A Delay In MMRCA Is Not a Blessings For Pakistan Air Force

to answer the OPs original question the J-10 brings nothing to the PAF that the existing F-16s dont bring, if the J-10 was such a spectacular aircraft why haven't any major countries expressed interest in buying it? the answer is, is that chinese technology is completely unproven, china has spent decades reverse engineering russian fighter jets, the J-10 was based off a rejected israeli experiment, The J-10 represents the first 4th generaton fighter the chinese have made which isn't a copy of russian tech, theres way too much risk jumping onboard the J-10 program. by inducting the J-10 and JF-17 you basically are inducting 2 unproven fighter jets, i would rather go for F-16s any day of the week. And I read a report which claimed that china pitted there J-10s against the J-11, whenever the J-11 used there ECM they outperformed and scored a high kill ratio vs the J-10.

Pakistan never intended to acquire J-10A that was why it wished to wait and signed an MOU with the Chinese for 36 fighters back in 2005 or 2006 which was to become the FC-20 in PAF designation. The J-10B is actually based on what Pakistan had intended to procure as the FC-20 and more. It has super maneuverability, Integrated IRST, EOTS, HMS, DSI Inlet, Lowered RCS, Uprated Engines and an AESA radar that the Chengdu claims can detect stealth opponents at a respectable distance. The only problem is that Pakistan's economy has been continuously sluggish since 2008 and they are also currently involved in the JF-17 program. The J-10B has been inducted quite recently into the PLAAF.

Pakistan never intended to acquire J-10A that was why it wished to wait and signed an MOU with the Chinese for 36 fighters back in 2005 or 2006 which was to become the FC-20 in PAF designation. The J-10B is actually is based on what Pakistan had intended to procure as the FC-20 and more. It has super maneuverability, Integrated IRST, EOTS, HMS lowered RCS, DSI Inlet, Lowered RCS, Uprated Engines and an AESA radar that the Chengdu claims can detect stealth opponents at a respectable distance. The only problem is that Pakistan's economy had been sluggish since 2008 and they are currently involved in the JF-17 program. The J-10B has been inducted quite recently into the PLAAF.
wow, i knew about this, but after reading some of the specifications, the aircraft does sound amazing, would have been great to see them in PAF colors, with 36 J-10B+78 F-16s MLUs+60 blk-2 the IAF would be shitting themselves. PAF's problem has been there over commitment with the JF-17, i don't think its the answer to the problem with regards to IAF. its definately better then the F-7s and mirages, but it needs more hard-points, better engine(its way to slow) better radar

Please see the comparison using the link comparison of Western planes and please note French BVR missiles technology edge . Also note the rate of turn for Rafale (both instant and continuous). I can see why Pakistan Air Force loves F16 but something superior will be with enemy next year. India Played their cards very well by asking quote for 126 MMRCA. This ensured that Pakistan will not get any of the modern planes fighters. In the end they just got 36 Rafale and Pakistan never got anything. This plane has everything except Stealth and thrust vectoring.
Comparing modern Western fighters « Defense Issues

Actually the delay had been a blessing. Had they bought it 10 years ago when Zardari was in Power and economy in the gutter we would be in a very tight spot. No our economy is in a much better shape, country much more politically stable and Taliban and other terrorist organizations firmly under the boot and Thunders maturing significantly can now reassess our requirements in the new geo-political environment with more options available to choose from. I think we are in a much better position now respond to any indian acquisition.

Many a people people and professionals are of the feeling that the delay in the mmrca deal has given paf some breathing room to decide what they want to get and many of them think that the delay is good for Pakistan.

To the contrary---the delay in mmrca deal is a successful sabotage on the procurement of an aircraft by the Pakistan air force by the indian planners.

Even though Iaf may have lesser numbers---it still has a higher number of potent aircraft in its fleet to face the challenge and take the battle into the house of the enemy.

The lack of mmrca does not hurt india---but rather strengthen its position---because paf has blundered into not making the procurement of an air superiority fighter that they desperately need and waiting for the finalization of mmrca to see which direction they want to go.

If the paf had gone with the J10B's in 2012 as it was offered with a complete package out of existing stock by the Chinese----paf would have been by now 2 / 3rds of the way into integrating that aircraft into the existing system and getting their pilots upto date on that machine.

But no---paf decided to chase the 8 ball---and in the process it got way behind of its target of achieving some kind of parity on the air superiority front.

Paf used to be a pro-active air force---but in the last many years---it has become more of a reactive air force---. Instead of leading from the front---it is waiting to be lead and guided into what direction that it needs to go----it is like a cow lost in a pasture.

Who knows better than the paf that if its funds are not spent in a timely manner---they will be used in other places by someone else.

Seems like there is a lack of leadership in the air force in the top brass---a lack of focus---a lack of direction and a will to take charge and do something.

That is what an internet forum is supposed to do, right?

j
I don't know what is the problem with defence.pk these days. Koi bhi kuch bhi sochta hai aur phir us par thread bana daita hai.

How old are you Zarvan?

You think any fighters in naval role will not be defending Pakistan?

I don't support J-11D or SU-35 for Naval role for me these should be used for defending Pakistan Air Space and send some gifts inside India

Mr. Mastan has become more like nishan101

an honest assessment will be that in the current situation, it would be a miracle to even finance jf-17, let alone procuring an aircraft that an economy 10 times greater than us like india cannot afford

the real reason for delay in mrca is nothing but lack of money

j

How old are you Zarvan?

I want Navy to have its own independent Air Arm at least two squadrons. What I don't support is SU-35 or J-11 D is these squadrons because they are mainly Air Superiority Fighters for Navy J-16 would be the best with 12 hard points can carry lot of cruise and Anti Ship Missiles. J-16 is mainly designed for bombing missions I would love to see two squadrons of J-16 with Navy.

You didn't answer my question

I want Navy to have its own independent Air Arm at least two squadrons. What I don't support is SU-35 or J-11 D is these squadrons because they are mainly Air Superiority Fighters for Navy J-16 would be the best with 12 hard points can carry lot of cruise and Anti Ship Missiles. J-16 is mainly designed for bombing missions I would love to see two squadrons of J-16 with Navy.

I exactly answered your question Mr if you can't understand what I said at first place than I can do nothing about that read my answer I answered you

Your answer is flawed.

so you don't need air superiority over sea specially when the enemy has an aircraft carrier with 30 odd potent fighters on it? You just need dumb bombers to attack an aircraft carrier? you just need dumb bombers to protect your sea ports and your sea lanes and your EEEZ. you just need dumb bombers when enemy asserts both surface and air are hunting your subs? you just want dumb bombers to defend your surface assets when attacked by enemy long range, long endurance missile trucks?

j

How old are you Zarvan?

They will be defending but they won't be flying after a fighter jet ?
How old are you ?

Your answer is flawed.

so you don't need air superiority over sea specially when the enemy has an aircraft carrier with 30 odd potent fighters on it? You just need dumb bombers to attack an aircraft carrier? you just need dumb bombers to protect your sea ports and your sea lanes and your EEEZ. you just need dumb bombers when enemy asserts both surface and air are hunting your subs? you just want dumb bombers to defend your surface assets when attacked by enemy long range, long endurance missile trucks?
J-16 with 12 hard points can carry lot of BVR also along with Cruise and Anti Ship Missiles. Pakistan policy is for mainly targeting Naval Ships and taking our Air Craft Carrier and for that J-16 is best suitable and also for Air Force if they soon want to go for bomber to carry out strikes deep inside India and do heavy bombardment J-16 is best option.