Bangladesh Govt scraps plan to phase out reconditioned cars

I doubt they can afford it.

Just look at the total car sales in lungiland.

Tata & Mahindra are better of selling vehicles in African countries.

lmao Africa listen here Pajeet , Africans rather would drive a Toyota cause a Toyota has quality that people can trust while TATA has nothing but just the Indian market cause it knows it can’t compete with foreign brands and TATAs only hope is to make money in India and use that money to buy stocks in other foreign brands.

You guys are literally have the EQ and IQ of a child , kiddo you have to at least 18 to use this site.

Don’t have to explain much , as you see India is surrounded by Chinese influence from Pakistan to Sri Lanka to Myanmar the Chinese has India in check. All cause India wanted to challenge China lmao

lmao Africa listen here Pajeet , Africans rather would drive a Toyota cause a Toyota has quality that people can trust while TATA has nothing but just the Indian market cause it knows it can’t compete with foreign brands and TATAs only hope is to make money in India and use that money to buy stocks in other foreign brands.

You guys are literally have the EQ and IQ of a child , kiddo you have to at least 18 to use this site.
Trust & dependability is what defines TATA brand, for those who can afford it ,knows it,

Africans can choose toyota or TATA but none of you 2 cent lungis have that luxury :lol:

TATA's market cap alone in 2021 has crossed 232 billion USD, more than 2/3rd of your puny GDP.

Kiddo i have been on this forum for nearly 9 yrs , you lungilands were nothing then and are nothing now.

Just a vermin of a dumping ground which gets swamped up half a year, that's it. :pop:

Trust & dependability is what defines TATA brand, for those who can afford it ,knows it,

Africans can choose toyota or TATA but none of you 2 cent lungis have that luxury :lol:

TATA's market cap alone in 2021 has crossed 232 billion USD, more than 2/3rd of your puny GDP.

Kiddo i have been on this forum for nearly 9 yrs , you lungilands were nothing then and are nothing now.

Just a vermin of a dumping ground which gets swamped up half a year, that's it. :pop:

Market cap eh ? When you 1.5 billion Indians you can cater to of course you’re gonna be rich.

Kiddo you don’t even know basic economics so even think of trying with me , and keep calling us lungi land cause that will end you banned

Keep Trolling cause this is probably going to be you 950th you will banned , try this BS with Pakistanis and see where you end up :azn:

Bangladesh should focus on public transportation. For such dense population no other choice. Unless ppl stop breeding like there is no tomorrow.

Lol. Only dumb idiots argue like this. Straw man argument are for fools. No one claims we are a super power but we aspire to be one. Western audience are not uneducated brutes to not know the difference. Just stop quoting if you know what is good for you.

What is so good about being an Indian, I'd rather be a Somali than an Indian. A country of 1 billion cannot make a mark in anything, whether it be sports, military or even general achievements. What a waste of a population. Half of you need baby powder to mask the smell of onions and are very unaware of what a shower is.

There's nothing extra ordinary about you, just a bunch of internet warlords wanting to create havoc.

What is so good about being an Indian, I'd rather be a Somali than an Indian. A country of 1 billion cannot make a mark in anything, whether it be sports, military or even general achievements. What a waste of a population. Half of you need baby powder to mask the smell of onions and are very unaware of what a shower is.

There's nothing extra ordinary about you, just a bunch of internet warlords wanting to create havoc.
1.5 billion and yes....living in Canada i don't think any average Canadian will be able to name 1 single Indian brand we use on daily basis or anything they famous for...if you look at comparable country like China its completely different story...just go Canadian tire and see your self...95 percent products made in china and more and more brands are actually (Chinese origin) not what it was 10 years ago when it was made in china with western brand names.

I dont know wtf wrong with these fools and lame prides. the country that holds one fifth of world population...

I dont think i have ever seen any Indian brand car, motorcycle, or any electronics ever not even basic electronics. Only time i found some thing made in India was some cloths, shrimp and if you go to brown groceries you find rice etc comes from that country.

