Balls of steel

SeaGull

A REQUIEM FOR THE DAMNED

One of the key poignant moments that bring you to a standstill comes in the thoughts of one of our brothers Al- zakir that puzzles him: 'How could army allow such unfair move when he is one of their own?'

Though our friend khabib does adequately answer that condition and just to expand on that I draw on an analogy from the ancient pagan days.
In the ancient Mayan culture and also in the Hindu Culture there was/is a tradition - that of offering their children as sacrifice to the pagan gods, slaughtered on the lap of their stone gods. The blood of those children was believed to appease their gods.
In our context, this act of axing the set careers of officers is another form of ritual sacrifice to appease the goddess of the day that rules this land.
And this is not just about Brig Azmi - this is also about the seven who went before him and the fifty seven at Peelkhana - God knows how many more will fall.
And what makes anyone think that you can't voice your grievances or raise your voices just because you are held in an Army strait Jacket?? This Govt is illegal [ as I shall come to later in this writing] and all its actions and legislations whatever, hold no legal or lawful authority. The next Govt should reinstate those who have been wronged with full honours.
This peculiarity as mentioned by Khabib, unglues the cohesiveness and the integrity of the Army. The Army is not that, The Army is a family - you train together, you live together you fight together you die together.
Those who spoke out to the Prime Minister, were they not speaking for all of you too? What was their fault? I have listened to those so called Sena Kunja tapes and all those who spoke though agitated which was natural under the circumstance, were extremely deferential towards the PM referring to her as ' Maanonio Prodhan Monteri' in their address.
The centrifugal forces at work that shear the integrity of the Army as solid cohesive body in this predominant self chasing culture of 'his his - whose whose' mentality or each man for himself also makes you vulnerable and fragmented where you can be easily picked off one by one - giving rise to doubt and suspicion in which you cannot trust your own buddies to give you away.
This level of trust camaraderiship so essential to the integrity of an Army once broken leaves you fatally exposed.
One of the finest examples that I can mention of such cohesion and brotherhood can be found in Major Dalim's own narration of the episode in which he alongwith his wife and mother in law were picked up by Gazi Golam Mostafa- the kombol Chor, from Dacca Club for the Final solution.
The Army geared into action as soon as soon as it came to know of it no chains of command withstanding - raiding and ransacking the house of the Red Cross Chief, and taking his wife and children as hostages for the safety and return of one of its own Officers - Major Dalim. Even though at that time there was an extremely powerful political leadership at the helm of the nation. The army stood by its own men. And those men also gave their all to the Army and by extension the nation. We had something in there to be proud of. Even though at the time the back of the Army was up against the wall. It was an ad hoc Army not even featuring on the State organogram and living on the largesse of the PM and biding its time to give way to the upcoming dreaded Rakkhi Bahini.
This particular incident can be accessed in Major Dalim's own words from this link: h4p16

How can we compare that to what the Army does now in presenting the heads of its own officers on a silver platter destined for the chopping block.
The events of that fateful day of Aug 15 that even our young friend mentions with a caveat - stand out clear and bright even as the stars in our skies. It was a turning point for this nation - that we were to throw away to our chagrin.
Those who led that noble endeavor and those who participated therein are our Heroes who we fail to recoganise and honour for a monumental deliverance that this nation could never had had otherwise.

It is very rightly said that " A nation that does not honour its heroes - will have no heroes'
See what happened - 1/11 fell into the lap of General Moeen - it was no less a revolution and he had a chance to turn this into a vision of his own and yet he threw it all away. And is now on the run.

Aug 15, 1975 was a victory of the hungry - a victory of the Victim - a victory of the downtrodden – a victory of the desperate. A victory of the aggrieved, a victory of the father in his anguish and pain because his daughter was forcibly taken away by the Awami League goondas – a victory of the deprived and dispossessed - a victory of the weak the dead and the dying and the living skeleton that lay down on our footpaths too weak to go on, never to rise again - in a vicious artificial famine created by the Awami league Chors, blackmarketeers smugglers and thugs and then there was this Lal Ghora 'The Rakkhi Bahini"

And there also was this cheap flimsy markin cloth imported from India and distributed extensively thru the fair price shops – with which our impoverished mothers and sisters could barely hide their shame and people would remark, ‘ Amar sonar bangla – Banglar sona dekha jai’

Those were trying times – an ordeal that should have been etched in our memories as “Never Again”
The prices of essentials falling to sustainable levels and the rice price coming down to Tk 5/- from a high of Tk 15/- in those days which was a fortune for the poor man, in the immediate aftermath of Aug 15. And peace and security returning to more than normal in the streets and Mohallas where residents had no fear whatsoever.

And Zia was to ride the back of that success for the next five years - till it was time for him to go too.
An ungrateful Army it is – An ungrateful nation we are.

Bhashani, a veteran politician had once remarked to the Sheikh after he came back to the country and took over its helm of affairs,
" Shekh Mujib tui to ghorar pithey chore boshechish - ek bar o ki bhebe dekhechish naambi ki bhaabe?"

And Zia closed the doors to those who paved the way for his ascent to power and even hanged Col Taher who was instrumental in the Sepoy Mutiny of Nov 1975 all for a long long stay in power but a long stay it was not. Even Ershad the Magician, had a longer stay in comparison.
Zia too, like his predecessor was a President for life but I doubt if either intended to exit in that manner.

