Here is an excerpt from an advocate demanding ban on basant during a court proceeding back in 2005
"In 2005, an advocate MD Tahir of Lahore High Court, Pakistan, contended that Basant was purely an event of Hindu community who observed it as part of their religious rituals. He said that forefathers of Pakistani Muslims had never taken part in Basant celebrations, though they also deemed it a part of their culture. The petitioner said that Pakistan was a poor country and Basant festivities could not please them by any means. He argued that frequent power breakdowns because of kite-flying were depriving people of electricity supply for hours and they were also exposed to life threats by kite-string on roads. Aerial firing and use of firecrackers was another factor of disturbance for patients, students and the elderly people, he said. He also counted the death toll taking place every year on Basant day as a ground to seek a complete ban on kite-flying and Basant festivities in the country. The petitioner said that the government was spending millions of rupees to entertain foreign guests on Basant, rather than spending it to improve literacy rate, inadequate medical facilities and the provision of basic amenities to common people."
The safety issue is brought up
But the main issue for them is something as simple as kite flying being a danger to the ideology of this country
Also it would create huge economic opportunities by exploiting the tourism potential
Too many of them..Ok that is news, can we strangle them with the same dori?
Basant in Lahore was already generating millions of worth economic activity, and was attracting tourists all over the world. Yes, there were serious problems because of usage of chemicals and other things, but govt. instead of enforcing compliance and taking measures for safety, she opted easy way out. I have no hope that Ganja have any plan to lift this ban, My next vote will go to party who will be having revival of Basant (with proper safety measures) in her menifesto
contended that Basant was purely an event of Hindu community who observed it as part of their religious rituals. He said that forefathers of Pakistani Muslims had never taken part in Basant celebrations,
I am all for a basant ban !
Partly because I still don't know how to fly a kite !
And partly because whenever I've tried I've cut myself badly !
Khair maybe having designated areas where there are wide open spaces so that no one ends up with a slit throat or a power outage, could be a good alternative to a ban.
But then again if our leaders had that much brain masala they would've done that anyhow.
What do you say @Gufi ?
Screw Mullah party, It's heritage of Punjab. Otherwise functions of Mehandi, Sarbala, Muqlawa etc.should also be declared Haram and banned, Red color for bridal dress should be also Haram and banned, Sehra and list go on.
I am also not good in flying, but loved to blow baja and bhangra after boo kata...
Root cause of throat silting, electricity outage are chemical thread and electric Chariti/pulley - That's all govt. have to control.
Butt sahib, aap ne lagta hai kabhi andron shahar main basant nahi manai, isi liay designated area ki baat kar rahe hain.
Here the only retarded one is You. Just refer to reply 11#, I have mentioned the same in quotesNo....? retard
I dunno whether its haram or not but it sure as hell ought to be regulated if not banned; I will never understand why people spend tens of millions of rupees on a wedding when they should be ashamed of themselves at the amount of money they waste.
I remember the first time I heard how much a wedding dress costs today I felt like vomiting; hundreds of thousands of rupees for a dress thats going to be worn only once in a life time - That is just pure nonsense !
Add to that shameful practices like 'jahaiz' and we as a people are in need of a huge spanking to drive some sense of humbleness into us.
If Basant was banned because it was an extremely extravagant affair.....I can probably live with that because people did spend an obscene amount of money buying those kites and the dorrr and other stuff.
Androoon sheher seh mein doooor hiii rehtaa hunnn; itniii tunnggg galiyooon mein tou saaanss lenaa mushkil haii !
Totally agree, and they should only serve veg food at shaadisI dunno whether its haram or not but it sure as hell ought to be regulated if not banned; I will never understand why people spend tens of millions of rupees on a wedding when they should be ashamed of themselves at the amount of money they waste.
I remember the first time I heard how much a wedding dress costs today I felt like vomiting; hundreds of thousands of rupees for a dress thats going to be worn only once in a life time - That is just pure nonsense !
Add to that shameful practices like 'jahaiz' and we as a people are in need of a huge spanking to drive some sense of humbleness into us.
If Basant was banned because it was an extremely extravagant affair.....I can probably live with that because people did spend an obscene amount of money buying those kites and the dorrr and other stuff.
Totally agree, and they should only serve veg food at shaadis