Bangladesh races ahead of India in knitwear exports

You cant have that kind of productivity from low skilled low paid workers.

V2 rockets were made by half starved Jewish prisoners, Great Wall of China was build by POW, Pyramids in Egypt was build by Slaves and this is only underwear.

thanks for waking us up Bangladesh. congratulations to you.

I came to this thread thinking there was some significant achievement from Bangladesh. ANyways, Congrats guys. Enjoy your hour of glory!

thanks for waking us up Bangladesh. congratulations to you.

Dude , this is hardly anything to be worried about or to "wake up" about. When a country reaches a certain level of development , it moves on from manufacturing simple,low quality goods like knitwear to goods that require more skilled labor. If i say that india produces more underwear than the US , that's hardly anything to be proud of. One Boeing 747 that US sells makes more money than what exporting a million underwears would make. India has reached a certain level of development and we should concentrate on developing and exporting more technical goods as opposed to increasing manufacturing base for making underwears just to beat bangladesh at it.

Congrats to Bangladeshis in becoming the world leader in underwear..
Now we all can say... Pehno tho pehno Bangal ki chaddi baniyan, Roopa ki nahi..

lol...can't stop laughing on it....rightly said between. her dil ki pasand bangladesh key underwear, chaddi aur banyaan. Kiyun key yeh Andar ki baat hai Bangladesh key underwear hi samajh saktey hain aap key aaraam ki zaruratein.

Let other folks make really technical stuff, we are fine with the current progress. However, electricity production needs to go up, after that everything will fall in the right places.

lol...can't stop laughing on it....rightly said between. her dil ki pasand bangladesh key underwear, chaddi aur banyaan. Kiyun key yeh Andar ki baat hai Bangladesh key underwear hi samajh saktey hain aap key aaraam ki zaruratein.
Can't stop laughing....gr8
By the way congrats Bangladesh, an achievement is finally an achievement...

As news already pointed out India is losing out to its counterpart in the neighbouring country owing to high cost of labour, power and water.

And there is also another point and that is Being under develop country Bangladesh gets special incentive/concessions in EU.

Ya but its only knitwear. India exports close to million automobiles every year. Where is Bangladesh in that regard?

What does the auto industry have to do with knitwear? When does this silly one-upmanship end? India is also 1B plus people. Lets not try to get into this silly contest all the time. It almost always leads to the thread getting junked.

We doomed Tirpur(TN) which was called as the Manchester of Asia for the amout of pollution it created in the Knitewear industry. Now Bangladesh is yielding itself to pollution to make some quike $. I don't know when they are going to realize that the water they drink is going to have high levels of sodium and sulphur because of the knitewear products that they are producing.

COngrat BD!!

I'm not surprised to see this news. BD is doing well in this sphere and I know few of my friends has setup manufacturing in BD.

COngrat BD!!

I'm not surprised to see this news. BD is doing well in this sphere and I know few of my friends has setup manufacturing in BD.
Then your friends are making a mistake out of the BD peoples ignorace towards pollution. I am from a place where top brands of the west are manufactured and I know how much harm it brings to the next generation in the name of pollution.
The chemicals that are used to dye the knitewear products such as zips, buttons and fabric cause irrecoverable damage to the the bio diversity of the local water bodies.

Dude , this is hardly anything to be worried about or to "wake up" about. When a country reaches a certain level of development , it moves on from manufacturing simple,low quality goods like knitwear to goods that require more skilled labor. If i say that india produces more underwear than the US , that's hardly anything to be proud of. One Boeing 747 that US sells makes more money than what exporting a million underwears would make. India has reached a certain level of development and we should concentrate on developing and exporting more technical goods as opposed to increasing manufacturing base for making underwears just to beat bangladesh at it.

I did not bother to reply to yur bs post but as you are getting thanked by other ignorant Indians, so there you go.

This is from CIA facts book.

Labor force:
478.3 million (2010 est.)
country comparison to the world: 2

Labor force - by occupation:
agriculture: 52%
industry: 14%
services: 34% (2009 est.)

Unemployment rate:
10.8% (2010 est.)
country comparison to the world: 117
10.7% (2009 est.)

Look at the quality of occupation of your citizen. Is it something you want to show about shining India? Staggering 52% of your people still plough on your land. Out of 34% who are employed in service sector, major portion still sells Pani Puri by the street or sell vegetables in kitchen market or pull rickshaws. So you want to compare that with Knowledge based society of western world, and want to skip industrialization only to brag against Bangladesh? Western society had to go through industrialization only to be promoted to knowlege based society.

Buddy you are liviing in Alice in the Wonderland. Get educated first. In India plenty of free schools that I heard in PDF.

We doomed Tirpur(TN) which was called as the Manchester of Asia for the amout of pollution it created in the Knitewear industry. Now Bangladesh is yielding itself to pollution to make some quike $. I don't know when they are going to realize that the water they drink is going to have high levels of sodium and sulphur because of the knitewear products that they are producing.
Yup. heard about that. Isn't Textile Mills in Coimbatore/Tirupur relies on migrant labours? also many mills are closing too ?