525MW Nandipur power plant starts test run

My-Analogous

LAHORE: The government has started running the 525-megawatt Nandipur power plant on trial basis after it was finally converted to Regasified Liquefied Natural Gas (RLNG).

“The Nandipur thermal power plant has been converted to gas. And the officials concerned have launched a test run after we started providing gas to it from Thursday,” Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) Managing Director (MD) Amjad Latif told Dawn on Saturday.

“Since the plant is running on trial basis, we are providing 10 to 30MMCFD of RLNG to it according to demand. And once the plant’s commercial operation starts, its total demand will be 100MMCFD,” the MD explained.

When questioned regarding suspension of various power plants, including 412MW Rousch in Khanewal district due to shortage of gas, the SNGPL chief claimed that none of the plants was closed due to a shortage.

Advertisement

“We have sufficient gas. Some of the plants, including Rousch, are on scheduled outages. And once they demand after ending the scheduled outages, we will surely provide them gas,” he added.

He said the SNGPL had laid a new and dedicated pipeline for provision of RLNG to Nandipur plant.

Since being commissioned a few years ago, the Nandipur plan could not be run properly due to technical and procedural flaws. Though the government continued claiming the project would be a success, it attracted severe criticism from opposition parties and technical experts on various issues. Following frequent technical, procedural and administrative problems, the government finally removed its project director.

The Ministry of Water and Power was also reported to have identified three major technical and procedural problems with the project and sought action against those responsible. The selection of low-capacity furnace oil treatment plant for such a big project, flaws in the long-term outsourcing of operation and maintenance contract and awarding the contract to engineering, procurement and construction contractors on a short-term basis were the key shortcomings that led to failure of the project.

Moreover, poor quality fuel believed to have been adulterated on its way to Nandipur from Karachi had also caused initial problems.

Petroleum Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was also reported to have claimed that there would be no technical problem with the 525MW plant if it was run on natural gas. He opposed the selection of dual fuel combined cycle technology for the project on technical grounds, but was overruled when a high-level meeting was informed that banks were not ready to extend funds unless the plant had alternative fuel.

Published in Dawn, April 23rd, 2017

https://www.dawn.com/news/1328722/525mw-nandipur-power-plant-starts-test-run
@Imran Khan @MastanKhan @Horus @Khafee

From last 3 years This thing is test run ....................................... LMAO.................................. What happen to the engineering now a days?????????????
OOOOOOOOOO , My bad , I got it , Its PML-N 's Engineering..........:p::p::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
Chacha ji this nandipur is a running gag from pee pee pee times. They made their maal and noora made his maal so this is a highly profitable power plant without providing electricity

Yaar 2 Govt guzar gai , Magar ess ka abhi Test Run he poora nahi howa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Corruption and mismanagement on its peak .......................................

OOOORRRR phir London main aik new flat ka ezaffffffffffaaaaa ho gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa:p::rofl::rofl::rofl: So zara zor say bolo ,,Qatri LNG ...........................................:sarcastic::sarcastic::sarcastic::sarcastic::sarcastic::sarcastic:
inko saal ke har din santa clause mila huwa hai baki jaga santa saal mein aik dafa atta hai :partay:

If it was any other country people would have been hanged for a power plant that is not operational after 3 years

its more then 3 years ,,,,,,,,, From last 3 years this thing is on test Run ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

If all those Millions were spent on Solar panel something would have been produced
Solar Panels are not very efficient mean of producing electricity on large national scale. Quite foolish specially when you have hundreds of thousand MW potential in hydel and wind. Solar panels are expensive, labor extensive to maintain and thus running costs will be higher. Our aim should have been Hydel followed by wind followed by Coal/Oil/Gas. However the way they operated nandipur, even solar looks dirt cheap so in a way you are right.

BTW, the test run have started no for how many times already?

The gov. should be ASHAMED of this project but i can bet you people that if some day by some chance it does start operating in actual there will be lot of cheerleaders here cheering the MEGA project of this gov. Shame on them all.

