Are we going to lose honest and patriot person?

While Musharraf's party is allowed to do rallies, however, the other political parties are banned from this expression. What a dictator.

There is a ban on ALL rallies from any party. Bhutto is just determined to get more of her hopeless supporters killed.

If President Musharraf was a dictator, Bhutto would have been hanged by now.

Anyone got the interview?

Found this article:

Musharraf: I'll quit army this month and restore civilian rule
By Matthew Pennington and Stephen Graham

RAWALPINDI, Pakistan — President Gen. Pervez Musharraf said Wednesday he expects to step down as army chief by the end of November and begin a new presidential term as a civilian, warning that Pakistan risked chaos if he gave into opposition demands to resign.

In an interview with The Associated Press, he accused former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto, currently under house arrest, of fueling political turmoil and rejected Western pressure to quickly lift emergency rule, which he indicated was likely to continue through the January elections.

"I take decisions in Pakistan's interest and I don't take ultimatums from anyone," he said at his army office.

Eleven days after imposing the emergency rule that has drawn widespread condemnation at home and abroad, Musharraf was in an affable but sometimes defensive mood.

"All those who are blunt enough to tell me to my face what the reality is, all of them think, yes, it will lead the country to chaos if I do not handle the political environment now with me remaining as the president," he said.

He lashed out at Bhutto — a political rival but one who shares his pro-Western outlook — saying there was now an "acute trust deficit" between them.

He said she was overplaying her popularity in Pakistan and thought it unlikely she could become prime minister for a third time by winning the elections, but left open the door for working with her if she did.

"If she does become the prime minister, we will see. I do function with everyone. I'm quite good at functioning with people. It depends on her if she wants to be on a confrontational course or a conciliatory one," he said.

Bhutto said it was likely her party would boycott the elections — a threat already made by other opposition parties, including that of Nawaz Sharif, whose elected government was ousted in Musharraf's 1999 coup. Together Bhutto and Sharif could form a powerful opposition bloc against the general.

Musharraf said he was concerned about the threat of a boycott, but said he thought it unlikely and urged opposition parties against it.

"They must not boycott and I don't think they're going to boycott," he said.

The U.S.-backed general had originally planned to quit as chief of the powerful army by Thursday, when his presidential mandate and the term of the current parliament expire, but he said he was forced to delay the restoration of civilian rule until a court ruling on his recent re-election.

He said the timing would depend on the Supreme Court — which he purged of independent-minded judges when he suspended the constitution Nov. 3 — but expected it to happen this month.

The U.S. and other Western allies have been pushing for him to quit his military post and end the emergency, warning that it could seriously undermine the legitimacy of the elections that are meant to end eight years of direct military rule since he took power in a coup. The Bush administration sent its No. 2 diplomat, Deputy Secretary of State John Negroponte, to Pakistan.

Washington wants Musharraf to share power with other moderate forces to combat rising Islamic extremism that the general cited as the justification for seizing emergency powers.

Authorities put Bhutto under house arrest Tuesday for the second time in a week, and a senior federal government official told the AP that she was grounded until at least Thursday.

"The position for her will remain like this until at least tomorrow. Then the government will review what to do with her," the official said on condition of anonymity because the matter was politically sensitive and no decision had been made to release her.

Another opposition leader was arrested after he showed up at a student rally in Lahore, police said. Imran Khan, a cricket legend who leads a small but outspoken opposition party, was the only one of Musharraf's most outspoken critics not in detention or exile.

Bhutto said Tuesday she was working to forge a partnership with Sharif. She demanded that Musharraf step down, dashing Western hopes the two moderate leaders would form an alliance to confront strengthening Islamic extremists.

Bhutto's call, which could see Pakistan's two main opposition parties joining, raised a new threat for Musharraf. It further complicated matters for Washington, which has criticized Musharraf's recent crackdown on dissent but sees him as a dependable partner against al-Qaida.

Negroponte was expected in Pakistan on Friday to underscore U.S. concerns about the situation, where rallies have been banned and independent TV news blacked out.

"We continue to want to see elections move forward in a free, fair and transparent manner (and) we want to see the emergency decree lifted," deputy State Department spokesman Tom Casey said. "We want to see all moderate political forces be able to work together.

Bhutto said she could not work with Musharraf.

