Afghanistan has broken chains of slavery - PM Imran Khan

Most Turks cant speak proper English. They arent taught at schools. The language script was changed for other reasons. It was Ataturk effort to clean break modern Turkey from Ottoman moorings. He did not want Turkey to live in past. In that era, it was a correct decision.
Ataturk was a traitor, but he did build a new country from scratch.
Changing of the script is seen as a controversial move.

Yes, but Turkey changed their script. That is almost like adopting the western language.

Valid point. Look at Japan, they do everything in their own language.

But we need to improve our economy first, to reach that level.

I think we need to consider our priorities. Can we do with one less stadium? Less tanks? Less motorways? Education should be getting top priority.

I spoke to a cousin this week and dispaired. He told me with so much pride that he'd got a vaccination certificate without actually being vaccinated. He was proud of his ability to work the system.

I just thought how foolish. People work the system usually out of majboori. To gain something like access to facilities or services. He paid a bribe to not gain benefit. He thinks the govt is borrowing money to buy and give vaccines because it has nothing better to do.

His father wasted a lot of money sending him to private school. Thankfully his sister is very intelligent Mashallah. We need to focus on the quality of our education so we have less dumbasses like my cousin.

Most Turks cant speak proper English. They arent taught at schools. The language script was changed for other reasons. It was Ataturk effort to clean break modern Turkey from Ottoman moorings. He did not want Turkey to live in past. In that era, it was a correct decision.
Yes, but Ataturk destroyed important cultural traditions as well.

I have a friend's friend who owns a hotel in Taksim, quite a wealthy businessman. I sometimes stay there. I can't talk to him directly because he doesn't speak a word of English.

I asked him through my friend why he doesn't learn English, his reply was ' Why should I ?'.

All Turkish education, from primary school to university is in Turkish ( surprise, surprise). I believe that in Medicine they might be taught some English for medical terms.

I think we need to consider our priorities. Can we do with one less stadium? Less tanks? Less motorways? Education should be getting top priority.

I spoke to a cousin this week and dispaired. He told me with so much pride that he'd got a vaccination certificate without actually being vaccinated. He was proud of his ability to work the system.

I just thought how foolish. People work the system usually out of majboori. To gain something like access to facilities or services. He paid a bribe to not gain benefit. He thinks the govt is borrowing money to buy and give vaccines because it has nothing better to do.

His father wasted a lot of money sending him to private school. Thankfully his sister is very intelligent Mashallah. We need to focus on the quality of our education so we have less dumbasses like my cousin.
There is too much corruption in Pakistan. Unfortunately goons like Nawaz Sharif should never come into power.

But I agree with ultranationalist people like Musharraf.

Eh chawal mikki Afghani samajnay ni. Lol. Kehray garan renhnay ho lala ji. Chalo kushi ni gal eh asaan vich vi koi itheh heh.

Asan Chowk Sahiban rehne ya. Chota ja garan ve. Chakswari tu ageh. Asa jatt biradari ni ya. UK vich kaafi mare dost yar aur talak ne banda islamgarh ne rehne walen.

My 2 cents about speaking a non-native language.

As long as you speak a language that is not yours, you will always be at a disadvantage. If you're not a native speaker, with a very few exceptions, you will always have an accent, you are more likely to make some grammatical errors, and you will definitely have a handicap when expressing complex ideas.

IK went to Atchison and Oxford, lived in the UK for years, and spoke English all his life. And yet now he is not as fluent as he used to be. That's natural. It happens with aging. You revert to your native language.

This impacts one's persuasiveness, relatability, and dare I say, credibility.

It's best not to play someone else's games, with their rules. You will almost certainly lose.

15488F33-A224-491C-A149-C3932B20213C.jpeg

My 2 cents about speaking a non-native language.

As long as you speak a language that is not yours, you will always be at a disadvantage. If you're not a native speaker, with a very few exceptions, you will always have an accent, you are more likely to make some grammatical errors, and you will definitely have a handicap when expressing complex ideas.

IK went to Atchison and Oxford, lived in the UK for years, and spoke English all his life. And yet now he is not as fluent as he used to be. That's natural. It happens with aging. You revert to your native language.

This impacts one's persuasiveness, relatability, and dare I say, credibility.