We have to know our history and we, those of us who are of the older generation need not be told what is and what isn't because we have lived through those times.
Surely we have been refractory and negligent towards those who threw away their lives their living their families and all they held dear to go out in the name of God and the country. A journey that for them and this country was never to end.
Not that they wanted anything for themselves in the first place. Was it the riches that they coveted? Who could stop them from amassing all the wealth that this country could offer?
Or was it position they craved for?? Why then are they still Majors and Colonel - who was to stop them from promoting themselves to Generals or Field Marshals.
Let us have our perspectives right - because unless we have the correct perspective whatever new beginning we may make will be a wrong beginning - ending up in square one as we do now.
Ask any of those of the senior lot, if what I say is indeed true or a gross exaggeration. This wasn’t an Army that figured on the State organogram. It was an ad hoc organization that lived on the cheques issued by the PM/President
They should be able to fill you in with greater details because they were in the thick of it then.
And in this pursuit of our own happiness we have grievously wounded those who had helped us overcome an insurmountable existential threat in those darkest segments of our past.

Which brings me back full circle to Al- zakir’s vexation of how could the Army allow such an unfair move when he was one of their own’.
And now I have to ask you how did the Army allow that unfair move then- when they were its own??

The Nov 3 1975 Sepoy Uprising was a reiteration of the Army’s Aug 15 stand. Why couldn’t the Army under Zia have their own back, and reinstate them honourably. They loved the Army they loved their jobs they loved their country for which they had fought. They were professional soldiers and true patriots.

No they did not go into exile of their own volition but as an act of stepping away from shedding the blood of their own brother officers, that they had sought to save and uplift from the rattrap in the first place.
This was no act of cowardice. They were no cowards then - and they are no cowards now or at any time.
I remember Maj Huda speak of his own ordeal of the Aug 15 – in which he mentions that he had a grenade tied to his belt, and should things have horribly gone wrong for them, he would have just pulled the pin and waited with the armed grenade in his hands for another three seconds of his life.
That was the spirit they went out with for this country and returned hugely hugely successful.
The enormity of the risks cannot be overemphasized. There was the Mujib Bahini there were the Freedom Fighters, there were the Awami League goondas and mastaans all bristling with weaponry looting banks and businesses and hijacking innocent girls whoever they desired, then there was this dreaded Rakkhi Bahini and of course the teeming masses 7-8 crore Bengalis who adored Mujib and for whom Mujib was a god.
Or was he? By then Mujib was a rotten carcass to the Bengalis, but that was not a given at that time and everything was uncertain, the risks were still to be factored in.
Was that cowardice? And what say you of taking on the entire strength of the Rakkhi Bahini in a lone tank that had no shells to fire, a sitting duck it was.
These will new chapters in ‘Heights of Courage’ with a conviction of that which was right, within the folds of our own history. A courage that could withstand time to pass off easily into the worlds of non-time
This was the stuff of the Balls of Steel – the classic David against Golaith.
Read the entire history of that episode in ‘Bangladesh a Legacy of Blood’ by Anthony Mascarenhas and you cannot go wrong. Mascarenhas was a personal friend of Sheikh Mujib and has no reason whatsoever to concoct anything here.
And also you should find much facts of value in Major Dalim’s own website : Welcome To The Official Site of Major Dalim
We have indeed been refractory and criminally negligent towards those who had saved our ***** and this nation’s ***. Those that we now allude to as disgruntled Army officers who broke the chain of command.
What chain of command needs to be followed when faced with an imminent existential threat?? It was mission that Shafiullah himself should have undertaken for a nation in its death throes.

Did you not follow the chain of command in lining up behind Moeen and did not Moeen himself follow the chain of command standing behind the petticoat. Where indeed did that lead you?? Answer me if you can.
Aug 15 was a monumental victory for the people of this land coming in the wake of another, that of 1971, a victory of the people, in which it was the people who fought – not Sheikh Mujib or his family or his Party.
And this should remain as a black chapter in a litany of our own ignorance in which we cannot even see clearly. No wonder we have been groping for a way out for so long.
And in this telling of their story – this has been our story as well It was because they were there then – which is why you are here now – seeking perks, promotions, benefits and UN jobs that you covet so much.
And in the final analysis, in this judging of ours in which we stand as judges over their actions little it is we realize that it is indeed we who are being judged on the higher scales of Justice of the Ultimate JUDGE.

