Are NRIs trying to please their foreign masters by their comments on Devyani Khobragade ??

Are comments of NRIs designed to please their foreign masters ??

• Total voters
They ought to be. I am an Indian and I am proud of him. My sister is an Indian American and she is proud of him. And if anyone were to ask, I could put a string of names of White as well as Black Americans who are proud of him.

It is the general population in India that has gone bonkers because they are too lazy to see through the media bias.

So what you say is that his skin color has to do with his actions or his relation to the land of his forefathers is going to impact his decision.

Right.

If so, they I'd admire him too. Because here in Pakistan we seldom get a person with such character.

I have lived in Chicago and Barak Obama is a hobbit. Trust me, I have lived there, so I must know.

Why would you call him hobbit.

Just curious. I know you have good on-the-ground knowledge.

Some comments made by similar Indians in 2010 when Preet Bharara was busy prosecuting the terrorists:

(Notice the radical change in stance between then and now)
Anya (Boston) 1335 days ago
We will let Preet do his job, guilty deserved to be punished.

Vikram (London) 1335 days ago
Chak De Phatte Preet ... Beat the skin out of these shit Pakis burden on the world.

atit (ambala) 1335 days ago
Bharara is doing a good job and upholding the best traditions of what india stands for.Well done Sir
BPRK (Bangalore) 1335 days ago
Its a symbolic tale of two immigrants, like you get to see in bollywood films. One is on the right side and the other is on the wrong side.

Zia (Uzbekistan) 1336 days ago
It is nonsense to blame Preet Bharara for witch hunting. After reading that NYC bomber had spent time in Karachi where he attended a mosque run by Jaish now focus should be on Hafiz Saeed and Lakhvi. It is opportunity for India to press USA to jointly ask for their extradition.

Pawan Sahay (New Delhi) 1336 days ago
Bharara dega karara jawab

BIJOY (ASSAM) 1336 days ago
Preet is a rare product of a melting pot of several opposing religions. He's accomplished abd competent and is a victim of Pak's jeliousy. I wish him all the luck.

Kaliyug (USA) 1336 days ago
What Pakis do in other countries speaks louder than whether Bharara is witch hunting.

Shaan (Chandigarh) 1336 days ago
The only good **** is a dead ****! Congrats Bharara!
Rakesh (USA) 1336 days ago
Bharara has no choice. He has to take action when government sleuths find out something. Otherwise hundreds of Americans will die - white, black

Shahid Iqbal (Floridia,USA) 1336 days ago
There is no wich hunt.Preet is doing his job.By the way Pakistan is a hot bed terrorism if he is paying extra attention, so be it.

m.s.kaushal (Dehradun) 1336 days ago
Preet Bharara is an American and Pakistani press are blaming him to be having Indian thinking against Pakistani, its time Pakistani should have their mindset changed and be more dedicated to the country they have adopted. Staying and living in America and planning to kill American is their mindset

USCitizen (USA) 1336 days ago
Pakistan is a terrorist state. Go Bharara. Capture and prosecute all the terrorists. Pakis can go climb a wall or scratch the pole. Enough is enoug

radha (Canada) 1336 days ago
Preet Barrara has the qualification by birth to be truly representative of many human tribes so power to him.

BM (Australia) 1336 days ago
Useless news, US justice system will never allow any innocent person indicted. Why TOI is posting this news is a mystery, perhaps because Preet Bharara is a Hindu. Everyone knows that large number of Sub-Continental Muslims are terrorists.

Karan (USA) 1336 days ago
Mr. Bharara is doing his job by prosecuting criminals and Pakistanis are doing their job by terrorising the civilised world. No other group is being targetted because terrorists only come from Pakistan!

Gilani (Australia) 1336 days ago
I am fully agree on Preet Bharara comment

Gautam (USA) 1336 days ago
If this is true, then he is doing a service to India and US. No one, I repeat, no one should trust a Pakistani. They should be caught like the swine in NYC and hanged immediately. Preet has done a gr8 job. Hope spineless Indian Govt learns from him how to catch terrorist, even if he is a Muslim.

RS (USA) 1336 days ago
Finally an Indian who knows how to treat a pak

Sonia (Toronto) 1336 days ago
Every right minded and law abiding citizen should highly appreciate the enormous task at the hands of the law enforcement and intelligence agencies.

Chirtarun (Azamgarh) 1336 days ago
Preet Bharara is our pride and joy; we don't give a shit about what the sleazy Pakis think.

Supportive voices came from all quarters, but the ones marked red are from Indians residing in India.

Poor things do not understand that it is election time and the completely impotent needless brinkmanship displayed by Indian government is just to rile them up and have them vote in favor of the ruling party - Congress.

