Apartment in Islamabad Rawalpindi area

I'm just worried we don't turn it into Chavistan.

It is perfect though. It's clean, modern, like you said located close to most of our ancestoral homes, has all the brands and city life most of us here are used to.

In a few years time, once i've paid off my extension, i want to do the same thing. Get a small house or apartment, nothing fancy, 3-4 bedrooms, something to come home too. AJK is nice, but if i ever moved back it wouldn't be to the pind.

Same here. I am planning to go for 2 years in 2 years time InshaAllah. I wanted to stay in Pind in AJK but I realised its impossible to live there. I can't survive more than 2 weeks lol. Once your used to city life, its very difficult. Mirpur is also a nice city to live in. I am planning to rent a place in the city and once a month go to my pind house for a weekend break. AJk is beautiful though.

I'm planning to buy an apartment in Islamabad / Rawalpindi area. I live in the UK and I'd like to visit Pakistan regularly with the kids. I want something newly built either in Islamabad (CDA) or in one of the major housing societies like Gulberg, DHA, Bahria etc.. If I can find one that's currently in pipeline and I can make a down payment and the rest in instalments that'd be ideal. I'm thinking when its not occupied (by myself or by my parents) then I can generate some income from it by listing it on airbnb etc..
What would you suggest and why? Thank you.

Buy a house in DHA-1/2. Rent out the ground portion and keep the first floor for your family's use.

Wouldn't recommend anywhere else in the city because absentee owners are not treated kindly. DHA atleast gives you security that some two bit newly rich malik, raja, phannay khan will not occupy your investment right after you get your boarding pass. House because apartments are messy here as someone else mentioned.
I also have a family member who's in the trade so he'll be the one I'll rely on whatever I buy.

Wakeel aur property dealers kisi k sagay nai hotay :)

I hope your case is different but it'd do you well to keep this in mind.