65,000 foreigners found overstaying in India

Spring Onion

PDF VETERAN
65,000 foreigners found overstaying in India

NEW DELHI: More than 65,000 foreigners, including 31,200 Bangladeshis, 14,500 Afghans and 7,500 Pakistanis, were found overstaying in India in 2008 and only 13,995 were deported, according to home ministry figures.
Minister of state for home affairs Mullappally Ramachandran told the Lok Sabha Tuesday that foreign nationals found overstaying in India had "entered into the country on valid travel documents".

He said in 2006 the number of such foreigners was 49,945, in 2007 it was 53,945 and in 2008 it was 65,149.

Some 14,492 overstaying foreigners were deported in 2006 and 13,248 were deported in 2007 and 13,995 in 2008. Related figures for 2009 have not been compiled so far, he said.

"Certain instances of some illegal immigrants having obtained voter identity cards, ration cards and driving licences through fraudulent means have been reported," Ramachandran said.

"When such instances are detected, the government takes necessary action for cancellation of such documents along with such other appropriate steps as mandated by the provision of the law," he added.

65,000 foreigners found overstaying in India - India - The Times of India

and what about Mr George Fernandus statement that 2 crore illegal bangladeshi's are in India?

The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Main News

Indian media is always so confused

I think you confused refugees with foreign visitors or tourists.
The 2 crore number you quoted are refugees and the number being talked about is tourists and visitors overstaying.

Refugees don't have proper papers but these people had papers but for some limited time and they overstayed.

The issue is all about over staying ( illegal) no matter what they came as refugees, visitors, tourist or wateva..

I think its high time that Indian govt should take appropriate actions and deport all those who are overstaying illegally.

The Pakistani Govt should ask for details of these Pakistanis so that their safety can be ensured.

thier safty?? they might have stayed in India because they might felt safe here? I dont think anybody will intentionally stay in a place that is danger for their existance.

IMO, anyone illegally staying should be deported!

thier safty?? they might have stayed in India because they might felt safe here? I dont think anybody will intentionally stay in a place that is danger for their existance.

bhai apna mulk apna hi hota hai............... ask the peoples living in South Waziristan they are being targetted by drones attacks almost everyday but still the civilians are not willing to leave that war torned area.

Nobdy wants to leave their motherland on any condition. Those Pakistanis (if there are any) will return to their homeland soon.

I think its high time that Indian govt should take appropriate actions and deport all those who are overstaying illegally.

Had watched sometime back in News Channel - a pakistani engineer who ventured out into Kerala when He was not allowed to Visit anywhere except Banglore.He was "Deported" to Banglore from Cochin. :enjoy:

That's 'coz Pakistanis are restricted choice of visiting 1 or 2 Cities in India?

They might have been deprived of their legal documents including Passports deliberatly by their good host.

Indeed nobody intentionally overstay :)

Again i would say its a huge number and Pakistan should get the details. Anything can happend

Had watched sometime back in News Channel - a pakistani engineer who ventured out into Kerala when He was not allowed to Visit anywhere except Banglore.He was "Deported" to Banglore from Cochin. :enjoy:

That's 'coz Pakistanis are restricted choice of visiting 1 or 2 Cities in India?

Yeh and the funny thing is you have to apply for visa for every city of India if you are a Pakistani.

damn they did not give me visa for Culcata/kulkata and i could not meet Sir Ray C :cry:

Yeh and the funny thing is you have to apply for visa for every city of India if you are a Pakistani.

damn they did not give me visa for Culcata/kulkata and i could not meet Sir Ray C :cry:

who is Sir Ray C?