"The international community needs to decide whether it will go with one man or the people of Pakistan," Bhutto told the AP by telephone Tuesday from the house where she is being held in the city of Lahore.

Musharraf says emergency rule is needed to curb political unrest that he says is hampering the government's fight against militants along the border with Afghanistan.

Critics contend the emergency decree was a cover to oust independent-minded judges who had crimped Musharraf's powers. They call his move outright martial law since authorities have unchecked power to detain opponents.

Under emergency rule, Musharraf has banned political rallies, arrested thousands of opponents and human rights activists, and blacked out independent TV news channels. He also removed the chief justice of the Supreme Court and other judges who were poised to rule on whether he was eligible for a new five-year term.

Western government and opposition parties alike have serious doubts about whether elections can be free and fair under such conditions — concerns Musharraf gave short shrift.

"Emergency is not meant to rig elections. Emergency is in fact meant to make sure that elections are held in a peaceful manner," he said.

He accused the opposition of wanting "agitation."

"They want to disturb law and order and they want to undermine governance," he said.

Analysts say Musharraf must retain the support of his Western allies and the army if he is to weather the most serious crisis of his rule.

He remained confident that he would retain the backing of the military even when he gives up his military role. Commenting on unfounded rumors that spread last week that he had been put under arrest by another general, Musharraf said the army would never turn against him.

"People don't know our army. They follow me not because of the rank but because of the respect that they hold for me. I have no doubt on the loyalty of this army. Never will that happen against me," he said.

He said unity in the military would prevent Pakistan — a nuclear-armed nation beset by Islamic militants loyal to the Taliban and al-Qaida — from ever becoming a failed state.

"The military is very strong and extremely disciplined. As long as the armed forces of Pakistan remain united, which they will and are, no harm can come to Pakistan. The harm can come from the political dilemma. We have to resolve the political dilemma," Musharraf said.

Khan, who had been in hiding since escaping from house arrest a day after emergency rule was declared, was promptly detained by hardline students and handed over to police Wednesday, authorities said.

Some 200 student supporters cheered wildly and lifted Khan into the air when he got out of a car on a university campus in Lahore, but other students representing the hard-line Jamaat-e-Islami party surged forward, grabbed Khan and handed him over to police, senior police official Aftab Cheema told the AP.

Cheema said Khan is being held at an undisclosed location, and was charged under the Anti-Terrorism Act.

"He created a law and order situation at the educational institution and caused a disruption in educational activities," Cheema told AP.

Jamaat-e-Islami is also opposed to Musharraf's declaration of emergency rule, but the students apparently were angered the relatively moderate Khan was allowed on campus.

Bhutto, a secularist who has served as prime minister twice, is trapped in a padlocked house surrounded by hundreds of police. Approach roads are blocked with trucks and metal barricades lined by barbed wire.

Her detention prevented her from staging a protest procession to the capital, Islamabad. The procession went ahead but was quickly stopped by police, and security forces also clashed with anti-government protesters in other cities.

Bhutto said she would work to forge an opposition alliance including Sharif, a longtime rival and former prime minister also trying to make a political comeback.

Sharif returned to Pakistan in September to prepare for the elections but was immediately deported despite a Supreme Court ruling that he could stay.

Speaking to the AP from exile in Saudi Arabia, Sharif welcomed Bhutto's comments and urged opposition parties to unite to "fight dictatorship."

Associated Press Writer Zarar Khan contributed to this story from Lahore, Pakistan.

Nation & World | Musharraf: I'll quit army this month and restore civilian rule | Seattle Times Newspaper

He said this before entire nation in 2004. Don't believe every thing he says. He will stay in uniform as long as generals allow him to.

This time he is under pressure and his credibility will be up for the grabs with the US and others.

Therefore, he is meaning what he is saying, unless the politicians and the ex CJ cause an extraordinary situation, wherein for the stability of Pakistan, he will have to continue as both the Chief and the President.

The Pakistani media deserves a swift kick, nay several swift kicks, in the transponder. Bloody imbeciles running around like chickens with their heads cut off, printing and broadcasting every rumor in circulation.

Laaton kei Bhoot batoon see nahi mantee.

While Musharraf's party is allowed to do rallies, however, the other political parties are banned from this expression. What a dictator.

Hey Interceptor=zardari tell me some thing if she is so pro democracy and pro constitution.