1.5 billion and yes....living in Canada i don't think any average Canadian will be able to name 1 single Indian brand we use on daily basis or anything they famous for...if you look at comparable country like China its completely different story...just go Canadian tire and see your self...95 percent products made in china and more and more brands are actually (Chinese origin) not what it was 10 years ago when it was made in china with western brand names.

I dont know wtf wrong with these fools and lame prides. the country that holds one fifth of world population...

I dont think i have ever seen any Indian brand car, motorcycle, or any electronics ever not even basic electronics. Only time i found some thing made in India was some cloths, shrimp and if you go to brown groceries you find rice etc comes from that country.

Whaaaaat ?

iu

You dare say you refuse to use Bhartiya vedic super power product like Hajmola, Dental tooth powder, Kesh Taila or Paan Ghutka in Canada? :-)

How dare you insult adarniya Bhartiya aurvedic traa-dee-shunn, the pride of Bharat?? Murga aur Murkh !!

We will immediately send crack team of trident-wielding chicken-drumstick legs Bhojpuri Nanga Sanghi terrorist to your location. Batao home address right now!! Abhi bhi waqt hai - Bol Jai Shri Ram !!

The government has withdrawn its plans to phase out reconditioned car imports over the next five years considering the growing demand for private transport, according to the draft Automobile Industry Development Policy 2021.
Pro-Indian groups in BAL and GoB were behind this effort to phase out the import of Japanese reconditioned vehicles. They want instead their friend India to export brand new Maruti cars that our people call Murir Tin.

Now, the ploy has failed and the country will keep on importing used Japanese vehicles the engines of which are all fitted with anti-pollution kits as per Japanese laws.

Now, my personal opinion is to allow importing used vehicles. I also want Mitsubishi Motors to build an assembling plant and even when it produces cars, the used car imports should continue because it is the birthright of a citizen to choose from many options.

Now, how to support the Mitsubishi venture in BD? The GoB can reduce the taxes on local production. So, when the Mitsubishi new vehicles cost almost the same as the imported used/ old vehicles, many people will flock to Mitsubishi brands.

Pro-Indian groups in BAL and GoB were behind this effort to phase out the import of Japanese reconditioned vehicles. They want instead their friend India to export brand new Maruti cars that our people call Murir Tin.

Now, the ploy has failed and the country will keep on importing used Japanese vehicles the engines of which are all fitted with anti-pollution kits as per Japanese laws.

Now, my personal opinion is to allow importing used vehicles. I also want Mitsubishi Motors to build an assembling plant and even when it produces cars, the used car imports should continue because it is the birthright of a citizen to choose from many options.

Now, how to support the Mitsubishi venture in BD? The GoB can reduce the taxes on local production. So, when the Mitsubishi new vehicles cost almost the same as the imported used/ old vehicles, many people will flock to Mitsubishi brands.

My thoughts exactly @bluesky bhai.

Reconditioned Japanese Domestic Market (JDM) vehicles are light years better from Indian Murir Tin (Tinpot) vehicles in terms of comfortable suspension, lack of Noise, Vibration and Harshness (NVH) and also engine reliability and sophistication, the majority of them having fuel injection, and far more sophisticated features all around. It will take Indian market cars another ten years at least to get to that level. Of course I am talking about minimum Toyota Corolla/Allion/Axio/Premio/Esquire model size which is safe, not 800 cc vehicles.

Not only that - in terms of safety, most JDM cars are also fitted to reliable seat restraints and in most cases, airbags too (even door pillar airbags which protect front-seat drivers and passengers from T-bone accidents (i.e. side impacts).

Indian made cars have none of these safety features and as assembled, use far lighter gauge and low quality Indian Sheet-metal which folds like cooking tinfoil in collision with motorcycles and rickshaws.

