Alarming: Pakistan’s exports plunge to 4-year low

And still they might rule once again in 2018, oh how one remembers Gen Zia.

Exports not only depend on the current year if previous years were effected by missed orders, limited working hours fue to power shortages etc it will effect current exports

Come what may the economy is getting better and we should concentrate on ensuring policy that supports manufacturing to take advantage of better times

From the OP:

Since assuming office in June 2013, the incumbent government has slapped Rs830 billion additional taxes and most of these taxes are regressive, making exports uncompetitive in international markets.

All Pakistan Textile Mills Association – the representative body of the exporters – has already announced to shut their factories, as they argue that doing business was no more profitable due to unprecedented level of taxation and high energy prices.

I rest my case.

[QUOTE="FunkyGen, post: 7397517, member:I sincerely hope you do not wish for calamities though...[/QUOTE]

of course, not --- Allah Pakistan ko har aafat aur museebat se mehfooz rakhay

[QUOTE="FunkyGen, post: 7397517, member:Well, PPP had brotherly iran, guess they could've asked from them... nonsense point... seems you're almost jealous...[/QUOTE]
You mean Nawaz Sharif begged saudi arabia? as in charity?

There is no permanent friends in politics... I am not jealous but only pointed towards a fact that he received money/help out of political diameter

[QUOTE="FunkyGen, post: 7397517, member:dude like seriously!? so if they are good at the table that's a bad thing? how is this even a point?[/QUOTE]
If you read my post again, I meant to say they are bad table and took loan on IMF''s terms...

[QUOTE="FunkyGen, post: 7397517, member:Let me give you example brother... a few days back some people were talking smack about my gradpa, about how he was poor and how they were rich and now we got rich and bla bla... i got up and told them first hand that nobody stopped them for being rich... only if they could've moved their lazy bums they'd get the work done...[/QUOTE]

I am happy that your forefathers worked hard to change their life... I wish the same for your generaitons

Last week, news was that Pakistan is doing great...even better than India
This week, news is that Pakistan is not doing good.....

Which one is correct....how ths fast news changes in Pakistan ?

You guys have this problem too? I thought muslim countries don't have female infantacide b/c abortion is one of the biggest sins in Islam.

Pakistan and other Muslim countries does not have the female infanticide problem else the anti-Muslim media would have been reporting it on the Internet. According to Islam the life begins at conception and ending life in the womb is a sin.

HCC is not PSU.

Thx for that,didn't knew that

Last week, news was that Pakistan is doing great...even better than India
This week, news is that Pakistan is not doing good.....

Which one is correct....how ths fast news changes in Pakistan ?

Roshan Pakistan is just over the Horizon Ganja should deliver it anytime now

When you don't have natural resources, you manufacture and export. You get good at making something and sell it to the world.

Stop blaming the government, its you Pakistanis who are being lazy. Make something better than someone else and offer it cheaper goddamnit. Stop wasting peoples time.

Abe kya bol rahai hai read above how Mr Sharif's govt is racing the hell out of people

Maybe. But in almost all countries, federal govt. never tax goods which are outbound. That's WTO convention. But obviously there are sales tax on goods at a local level. To claim this benefit of wavered sales tax, they have to show customs stamp and stuff ?

I thought this is standard protocol.

:undecided:

yes, that's how it is....exports(for many if not all commodities) not only get 0% sales tax, but also they get the sales tax rebate on the inputs like everyone else.

this xyxmt guy just talks nonsense most of the time...I've read many of his posts...

no my friend its not the matter of taxing, its the matter of keeping dollars earned from exports outside of country and then bring it in thru illegal channel to get better exchange rate, or exchange it with even larger exchange rate with the corruption money (imagine what rate will you get for USD thats already outside the country), no Ayan Ali needed.

you can bring the dollars in legally and keep them in dollar account and wire them out when ever you want, it's not that big a deal...

If anything, exporters over-invoice to get bigger rebates....these exports figures may be more than the actual export.

There is no permanent friends in politics... I am not jealous but only pointed towards a fact that he received money/help out of political diameter
Of course not and saudia didnt do it for free, i think we gave them a ship load of weapons...

Can say the same about Zardari and Imran.

Comparing Madari with takla is like comparing death by fire with death by drowning.

Imran Khan probably yes, he is not a saint. There is one big difference though, he is not a thief.

Nor is he competent in politics. He will politically isolate Pakistan quicker than you can say tabdeeli :lol:

You think this is bad, just imagine a retarded politician behaving like Gadaffi on the world stage and put the country in a tight corner. Try exporting then. Imran does not have a magic wand to cure everything, nor does he have any tangible policies apart from planting trees.