73% Indians satisfied with Modi’s handling of Covid-19 pandemic

“Jab tak dawai nahi, dhilai nahi” (No let up till vaccination) to “Dawai bhi, kadaai bhi” (Yes to medicine, yes to caution) -- Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s coronavirus slogans are just proof of how well he handled the pandemic in a nation of 130 crore people where other developed countries continue to struggle. Almost three-fourths of Indians believe that PM Modi has done a good or outstanding job in handling the pandemic, the India Today Mood of the Nation (MOTN) opinion poll has revealed.

While 23 per cent of the respondents said PM Modi’s handling of the pandemic has been outstanding, 50 per cent said it’s good. Another 18 per cent said it’s average, while 7 per cent said it’s poor and only 2 per cent responded very poor.

The India Today MOTN opinion poll was conducted in coordination with Karvy Insights. A total of 12,232 interviews were conducted across the nation, both face-to-face and over telephone, from January 3-13, 2021.

It’s been more than a year that India, and the world, have been living under the shadow of the Covid-19 pandemic. India witnessed a complete lockdown in four phases starting March 25, 2020. The lockdown was announced by PM Modi himself in a televised speech to the nation.

WhatsApp_Image_2021-01-21_at_2-x1280.jpeg

Industries, shops, offices, educational institutions, and public transport shut overnight, and only essential services were allowed to operate. The pandemic, and the subsequent lockdowns, impacted the economy and led to massive job losses. Unlocks were announced in several phases from June to bring normal life back on track. Sops were announced to revive the economy. And as the MOTN opinion polls show, PM Modi seems to have ticked the right boxes in dealing with the pandemic situation.

Over two-thirds of respondents also expressed satisfaction at the Centre’s handling of economic distress due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the poll showed.
Even some of the most developed countries have not received this kind of appreciation from their citizens. A Pew Research Center survey of more than 14,000 respondents in 14 advanced economies of Europe, Asia, North America and Australia found that 73 per cent of respondents thought their country had done a good job in tackling the outbreak. But a different picture emerged in the US and UK, where delayed action to combat the pandemic received less emphatic support. More than half of those polled in these two countries said they thought the outbreak had been handled poorly. This survey was published in August 2020.
WhatsApp_Image_2021-01-21_at_8_1-x1280.jpeg

While 94 per cent respondents in Australia were satisfied with their government’s handling of the pandemic, the number was 88 per cent for Canada and Germany each, and 74 per cent for Italy. Compared to India, lesser respondents in France (59 per cent), Japan (55 per cent) Spain (54 per cent), United States (47 per cent) and United Kingdom (46 per cent) gave thumbs up to their governments’ Covid efforts.
The MOTN opinion poll has found that not only have Indians endorsed PM Modi’s handling of the Covid-19 crisis, but they are also happy with his overall performance. Some 74 per cent Indians expressed satisfaction with the prime minister, up from 54 per cent in the MOTN opinion poll conducted in January 2019.
The Modi government’s vaccination drive is considered to be the largest in the world. India rolled out two coronavirus vaccines Covaxin, which has been developed by Hyderabad-based Bharat Biotech in collaboration with the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) and National Institute of Virology, and Covishield, developed by the University of Oxford and pharma major AstraZeneca. Its India partner is Pune-based Serum Institute.
Various opinion polls from last year too have shown that support for PM Modi and his policies continue despite the pandemic, lockdown, and economic distress.
The August 2020 edition of MOTN survey had found that 77 per cent respondents were satisfied with PM Modi’s performance during the Covid-19 crisis. This is in contrast to the mood in most developed and developing countries.
According to a survey conducted by United States-based research firm Morning Consult, PM Modi’s popularity has risen the most among major global leaders amid the pandemic. The analysis tracked approval ratings of several heads of states.

View attachment 709178

View attachment 709180
We pakistanis are also very satisfied with modi performance in India so far :lol:

Where did I defend China, this is not about Pakistani vaccine.

Why don't you stick to topic?? You and couple of other Indians derail every other thread. If you cant contribute positively, try controling your urge to comment.
haha you should quote replies I made to Pakistani members, not Chinese members hence the confusion. I corrected my reply.

73 % Indians like Modi which is good for him. Its irrelevant what me or other people on this forum or outside India think.

( Given that the survey was done truthfully )

This is normal when you expect to get 60%, you would be happy to have 55%. East Asia people have higher expection. They want 100%, so 80% is a failure. 95% is just ok.

Modi did a pathetic job especially letting those daily wage workers walk from states like Maharashtra to Bihar. Besides that, he did what anyone could under the circumstances. It was ok. Of course for bhakts Modi can't do anything wrong and soon whatsapp forwards of Unesco and Nasa awarding Modi "best Covid handler" will start.
Modi is getting the positive response because other global/local leaders perceived to have done worse

Boris, Trump and Bolsanaro initially denied Covid and then ironically themselves were infected by it.

Xi became international meme with this pandemic
1611310726410.png

Imran was having existential crisis over imposing a lockdown

Putin did not get much coverage on it

European nations like Spain and Italy had a very poor initial response

Italian mayors going as far supporting the Han Intellect poster boy campaign

Modi was careful not make blunders in public

Nations like Vietnam who handled the pandemic exceptionally well did not get the international credit they deserve

I am a little bit unsatisfied with Modi. He called stop at last second in the front line. If he learn from Nehru, we have another chance to beat India again. So disappointed to you. @modi

We are also disappointed with Mr Xi,
he should learn from Mr Mao and stop brushing his teeth and stop wiping his bottom.

Unfortunately our govt doesn't have the balls to underreport like you guys
We have the balls to report but just u don't have the heart to accept China superiority. :enjoy:

If can post "Xi is a tranny" here,
I will accept China superiority.
How is Xi tyrany who remove poverty and help China achieved 2.3% economy growth even in pandemic times?

If he is tyranny then Modi is sub human who gives India -7.7% economy ? :lol:

How is Xi tyrany who remove poverty and help China achieved 2.3% economy growth even in pandemic times?

If he is tyranny then Modi is sub human who gives India -7.7% economy ? :lol:

You just proved we are superior,
Still have time to post what I asked and prove that Chinese are superior.

Him being a tranny does not take away his achievements..

How superior? 2m covid-19 cases and -7.7% economy decline? Or becos you have more poverty which makes u superior? :lol:

This is literally the most FUNNY comment I have read for a long time, you actually think you as an indian is superior? Holy molly! You are literally bunch of cesspit dwellers, look through the history lens you contribute NOTHING apart from your open toilet pooing. First step is to learn how to build enough toilets for your pitiful population. LOL Superior? Hey Jai Looser! Oopps I meant Jai hind lol.

The Chinese are proving India is superior..

Thanks to my chinese brethren here, I humbly accept your confirmation that we are superior.

The Chinese are proving India is superior..

Thanks to my chinese brethren here, I humbly accept your confirmation that we are superior.
Yup indians are truly superior, so superior that after 70 years of independence still can't make anything, you don't have manufacturing capability apart from low scale manufacturing, your economy is backward, I struggle to find one well recognized brand from india, your entire country looks like a cesspit superior? I'll give you another 50 years you probably will stay at the same level. More like the other way round, more like loser! HAH!

Your only superiority is in term of media brainwashing, yes creating fake news and rumors to boost your extreme nationalism, that is the only stuff you can do.

Most importantly you Indians have ZERO credibility and ZERO honour, you should learn from your Pakistani brother, they are 20% of your size yet they have more honour than you pitiful hindus.