Any questions Regarding India

You are right with time the things change and the same standards can't be applied.
-India is not the same as it was in the past.
-People in past were different
-Society laws in the past were different the values the people live and die for were different.

In today's society we had to look beyond the values, society and the way of living of the past, not be the slave or fan boy of the past.
You asked the question of his massacre I hope you have got the full picture and good insights now.
My point he was a person living for himself like a normal feudal rural; a bit short sighted (as he was unable to forge proper alliance and lost his kingdom on a relatively small issue of Travancore).

:hitwall: again i thought we were getting somewhere and you go back to your rant! in the last sentence! what about the grant for temples what about protection of temples!!!

what about employing hindus as treasury minsiter! he was not feudal infact for his time he was liberal and visionary leader.

name a single hindu ruler or raja of the time that protected a mosque or gave grants to a mosque.

he lost his kingdom not because of travancore but because of the british attack.

but its ok seems like you don't wish to look at it neutrally and just wish to rant so carry on. :wave:

Thanks bandhuon! Its good to be back.

Now onwards - no comments on pakistan, pakistanis, IVC, Muslims, or Islam.

Or coconut girls ....
Good resolution Doctor Sahib. yaar ab ban mat hona, Welcome back.

How is general Indian views toward Iran and Iranians?What do they think about historical ties and shared culture of both countries?

To an average Indian Iran does not figure prominently in any issue as the sports we play are different and we don't have much people to people contact. We have historic cultural ties but apart from intellectuals/historian hardly anybody know them. There is no PR event of Iran in India and very little population of India actually do go to Iran.

I can relate my personal experiences:
1) First contact I had with an Iranian was in my college he was a Kurd (Khalid) doing Phd frm IITD. He was an intelligent person he choose India for study over other western countries as his children were growing up and he felt Indian culture was much closer to the Iranian.
2) Later I we saw few Iranian movies with few of my friends interested in movie/arts and we really appreciated them but I believe they can be the stroke of individual genius as all three of them are from the same director.
3) I met few Iranian students in Bangalore (who were studying in Christ college) they were very polite to me at least. One of my colleague had Iranian girlfriend who after her education left the guy as he was not ready to marry outside the religion.
4) In international forum the president do defend the stand of Iran properly and to an extent I empathize with the rights of Iran (regarding nuclear power, etc) provided it has not anti-Israel agenda.

Or coconut girls ....

Welcome back Mota Bhai, hope you would put some input in this thread also.

:hitwall: again i thought we were getting somewhere and you go back to your rant! in the last sentence! what about the grant for temples what about protection of temples!!!

what about employing hindus as treasury minsiter! he was not feudal infact for his time he was liberal and visionary leader.

name a single hindu ruler or raja of the time that protected a mosque or gave grants to a mosque.

he lost his kingdom not because of travancore but because of the british attack.

but its ok seems like you don't wish to look at it neutrally and just wish to rant so carry on. :wave:

Why did Saddam go? Because of Kuwait or Americans? Its Americans who disposed him; but the reason his obsession with Kuwait. He should have quit the moment US was coming to gulf and could have saved himself. Marathas & Nizam at that time acted like Saudi's and Turkey giving full support as they had more faith in US than Saddam.
Moral: Short-sighted greed.

Ok so you stuck to religious rant of old times: Your narrow minded view will take time to broaden your horizon. I hope you have educated yourself about India.

Now for your whims and fancies (from the top of my head): Have you heard of
a) Ibrahim Gardi - he was the artillary general of Marathas
b) Daryadarang - Chief of maratha navy.
c) Baba yakut - one spiritual leader of Marathas
d) Raj man singh - allay with Akbar and fought against rajputs.
e) Hemu (who was defeated by Akbar) was commanding afghan army
f) Raja jaisingh was the vassal of Aurangzeb who led his afghan campaign; rescued the royal prince from afghans. Fought against marathas and defeated them. He was later killed by aurangzeb as he was a powerful hindu general. After this political blunder Auangzeb has to go himself in Deccan died there and within few year Marathas over run delhi and in few years went till Afghanistan till they were halted by Abdali.

Marathas were the last by your standards "hindu" empire of the India and the last indigenous empire by my standards.

Do you know about Meos . They are living/worshipping and have been growing under the patronage of the rajput rulers since last 800 years. Read their history.

Now since it is expected you will ask about latest particular example of mosque built by a rural as it is the thing that is expected of you in the present state of mind.
Kunwar Singh a Jagiradar in Bihar who fought British in 1857. He built mosque in Arrah for his subjects.

In today's India all the mosques are maintained and constructed by the Central wakf council which comes under ministry of minorities and the grants are given to it by the Govt. of India which inturn gets its from "hindu" India

I believe you are happy now as your Islam is no more in danger in an Alien hindu land

Note: If any of the information is wrong feel free to point out most of them are assortment of some random readings and kindly don't get the ideas that I respected rajput rulers. They are also just history as the other rulers.

How is general Indian views toward Iran and Iranians?What do they think about historical ties and shared culture of both countries?

Specifically speaking; Iranians are viewed very favorably in India, and I daresay that at least small part of the credit for that must go to Parsis/Zarathustis. Of course the image of Iran and Iranians is that of a cultured people with a rich heritage that goes back thousands of years, in parallel to India. Indians in general react more favorably to that kind of thing rather than to say: a group of people who 'have got rich quick' because of possession of some big natural resource. Plus Indian culture, whether language, music or otherwise has been enriched by Persian influences, so even that counts.

Somebody like myself who has had exposure to Iran (having been there a number of times) and Iranians (both as a student with Iranian class-mates and later pfofessional contacts) certainly feel even more about that.
Though I must add that; having seen Iran and Iranians both pre-revolution and post-revolution, I am left rather confounded at the Iran of today. While the Iranians have not really changed too much, it confuses me that the people in Iran rose up against a patently feudal and exploitive system of the Shah to tolerate a seemingly medieval and retrograde system. Which to my mind, contradicts the basic progressive and forward looking mind-set that I have always seen in the people in Iran.

Or coconut girls ....

Sahebji Doc. Kaim cho? :)

Maja ma bhai!

Era you guys need to visit India, and especially cities like Pune, to see how Indians and Iranians get on together.

Pune can certainly pass off as the Gadh (stronghold, to borrow a Marathi phrase) of Iranians, local or expatriate stock included.

Personally a great nation with great potential held back by less than capable leadership. I don't know how much you love your leadership but frankly you deserve better.