The complicacies arising out of the so called BangaBandhu murder case

In a classic Catch-22 situation that threatens to uproot the very fabric of this society built brick by brick after Aug the 15th 1975 on the concurring realities of their own timespace, the decisions of a High court bench to void the Fifth constitutional amendment opens a Pandora's box that invalidates and lays to waste all subsequent actions post Aug 15 till date. That should include the judges own position and his decisions on each and every issue including the one that he made on the Fifth amendment.
And what is the legal validity of an amicus curie of a few of the hand picked men by Hasina? that paved the way for a trial that should never have been, as specified by the Constitution.
The Supreme Court does realise this fatal flaw and hence the impasse. This raises disturbing questions on whether the ambit of the judiciary holds sway over the legislations of a Sovereign Parliament, which of course it cannot.
The scrapping of the fifth amendment also scraps all following bills and amendments thus specified in the Constitution to take us back to the Fourth amendment, which is a single party rule the BKSAL rule, which is where we may yet be heading in the present set up.
What about the first indemnity bill covering the atrocities of the liberation struggle and the 2nd amendment bill covering the ***** of the Rakkhi Bahini for killing 30,000 - 40,000 Bangladeshis, why shouldn't these trials also be held. The murder of a patriot and FF Shiraj Shikder in cold blood, for opposing the Govt policies against its own people and as boasted by this very same father in his parliament, "Kothay aaj shey Siraj Shikder"
Can we also not in the same vein say, "Kothay aaj shey Sheikh Mujib"
Then there will be later indemnities to insulate the Army and law enforcing agencies for their part in the clean up of criminals and crime that had assumed gargantuan proportions as they have now.
Then there is also the validity of the recent general elections held by the Fakhruddin CTG, whose own tenure was unlawful beyond that of the three months as specified in the Constitution. This Awami League now in power is illegal by those very same standards. This is no constitutional Govt.and can be dismissed at any time.
The shelf life of the Care taker Govt as clearly prescribed in the Constitution is three months, beyond that it is illegal. The elections held by an invalid unconstitutional Govt do not hold validity and in the process the Govt that ascends to power in such an election too, is unconstitutional, illegal and thus invalid.
No wonder Moeen fled the country as did Fakhruddin before him. Iajuddin being too sick to run and that reminds us of Reagan saying : ‘ You can run but you can’t hide’
The evil of your deeds will indeed find you – in this tale of the three 'Uddins'
These and much more are the gifts of a pandora's box that is just the beginning, for if we do open it, which we will definitely have to. We also have to go the whole hog because - as one of our own brilliant writers M. Shahidul Islam states, ' there is no such thing as half pregnant in the annals of Justice' - in his article, 'Nation heading towards constitutional Crises" of the May 15th edition of the weekly Holiday.
Let us not get caught up in emotive prejudices let us look around, draw from the truth and then draw conclusions that can then be only worthwhile.

The bottom line is that this so called BB murder trial has been a farce, illegal and unlawful that it was. The lower court judge, Gholam Rasul - who could not suppress his venom and prejudice in passing the judgment stating, even the killers of Mahatma Gandhi confessed to his crime with a sense of pride, but not you'
And the death sentence by a firing squad passed in that judgment as nowhere incorporated in the penal code and should have been dismissed at the outset as a non executable sentence and hence not valid.

RELEASE THEM NOW!!

These legal complications that hinder this Govts. march in which the legal system cannot keep pace with the PMs intent of hanging those heroes to avenge her family’s and father’s killing only serve to infuriate her and the Law minister for which he was specifically appointed. Is Justice system a piece of cake that they could have anytime since they were in power?
It would be more a miscarriage of justice and injustice that they seek as they descend with those demands in crowds with their logis and boithas on the High Court, as we have seen from the previous instance of this Awami League in power.

THE JAMAAT e ISLAMI

Aug the 15th 1975: Would also be the opening of this country’s relationship with China in a new beginning that held much promise and has brought us untold benefits in that symbiosis over all those bygone years and held a great deal more promise for our future in our close bonding with a resurgent China, making its presence felt on the global stage as an economic heavyweight, in the more recent times. Now all of that has to come to an abrupt end.
Aug the 15th was also a high day of deliverance for the old school leadership of then defunct Jamaat e Islami – which is a jamaat alright, but anything but Islami.
Those leaders then in hiding or in prison cells held for their connivance with the Pakistani junta in a bid to upstage the separation of a country well underway then, in the name of Islam. And what not has been wrought on the people of this land again in the name of Islam. Not that we Bengalis had been any epitome of sense and Balance. Attacking and marauding those of the non Bengalis among us in vicious senseless killing that made it abundantly clear to them whose side they should be on.

And in all fairness this War Crimes tribunal that is now is now to be held – should also consider the atrocities we committed against those innocent non Bengalis living peacefully amongst our midst.
Allowing for those leaders to come out of the wood works and prisons to start a new life and start anew their Party activities in the now more liberal political atmosphere that prevailed.
But even so they were to remain in a political wilderness for a long long time, isolated from the people of this land for their heavy handed dealings in collaboration with the Pakistani Army. All this while they survived and thrived and in the process built up an organization and a financial empire that was to rival any like Jewish establishment, until they came upon a diabolical understanding with the BNP of Begum Khaleda Zia to come to more prominence on the political stage in the shadow of BNP’s own successes.
And vile was that bargain they made in their desperation and bid for power. Committing or/and being a party to kufri[denial of the Lord’s sovereignty and Supremacy] on high stage and full view of the TV cameras for all the world to see. That remains a witness against them for the Judgment Day as well.
The Quran is very specific on this that says, that when you are in a company in which you hear His signs being ridiculed, separate yourselves from those people, otherwise you also become like them.
Why couldn’t the Jamaat leadership Maulana Nizami and the others present step down from that high stage in protest when Khaleda Zia uttered ‘ Jonogon e shokol khomotar uthsho’
Is jonogan shokol khomotar uthsho?? Is that what we really believe in? Is this what jamaat teaches on its tours and lecture circuits in waaz mahfils, that they hold all over the country.? fie to the faith we have.
This is a KUFRI statement – ask any Aalim and he will tell you that. Jonogon is not the source of all Power. Jonogon is jonogan- you me, he, she, they, them all comprise jonogon - are we the source of all power? NO!!! It is our Lord Allah Who is the source of all Power.
And where was that teeming crowds of masses that they had gathered from all corners of the country in a show of force at paltan when Begum Zia was picked up by the state security for her reckoning that did not come through in the end.

