Al Jazeera: Bangladesh’s Most Wanted Criminal Operating Network from Budapest

I'd like to believe it - but seven more episodes with various big-wigs under Hasina are promised in the next few weeks. They won't let this die down.

Names included Obaidul Quader and Salman Rahman.

It is for spying on the opposition, plain and simple.

The software needs a hardware component (also supplied) which acts as a cell tower offering handshake connections to any cellphone within range.

Once connections are established, all cellphone communication can be intercepted. Data mining is used to target specific IMSI numbers (globally unique number for each cellphone hardware, google it) which references specific cellphones belonging to specific individuals.

All IMSI numbers in Bangladesh have to be legally registered to a specific person.

They have this in place in India as well as Pakistan, too. It's just that no one will talk about it.

Except in Bangladesh case - Lungi utar gia.

I believe it’s IMEI number. But the announcement made by the ISPR it was intended for UN peace keeping mission seems immature to me. At least army should have shown maturity. I believe just with an statement they can get away with it. But now whole world watches what’s even said in a remote corner of a country.

By the way are you sure there will be more episodes?

I believe it’s IMEI number. But the announcement made by the ISPR it was intended for UN peace keeping mission seems immature to me. At least army should have shown maturity. I believe just with an statement they can get away with it. But now whole world watches what’s even said in a remote corner of a country.

By the way are you sure there will be more episodes?

Oh sorry corrected. :-)

ISPR release was by some amateur moron. His head will roll I'm sure. This opened up for more scrutiny now, by the UN who employs the Army.

Yes I have several statements in several videos that said there will be more episodes.

Unless Bangladesh Govt. can bribe AJ under the table for "Khamoshi's sake", which they're probably trying to do right now.

You know I thought of one guy who must be so giddy at this very moment.

Take a sip of your nicest chai for me, Mr. Shahidul Alam. Well deserved :-)

iu

E gur surat chamaar muchir matan. Dheck te chawkidar laag e.

My thoughts exactly....

I will ask a few brothers to comment. We have discussed Fazle Noor Taposh (current mayor of Dhaka South City Corporation which is the equivalent rank of a minister in Bangladesh) here before,

iu

iu

and also his brother who is the head of Chhatra League (AL youth command). Both come from upper middle class educated backgrounds, Taposh himself is a Lincoln's Inn educated Barrister. His political trajectory seems ripe for the PM spot.

He is not an immediate acquaintance but my family knows his circumstances closely, he had a difficult childhood as both parents were gunned down when the brothers were toddlers.

I personally think (as I've said before) that of the new generation kids in the fold of the Awami League, none (such as Redwan, Putul or others) are as professionally qualified or educated to run AL leadership, than him.

Joy (Sheikh Hasina's son) certainly doesn't want it. And I would not insult Taposh by comparing uneducated people like Obaidul Quader with him, who is nothing more than a former thug and a goonda.

Taposh - though a dyed-in-the-wool AL stalwart, is our best hope, monder bhalo (Bengali saying for "best of the worst"), and someone sane you can deal with, within reason.

@Xerxes22, @leonblack08, @Bengal71 bhais what do you guys think?

@The Ronin , @Michael Corleone bhais I know you guys do not like Taposh, then what are our choices. A power vacuum will be utilized very deftly by the neighbors.

I will ask a few brothers to comment. We have discussed Fazle Noor Taposh (current mayor of Dhaka South City Corporation which is the equivalent rank of a minister in Bangladesh) here before,

iu

iu

and also his brother who is the head of Chhatra League (AL youth command). Both come from upper middle class educated backgrounds, Taposh himself is a Lincoln's Inn educated Barrister. His political trajectory seems ripe for the PM spot.

He is not an immediate acquaintance but my family knows his circumstances closely, he had a difficult childhood as both parents were gunned down when the brothers were toddlers.

I personally think (as I've said before) that of the new generation kids in the fold of the Awami League, none (such as Redwan, Putul or others) are as professionally qualified or educated to run AL leadership, than him.