Out of nowhere has come a phenomenon of India vs US... irrespective of merits and contrary to common sense, those who favor India - vote for Congress!

I don't know if someone posted already.

DA who caught the Indian madam is an Indian American.

Correct?
This is not about Bharara. He is doing his job even if people point fingers.

What the people here are doing is rejecting the views of Indian Americans simply because they have the word American attached and have conflicting views with most here.

They should welcome difference of opinion. Reject that opinion if you find it wrong logically, but not because its different. Which is what most are doing.

Some comments made by similar Indians in 2010 when Preet Bharara was busy prosecuting the terrorists:

(Notice the radical change in stance between then and now)

Supportive voices came from all quarters, but the ones marked red are from Indians residing in India.

Poor things do not understand that it is election time and the completely impotent needless brinkmanship displayed by Indian government is just to rile them up and have them vote in favor of the ruling party - Congress.

Out of nowhere has come a phenomenon of India vs US... irrespective of merits and contrary to common sense, those who favor India - vote for Congress!

I don't think it is the Congress who is behind it. They know these kinds of diplomatic issues with countries not sharing a border with India does not have an impact in the elections in India . It is the young officers among the IFS community who is behind this brinkmanship. Even the initial responses including removing of barricades were attributed to about 30 young IFS officers meeting with Sujatha Singh for about 3 hours. And I am not sure how much of an influence her father commands being a very senior retired IAS officer with perceived closeness to Shinde.

New Delhi, Dec. 19: Sujatha Singh had summoned the American ambassador a day before but the foreign secretary was not expecting the 30 guests last Saturday who in three hours would help shape India’s unusually muscular response to the arrest of diplomat Devyani Khobragade.

30 young guests who played a part in reply

I am an Indian living in India. And you are racist, just as most Indians are.

Agreed.

But you think you have "unfair" advantage of having known the American society first hand

And

many Indians are just being patriotic while they may not know the finer aspects of American law.

I say this because I see similar upsurge in patriotism in Pakistan too.

Just thinking aloud.

So what you say is that his skin color has to do with his actions or his relation to the land of his forefathers is going to impact his decision.

Right.

If so, they I'd admire him too. Because here in Pakistan we seldom get a person with such character.

Why would you call him hobbit.

Just curious. I know you have good on-the-ground knowledge.

Actually his skin color has nothing to do with whatever he does. He has prosecuted Mexicans, Whites, Indians, Iranians, Pakistanis and many other nationalities that go against the interests of the US.

Land of his forefathers could easily be Pakistan from where they migrated to India. His mother in law is of Middle Eastern descent for all I know. I have been reading about this guy since the first day he was appointed by Obama. Everytime I got a mail from the Justice Department, more than likely it was to contain Bharara's name as the prosecutor.

About Obama and Hobbit... Yar, vo bolta hai ki simply because he has lived in NY for a couple of years, he has the janam kundali of Preet Bharara. Well, main Chicago me raha hoon, to main bhi claim kar sakta hoon ki mere paas Obama ki janam kundali hai

I don't think it is the Congress who is behind it. They know these kinds of diplomatic issues with countries not sharing a border with India does not have an impact in the elections in India . It is the young officers among the IFS community who is behind this brinkmanship. Even the initial responses including removing of barricades were attributed to about 30 young IFS officers meeting with Sujatha Singh for about 3 hours.

New Delhi, Dec. 19: Sujatha Singh had summoned the American ambassador a day before but the foreign secretary was not expecting the 30 guests last Saturday who in three hours would help shape India’s unusually muscular response to the arrest of diplomat Devyani Khobragade.

30 young guests who played a part in reply

May be such officers are now truly nationalized and feel India deserves more respect than it is given?

Reason I say this, because much of India's top leadership like Mohan Singh were born before 1947 and thus have different view point.

But the young officers say in their 30s and 40s now view the world differently and in much more patriotic way?

Actually his skin color has nothing to do with whatever he does. He has prosecuted Mexicans, Whites, Indians, Iranians, Pakistanis and many other nationalities that go against the interests of the US.

Land of his forefathers could easily be Pakistan from where they migrated to India. His mother in law is of Middle Eastern descent for all I know. I have been reading about this guy since the first day he was appointed by Obama. Everytime I got a mail from the Justice Department, more than likely it was to contain Bharara's name as the prosecutor.

About Obama and Hobbit... Yar, vo bolta hai ki simply because he has lived in NY for a couple of years, he has the janam kundali of Preet Bharara. Well, main Chicago me raha hoon, to main bhi claim kar sakta hoon ki mere paas Obama ki janam kundali hai

Well said.

Just curious about one part of your post.
"Everytime I got a mail from the Justice Department, more than likely it was to contain Bharara's name as the prosecutor.".

you mind elaborating a bit?