The Solutions Project
upload_2017-4-24_15-46-28.png

upload_2017-4-24_15-47-8.png

Solar Panels are not very efficient mean of producing electricity on large national scale. Quite foolish specially when you have hundreds of thousand MW potential in hydel and wind. Solar panels are expensive, labor extensive to maintain and thus running costs will be higher. Our aim should have been Hydel followed by wind followed by Coal/Oil/Gas. However the way they operated nandipur, even solar looks dirt cheap so in a way you are right.

BTW, the test run have started no for how many times already?

The gov. should be ASHAMED of this project but i can bet you people that if some day by some chance it does start operating in actual there will be lot of cheerleaders here cheering the MEGA project of this gov. Shame on them all.
I would not make that sweeping statement if I were you. We need to educate ourselves about the energy mix and why there is a need for the dependence of a nation on multiple energy sources to meet its energy demands. Pakistan is an emerging economy and as the energy demand rises the challenges for meeting that demand rise exponentially. Developed countries in past have waged wars for their energy security as a man would fight for an oxygen tank in space. There is a challenge to provide electricity at low rates to the industry for them to remain competitive in the market. then there are environmental challenges that we often neglect. I have in my hands the power purchase report for the month of March 2017. I would like you to take a look at how much we have to pay to get energy from each source we tapped into in last month. It does not give the complete picture as it only depicts the balance of payments for one month and only but one can make a learned guess if he knows the setup cost.
18118580_1930415530525664_5119306938758264638_n.png

@The Accountant

I would not make that sweeping statement if I were you. We need to educate ourselves about the energy mix and why there is a need for the dependence of a nation on multiple energy sources to meet its energy demands. Pakistan is an emerging economy and as the energy demand rises the challenges for meeting that demand rise exponentially. Developed countries in past have waged wars for their energy security as a man would fight for an oxygen tank in space. There is a challenge to provide electricity at low rates to the industry for them to remain competitive in the market. then there are environmental challenges that we often neglect. I have in my hands the power purchase report for the month of March 2017. I would like you to take a look at how much we have to pay to get energy from each source we tapped into in last month. It does not give the complete picture as it only depicts the balance of payments for one month and only but one can make a learned guess if he knows the setup cost.
18118580_1930415530525664_5119306938758264638_n.png

@The Accountant
Well that is why i did mentioned number of alternate sources like Hydel, Wind, Coal, the Solar also oil and gas!

The comment i make about solar is that these are maintenance intensive. For a 1000 MW plant you need THOUSANDS of acre of land, area that you needs guarding and protection and an area that will need MULTIPLE posts and offices to maintain and control/patrol. MILLIONS of solar panels (yes, MILLIONS), which is a heavy capital investment but more importantly will have continuous running costs in terms of maintenance and operations. Thousands will be required as a cleaning crew alone if the efficiency of the panels is to be maintained. Overall, it will be an administrative challenge to manage a single site spread across some 6-7 thousand acre land (note that every square meter of this land have a panel and therefore is a functioning part of the site). All this for a plant that will give you electricity only in the day time and that too mainly in the summers. Take out the overcast days and you will note why i do not see Solar Energy as the most preferable option. There is thousands of MW potential in Hydel and Wind. While wind may not be giving output 24/7 note that 400-500 mills are required to produce similar 1000 MW energy. You can easily calculate the area they will cover and the crew it will need to operate and maintain. Hydel is a different league altogether. For an agriculture based country like ours, i think the best way to describe Hydel power plants from our perspective is that electricity will be a byproduct. Water is what we will be and need to be building them for.

The main point is, to me, solar is an individual solution. What government needs to do is to attract local manufacturing of the panels, cheaper prices, may be even subsidy so people can individually covert there homes to this clean energy source and thus take the load off the national grid. A huge role can be played by installing two way meters by WAPDA through which a consumer can also act as a producer and if there home is producing surplus energy via Solar Panels in the afternoons, that energy is sold to the national grid via these meters (that is how it is in MANY countries and it will give a huge intensive to general public to shift to solar). While i write these long posts against Solar power plants, it will be worthy to mention that i have 16 panels installed at my home and my whole house including air conditioners are on Solar now. :) That is what more and more people need to do and it will go a LONG way in solving our energy problems as well as producing enough clean energy for individual use. A national level, other options from a long list need to be considered.