Bahalwalpur: Striking black gold: Man digs for water, finds oil

Xestan

Striking black gold: Man digs for water, finds oil in Bahawalpur

339971-OilGas-1329889156-962-640x480.jpg

Chinese company working on discovery with local engineers.

BAHAWALPUR: When landlord Muneer Ahmed ordered the digging of a well in Bahawalpur, the last thing he expected to strike was black gold.

Following the discovery of oil near the Lal Sohanra National Park, the area was taken into custody by the ministry of petroleum and natural resources. The ministry also deputed security officials around the well and its surrounding areas.

A joint team of Pakistani and Chinese engineers has been formed to work in the area, said an official from the petroleum ministry. A large oil reservoir has been discovered but we are trying to locate its depth, the official said.

He added that engineers are also studying other areas in district Bahawalpur to check the availability of oil in the region.

The property where oil was found had been part of agricultural land donated to farmers, said Hassan Daha, former mayor from the area.

The land, however, is under the jurisdiction of Lal Sohanra National Park, he added.

Ahmed, who made the inadvertent discovery, said he was not aware of it earlier but has now been informed by officials that the area where the discovery was made did not fall in his property. The China National Petroleum Corporation has been tasked to work, in coordination with local engineers, in the area.

Meanwhile, the site has been cordoned off with barbed wire on the orders of local police chief Ishaq Jehangir.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 22nd, 2012.

Excellent news ... they should try DI-Khan-Zhob area aswell... coz ive seen oil comin out of the ground there.... and the locals filling buckets for cookin use there... there is also a video of it on the internet.

he struck oil thats it i am buying property over there and start the digging

---------- Post added at 05:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:12 PM ----------

nahee bhai wo aapka dist nahee imran bhai ka dist hai

ap yeh jantay hai na bahawalpur mai aik say zaida log hai:p:P

Gudd

Pak should invest in exploring of Oil and gas..i am sure pak has alot of undiscovered of them

. . . . .
Please don't compare peaceful people of Bahawalpur to terrorists like Bugti.

Remember this great Sufi poet was from Bahawalpur too:
BullehShah.jpg

Bulleh Shah

yaar i was making fun . he is from uch sharif he was born 1km away from my home i think its some connection here between us and great people which born here in history . :smitten:

you may don't know how much i love him

This is great, hope they discover a huge deposit out there.

yes our elders told us 1973 we face big flood .after water dry people come back to homes. one of pool smell patrol so much .they call owner of land he bring guns and men to secure area.he keep everyone far away from that pool and he think he discover patrol in his land and its his wealth now .but letter when they dig it was 2 patrol drums which was full of patrol and come with flood water from somewhere :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: i hope this time real patrol rather then 2 more drums :rofl:

Lol, we can't disregard any possibility.