It's best not to play someone else's games, with their rules. You will almost certainly lose.
Because Education is done in English, and English is the international language of Business.
That is why English is given so much importance.
Look what Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto did with nationalization program. The education system went downhill.
I have a friend's friend who owns a hotel in Taksim, quite a wealthy businessman. I sometimes stay there. I can't talk to him directly because he doesn't speak a word of English.

I asked him through my friend why he doesn't learn English, his reply was ' Why should I ?'.

All Turkish education, from primary school to university is in Turkish ( surprise, surprise). I believe that in Medicine they might be taught some English for medical terms.
Valid point, if you live all your life in your own country.

But in this day and age of globalization, it is almost impossible to stay in our own little bubble.
People are going overseas for a higher education.

His philosophy was only applicable when British had taken over the Indian subcontinent. He wasnt wrong. But once we want to be free, aspire to be a free nation, his philosophy is redundant. Alas, we are still stuck with his ideas.
The day the local culture offers alternatives to the same pace of technical, economic and national unity progress compared to the borrowed one, it will take over. Until then, they can slam Urdu or Punjabi, Sindhi or seraiki around in whatever official or unofficial form they want and impose the same draconian cultural supremacy of the Taliban - but will still have to run for English translations for most things including operating every piece of tech and equipment they own.

The best expression of this misplaced cultural hypocrisy is when our airports say international airport written in urdu rather than bain-al-aqwami hawai ada. At that point the culture takes a backseat to lack of education.

Apni zaban, saqafat, tameez o tamadun se waise tu wabastagi dur dur tak nahin magar ganday pain hay, mailay wuzu gah aur shadion mein mujron ke waqt کلچر yaad ajata hai.

Poor Sir Syed Ahmed Khan - the mental slave
I believe this example is wrong as Sir Syed was not the representative of Cultural Slavery of West, ye he advocated learning of English and Modern Education but he propagated the adoption of English as medium of Education not the Medium of Cultural Expansionism

So It's not about the medium of Education but Medium of of Cultural invasion, I am sure you must have remember after 9-11 one of the first demands of US was to change the curriculum of Primary and Secondary schools in Pakistan and you must be aware about their reasonings, what they were debating in their circles in west but no heed was paid for the technical education, this thing alone is enough to prove their objectives.

Further I am sure you must be aware about the mushroom growth of Private chains of Schools and Colleges and in Universities left oriented professors and Student organizations were encouraged .....

We all how many students of those private schools or Colleges in Pakistan are capable to compete with student of same standard on merit in west ..... but in twenty years rather to focus on quality of education focus was rather set to on different trajectory,

In past 20 years we have produced a class of pupils who are suffering with 'Superiority complex against their own people and alien in their own country" ..... Iman Mazari, Waqas Goria and other member of this class are just few examples.

Further I would ask you to recall the initial days of insurgency in Balochistan which started to expand its roots in Universities and Colleges even before the death of Akbar Bugti.

I believe this example is wrong as Sir Syed was not the representative of Cultural Slavery of West, ye he advocated learning of English and Modern Education but he propagated the adoption of English as medium of Education not the Medium of Cultural Expansionism

So It's not about the medium of Education but Medium of of Cultural invasion, I am sure you must have remember after 9-11 one of the first demands of US was to change the curriculum of Primary and Secondary schools in Pakistan and you must be aware about their reasonings, what they were debating in their circles in west but no heed was paid for the technical education, this thing alone is enough to prove their objectives.

Further I am sure you must be aware about the mushroom growth of Private chains of Schools and Colleges and in Universities left oriented professors and Student organizations were encouraged .....

We all how many students of those private schools or Colleges in Pakistan are capable to compete with student of same standard on merit in west ..... but in twenty years rather to focus on quality of education focus was rather set to on different trajectory,

In past 20 years we have produced a class of pupils who are suffering with 'Superiority complex against their own people and alien in their own country" ..... Iman Mazari, Waqas Goria and other member of this class are just few examples.

Further I would ask you to recall the initial days of insurgency in Balochistan which started to expand its roots in Universities and Colleges even before the death of Akbar Bugti.
English should be made co-official with Urdu to improve the education system in Pakistan. That is just my opinion though.