Are Pashtuns in majority?

@Talwar e Pakistan You should include Nishan-e-Haider Karnal Sher Khan - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Majority? I am not sure about that but certainly second largest group in Pakistan if ancestry is counted as measure. And if Indian Muslims stop illegally migrating to Karachi (with improving Indian economy that will happen) then in the future Karachi might end up being Pashtun majority as unlike some other groups it is still in the early cycle (starting stage 2 below) of population growth.

demographic-transition-model.jpg

Not at all, yes pashtun population in punjab cities have increased over the decades. But they are not 25-30 million in Punjab. See parliament and count how many punjabi pathans are there, maybe 5-6 from punjab. Instead we have 11-12 punjabi/seraiki speaking baloch from south punjab.

I'm sure there are more baloch decent people in punjab then pashtuns, but this will obviously change in future because overall pashtun population is much bigger compared to Baloch in western areas + afghan refugees who are pretty much all pashtuns in Pakistan. Baloch numbers in punjab will stay same while pashtun population will keep increasing.

Pashtuns who live in Punjab are among the most patriotic Pakistani you can find. On the other hand , Punjabis who moved from India during partition , tend to be Punjabi first.

loyalty also depends on opportunity why you think the rest complain and say oh its this ethnic group respossible for our poverty cos they greedy etc. we already had the east pakistan disaster.

As for Pathans from Sindh and Punjab, they could hardly be considered Pashtun if they cant even speak a proper sentence in that language. Imran Khan in my eyes is a Punjabi with Pashtun ancestry, since as far as I know he doesnt speak Pashto, but does speak Punjabi and Urdu.

Ethnicity is not based on what language you speak, There are so many Pakistanis in England that don't speak a word of Urdu or Punjabi as they were born there. But they are recognized as Pakistanis.

My grandparents migrated to Karachi in the late 1940s from Peshawar and Swabi and they used to speak mostly in Pashto with very little Urdu. My parents were born in Karachi and their Pashto is poor but are fluent in Urdu and Punjabi. I was also born is Karachi, I only know very few words of Pashto but I am still a Pathan.

i have no issue as a saraiki . all are our brothers any of them is in majority it doesn't matter to me
Par he gal ena koan kon sikha wanjhay

Pashtuns who live in Punjab are among the most patriotic Pakistani you can find. On the other hand , Punjabis who moved from India during partition , tend to be Punjabi first.
BS

how u reach to conclusion that Pathan (not Pashtun) make 35 million population in Punjab?

That's case with urban population, rural population is mostly indigenous.

Couple of months back I visited a friends village in FSD .. Surprised to see Pashtun families settled in the village ... Today you can find Pashtuns in every corner of Pakistan.

Intermingling and mixing of populations is a good thing...

As for Punjab... South Punjab has a large population of Baluch aswell as "Pathans"...

Potohar again is a mixed pot... Bordering KPK... I dare say Rawalpindi is a 40% Pashtun city..

Sindh again had a large Baluch population - including Sindhis of Baloch origin...

Good for the country.

Couple of months back I visited a friends village in FSD .. Surprised to see Pashtun families settled in the village ... Today you can find Pashtuns in every corner of Pakistan.

Intermingling and mixing of populations is a good thing...

As for Punjab... South Punjab has a large population of Baluch aswell as "Pathans"...

Potohar again is a mixed pot... Bordering KPK... I dare say Rawalpindi is a 40% Pashtun city..

Sindh again had a large Baluch population - including Sindhis of Baloch origin...

Good for the country.

are there any Punjabi in Balochistan who speak Balochi and live for centuries thier? like we have in south Punjab?

I know thier are very few (few hundred) sikh Punjabi in KPK? but what about Muslim Punjabis in KPK? do Pashtun consider hindko Punjabis?

I've been recently researching deeply into the ethnic groups and demographics of Pakistan - and was surprised to see that Pashtuns may be in majority soon and may already be in majority.

Here are the ethnic demographic statistics provided officially by the Government in 2009 :
  1. Punjabis (42.15%) 70.7 million
  2. Pashtuns (17.42%) 35.2 million
  3. Sindhis (14.1%) 24.8 million
  4. Seraikis (10.53%) 14.8 million
  5. Muhajirs (7.57%) 13.3 million
  6. Balochs is (3.57%) 6.3 million
  7. Others (4.66%) 11.1 million
However there is one huge flaw in this statistic.

This statistic is mostly based off of province population rather than ethnic population. It does not take in mind that not all Punjabis are Punjabis and it completely ignores the fact that there is a whopping approx. population of 25-30 million Pashtuns in Punjab - better known as Pathans of Punjab and millions of people in Punjab with Muhajir roots.

This bumps up overall Pashtun population to 55-60 million not including Pashtun diaspora in Sindh and Baluchistan and decreasing the Punjab population to 35-40 million including the Punjabi Muhajir population - this in correlation with the 2009 statistics and may be inaccurate compared to our current year.

I ask other members to intellectually contribute to this topic and correct any mistakes in my 'report'.

Here are a list of famous Pashtun Punjabis -

my brother you are forgetting about pathan businessmen in Punjab... the Kasuri family of Kasur and Humayun Akhtar Khan and family.... you have also forgotten that Singer Nusrat fateh Ali khan and Rahat fateh Ali Khan have pashtun ancestry not only that even the late actors Munawar Zareef and Rangeela also have pashtun ancestry... and if the true consensus held in Pakistan then the Pashtuns will be in majority, then Punjabis, then Balochis ( as majority people and tribes claiming to be Sindhis are infact baloch and do not forget about south Punjab balochs), Kashmiris ( we shouldnt forget that Butts, Dars, kashmiri Sheikhs are living in Punjab have kashmiri ancestry) and then comes Sindhis at the end

we need to have federation system and true consensus with proper identification and also we need to change our education system ... we have destroyed our culture for many reasons but its time to promote it in our young generation.... in a federation system we can be Pakistani with a distinct culture ...

are there any Punjabi in Balochistan who speak Balochi and live for centuries thier? like we have in south Punjab?

No.. Mostly settlers ... Baluch areas are poor and backward .. Baluchistan had princely states (confederacies)...

South Punjab has Baluch because of conquered territories where Baluch settled... Or migrated centuries ago.
I know thier are very few (few hundred) sikh Punjabi in KPK? but what about Muslim Punjabis in KPK? do Pashtun consider hindko Punjabis?

No just hindkowals...

or unko behter mustqbil dena farz hai janab . jab khud khany ko na ho aysy main line lagana na insaafi hai
Na ji sakoon apnay waal kon adhi roti khaan tey khilaon da shok hai is chawal pan dha elaaj kaye nai labna

25-30 million pashtuns in punjab :o::o:
Gal kuj hazm nai hoi

Apko hum hindustani samjhte hain :partay:

Pakistani ethnicities have much greater intermingling amongst themselves compared to India. Or atleast so I think. Over past 5 decades ethnic lines have continued to erode which is only a good thing. I see more and more marriages between different ethnic groups. Baloch are perhaps most conservatives in this regard followed by Urdu speaking in Karachi. Other migrants from British India have almost dissolved in rest of Pakistan. However Baloch diaspora in Sindh and Punjab have been mixing well for over two centuries.

Sometimes back, I met a Punjabi lady married to a Baloch and living among tribal Balochs. Boy, was she happy with this marriage! I was pleasantly surprised to find her there.