Joy (Sheikh Hasina's son) certainly doesn't want it. And I would not insult Taposh by comparing uneducated people like Obaidul Quader with him, who is nothing more than a former thug and a goonda.

Taposh - though a dyed-in-the-wool AL stalwart, is our best hope, monder bhalo (Bengali saying for "best of the worst"), and someone sane you can deal with, within reason.

@Xerxes22, @leonblack08, @Bengal71 bhais what do you guys think?

He is educated that is true. That is a rare breed. But Bhai, his role during BDR mutiny is highly questionable. Rumour has it that he facilitated the escape of the actual death squad right after the mutiny started. The core group of killers fled soon after killing the army officers and got out "allegedly" due to this guy.

So I am not quite sure where his loyalties lie. Could very well be an Indian implant.

UN Calls for Probe into Allegations against Bangladesh Army Chief

Imran Vittachi
Washington
2021-02-04

UN Calls for Probe into Allegations against Bangladesh Army Chief
U.N. Peacekeepers from Bangladesh attend a memorial ceremony at the MINUSMA base in Bamako, Mali for comrades who were killed by an explosive device, Sept. 27, 2017.
Reuters

The United Nations on Thursday called for an investigation into allegations made in a news documentary that linked Bangladesh’s army chief to corrupt deals, including the purported purchase of Israeli-made spying equipment.

Officials in Dhaka have rejected as “false and defamatory” the one-hour documentary by Al Jazeera since it was first aired on Monday. But they have not publically addressed specific allegations made against Gen. Aziz Ahmed and his brothers in the news report.

“We are in fact aware of the reporting done by Al Jazeera Investigations concerning allegations of corruption against senior officials in Bangladesh, and the press release issued by the Ministry of Defense in Bangladesh,” Stéphane Dujarric, spokesman for the U.N. Secretary-General, told reporters during a press briefing at the United Nations in New York.

“The allegations of corruption is a serious matter that should be investigated by the relevant authorities,” Dujarric said.

He was responding to a question about the Al Jazeera report and a subsequent claim by military officials in Bangladesh that cellphone surveillance equipment described in the documentary was purchased for U.N. peacekeeping operations.

Dujarric noted that Bangladesh is the world’s largest contributor of uniformed personnel to U.N. peacekeeping operations, and that every operation in which Dhaka participates is governed by an agreement laying out the world body’s specific requirements for it.

“The U.N. has not identified in any of these agreements a requirement for the capability provided by the operation of electronic equipment in the nature described by Al Jazeera in its documentary,” he added. “And such equipment has not been deployed with Bangladeshi contingents in U.N. peacekeeping operations.”

In his response, the spokesman for Secretary-General António Guterres did not refer to any of the “senior officials in Bangladesh” by name.

The U.N.’s call for an investigation came as Gen. Aziz was visiting the United States on an official trip, including a stop at the United Nations Headquarters.

The Bangladeshi army chief of staff departed on Jan. 29 for a visit scheduled to go until Feb. 12, the Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR) directorate at the Ministry of Defense said in a statement last week.

The general was due to meet with officials at the Pentagon in Washington as well as with United Nations officials in New York.

“His visit is expected to play an important role in increasing the number of Bangladeshi U.N. peacekeepers, conducting peacekeeping missions properly and ensuring the country’s participation at the policymaking level of the missions,” the ISPR had said.

The Feb. 1 investigative report by Qatar-based Al Jazeera alleged that Gen. Aziz maintained close links with his two foreign-based brothers who are fugitives from justice after being convicted of the 1996 murder of a rival political leader.

The Al Jazeera documentary linked the general to corrupt deals with at least one of his brothers, who the report said had been able to travel to Bangladesh to meet with the army chief despite being a fugitive.

The report said that Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina had previously hired Aziz’s brothers Haris and Anis Ahmed as bodyguards when she was opposition leader. It alleged that the Ahmed clan’s fortunes “have been long intertwined with that” of Hasina.