Acording to our constitution u cannot run for the seat 3rd time.oh may be she dosent recognise that part of the constitution.why didnt she stay in pakistan and face the music.
if she is so much intrested in political rallies for pakistan and not in it for herself where is her family why arent they there in the streets with **** fooks getting blown up or killed for her or pakistan.
you being the big supporter shouldnt you be on the streets in pakistan or thats not convenient now.
ITS simple reason and i agree with general on this one she is only trying to stir the pot to get political gaines.

general is not an experienced politician he MAde the deal with the devil to stay on top without realising it.she showed her true colors as soon as all the charges were droped.

Let me tell you this way if i were him she would be long time gone and meeting Zia & Z.A.B by now.:sniper:

Aunt Benazir's false promises - Los Angeles Times

Aunt Benazir's false promises

Bhutto's return bodes poorly for Pakistan -- and for democracy there.
By Fatima Bhutto
November 14, 2007

KARACHI -- We Pakistanis live in uncertain times. Emergency rule has been imposed for the 13th time in our short 60-year history. Thousands of lawyers have been arrested, some charged with sedition and treason; the chief justice has been deposed; and a draconian media law -- shutting down all private news channels -- has been drafted.

Perhaps the most bizarre part of this circus has been the hijacking of the democratic cause by my aunt, the twice-disgraced former prime minister, Benazir Bhutto. While she was hashing out a deal to share power with Gen. Pervez Musharraf last month, she repeatedly insisted that without her, democracy in Pakistan would be a lost cause. Now that the situation has changed, she's saying that she wants Musharraf to step down and that she'd like to make a deal with his opponents -- but still, she says, she's the savior of democracy.

The reality, however, is that there is no one better placed to benefit from emergency rule than she is. Along with the leaders of prominent Islamic parties, she has been spared the violent retributions of emergency law. Yes, she now appears to be facing seven days of house arrest, but what does that really mean? While she was supposedly under house arrest at her Islamabad residence last week, 50 or so of her party members were comfortably allowed to join her. She addressed the media twice from her garden, protected by police given to her by the state, and was not reprimanded for holding a news conference. (By contrast, the very suggestion that they might hold a news conference has placed hundreds of other political activists under real arrest, in real jails.)

Ms. Bhutto's political posturing is sheer pantomime. Her negotiations with the military and her unseemly willingness until just a few days ago to take part in Musharraf's regime have signaled once and for all to the growing legions of fundamentalists across South Asia that democracy is just a guise for dictatorship.

It is widely believed that Ms. Bhutto lost both her governments on grounds of massive corruption. She and her husband, a man who came to be known in Pakistan as "Mr. 10%," have been accused of stealing more than $1 billion from Pakistan's treasury. She is appealing a money-laundering conviction by the Swiss courts involving about $11 million. Corruption cases in Britain and Spain are ongoing.

It was particularly unappealing of Ms. Bhutto to ask Musharraf to bypass the courts and drop the many corruption cases that still face her in Pakistan. He agreed, creating the odiously titled National Reconciliation Ordinance in order to do so. Her collaboration with him was so unsubtle that people on the streets are now calling her party, the Pakistan People's Party, the Pervez People's Party. Now she might like to distance herself, but it's too late.

Why did Ms. Bhutto and her party cronies demand that her corruption cases be dropped, but not demand that the cases of activists jailed during the brutal regime of dictator Zia ul-Haq (from 1977 to 1988) not be quashed? What about the sanctity of the law? When her brother Mir Murtaza Bhutto -- my father -- returned to Pakistan in 1993, he faced 99 cases against him that had been brought by Zia's military government. The cases all carried the death penalty. Yet even though his sister was serving as prime minister, he did not ask her to drop the cases. He returned, was arrested at the airport and spent the remaining years of his life clearing his name, legally and with confidence, in the courts of Pakistan.

Ms. Bhutto's repeated promises to end fundamentalism and terrorism in Pakistan strain credulity because, after all, the Taliban government that ran Afghanistan was recognized by Pakistan under her last government -- making Pakistan one of only three governments in the world to do so.

And I am suspicious of her talk of ensuring peace. My father was a member of Parliament and a vocal critic of his sister's politics. He was killed outside our home in 1996 in a carefully planned police assassination while she was prime minister. There were 70 to 100 policemen at the scene, all the streetlights had been shut off and the roads were cordoned off. Six men were killed with my father. They were shot at point-blank range, suffered multiple bullet wounds and were left to bleed on the streets.