Kanjoos Indian customers would rather die than pay for these safety features, and dhokeybaaj Indian car assemblers (allowed/enabled by corrupt politicians in India) are laughing all the way to the bank, while Indian drivers die in accidents by the thousands. We want no part of that.

So strategy should be,

1) Ban or heavy tariff on brand new Indian car imports (any new car as a matter of fact) as it currently exists, 300% to 800%.

2) Allow more JDM re-conditioned vehicles at lower or current tariff, whose performance in Bangladesh is well-proven.

3) Allow local-assembly of passenger vehicles, such as Mitsubishis and Protons (and any Chinese commercial vehicles such as Foton and others). And like you said Balance tariffs on locally assembled vehicles (CKD completely-knocked-down kit import and or better, complete local parts sourcing, not SKD (semi-knocked-down kit) import dhokeybaaji like Indian assemblers do) with reconditioned vehicles so they are at par and can compete in pricing vs. features. One may say there are yet to be enough parts makers in Bangladesh at this time, but given proper policy/tariff support you will be amazed how quickly local parts suppliers crop up. back about three decades ago, there were hardly any auto parts suppliers in India, but when local car assembly started there at that time, these companies sprouted like mushrooms.

4) Raise Tariffs on foreign assemblers vs. locally owned ones. For example PHP auto and ACI assemble Proton and Foton vehicles respectively, they should pay less tariff on imported CKD kits rather than Foreign wholly owned assemblers like Hero from India. We should encourage our own assemblers to flourish over foreign owned ones like those from India who are only trying to make a buck and have no stake in employing our people on a permanent basis nor establish deep backward integration.

5) Companies coming up with completely local/indigenous brand and design should pay even lower tariffs (lowest tariff) on imported parts and in fact should be incentivized by the govt. We should encourage local designing and building from scratch of all passenger and commercial vehicles (and deep backward integration like any local auto parts manufacture, which is an independent industry in itself). I'm sure Indian lobby will try to influence Bangladesh pa-chata SLAVVV politicians to change tariff structure - but we must be vigilant about this.

I feel this should be a good strategy going forward. Guys let me know what you think.

BARVIDA says that a reconditioned Corolla/Premio/Allion costs $6000 to import and govt. imposes $11,000 vat on it. This is ridiculous and unsustainable. Whether the govt. will listen is debatable....

They also asked Govt. to not encourage establishment of "screwdriver" industry, rather allow full assembly from CKD kits.

Ashok Leyland, Tata, Hero and Mahindra have been provided these permissions for screwdriver industry by the govt. already. They import minimally knocked down SKD kits from India to add minimal value locally.

BARVIDA says that a reconditioned Corolla/Premio/Allion costs $6000 to import and govt. imposes $11,000 vat on it. This is ridiculous and unsustainable. Whether the govt. will listen is debatable....

They also asked Govt. to not encourage establishment of "screwdriver" industry, rather allow full assembly from CKD kits.

Ashok Leyland, Tata, Hero and Mahindra have been provided these permissions for screwdriver industry by the govt. already. They import minimally knocked down SKD kits from India to add minimal value locally.

No hope of significant reduction in car import duty until the country is decentralised.

It is only BARVIDA people who ask about reducing tax and sales tax. However, the govt needs money from the taxes to cover the administrative expenses.

On the other hand, our rich consumers do not show any concern about the current large tax rates. Rather, they want the govt to allow the import of higher engine displacement (cc) vehicles with bigger tax rates but without penalty. This is how our super-rich would show off money to poor street guys like me and get big SALAM.

By the way, our roads and streets are already overcrowded with slow and fast-moving vehicles running side-by-side. Reducing taxes will cause more cars and more overcrowding. It is the reason that the GoB cited when the tax rates were increased a few years ago.

I am not familiar with the screwdriver thing. But, manufacturers must be allowed to do whatever way they find best to initiate the production of vehicles in the country. BD needs local assembly/ production accompanied by increased employment.