A study of Indian and Pakistani social culture and values: PEW

Regarding contraceptive use and abortion acceptablity , India's percentgae of acceptance is still very low. Need more work on those areas. I wonder where was this survey conducted in India.

Nation wide.

So people from almost all states were included to make it a nationally representative survey. That's why the actual figures are revealed (and hence you are surprised a bit).

I want them to continue getting increasingly "progressive". I am happy to see that divorce, extramarital affairs, homosexuality is rising in India. :D

Don't laugh, libeturds are going to export these things to pakistan as well via bollywood.

Help us to save our sanskars, otherwise get ready to loose your country as well.

I Agree, this is why I don't want pakistan to watch our movies.

Hinduism is now dead. Venue our filthy gurus now promoting faggotry !

Maybe it's result of Victim mentality and deep Inferiority complex Indians have for West. Take example of Hindus who worship trump or do pooja for his victory.

Only Rajputs, OBCs (jats,gujjars,Ahiers etc.) And some brahmins now don't support this moral degradation.

Except some martial caste very very few Hindus have religious zeal for Defending Hinduism.

Start new je jehad and majority will run to West or accept Islam while above mentioned people will die in battlefield.

Good to see Indians being progressive

LOL at progressive. I wonder how you define progressive.

If anything, India is losing its identity to an imported culture LOL Your culture has become diluted and is eroding. Indians don't even speak their language anymore and speak Urdu as Hindi LOL

How do you define cultural superiority?

There is no competition between cultures. cultures are a reflection of moral and ethical values of a society. India has much higher number of rapes including state encouraged rapes in forcefully occupied and oppressed areas, do you Indians consider that as cultural superiority?

The testimony of cultural superiority of India and Pakistan is evident if you look at both countries and where they stand.

Islamic culture of Muslim Pakistanis gives them some civilizational advantages over Indians (mainly Hindus as Muslims of India also have their own unique Islamic culture as mentioned by @graphican). Indians have gotten Westernized/foreignized and materialistic without developing themselves first............

This can also explain why Pakistan has been doing better than India when it comes to demographic development and average fertility rates (even though Pakistan has been relatively more prosperous than India with far less poverty and much higher levels of median wealth throughout much of the last 65 years post Independence). Generally, countries with higher levels of poverty and lesser prosperity tend to have higher fertility rates. But Pakistan has not only kept higher levels of prosperity, median wealth per capita, and less poverty--but it has also surpassed India in terms of demographic expansion and consolidation.

I've rarely read a more convoluted and facile analysis. Islamic culture has given Pakistan unique advantages- such as what exactly? On what metric? Higher fertility rates, it seems. And that is a sign of superiority?

How do you define cultural superiority?

There is no competition between cultures. cultures are a reflection of moral and ethical values of a society. India has much higher number of rapes including state encouraged rapes in forcefully occupied and oppressed areas, do you Indians consider that as cultural superiority?

So I suppose child abuse in Pakistan is a fair indication of the moral and ethical values there? Is the Rotherham child abuse case then an indicator of Pakistani 'export' to other countries

That's exactly my point.

Pakistan's fertility rates are near 3 to 3.5 kids per woman--which are much more healthier than Indian TFR.

The 'sweet spot' of fertility for a developing nation is around 3 kids per woman, and for a developed nation, it's around 2.5 kids per woman.

Africa is growing too much (and too poor)---while Europe is shrinking because there fertility is much below the levels required to sustain their populations.

India has already huge population so it's not that big of a problem.

More fitter social cultures produce fitter/better fertility rates.

Pakistan's social culture is far superior to India's, and you can see it in the fertility rates development.

Pakistan is more prosperous and wealthier, yet has better fertility rates than India...thanks to it's more fitter social culture.

@Margarita @futurewar

Read the OP and post number 3.

It explains in detail the difference and similarities between indian and Pakistani culture.

This is backed by data analysis and not some dumbo writing his opinion pieces. A good thread relating to the thread opened by margarita regarding city life in India and Pakistan.
high fertility rate above 3 is common in illiterate backward society with high mortality rate & low HDI, that's why in developing nations TFR should be around 2.3 to 2.6 not 3.7 like pakistan, in case of India it's 2.2 in 2017 & only because of cow belt rest of India is below replacement levels.... either you are dumb or just plain ignorant ....High TFR for pakistan is a disaster , you have a low arabal land & most of your population is in Punjab

It is a fake figure.

Lol, no it's not.

