Air Force Buys Light Attack Planes For Afghans -- Not U.S.

USAF Negates Super Tucano Pick for Afghan Military

In a stunning reversal, the U.S. Air Force plans to negate a decision to award Sierra Nevada Corp. and Embraer a $355 million contract for 20 light-attack aircraft for the Afghan military.

The move follows efforts to protest the award by Wichita, Kan.-based Hawker Beechcraft, whose AT-6 turboprop lost the bid in December. The company unsuccessfully protested the Air Force decision to the Government Accountability Office and has since filed a lawsuit in the U.S. Court of Federal Claims.

Now the Air Force says it will “set aside” the contract award as of March 2 to Brazil-based Embraer and its U.S. partner, Sierra Nevada, for Super Tucano aircraft, according to Jennifer Cassidy, a service spokeswoman.

“While we pursue perfection, we sometimes fall short, and when we do, we will take corrective action,” Air Force Secretary Michael Donley said in a Feb. 28 statement on the decision.

Donley added that Air Force acquisition executive David Van Buren “is not satisfied with the quality of the documentation supporting the award decision.”

At the same time, Gen. Donald Hoffman, commander of Air Force Materiel Command, has launched an investigation into the matter.

On Feb. 28, the Air Force notified the Justice Department of its action, according to Cassidy.

A spokeswoman for Sierra Nevada was not immediately available for comment.

The Air Force is purchasing the aircraft on behalf of Afghanistan, which is building its military air service.

USAF Negates Super Tucano Pick for Afghan Military | Defense News | defensenews.com

U.S. to Reopen Bidding on Troubled Afghan Aircraft Deal

BRASILIA, Brazil — The United States has told Brazilian aircraft maker Embraer that it will reopen bidding for 20 light support planes after canceling a contract with the company, a Brazilian minister said March 23.

“They did not give official notice, but informally, they said: ‘Wait for another tender, we are expecting a new tender,’ ” Industry and Trade Minister Fernando Pimentel told journalists.

Washington assured Embraer that “there will be another round, there will be another tender,” he added.

Last month, the Pentagon canceled a $355 million contract with U.S. firm Sierra Nevada Corp. and Brazil’s Embraer, and announced an investigation after a legal challenge from rival American aerospace firm Hawker Beechcraft Corp.

The contract for 20 Embraer AT-29 Super Tucano aircraft had been awarded in December as part of plans to arm the Afghan military amid a NATO troop drawdown.

But the U.S. Air Force said in February that it was not “satisfied” with the paperwork and announced a review of the award.

“The Brazilian government has already expressed its surprise at the U.S. Air Force’s decision. We won’t go further than this,” Pimentel said when asked whether the U.S. move, coming a month before President Dilma Rousseff’s visit to Washington, would have an impact on bilateral ties.

But he said the issue would certainly come up in Rousseff’s talks with U.S. President Barack Obama.

On a visit to Rio de Janeiro early this month, U.S. Deputy Secretary of State William Burns said Washington remains interested in a possible purchase and said the contract cancelation was not a reflection on the Super Tucano, which he described as “a very fine aircraft.”

A Brazilian government source, speaking on condition of anonymity, said earlier that the cancelation of the contract with Embraer would “be taken into account” when Brasilia decides on a tender for 36 aircraft for its air force valued between $4 billion and $7 billion.

Brazil is expected to choose in the first half of the year between the Rafale, made by French firm Dassault; the F/A-18 Super Hornet, manufactured by The Boeing Co.; and Swedish manufacturer Saab’s Gripen jet.

The AT-29 Super Tucano, a turboprop aircraft designed for low-threat environments, is used to conduct advanced flight training, aerial reconnaissance and light air support operations.

U.S. to Reopen Bidding on Troubled Afghan Aircraft Deal | Defense News | defensenews.com

USAF to Restart Light-Strike Aircraft Competition

The U.S. Air Force plans to restart a competition for a light-strike aircraft program it is running for the Afghan air force later this month.

“We will publish a new draft request for proposal on Light Air Support aircraft program,” Gen. Norton Schwartz, the Air Force chief of staff, said during an April 9 speech at the Atlantic Council in Washington. “Our purpose … is to provide the Afghan counterparts with a fixed-wing, close air support platform that they can operate effectively and affordably and reliably.”

The Air Force selected the Embraer Super Tucano over the Hawker Beechcraft AT-6 in December. But in February, the service negated the $355 million contract to the Brazilian based company and its U.S. partner, Sierra Nevada.

“It was regrettable that we had a problem on our documentation on the first source selection,” Schwartz said. “As a result, we responded by discontinuing that phase of the effort and we will begin anew here later this month with the current offers.”