These are the leaders of the Jamaat e Islami who lead or mislead our youth in the name of Islam. The youths who in their innocence and sincerity do believe in those leaders and their variations of interpretations and think they are on Allah’s way.
Allah’s way is not diabolical, in which you may deal with the Devil to come close to Allah. It is a straight forward way and nothing can be clearer – TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT.
That was a way taught to us by His Prophet and that is the way shown to us as indeed practical and doable in the Prophet’s own lifetime.
And in this tangled web of our lives we fail to see clearly for the mist into the past to know why and what hit us now. Even when we were doing so well and making so much progress. For any progress can be stopped in its tracks for the reckoning that has been promised to us both in this life and the life to come.
And sure enough the Jamaat is on the run again with all of those old charges of genocide and mass killings hanging over them in a rerun of their nightmares in which now neither their strength in numbers nor their financial prowess can promise any deliverance.
We still have to get our perspectives right. Perspectives is also 'hishaab nikaash' – the stock taking -what has been earned what has been spent and how much is left or unleft depending.

THE DAY OF THE FROG

What is game and play to the boys – is death and doom to the frog.

To be continued>>>>>>>>

Bhai
What do you think about Jamaat-e-Islami? If you ask me, I think it is more democratic and discipline than Awami or BNP. Perhaps it time that Jamaat should be given a chance to run the country.

They may just turn out to be what we need to scrape out all musriki dalal from Muslim land.
What say bhai?:undecided:

Please continue.....:D

A REQUIEM FOR THE DAMNED

One of the key poignant moments that bring you to a standstill comes in the thoughts of one of our brothers Al- zakir that puzzles him: 'How could army allow such unfair move when he is one of their own?'

Though our young friend khabib does adequately answer that condition and just to expand on that I draw on an analogy from the ancient pagan days.
In the ancient Mayan culture and also in the Hindu Culture there was/is a tradition - that of offering their children as sacrifice to the pagan gods, slaughtered on the lap of their stone gods. The blood of those children was believed to appease their gods.
In our context, this act of axing the set careers of officers is another form of ritual sacrifice to appease the goddess of the day that rules this land.
And this is not just about Brig Azmi - this is also about the seven who went before him and the fifty seven at Peelkhana - God knows how many more will fall.
And what makes anyone think that you can't voice your grievances or raise your voices just because you are held in an Army strait Jacket?? This Govt is illegal [ as I shall come to later in this writing] and all its actions and legislations whatever, hold no legal or lawful authority. The next Govt should reinstate those who have been wronged with full honours.
This peculiarity as mentioned by Khabib, unglues the cohesiveness and the integrity of the Army. The Army is not that, The Army is a family - you train together, you live together you fight together you die together.
Those who spoke out to the Prime Minister, were they not speaking for all of you too? What was their fault? I have listened to those so called Sena Kunja tapes and all those who spoke though agitated which was natural under the circumstance, were extremely deferential towards the PM referring to her as ' Maanonio Prodhan Monteri' in their address.
The centrifugal forces at work that shear the integrity of the Army as solid cohesive body in this predominant self chasing culture of 'his his - whose whose' mentality or each man for himself also makes you vulnerable and fragmented where you can be easily picked off one by one - giving rise to doubt and suspicion in which you cannot trust your own buddies to give you away.
This level of trust camaraderiship so essential to the integrity of an Army once broken leaves you fatally exposed.
One of the finest examples that I can mention of such cohesion and brotherhood can be found in Major Dalim's own narration of the episode in which he alongwith his wife and mother in law were picked up by Gazi Golam Mostafa- the kombol Chor, from Dacca Club for the Final solution.
The Army geared into action as soon as soon as it came to know of it no chains of command withstanding - raiding and ransacking the house of the Red Cross Chief, and taking his wife and children as hostages for the safety and return of one of its own Officers - Major Dalim. Even though at that time there was an extremely powerful political leadership at the helm of the nation. The army stood by its own men. And those men also gave their all to the Army and by extension the nation. We had something in there to be proud of. Even though at the time the back of the Army was up against the wall. It was an ad hoc Army not even featuring on the State organogram and living on the largesse of the PM and biding its time to give way to the upcoming dreaded Rakkhi Bahini.
This particular incident can be accessed in Major Dalim's own words from this link: h4p16

How can we compare that to what the Army does now in presenting the heads of its own officers on a silver platter destined for the chopping block.
The events of that fateful day of Aug 15 that even our young friend mentions with a caveat - stand out clear and bright even as the stars in our skies. It was a turning point for this nation - that we were to throw away to our chagrin.
Those who led that noble endeavor and those who participated therein are our Heroes who we fail to recoganise and honour for a monumental deliverance that this nation could never had had otherwise.

It is very rightly said that " A nation that does not honour its heroes - will have no heroes'
See what happened - 1/11 fell into the lap of General Moeen - it was no less a revolution and he had a chance to turn this into a vision of his own and yet he threw it all away. And is now on the run.

Aug 15, 1975 was a victory of the hungry - a victory of the Victim - a victory of the downtrodden – a victory of the desperate. A victory of the aggrieved, a victory of the father in his anguish and pain because his daughter was forcibly taken away by the Awami League goondas – a victory of the deprived and dispossessed - a victory of the weak the dead and the dying and the living skeleton that lay down on our footpaths too weak to go on, never to rise again - in a vicious artificial famine created by the Awami league Chors, blackmarketeers smugglers and thugs and then there was this Lal Ghora 'The Rakkhi Bahini"
And then there was this cheap flimsy markin cloth imported from India and distributed extensively thru the fair price shops – with which our impoverished mothers and sisters could barely hide their shame and people would remark, ‘ Amar sonar bangla – Banglar sona dekha jai’

Those were trying times – an ordeal that should have been etched in our memories as “Never Again”
The prices of essentials falling to sustainable levels and the rice price coming down to Tk 5/- from a high of Tk 15/- in those days which was a fortune for the poor man, in the immediate aftermath of Aug 15. And peace and security returning to more than normal in the streets and Mohallas where residents had no fear whatsoever.