Its "per capita" on average figure from world health organization (More credible than anything you can imagine)

Source: World Health Organization 2014-15 report

Even with just '0.1' litre per capita figure, the amount of total alcohol consumed in Pakistan goes in crazy high figures overall.

high fertility rate above 3 is common in illiterate backward society with high mortality rate & low HDI, that's why in developing nations TFR should be around 2.3 to 2.6 not 3.7 like pakistan, in case of India it's 2.2 in 2017 & only because of cow belt rest of India is below replacement levels.... either you are dumb or just plain ignorant ....High TFR for pakistan is a disaster , you have a low arabal land & most of your population is in Punjab

Dumbass, Pakistan's TFR is around 3-3.2 (Not 3.7...thats almost a decade old number).

Secondly, TFR should be around 3ish for a country like Pakistan (which is richer and more prosperous than shit hole with no toilets to our East).

TFR in Israel is also around 3 kids per woman---I'm sure they are poverty stricken, low HDI country as well. Right?:rofl:

TFR of 3 will gradually reach replacement levels and by that time hopefully we'd be atleast "middle income" nation with enough labor force. If we go near replacement levels now, it'll be a disaster since we won't have enough labor force to carry our retire population by 2060.

Don't talk about things you have no idea about, bimbo bharti

Islamic culture has given Pakistan unique advantages- such as what exactly?

I have already answered your question in posts #3 and #21

But let's spoon feed you..

I'll describe a few social/cultural indicators where Pakistan performs better than india..

Pakistan's social culture is doing much better than india's in terms of lack of alcohol consumption/abuse, the (lack of) prevalence of premarital sex, healthier marriage rates, traditional respect for religion and our indigenous culture (gender relations, clothing styles etc are reflections), lower divorce rates, gambling, drug consumption, and so on.

All of this promotes a culture whereby marriage is seen as the gateway to "sex" and ultimately child bearing. Any "deviant behavior" carries far more costly consequences for Muslim Pakistanis socially (and legally by the state as well) than for Indians/Hindus. This cultural structure and discipline leads to a life pattern whereby fertility rates are healthier and children born as a result grow up under a traditionally indigenous Islamic-Pakistani ecosystem (Family--School--Society)--all while maintaining Pakistani identity, indigenous roots, and continuing the journey of material, economic, infrastructural, political, and social development.

It's not a surprise that Pakistan outperforms india is majority of categories relating to social culture--whether it's racism/ethnic bigotry (more social harmony and tolerance of different ethnic groups in Pakistan compared to india), 48 times lesser rapes in Pakistan than india , better social protection/help of fellow citizens in Pakistan compared to india , individual resource sharing, healthier family structures, valuing family values etc.

Higher fertility rates, it seems. And that is a sign of superiority?

Not 'higher' fertility rates.

Healthier fertility rates while generating more wealth/income at the same time is just one of the indicator of Pakistan's social culture performing better than india's.

Rest, I have explained above in detail.

Again, we are talking about social culture here. And Islam definitely gives Pakistani social culture an edge compared to indian one.

Nation wide.

So people from almost all states were included to make it a nationally representative survey. That's why the actual figures are revealed (and hence you are surprised a bit).
I wish the numbers pertaining to contraceptive use raise by few more percentage. A huge illiterate population is big burden than a asset.
Some one mentioned cow-belt hindi heartland areas. I wish they attain replacement fertility within a decade, which would be huge relief.

Don't laugh, libeturds are going to export these things to pakistan as well via bollywood.

Help us to save our sanskars, otherwise get ready to loose your country as well.

Lol, not really.

Pakistanis have been watching bollywood and indian TV serials since decades now. Actually, we used to watch indian content significantly more than we do now. Yet, you did not see any 'liberalization' of our traditional culture. Infact, many of the actors/journalists from india who visited Pakistan wrote about how Pakistanis adhered to their traditional culture at much higher rates with more rigor.

Now, indian dramas have dwindled down drastically and Pakistani dramas have taken over the market. Pakistani dramas are quality and promote our culture and values. Watch some super famous dramas such as "Zindagi Gulzar hai" etc.

I Agree, this is why I don't want pakistan to watch our movies.

After dramas, hopefully we would take over the market in film industry as well. Bollywood is too big and powerful. But new movies from Pakistan are coming out--hopefully they can dwindle bollywood's influence further.

Hinduism is now dead. Venue our filthy gurus now promoting faggotry !

Other than Islam, pretty much every other religion is dead on global scale.

Only Islam is thriving and expanding globally everywhere---even in the Western world. Mashallah to that.

Feel Pakistanis are musch better and far off against India., India is all copy west, and copy Pakistani contend.

Only thing bad about Pakistan is :
Very very less contraception use.
I mean for god sake we need to focus on contraception. No wonder population is going out of control. Only 1 entertainment is available to our people, the must Atleast do it without getting pregnant or sharing diseases.
Government if shy to give ads must send teams to local people about contraception use in villages, because people there still consider it a taboo.