After losing the contract, Hawker Beechcraft unsuccessfully protested to the Government Accountability Office and then filed a federal lawsuit.

The goal of the program is to purchase a fixed-wing, light-strike turboprop for the nascent Afghan air service.

USAF to Restart Light-Strike Aircraft Competition | Defense News | defensenews.com

18 million..
they could have got k-8 for 8-9 million and thunder downgarded version for 20 million..!

The point is how much quantity they buy. Since the quantity is limited here, the unit price is high. If they'd got 50 of these, the unit price would have been 9-10 million possibly.

There are a lot of strings other than just buying something cheaper. For example, they don't want political strings vis a vis you. Buying K-8 will mean that they'd have to agree with everything your political circles say (even if China ignores it). This is just my assumption and I am not trolling here.

Brazil is a much more neutral and emerging country with whom a relation would benefit Afghanistan in the long run. Brazil has a rapidly growing economy, abundant natural resources and the strongest south American nation.

propellear should be much cheaper than this..anyway much money will go back from where it came..hope it isnt a loan!

Operating and life cycle costs my friend. YAK-130 is a cutting edge aircraft no doubt. But usually a jet engine's operating costs are pretty high per hour compared to a prop one's. Afghanistan with its current situation needs something that it can operate for longer hours with lesser money involved.

That's why Yak-130 couldn't be chosen.

Maybe in future Yak-130 variants would become part of Afghan air force.

Super Tucano is a pretty tight aircraft for being a prop driven one you know. Just check out the missions and combat operations it has done. Usually prop planes don't do such stuff.. at least not in today's time.

Operating costs bhai. The Yak-130 is a jet engine operated aircraft and that will cost you much more per hour than a prop-driven one. Also maintenance for a prop powered plane is easier---something which the new Afghan air force needs.

I know there might be a lot of profiting from this, but this is the best option right now for the budget that your new military has.

Yaks can join AAF in the near future when your budget and economy increase.

The point is how much quantity they buy. Since the quantity is limited here, the unit price is high. If they'd got 50 of these, the unit price would have been 9-10 million possibly.

I don't think so because the full contract is worth $1 bln and the unit is more than 20 may be for some other air force and also US navy will use these propellers.

Python5 or Derby A2A ??/

Or is it too early call. Im sure AIM will find a place in weaponry.

Python5 or Derby A2A ??/

I think it is too early to say anything on this but Super Tucano A-29 can use all these:

Missiles:
Air-to-air:
AIM-9L
MAA-1 Piranha
Python 3
Python 4

Air-to-ground:
AGM-114 Hellfire
AGM-65 Maverick

Bombs:
General-purpose bombs:
Mk 81
Mk 82
M-117

Incendiary bombs:
BINC-300

Cluster bombs:
BLG-252

Precision-guided bombs:
SMKB-82 - Mectron/Britanite INS/GPS guidance kit for Mk 82. (under develpment)
Paveway II
Lizard - Elbit laser guidance kit.
Griffin

yea afghan air force i see no bright future there are more chances of being used by Taliban after American leave

Taliban can't play a computer game, flying a plane is out of discussion and I guess America is not leaving until ANSF is properly trained and equipped.

Afghans are capable to strike the Taliban hard if you cease your support to those loonies. US will never withdraw from Afghanistan totally. They secret operations will continue with minimal staff supporting the new Afghan government. US never left Germany after WW2 and till date operates in the country using Rammstein base.

Taliban is toast and so will their supporters be. It is best if you join the anti-bunny cooperation. Ab bhi kuchh nahi bigada hai. :D

Python5 or Derby A2A ??/

This, would be more logical. Brazilian MAA-1B short range missiles.

Mectron_maa-1b_1.jpg

Taliban can't play a computer game, flying a plane is out of discussion and I guess America is not leaving until ANSF is properly trained and equipped.

dont they will use them as video games dont forget 911 mate what happend you never know

these propeller driven are WW2 Tec bro waste of money

dont they will use them as video games dont forget 911 mate what happend you never know

Please check the Super Tucano's specifications. My personal regret is that why didn't IAF acquire these and chose PC-7 which is an older and unarmed platform compared to the EMB-314 which is a combat proven platform against insurgency in south America.

WW2 tech? :lol:

I'd recommend you to visit Embraer site and see for yourself.

I don't think Taliban did 911 they were the victims too!! and it is a propeller but Tshering22 has answered that part to you.

For about the same price AAF could have bought A-10 warthogs which are most suited to the type of warfare in Afghanistan..
Bad decision by the top brass.