12 Indian fishermen from Kerala arrested in Diego Garcia

Hindustani78

12 Indian fishermen from Kerala arrested in Diego Garcia | Zee News
Last Updated: Thursday, April 23, 2015 - 14:11

Kanyakumari (TN): Twelve fishermen from the district have been arrested by the British Coast Guard in Diego Garcia on charges of poaching in their waters, according to a report received here today.

They were arrested a few days back while fishing in the deep sea, Tamil Nadu Fishermen Development Trust President B Justin Antony said.

The Fisheries Department officials also confirmed the arrests.

The Coast Guard personnel had also seized their GPS equipment and fishing nets, Anthony said.

The arrested fishermen were Shibu, Christurajan, Sudan, Aruleesan, Ratheesh, Ubald, Winro, Melmidalam, Mariadasan, Philas, Prasad, Nishanth. They had left in a fishing trawler from Kochi on April 10.

PTI

restricted area......every fish even that gets near there is monitored

Yes, i remebered that incident which has occured some months back.

Seems we need more coast guard boats
Yes we do and we need more monitoring stations on our islands around us. Not only coast guard boats but every fishing boat of ours should be equipped with GPS Tracking system.We have lost too many of our countrymen due to this reason fishing or crossed into Other nations territory!

BUT besides that Diego Garcia is not a British Island. That falls in Indian Ocean territory if anyone can have the claim its Mauritius.,Seychelles,Maldives.Sri Lanka,India.
How come it is a British Controlled Island? I thought we are done with Colonial times!

Yes we do and we need more monitoring stations on our islands around us. Not only coast guard boats but every fishing boat of ours should be equipped with GPS Tracking system.We have lost too many of our countrymen due to this reason fishing or crossed into Other nations territory!

BUT besides that Diego Garcia is not a British Island. That falls in Indian Ocean territory if anyone can have the claim its Mauritius.,Seychelles,Maldives.Sri Lanka,India.
How come it is a British Controlled Island? I thought we are done with Colonial times!
It's still under British Control although sovereignty is contested by Mauritius.

India never gave a Military base to any country,While Pakistan did to USA and right now China.
You should worry about your leaders selling your land for the highest bidder.

the land isnt sold, it's called having a partnership......if you were at peace with your neighbours you'd understand what it means properly

Whatever the case USA or other country always had a Permanent base in your nation.Right now you are selling it China,or technically speaking "PARTNERSHIP" as you call it now.Peace or no peace we don't Make other nations armies maintain Military bases inside our country,The concept of Sovereignty is lost in Pakistan.When Drones are used 24/7 by USA to kill your own citizens inside Pakistan,then i doubt you can hardly protest.

https://sputniknews.com/military/201705311054144132-usa-upgrade-refuelling/

WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — A UK-Guam construction joint venture won almost $27 million to expand US refueling capabilities for ships at the United Kingdom- sovereignty Diego Garcia base in the Indian Ocean, the Department of Defense said in a press release.

"Black Construction/MACE International JV, Harmon, Guam, is being awarded a $26,978,100… for improvement of wharf refueling capability at the U.S. Naval Support Facility, Diego Garcia," the release said Tuesday.

The work will involve the construction of new pipelines from the main pump house to the Deep Draft Wharf, the construction of new fuel pits and providing new pumps to receive and issue fuel to the Deep Draft Wharf, the Defense Department explained.

Work on the contract will be performed at Diego Garcia in the British Indian Ocean Territory and is expected to be completed by June 2019, the announcement added.

Again the same language :disagree:

No it's not over. The Raj continues to exist, outsourced to new local elites.

You sound like Katrine.

595422.jpg

Katrine - Hum Gore log tum par aaj bhi rule karte hain
Salman - Yes Babe
Hindustani - Kya aaj bhi hindustaniyon ka paan yaad nahi hain ? Ram Pyari aur Baba .

maxresdefault.jpg

6111d1182223843-to-paan-or-not-to-paan-the-paan-thread-paan-.jpg