The report also claimed that the military had secretly purchased surveillance equipment manufactured by an Israeli company, even though Bangladesh does not recognize Israel and forbids nationals from traveling there or engaging in commerce with Israelis.

Al Jazeera alleged that Bangladeshi officers were trained by Israeli experts to use the equipment that can monitor hundreds of mobile phones at one time.

The Bangladesh foreign ministry slammed the report as “a misleading series of innuendos and insinuations in what is apparently a politically motivated ‘smear campaign’ by notorious individuals.”

Separately, the Bangladesh Army rejected the spyware claim, saying it was based on false information.
“The truth is the equipment was procured from Hungary for one of the army contingents due to be deployed in the U.N. Peacekeeping Mission,” said Rashadul Alam Khan, assistant director of the ISPR.

“Nowhere in the equipment was mentioned/written that these were of Israeli origin. There is no scope of defense co-operation/procurement from Israel since Bangladesh does not have any formal diplomatic relation with the country.”

Ah finally the UN steps in , Bangladesh being corrupt isn't anything new anyways. If UN wanted they can sanction Bangladesh but again we ain't Myanmar.

Nothing will happen. The government will keep the UN entertained with promises of investigation while dilly dallying to squeeze out just enough time for Gen Aziz to finish his term this July and migrate permanently overseas. A sham investigation will then pick up pace which will scapegoat a few minions.

The UN will use it to save face and avoid having to replace thousands troops specialised in peacekeeping from a country with massive peacebuilding support infrastructure (equipment, training centres, robust procurement and logistics systems in Bangladesh catering to current UN missions) back home.
No other country is this committed to send troops overseas for only $1500/month.

I was waiting for this.
Now I can die in peace. Bangladesh never disappoints. Somehow, JI being a scapegoat is the perfect Aunt Sally. All the years, never heard any Bangladeshi speak for them. I don't know what the big deal is. According to people, all sides are corrupt and BAL is the lesser evil as it looks after the citizens and economy. So all is good then. If no one better is out there to replace them, there is not much of a choice, is there?
We are just waiting for new leadership to rise. Until then we have to persist with the lesser evil.

Nothing will happen. The government will keep the UN entertained with promises of investigation while dilly dallying to squeeze out just enough time for Gen Aziz to finish his term this July and migrate permanently overseas. A sham investigation will then pick up pace which will scapegoat a few minions.

The UN will use it to save face and avoid having to replace thousands troops specialised in peacekeeping from a country with massive peacebuilding support infrastructure (equipment, training centres, robust procurement and logistics systems in Bangladesh catering to current UN missions) back home.
No other country is this committed to send troops overseas for only $1500/month.

I agree , but one day it will come that the AL will fall

educated but more crass than me xD

Yeah he was not always like this. was a regular guy as I remember.

But lately he has gotten quite mafioso after he got into politics. Happens when you are dealing with these types all day...
He is educated that is true. That is a rare breed. But Bhai, his role during BDR mutiny is highly questionable. Rumour has it that he facilitated the escape of the actual death squad right after the mutiny started. The core group of killers fled soon after killing the army officers and got out "allegedly" due to this guy.

So I am not quite sure where his loyalties lie. Could very well be an Indian implant.

It is possible. Wasn't there a group of five army commandos that tried to end his life?

Yeah he was not always like this. was a regular guy as I remember.

But lately he has gotten quite mafioso after he got into politics. Happens when you are dealing with these types all day
Gain of Power changes people and so does loss of it.
gain shows the truth underneath, loss shows the facade
Quite atheist kind of vibe too, those things he said about mullahs could have been said better with just as much if not more sting

@The Ronin , @Michael Corleone bhais I know you guys do not like Taposh, then what are our choices. A power vacuum will be utilized very deftly by the neighbors.
That faggot could have single-handedly prevented BDR mutiny when BDR soldiers met him prior to the mutiny to lobby for their demands.
He is an empty vessel, only knows how to bark. What has he achieved as an MP and mayor? F**k him.