.

She's also not been in jail since she's not returned since her government was dissolved by President Leghari.

ok agreed what you say maybe true but why not issue an Interpol Notice and get her back ?

Dear AA,

Did you see the interview of Mrs BB. She says she recently met the Gen M overseas ? So there must be some kind of deal happening.

Regards

These Secularist thugs are hell bent to destroy Pakistan at the cost of they getting support from Pakistan. If one studies her role in Pakistani politics, she has always tried to harm Pakistan, whether its the economy, nuclear assets, Islamic character of the nation etc.
I don't know how people elect such leaders again and again.

Is it the same in Bangladesh where the secularists are destroying Bangladesh?

Bangladesh should not have broken from Pakistan, right?

Do you subscribe to the view that people of Bangladesh are the first ones and the real destroyers who were hell bent in destroying Pakistan?

Secularism does not mean destruction as I understand. Maybe you could enlighten me!

BB is as secular as it suits her convenience!

Mullahs like the Red Mosque ones are the real ones who want to drag Pakistan into the Stone Age which secular Musharraf is trying to prevent!

Are you also of the opinion that secular Musharraf is hell bent on destroying Pakistan.

Let reason dictate what you write and not the sermon of the Red Mosque variety!

Dear AA,

Did you see the interview of Mrs BB. She says she recently met the Gen M overseas ? So there must be some kind of deal happening.

Regards
There is no deal.

Regards
Wilco

ok agreed what you say maybe true but why not issue an Interpol Notice and get her back ?
gave me quite a laugh:enjoy: why?
didnt you notice the NS saga? Even if they say we will come and face the courts and so on....

NO no no we dont want you, go back, go back, we will put all the blame on you, but when it comes to proving corruption in courts and such things, who in their right mind would do such a lame thing:cheers: , drinking beer is much better.

Bibi goes nuclear, but why?
By Khalid Hasan

Contrary to the view initially taken by most people of Benazir’s remarks, namely that she had said what she had said to appease the United States and endear herself even more to the Bush-Cheney tag team, her remarks were actually directed at Gen Pervez Musharraf and the junta

Benazir Bhutto was in town for three days, but had it been left to former Senator Akbar Khawaja, who followed her like a shadow and never let her out of his sight till such time as he would be told to go home and grab some shut-eye, we would never have known she was here. That being so, if there is a prize for keeping secrets, Akbar Khawaja should get it.

Whenever you asked him what Bibi was going to do that day, the answer was a sepulchral silence, followed by, “I don’t know”. And when you prodded him, all he would come up with would be, “I can only tell you what I know”. “But you say you know nothing”, he would be reminded. “I have to go now”, he would say, and the line would go dead. You could keep calling thereafter as long as you liked, but all you would get would be a recording asking you to “leave a message after pressing 1”.

During Bibi’s press conference with Pakistani reporters — two Indian correspondents came uninvited, but we let them be (something we wouldn’t expect in a similar situation from their side) — old Khawaja kept standing behind Bibi, more immobile than the Statue of Liberty in gale force winds.

For the hour or so that Bibi was there, I kept trying to catch Khawaja’s eye but failed. Only at the end did I realise that I was no match for the three or four TV cameras lining the wall facing Bibi and Khawaja.

Compared to the petrified former senator and his leader, who now floats high into the stratosphere, Asif Ali Zardari was pure bonhomie. Before Bibi’s arrival in the room — he preceded her by half an hour — he kept exchanging jokes with one and all. I actually did not realise A to Z had landed, till I heard him recite a snatch from that old Iqbal Bano song: Hum bhi tau paray hai rahoon mein. The line was flung at me since I had failed to see him enter for the simple reason that I have no eyes at the back of my head, and the ones in front need reading glasses.

Bibi spoke for twenty or so minutes in her delightful Urdu. When it came to question time, I asked her if she would kindly switch to English since one of the Indian correspondents, being from South India, did not even understand Hindi, what to say of Urdu. The good sport that she is, she obliged, which eased our lives since taking notes in English of her Gulabi Urdu laced with such words as ‘kartat’, ‘boltat’ and ‘samjhavat’ is an art I have not quite mastered.

But now the $64,000 question. Why did Bibi offer to provide the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) access to Dr AQ Khan? She first threw this bombshell in answer to a question at the Middle East Institute meeting on Tuesday, September 25. That evening, there was a flurry of calls between her and some who thought her offer was akin to a monkey wrench into the works. She decided to go along with them and agreed to a contradiction, which Farhatullah Babar issued from Islamabad. The draft of the “clarification” was prepared by Husain Haqqani from Boston (Sharif), I have it on good authority. The “clarification” declared that she hadn’t said what she was supposed to have said. She was only answering a “hypothetical” question and it was “unfortunate that Mohtarma Bhutto’s words are being distorted to imply that she promised any unlawful handing over of anyone to foreigners”.

The clarification must have made many in Islamabad heave a sigh of relief, but she did not let them take too many sighs, because the next day at her press conference with us, when asked again as to what exactly she had said about Dr Khan, she opened her heavy guns on the Khan affair, in the process taking the mickey out of the clarification issued earlier.

She said she saw no difference between the Pakistan government having Dr Khan respond to questions put by the IAEA and having the IAEA question Dr Khan face to face. The PPP, she thundered on, would not collude with or cover up proliferation. It would not let Pakistan be seen as a lawless and rogue nation, because it would be unfair to the people of Pakistan. She declared that she wanted to give a clear message to the international community that Pakistan does not protect those who proliferate.

Now here is the answer to the $64,000 question. Contrary to the view initially taken by most people of Benazir’s remarks, namely that she had said what she had said to appease the United States and endear herself even more to the Bush-Cheney tag team, her remarks were actually directed at Gen Pervez Musharraf and the junta. The message was clear. “If you don’t play ball with me, I will blow the whistle on all of you when I get a chance.” After all, doesn’t everyone know in Pakistan that Dr Khan is the Jesus Christ in this affair, having agreed to take the sins of the real movers and shakers of this trade on his shoulders and to be crucified.

Touché. Miss Bhutto, touché.

Khalid Hasan is Daily Times’ US-based correspondent. His e-mail is khasan2@cox.net

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

The so called deal with Benazir was a farce and deception of the highest class by Musharraf and co. They bought time, created a rift between pppp and Nawaz and co and look what has happened now. Benazir cannot be trusted by anyone anymore. MMA or Nawaz league won't touch her with a 10 ft pole. Suddenly, she has become a pariah. Watch and see how the muslim leaguq Q propagates A Q Khan statement during election times. If they play their cards right, Benazir is done for good.

gave me quite a laugh:enjoy: why?
didnt you notice the NS saga? Even if they say we will come and face the courts and so on....

NO no no we dont want you, go back, go back, we will put all the blame on you, but when it comes to proving corruption in courts and such things, who in their right mind would do such a lame thing:cheers: , drinking beer is much better.
NS is living in exhile. He was given a presidential pardon so if we let him in and reopen the case, he may get off on a technicality. He himself should revoke his presidential pardon which he didn't do this time around. Infact his party members were openly flaunting the fact that he has been pardoned.

BB is a different story. Musharraf has several times said that she herself is not coming in. She can come and face the law. The cases against her were opened up by Nawaz Sharif so that's really not a Musharraf thing.

Tried once. When she popped out of Dubai to New York for the first time. America did nothing... Heck the Swiss government was more cooperative about her than America. She's a super American favorite, nothing is going to happen through those select few super countries.

Heck Before Musharraf and MQM became friends, she herself tried to get Altaf Hussain from UK. Nothing happened. One people of this level escape out of the country they remain out. I think she will cancel her October 18th return.