And Zia was to ride the back of that success for the next five years - till it was time for him to go too.
An ungrateful Army it is – An ungrateful nation we are.

Bhashani, a veteran politician had once remarked to the Sheikh after he came back to the country and took over its helm of affairs,
" Shekh Mujib tui to ghorar pithey chore boshechish - ek bar o ki bhebe dekhechish naambi ki bhaabe?"

And Zia closed the doors to those who paved the way for his ascent to power and even hanged Col Taher who was instrumental in the Sepoy Mutiny of Nov 1975 all for a long long stay in power but a long stay it was not. Even Ershad the Magician, had a longer stay in comparison.
Zia too, like his predecessor was a President for life but I doubt if either intended to exit in that manner.

We have to know our history and we, those of us who are of the older generation need not be told what is and what isn't because we have lived through those times.
Surely we have been refractory and negligent towards those who threw away their lives their living their families and all they held dear to go out in the name of God and the country. A journey that for them and this country was never to end.
Not that they wanted anything for themselves in the first place. Was it the riches that they coveted? Who could stop them from amassing all the wealth that this country could offer?
Or was it position they craved for?? Why then are they still Majors and Colonel - who was to stop them from promoting themselves to Generals or Field Marshals.
Let us have our perspectives right - because unless we have the correct perspective whatever new beginning we may make will be a wrong beginning - ending up in square one as we do now.
Ask any of those of the senior lot, if what I say is indeed true or a gross exaggeration. This wasn’t an Army that figured on the State organogram. It was an ad hoc organization that lived on the cheques issued by the PM/President
They should be able to fill you in with greater details because they were in the thick of it then.
And in this pursuit of our own happiness we have grievously wounded those who had helped us overcome an insurmountable existential threat in those darkest segments of our past.

Which brings me back full circle to Al- zakir’s vexation of how could the Army allow such an unfair move when he was one of their own’.
And now I have to ask you how did the Army allow that unfair move then- when they were its own??

The Nov 3 1975 Sepoy Uprising was a reiteration of the Army’s Aug 15 stand. Why couldn’t the Army under Zia have their own back, and reinstate them honourably. They loved the Army they loved their jobs they loved their country for which they had fought. They were professional soldiers and true patriots.

No they did not go into exile of their own volition but as an act of stepping away from shedding the blood of their own brother officers, that they had sought to save and uplift from the *** trap in the first place.
This was no act of cowardice. They were no cowards then - and they are no cowards now or at any time.
I remember Maj Huda speak of his own ordeal of the Aug 15 – in which he mentions that he had a grenade tied to his belt, and should things have horribly gone wrong for them, he would have just pulled the pin and waited with the armed grenade in his hands for another three seconds of his life.
That was the spirit they went out with for this country and returned hugely hugely successful.
The enormity of the risks cannot be overemphasized. There was the Mujib Bahini there were the Freedom Fighters, there were the Awami League goondas and mastaans all bristling with weaponry looting banks and businesses and hijacking innocent girls whoever they desired, then there was this dreaded Rakkhi Bahini and of course the teeming masses 7-8 crore Bengalis who adored Mujib and for whom Mujib was a god.
Or was he? By then Mujib was a rotten carcass to the Bengalis, but that was not a given at that time and everything was uncertain, the risks were still to be factored in.
Was that cowardice? And what say you of taking on the entire strength of the Rakkhi Bahini in a lone tank that had no shells to fire, a sitting duck it was.
These will new chapters in ‘Heights of Courage’ with a conviction of that which was right, within the folds of our own history. A courage that could withstand time to pass off easily into the worlds of non-time
This was the stuff of the Balls of Steel – the classic David against Golaith.
Read the entire history of that episode in ‘Bangladesh a Legacy of Blood’ by Anthony Mascarenhas and you cannot go wrong. Mascarenhas was a personal friend of Sheikh Mujib and has no reason whatsoever to concoct anything here.
And also you should find much facts of value in Major Dalim’s own website : Welcome To The Official Site of Major Dalim
We have indeed been refractory and criminally negligent towards those who had saved our ***** and this nation’s ***. Those that we now allude to as disgruntled Army officers who broke the chain of command.
What chain of command needs to be followed when faced with an imminent existential threat?? It was mission that Shafiullah himself should have undertaken for a nation in its death throes.

Did you not follow the chain of command in lining up behind Moeen and did not Moeen himself follow the chain of command standing behind the petticoat. Where indeed did that lead you?? Answer me if you can.
Aug 15 was a monumental victory for the people of this land coming in the wake of another, that of 1971, a victory of the people, in which it was the people who fought – not Sheikh Mujib or his family or his Party.
And this should remain as a black chapter in a litany of our own ignorance in which we cannot even see clearly. No wonder we have been groping for a way out for so long.
And in this telling of their story – this has been our story as well It was because they were there then – which is why you are here now – seeking perks, promotions, benefits and UN jobs that you covet so much.
And in the final analysis, in this judging of ours in which we stand as judges over their actions little it is we realize that it is indeed we who are being judged on the higher scales of Justice of the Ultimate JUDGE.