My father was Benazir's younger brother. To this day, her role in his assassination has never been adequately answered, although the tribunal convened after his death under the leadership of three respected judges concluded that it could not have taken place without approval from a "much higher" political authority.

I have personal reasons to fear the danger that Ms. Bhutto's presence in Pakistan brings, but I am not alone. The Islamists are waiting at the gate. They have been waiting for confirmation that the reforms for which the Pakistani people have been struggling have been a farce, propped up by the White House. Since Musharraf seized power in 1999, there has been an earnest grass-roots movement for democratic reform. The last thing we need is to be tied to a neocon agenda through a puppet "democrat" like Ms. Bhutto.

By supporting Ms. Bhutto, who talks of democracy while asking to be brought to power by a military dictator, the only thing that will be accomplished is the death of the nascent secular democratic movement in my country. Democratization will forever be de-legitimized, and our progress in enacting true reforms will be quashed. We Pakistanis are certain of this.

Fatima Bhutto is a Pakistani poet and writer. She is the daughter of Mir Murtaza Bhutto, who was killed in 1996 in Karachi when his sister, Benazir, was prime minister.

I don't see him survive even 30 days.

MR-Zardari we no what you see and if people of Pakistan bring you back quite frankly they deserve what they get.And if starving on the streets is what they want then as there is a saying ''Let it shell be written let it shell be done''.

Why is anyone even reading the Indian media on this issue?

I've heard from several Musharraf haters that they posted furious comments against the Telegraph for calling him an SOB. There is a major media campaign going on in Pakistan and abroad to bring Mushy down..

Thats the main aim of all those international and national elements who are bent upon removing Musharraf.
And if you has seem all the enemies of Pakistan had joined hands in this regard.

If he survives till Jan 9th, they would all come crumbling down. Pak media has already started showing signs of mellowing up. They are not getting any advertisers at all. I'm more interested in seeing things settle up with the Pakistani media.

Try all such media and people under sedition law. simple as that and i wish Musharraf survives all such propoganda and international campaign against him.

I don't see him survive even 30 days."Islam is our faith, democracy is our policy, socialism is our economy. All power to the people."
Zulfikar Ali Bhutto

All powers to the people and thats why BB was planning with Nawaz Sharif willing to share power turn by trun

wow what a pitty as if Pakistan was property of her that she had greed to let Nawaz rule the People and the next trun will be her to Rule.

Awam ka Khadim indeed

Agree with you. they are the actual people who are causing restlesness among the common public of Pakistan by presnting a negative image of the present govt. and not a single mention of the good things it is doing at all.

India being the cry baby that it is secretly together with west are the main elements to manipulate the stupid people of Pakistan. It is easiest to manipulate them bcz 1. they are foolish with no foresight at all, 2. they do not have education to give a serious thought and ponder over these 'intentionally created' issues like gentlemen and develop a solution like reasonable, educated people. All the stupid local media is doing is help India and the west to create internal public unrest in Pakistan and all our stupid opposition leaders and lawyers/judges are doing is be manipulated and blame govt. for every bad thing which happens to them cz of their own stupidities. I am stunned to see the judges and lawyers who are supposed to be the educated people than the general public must have a better common sense to understand the dirty tactics of india/west and its impact on media, their inflamatory ways of presenting the negative issues in a twisted manner to sell their product, but still they remain the 'parhay likhay' ***** and taking part in things which is causing nothing but destruction to pakistan and its stability.

The media is merely interested in making more money by selling more. I dont think they care sh!t about how their desire to make more money than the other channels by distorting the reality to make their news 'spicy' is casuing Pakistan harm. All they're interested in is 'selling' their product (false news). There are some individuals working for these channels who are completelely ignorant. Waise tau poori Pakistani qaum he ignorant hai but these individuals can make a difference by presenting and unveiling the reality as they get it and not reject it if it wont sell. Some of these "shaitan ke chailay' do this just for the sake of 'excitement' to create unrest which is the main satanic charactistic.