Thanks

May be such officers are now truly nationalized and feel India deserves more respect than it is given?

Reason I say this, because much of India's top leadership like Mohan Singh were born before 1947 and thus have different view point.

But the young officers say in their 30s and 40s now view the world differently and in much more patriotic way?

Nationalism is fine but jingoism is not. What I see here is jingoism not understanding the damages the diplomatic standoff will cause. These young IFS officers are trying to mortgage the interests of a country to save one of their own.

That is true. The young officers see the world much differently from the politicians - all the politicians with power in India were born before 1960's.

There is bound to be a disconnect. India has substantially changed. And many countries have still not understood that.
They understood well enough when we hung out the Italian marine, when British threatened to cut their aid to now America.

This issue is now no longer limited to Khobragade. That is what you have to understand.
India has been giving additional benefits and turning a blind eye to American consulates activities - with regard to employement and tax exemptions so that they are comfortable.
They did the same to Indians, accepting our cultural differences.

If they are willing to throw the book at us, we are equally willing the throw the book at them. They thought they can get away with it because its India. India how it was a couple of decades back.

You can bet your bottom dollar that regardless of how this case ends, US would be treading double cautiously around Indian concerns next time. That is what has already been achieved and was the main objective.

Its the other way round. The young officers are standing up for the honour of the colleague and country. A brown sepoy would not understand.

Here comes another pseudo-nationalist or a false flagger. :lol:. Just going to ignore your stupid posts.

That is true. The young officers see the world much differently from the politicians - all the politicians with power in India were born before 1960's.

There is bound to be a disconnect. India has substantially changed. And many countries have still not understood that.
They understood well enough when we hung out the Italian marine, when British threatened to cut their aid to now America.

This issue is now no longer limited to Khobragade. That is what you have to understand.
India has been giving additional benefits and turning a blind eye to American consulates activities - with regard to employement and tax exemptions so that they are comfortable.
They did the same to Indians, accepting our cultural differences.

If they are willing to throw the book at us, we are equally willing the throw the book at them. They thought they can get away with it because its India. India how it was a couple of decades back.

You can bet your bottom dollar that regardless of how this case ends, US would be treading double cautiously around Indian concerns next time. That is what has already been achieved and was the main objective.

Well one of these days it was bound to happen.

A country with 1+ billion or so cannot be in treated this way.

May be Indian masses (I may not know) are now much better off than 60s, and thus demanding a stronger stance in the world.

I don't think anyone should fear from the resurgent India that stands up for fairness and equality among nations.

By the way what do you mean when you said

"when we hung out the Italian marine, when British threatened to cut their aid to now America".

Thanks.

Agreed.

But you think you have "unfair" advantage of having known the American society first hand

And

many Indians are just being patriotic while they may not know the finer aspects of American law.

I say this because I see similar upsurge in patriotism in Pakistan too.

Just thinking aloud.

As I expected, only you could have caught it, and I admire you for that! Not many display such acute observation that is a sign of a hardworking mind.

And yes, you may say I have an unfair advantage. But not because I visit the States often. Rather, because I have lived in South India, where people are dark and it is rare to see such discrimination. I am dark too. And then I have lived in North India as well. From Bihar to Pakistan border, the attitude toward dark color has been shocking to me.

So, had I lived all my life in North India, I would have taken this attitude as the norm. The dark color, which is actually considered a sign of virility in men, is considered inferior in North India.

Now, about the surge in patriotism - It is an enduring struggle for identity, because when you have no money, no other resources, then your identity is what you are left to fight for. Like they say, when the poor man has nothing, he has pride. Same happens in Pakistan. Why else, the rich live in palaces and provide best education to their offsprings, while the financially and intellectually poor go and take the bullet for some 'made up' cause.

This is the reason that the people who do have resources, are not bound by boundaries or nationalities or patriotism or nationalism.

It will be some time before the people in this region have enough resources to understand the true values of morals and principles. Until then, we will keep witnessing similar phenomena every now and then.

Calling names is the ultimate form of surrender. Kindly ignore my posts. But when I see you stepping into your khakhi sepoy uniform, I will point it out.

Perhaps I should have PM'd you bro.

Your flags show you are a Syrian living in India?

Is that true?

Or you are an Indian living in Syria?

Well said.

Just curious about one part of your post.
"Everytime I got a mail from the Justice Department, more than likely it was to contain Bharara's name as the prosecutor.".

you mind elaborating a bit?

Thanks

Of course, not a problem.

In those days I was a member of Chatham House and used to get updated on all things related to terrorism and nuclear proliferation. There I was part of the group that was to be apprised of the current events from official sources.