The complexities arising out of the so called BangaBandhu murder case

In a classic Catch-22 situation that threatens to uproot the very fabric of this society built brick by brick after Aug the 15th 1975 on the concurring realities of their own timespace, the decisions of a High court bench to void the Fifth constitutional amendment opens a Pandora's box that invalidates and lays to waste all subsequent actions post Aug 15 till date. That should include the judges own position and his decisions on each and every issue including the one that he made on the Fifth amendment.
And what is the legal validity of an amicus curie of a few of the hand picked men by Hasina? that paved the way for a trial that should never have been, as specified by the Constitution.
The Supreme Court does realise this fatal flaw and hence the impasse. This raises disturbing questions on whether the ambit of the judiciary holds sway over the legislations of a Sovereign Parliament, which of course it cannot.
The scrapping of the fifth amendment also scraps all following bills and amendments thus specified in the Constitution to take us back to the Fourth amendment, which is a single party rule the BKSAL rule, which is where we may yet be heading in the present set up.
What about the first indemnity bill covering the atrocities of the liberation struggle and the 2nd amendment bill covering the ***** of the Rakkhi Bahini for killing 30,000 - 40,000 Bangladeshis, why shouldn't these trials also be held. The murder of a patriot and FF Shiraj Shikder in cold blood, for opposing the Govt policies against its own people and as boasted by this very same father in his parliament, "Kothay aaj shey Siraj Shikder"
Can we also not in the same vein say, "Kothay aaj shey Sheikh Mujib"
Then there will be later indemnities to insulate the Army and law enforcing agencies for their part in the clean up of criminals and crime that had assumed gargantuan proportions as they have now.
Then there is also the validity of the recent general elections held by the Fakhruddin CTG, whose own tenure was unlawful beyond that of the three months as specified in the Constitution. This Awami League now in power is illegal by those very same standards. This is no constitutional Govt.and can be dismissed at any time.
The shelf life of the Care taker Govt as clearly prescribed in the Constitution is three months, beyond that it is illegal. The elections held by an invalid unconstitutional Govt do not hold validity and in the process the Govt that ascends to power in such an election too, is unconstitutional, illegal and thus invalid.
No wonder Moeen fled the country as did Fakhruddin before him. Iajuddin being too sick to run and that reminds us of Reagan saying : ‘ You can run but you can’t hide’
The evil of your deeds will indeed find you – in this tale of the three Ahmeds
These and much more are the gifts of a pandora's box that is just the beginning, for if we do open it, which we will definitely have to. We also have to go the whole hog because - as one of our own brilliant writers M. Shahidul Islam states, ' there is no such thing as half pregnant in the annals of Justice' - in his article, 'Nation heading towards constitutional Crises" of the May 15th edition of the weekly Holiday.
Let us not get caught up in emotive prejudices let us look around, draw from the truth and then draw conclusions that can then be only worthwhile.

The bottom line is that this so called BB murder trial has been a farce, illegal and unlawful that it was. The lower court judge, Gholam Mowla and we have no difficulty in perceiving which mowla is he the Ghulam of-- who could not suppress his venom and prejudice in passing the judgment stating, even the killers of Mahatma Gandhi confessed to his crime with a sense of pride, but not you'
And the death sentence by a firing squad passed in that judgment as nowhere incorporated in the penal code and should have been dismissed at the outset as a non executable sentence and hence not valid.
RELEASE THEM NOW!!

These legal complications that hinder this Govts. march in which the legal system cannot keep pace with the PMs intent of hanging those heroes to avenge her family’s and father’s killing only serve to infuriate her and the Law minister for which he was specifically appointed. Is Justice system a piece of cake that they could have anytime since they were in power?
It would be more a miscarriage of justice and injustice that they seek as they descend with those demands in crowds with their logis and boithas on the High Court, as we have seen from the previous instance of this Awami League in power.

THE JAMAAT e ISLAMI
Aug the 15th 1975: Would also be the opening of this country’s relationship with China in a new beginning that held much promise and has brought us untold benefits in that symbiosis over all those bygone years and held a great deal more promise for our future in our close bonding with a resurgent China, making its presence felt on the global stage as an economic heavyweight, in the more recent times. Now all of that has to come to an abrupt end.
Aug the 15th was also a high day of deliverance for the old school leadership of then defunct Jamaat e Islami – which is a jamaat alright, but anything but Islami.
Those leaders then in hiding or in prison cells held for their connivance with the Pakistani junta in a bid to upstage the separation of a country well underway then, in the name of Islam. And what not has been wrought on the people of this land again in the name of Islam. Not that we Bengalis had been any epitome of sense and Balance. Attacking and marauding those of the non Bengalis among us in vicious senseless killing that made it abundantly clear to them whose side they should be on.
And in all fairness this War Crimes tribunal that is now is now to be held – should also consider the atrocities we committed against those innocent non Bengalis living peacefully amongst our midst.
Allowing for those leaders to come out of the wood works and prisons to start a new life and start anew their Party activities in the now more liberal political atmosphere that prevailed.
But even so they were to remain in a political wilderness for a long long time, isolated from the people of this land for their heavy handed dealings in collaboration with the Pakistani Army. All this while they survived and thrived and in the process built up an organization and a financial empire that was to rival any like Jewish establishment, until they came upon a diabolical understanding with the BNP of Begum Khaleda Zia to come to more prominence on the political stage in the shadow of BNP’s own successes.
And vile was that bargain they made in their desperation and bid for power. Committing or/and being a party to kufri[denial of the Lord’s sovereignty and Supremacy] on high stage and full view of the TV cameras for all the world to see. That remains a witness against them for the Judgment Day as well.
The Quran is very specific on this that says, that when you are in a company in which you hear His signs being ridiculed, separate yourselves from those people, otherwise you also become like them.
Why couldn’t the Jamaat leadership Maulana Nizami and the others present step down from that high stage in protest when Khaleda Zia uttered ‘ Jonogon e shokol khomotar uthsho’
Is jonogan shokol khomotar uthsho?? Is that what we really believe in? Is this what jamaat teaches on its tours and lecture circuits in waaz mahfils, that they hold all over the country.? fie to the faith we have.
This is a KUFRI statement – ask any Aalim and he will tell you that. Jonogon is not the source of all Power. Jonogon is jonogan- you me, he, she, they, them all comprise jonogon - are we the source of all power? NO!!! It is our Lord Allah Who is the source of all Power.
And where was that teeming crowds of masses that they had gathered from all corners of the country in a show of force at paltan when Begum Zia was picked up by the state security for her reckoning that did not come through in the end.

