25 worst passwords of 2014: Is yours on the leak list?

May Be NoT :P

I used to h@ck passwords for fun when I was in my college :p:

:lol:- Yah, I did the same thing... and professionally too. Seriously though, these passwords just suck. Who the hell is lazy enough or stupid enough to use one of these (Well, actually I am, or was, but not any more... maybe:partay:). Even if you don't think you'll be a target, you most probably are. And for businesses, governments or public institutions... STOP USING THESE TYPES OF PASSWORDS!!!!!!!

url.jpg

A good password is an important first line of defense, though I would never suggest it's enough to stop a dedicated specialist, or even an ankle-biter looking for some fun.

Most of this is good advice, though using special characters such as ",?!@%# - or any other variation actually makes your password easier to break.

By now, you probably think you know the drill when it comes to passwords: Avoid pet's names, mix up letters, change your password regularly, blah blah blah. We might think we're being clever, but according to State of the Net, the tricks we're using to make our passwords strong these days can actually make us more susceptible to hacks.

State of the Net points out what is pretty much common knowledge these days: Hackers use software to crack your passwords, and the longer the password, the harder it is for them to crack. But a long password does not a secure password make. Turns out there are common patterns that people use that end up making passwords more obvious. Per State of the Net, here are three of them:

• One upper case, then 5 lower case, then 2 digits (Example: Dulith57)
  • One upper case, then 6 lower case, then 2 digits (Example: Abugmar64)
  • One upper case, then 3 lower case, then 4 digits (Example: Itio1981)
It doesn't stop there. If you're doing any of the following, you may want to rethink how you're picking your passwords:

• Starting with an upper case letter followed by lower case letters
  • When a password isn't long enough, adding a letter or two to the base word
  • Putting digits, especially two or four of them, before or after the letters
  • When a special character is required, using "!" and putting it at the end
  • Not using two special characters in the same password
So, what are you left to do? First of all, State of the Net suggests avoiding relying on password checkers , because they're often just flat wrong on the strength of your passwords. Avoid beginning a password with a capitalized letter, creating an acronym and using the first word of each sentence as your password, avoid natural words and phrases, don't repeat the same special characters, and don't put numbers next each other. We'd also add to the advice and suggest using a password manager, and in some cases, just rolling with a crappy password .
Even if you do follow all these instructions, the fact of the matter is, you're not entirely safe from hackers. But at least you'll be a little bit more elusive.

The Common Mistakes That Make Your "Strong" Passwords Weak

Want to develop tough-to-crack passwords that resist infiltration? Follow these 10 rules:

1. Avoid using dictionary words. These passwords are easy for hackers to figure out using an electronic dictionary.
  2. Don’t use personal information. Any part of your name, birthday, Social Security number, or similar information for your loved ones is a bad password choice.
  3. Avoid common sequences, such as numbers or letters in sequential order or repetitive numbers or letters.
  4. If the web site supports it, try to use special characters, such as $, #, and &. Most passwords are case sensitive, so use a mixture of upper case and lower case letters, as well as numbers.
  5. Passwords become harder to crack with each character that you add, solonger passwords are better than shorter ones. A brute-force attack can easily defeat a password with seven or fewer characters.
  6. To help you easily remember your password, consider using the first letter from each word in a sentence, a phrase, a poem, or a song title as a password. Be sure to add in numbers and/or special characters.
  7. Create different passwords for different accounts and applications. That way, if one password is breached, your other accounts won’t be put at risk too. Do not use the same or variations of the same password for different applications.
  8. Despite admonitions to the contrary, one easy way to remember your passwords is to write them down and keep them in a securely locked place. Never leave them on a Post-It note on your monitor, in an address book, in a desk drawer, or under your keyboard or mouse pad (or any other obvious place).
  9. Consider using a secure password manager.
  10. If you have already established a password that is not strong, change it! Web sites have a variety of procedures that govern how you can change your password. Look for a link (such as "my account") somewhere on the site's homepage that goes to an area of the site that allows password and account management.
Frankly, none of these will stop someone from just bypassing your password altogether, though it will keep nosy friends and family out of your devices.

Why are you posting all of my password? Shit, Now I have to change my all passwords. Well.. leave it!

Woh bhi kya din thay, jab hum jin thay
Ub hum dio hain, jino kay bhi pio hain
didn't understand correctly but that pio line is good. :P

Kiska naam le liya madam ji :p: :hitwall::hitwall:
kyu aap boys logo ko to bohot pasand hai ye :o:
market me jaha se bhi niklo iske hi songs bajte hain. :P

My Password is very secure... you can never find out... SMDYMC
doesn't matter how good an secure your pass is, if the site in which your pass is saved, is vulnerable, then your pass can be h@cked. :P

Of course it can be...

FYI.... if it's going to be a Chinese Hacker then he's going to be so pissed at me.

My Password is very secure... you can never find out... SMDYMC

@Blue_Eyes is right. A cached password is a weak password, no matter how strong the actual password is. You can have an unbreakable password, but if the site caching it has weak security, I can just hack their weak protocols and steal your password without having to break it. This is why cyber security is so difficult. It depends not just on the user to beef up their security, but it also depends on those they are communicating with and only a single weak link is all that is needed to break the entire chain.

Your PDF password might be strong, but if they cache it I can guarantee you that I can and will find it with little to no effort, though I wont do so.

where is so called simple but secured password...........Jan@2014, Feb@2014 etc... :-)

No. 22 in top 25 ....... looks like lot of adventurous people there.

My password of important things is same since i first made, hack it if you can.... For hint it's serial number of AT5170 i had in good old days.

Chalo.....someone is with me on that :enjoy:

And someone please teach me hacking lol :sarcastic:

Teach yourself, it's easy. No one can teach you what you can't learn on your own with a bit of ambition. Even if this wasn't a serious request or inquiry, here you go, I'll help you get started. If you aren't interested, perhaps I've helped someone else then.

6 Best Hacking Books You Must Read to be a Hacker | FromDev

Hacking for Beginners

Learn How To Be A Hacker For $49

You Can Learn How to Be a White Hat Hacker for $60

Amazon.com: Java - Languages & Tools: Books: Beginner's Guides, Reference, Servlets & More

The Java Programming Language, 4th Edition: Ken Arnold, James Gosling, David Holmes: 9780321349804: Amazon.com: Books

or hire one

This New Website Lets You Hire a Hacker in Minutes

Hacking isn't too hard, at least not the basic, ankle-biter, script kiddie stuff. Just need a basic understanding of computer protocols and programming, Java is one of the more useful for hacking though. It's really not too tough, I learned hacking in high school will taking computer language courses (C+ and Java, later I learned C#, Python and Ruby).

You just need time, patience, ambition and some basic math and logic skills (to construct if/else statements and the like... it helps make the code run, though logical construction also makes it easier to read for people that didn't write the code).

If you get good enough, perhaps you can join the IN and do this:

Principles of EMSEC - Side Channel Analysis: How we side-step encryption

This was my job in the USN as an EMSEC Technician - a specialization under the COMSEC/Electronic Warfare umbrella.

Use Chinese tongue twisters as passwords

A: what is your password

B: after a few seconds "cptbtptp bcptdtptp"

A: how do you remember such a weird password

B: very easy, 吃葡萄不吐葡萄皮,不吃葡萄倒吐葡萄皮 chī pútáo bù tǔ pútáo pí, bù chī pútáo dào tǔ pútáo pí