What is media these days? It is business and just about business. It is not about beinging out THE TRUTH to the people. They dont care how they are creating unrest in the general public of Pakistan. All these false, distorted news and 'hiding the actual truth' has created this unrest in the whole Pakistan. Which is what these negative elements desire for pakistan and we, with our own stupidities. All of us Pakistanis need to BAN this media, cut it off from our lives completely bcz they will keep doing this to you as long as you keep watching it. Save musharaf this trouble of banning them, boycott them yourself from your lives, dont let your families watch their stupid news stunts, dont let them continue to fool you and make you think and react in the way the negative forces want you to. All of this, ONLY TO DESTABILIZE PAKISTAN.

Sometimes I wonder if these channels are financed by india or india's supporters. Can you see how excessively they promote indian sh!t of every type and every type? do we not have talent in Pakistan? Do we not have good actors/actresses, singers, music, plays, fashion, models, and everything they keep promoting of india within Pakistan? Do you ever wonder who is running these indiam crap dominated channels? I have often wondered and felt that these channels are actually financed by india. Has anyone of you ever been to india? I know from some of these artists who have visited india who know that EVERY PAKISTANI CHANNEL in india is BANNED and BLOCKED by the govt. for the viewing of the general public. Does it ring any bells in those bollywood crap fans of you regarding the 'democracy' that india has? that it doesnt allow its people watch ANY PAKISTANI CHANNEL. Whereas your MILITARY govt. has no qualms about its public watching the indian bollywood crap or soft ****. They are FORCING our people to watch their crap so that they will remain delusioned that this is what life is all about and that we are a part of that soft **** culture when WE ARE NOT.

Pakistan has tremendous talented people and quality entertainment products in terms of music, fashion, acting but india is to scared to let its people know that so the democratic govt. has no option but to ban all of pakistani media within india and disallow its people to watch anything that is pakistani whereas on the other hand, when Im sitting at home, I have to struggle to find a pakistani channel on my cable service bcz all I see are 'indian w!tches' jumping around half nakedly exposing their private parts and pakistani 'indian wanna bees' copying them.

All I have to say is that musharaff really needs to deal with this jah!l pakistani qaum with a huge dandda, not only with these indian influnced/financed channels but also these opposition leaders who are too stupid to understand that they are being used against the present govt. and against PAKISTAN and they are allowing themselves to become the reason behind unstability of Pakistan which is increasing by the day. This is what india wants and this is what india's supporter want to see of Pakistan. Unfortunate part is that it is happening with the help of our own people with or without their knowledge.

Our jah!l people need to wake up, really wakeup. Understand the tactics of their oh so lovely 'parosi mulk' and unite together against every influence that is forcefully imported into our country by them.

I banned all their media/channels in 1998-99 when I realised what they are upto when I was living in the middle east. It was so obvious, so obvious that only a fool can turn a blind eye and ignore what's going around there and to Pakistanis. How they are being discriminated IN EVERY FIELD, not bcz they and not competent but bcz they are too stupid to understand the indian tactic. anyone of you who disagrees with every word I say, just go to the middle east and spend there atleast, atleast 3-4 months. In this period, interact with indians for ANYTHING and see for yourself. India is just a country but it has fully, perfectly trained each and every single individual from their country how to trip and fall people belonging to other nations. In other nations, Pakistani nation is on the top of their list.

I agree with whoever above said that musharaf must deal with this ullu qaum with gadhay as the opposition leaders with a dandda. Jahalat ki bhi ek limit hoti hai. Agar 60 saal is jahalat ko khatam karne ki bajaye zadaya he kartay jaa rahay hein tau aisi qaum se kuch umeed nahi ki jaa sakti. All they need is a dandda in their jah!l @sse$ to put them into the right direction.

Zara si self respect ho jis qaum mai us ke liye sachai ki sirf ek line he parhni kaafi hai. magar is qaum ko aqqal denay ke liye aap moti moti books bhi likh dau gay na tau bhi isko aqqal nahi aye gi. All they will keep doing is jumping up and down and all around, dancing their private parts away on the bolly crap soft ****. And if they have some extra few minutes, curse the good people who are here to GUIDE them, give them a direction, give them opportunities of self improvement, pride as a nation.

I think there just one simple thing this nation needs to do. It just needs to GROW UP and behave like responsible citizens. For that, first step is to keep away from soft **** of their parosi mulk.

I only wish my scream and cries show light to atleast one Pakistani although I have no hope left anymore that they will grow to understand their dilema.

The Pakistani media deserves a swift kick, nay several swift kicks, in the transponder. Bloody imbeciles running around like chickens with their heads cut off, printing and broadcasting every rumor in circulation.