These are the leaders of the Jamaat e Islami who lead or mislead our youth in the name of Islam. The youths who in their innocence and sincerity do believe in those leaders and their variations of interpretations and think they are on Allah’s way.
Allah’s way is not diabolical, in which you may deal with the Devil to come close to Allah. It is a straight forward way and nothing can be clearer – TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT.
That was a way taught to us by His Prophet and that is the way shown to us as indeed practical and doable in the Prophet’s own lifetime.
And in this tangled web of our lives we fail to see clearly for the mist into the past to know why and what hit us now. Even when we were doing so well and making so much progress. For any progress can be stopped in its tracks for the reckoning that has been promised to us both in this life and the life to come.
And sure enough the Jamaat is on the run again with all of those old charges of genocide and mass killings hanging over them in a rerun of their nightmares in which now neither their strength in numbers nor their financial prowess can promise any deliverance.
We still have to get our perspectives right. Perspectives is hishaab nikaash – the stock taking what has been earned what has been spent and how much is left or unleft depending.

THE DAY OF THE FROG
What is game and play to the boys – is death and doom to the frog.

To be continued………
Hat's off to your ability to comprehand things, brother/sir. Yours has genious's touch that surpasses mediocrity by many folds. Keep up good work, brother.

Unfortunately this is not the same army as that of 1975. That army fought in a war but this army gets rank and promotions just sitting on their ***** or taking part in UN peace missions. This army also has no ideological motivation which was certainly not lacking in 1975 whether of the communist or Islamic brand. After the Pilkhana massacre things may now change and the army may return to its original patriotic roots. We can only hope.

Bhai
What do you think about Jamaat-e-Islami? If you ask me, I think it is more democratic and discipline than Awami or BNP. Perhaps it time that Jamaat should be given a chance to run the country.

They may just turn out to be what we need to scrape out all musriki dalal from Muslim land.
What say bhai?:undecided:

Please continue.....:D
This is to discard and dispel any notions that I am dead against Jamaat - I AM NOT!
As a matter of fact I even like it. My attempts here are to show the Jamaat that they were wrong in 1971 and they are even wrong now. The policies of Jamaat leadership affect not only the Party itself but it impacts on the body politic of this nation in ways that are less than desirable.
It is equally important for Jamaat to understand that they are not the only true Muslims in this country because of their strict adherence to basics of of our faith.
It is indeed crucial for Jamaat at this late stage to go on an extensive soul searching as to how best they can of use for a Deen that we have all come to accept and love.

In the treatise on Jamaat e Islami, please read SHIRK for Kufri - I am not so well versed in Arabic language as our Jamaat friends.

And the name of lower court judge should be Gholam Rasul - not Gholam Mowla. Was doing it from memory, didn't know memory also fails.
Thank you

Keep them coming sire :tup:

And about Jamat, I have problem with the top leaders of Jamat,especially those who are linked with war crime issue.Without them Jamat would probably be a better party.Simply because they are ruining the party reputation.

As we all know Jamat leaders were almost free of corruption unlike AL and BNP leaders.As far as I remember only one was arrested for corruption.

This party needs a serious shake up in its top posts,together with some reforms, if it seriously wants to rule Bangladesh someday.

One more thing,I heard some members of Islami Chatra Shibir are very bright students.Unlike CHL and CHD,which are filled with goons.So if they are guided properly,they can become good leaders.Any thought on this?

Unfortunately this is not the same army as that of 1975. That army fought in a war but this army gets rank and promotions just sitting on their ***** or taking part in UN peace missions. This army also has no ideological motivation which was certainly not lacking in 1975 whether of the communist or Islamic brand. After the Pilkhana massacre things may now change and the army may return to its original patriotic roots. We can only hope.
Yes, there is a clear bifurcation of our pre and post 75 Armies.
Precisely this can be attributed to Zia and Ershad, who did not see the Army in its primary role but as an extension of thier own reach and power, in their ambitious drive to cling on to power.
I doubt if the Pilkhana tragedy can be of any use in a retransformation process.

Keep them coming sire :tup:

And about Jamat, I have problem with the top leaders of Jamat,especially those who are linked with war crime issue.Without them Jamat would probably be a better party.Simply because they are ruining the party reputation.

As we all know Jamat leaders were almost free of corruption unlike AL and BNP leaders.As far as I remember only one was arrested for corruption.

This party needs a serious shake up in its top posts,together with some reforms, if it seriously wants to rule Bangladesh someday.

One more thing,I heard some members of Islami Chatra Shibir are very bright students.Unlike CHL and CHD,which are filled with goons.So if they are guided properly,they can become good leaders.Any thought on this?
Ah! so now you are into politics as well - what cheek!
Nah! just kidding-
Its great - an all encompassing knowledge base goes a great way in making informed choices and decisions. More so, since defence, politics, geopolitics, economy, faith and all of the other factors that effect our everyday lives, also intertwine in ways that make the borderline of each discipline indistinct and hazy and all are important even if you are talking about just one of them.
OK, now on to your question - The corruption part that you mention is a very interesting one and I do not remember where but I do state it as a baffling anamoly in which one of the partners in power get away unscathed in the anti corruption drive. The people all over were puzzled as to why the drive was only restricted to BNP and BAL - where Jamaat was also in the hot seat with BNP. This is the beauty of our religion and has nothing to do with the virtues of Jamaat. But this is just one part there is more to our faith that is designed to mould a society in a way that operates effortlessly and in a way that binds it together as a monolithic structure.
As to our Jamaat's dilemma - the basis on which Democracy is premised is the ' Sovereignty of the People' or that the 'people are the source of all power'. Now this assertion is in total conflict with Jamaat's idealogy of being a pure faith based political party.
What other avenues Jamaat could have pursued, other than joining the Democratic stream, in their seeking of governance and power is essentially for them to figure out.
I do agree with you that the Old School Leadership is tarnished in their role in the liberation struggle but not to the point that, that is the actual cause of their drubbing at the hustings.

About ruling the country - I have a few observations here:
Whenever you see yourself as a Ruler - you make a distinction here, between yourself and your people. These two are not one anymore. This distinction creates a separation, which is not the original concept in our own faith of the Ruler and the ruled.
Our Prophet also was a Ruler but he didn't make any distinction between himself and his, what shall we say subjects.
He ate what they ate - he went hungry when they went hungry - he fought alongside them in battles and he was in their midst in their happiness in their sorrows in their joys in their adversity in their prosperity - see there was no difference between him and his people - very succintly he was one with his people an integral part of his own society.
And that society was, in totality a homogenous fabric in which anyone's problem was everybody's problem. No one went hungry for want of food because his near neighbour or a stranger will share his food with him. How could any one be wanting in that society?
This is an ideal concept of a Ruler and his society that I also speak of.

About the youngsters of the Jamaat - the Shibir and mid level - these are bright and bold boys that hold much promise and are keen and eager to build and serve our society in the way that is endorsed by our faith. I do wish they had the best of the leadership to guide them.
And no I do not think any amount of shake up or rearrangement in the present leadership can help. Jamaat has gone just too far up the wrong alley that only leads to a dead end.

About the youngsters of the Jamaat - the Shibir and mid level - these are bright and bold boys that hold much promise and are keen and eager to build and serve our society in the way that is endorsed by our faith. I do wish they had the best of the leadership to guide them.

Do you even live in Bangladesh?They are all bad,BCL JCD and Shibir they are all bad.No exceptions.They are foot soldiers of those who think the country is their private property.

And no I do not think any amount of shake up or rearrangement in the present leadership can help. Jamaat has gone just too far up the wrong alley that only leads to a dead end.

Ok then we have a very serious problem with the future of our country regarding who is going to rule it.BNP and AL had their turns,and proved to be worthless,in my honest opinion.

Now you are saying Jamat will meet a dead end,so that leaves Jatiya party and communist party(!!!).

Then there is Hizbut Tahrir,who wants to implement Sharia law,but their numbers are small and I think they will be banned in coming days as AL is in power.

We need a party which is nationalistic and honest.A party which thinks about country first instead of thinking about party.

Unfortunately we don't have one.The young generation like us honestly loathe the politicians,except few opportunists among us.So these opportunists are our future leaders and they will follow the same old trend of making money first and then thinking about country.

The result,we are DOOMED.

Ok then we have a very serious problem with the future of our country regarding who is going to rule it.BNP and AL had their turns,and proved to be worthless,in my honest opinion.

Now you are saying Jamat will meet a dead end,so that leaves Jatiya party and communist party(!!!).

Then there is Hizbut Tahrir,who wants to implement Sharia law,but their numbers are small and I think they will be banned in coming days as AL is in power.

We need a party which is nationalistic and honest.A party which thinks about country first instead of thinking about party.

Unfortunately we don't have one.The young generation like us honestly loathe the politicians,except few opportunists among us.So these opportunists are our future leaders and they will follow the same old trend of making money first and then thinking about country.

The result,we are DOOMED.
NO I DO NOT AGREE WITH YOU - WE ARE NOT DOOMED UNLESS WE BEGIN TO THINK WE ARE DOOMED.

REMEMBER ALSO EVERY END IS ALSO A NEW BEGINNING. I WANT YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS TO THINK OUT SOMETHING THAT CAN TAKE THE PLACE OF A VACUUM COMING UP AS YOU SEE IT IN OUR NATIONAL POLITY.
AND PLEASE THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX. DO NOT GO ALONG FIXED LINES THAT ARE ALREADY DRAWN OUT. NOTHING IS PERMANENT.
I KNOW OUR NEW GENERATION IS INTELLIGENT AND SMART. NOW SHOW ME YOUR TRUE COLOURS

Oh Leon, I forgot to congratulate you on your promotion to the rank of Brigadier.
Where is the train of Roshogollas that I do not see yet/

Oh Leon, I forgot to congratulate you on your promotion to the rank of Brigadier.
Where is the train of Roshogollas that I do not see yet/

Hehe:lol:

Thank you sir,I didn't notice I got promoted.And as for the roshogollas,I think I have to mail them to you.:partay: