Your performance in Urdu's Exam

SBD-3

Hay guys though we fluently speak, understand and sometimes write in Urdu.....How difficult it is to get good marks in Urdu?.....I always had a terrible performance in Urdu....60%.....thats was always the end line for me :D.....got 60 in 9th....60 in 10th as well....but when i got 68 in 1st Year, I was glad that i broke my historicall record :p but guess what? I got 52 in 2nd year and again balanced on to 120 (60%):lol::lol::lol:...no matter how hard you study, what reference guide you use, It was always sheer luck to get a good score in Urdu....what do you guys say

I too hovered around the 50% line when I was around your age! However, before joining the Pakistani school system, I took an Urdu exam under a foreign system and got close to a 100%. So I guess the issue is with how 'arts' subjects are seen in Pakistan.

I've heard of a case at the U of Peshawar where one student was given 100% marks in their Urdu exam by an Uzbekistani or Afghanistani professor, but the university administration got in the way saying you cannot earn more than 80% in an exam where the perception of the quality of an answer is a subjective matter.

Of course the lore has it that answer booklets are weighed rather than read...!

So true, but i dont think there's anything wrong with students, it those Urdu teachers who have these weird philosophies and more weirder accents. And above all there are no policies regarding the allocation of marks, teachers or examiners don't care about what is right or wrong they are more concerned about if the content comport with their concepts or not........... especially in Urdu you gotta write those "Ashars" a lot to impress your teachers or examiners, which you ask me is really stupid, always hated poetry especially Iqbal's "Rubayat" in farsi(damn do we even speak farsi....) & Ghalibs "ghazals" in FSC. Damn i hate studying Urdu, no matter how hard you try you can never secure good marks on your own unless you study from some special notes but that doesn't depict anything about students own creativity.

Hay guys though we fluently speak, understand and sometimes write in Urdu.....How difficult it is to get good marks in Urdu?.....I always had a terrible performance in Urdu....60%.....thats was always the end line for me :D.....got 60 in 9th....60 in 10th as well....but when i got 68 in 1st Year, I was glad that i broke my historicall record :p but guess what? I got 52 in 2nd year and again balanced on to 120 (60%):lol::lol::lol:...no matter how hard you study, what reference guide you use, It was always sheer luck to get a good score in Urdu....what do you guys say

kia yad dila dia yar . hahaha seriouly man the mother tounge was most dificult whn in exams the funniest ever was this newly imigrated guy from india in our clas he was forced to read out one of ghalibs letters .... if i am not wrong it was in grade 8th or some thing... there was a line written by ghalib """" huqa pi raha hoon tati lagi hoi hai "" tati was a cooling grass they used to put in windows in old times whereas this guy was thinking its **** we laughing our headoff as this guy was a bit hesitant to read the word loudly ,,, in terms of score it was the most dificult subjects infact the v good ones from clas to intermediate use to score B the highest

got 99% in my GCSE's exam and there was no mistake teacher just deducted 1% for no reason :cry:

After that never studied Urdu

PS: Urdu in GCSE is like secondry class urdu in Pakistan...not so advanced actually

Teacher had recommended me to complete in A Levels in Urdu in GCSE class but when the came...i left school :cry:

9th class me karachi board me urdu nhi he magr 10th class me 68/75 or ab
1st yr ka result ane wala he tou meri request he ke tamam behan bhai meri ache result k liye dua karen !!:undecided:

Arre bahi humein to shussta urdu nahi atti.Par phir bhe mehnatt sae itne marks aa jatte thae ke dil ke tassalli o tasshffi ho jate thae.

or Prof.khursheed Ahmed merre pasandeda ustad thae.

unn ke aik tasweer mulahiza furmaye.

khurshed.jpg

Link:F.G.Sir Syed College, Rawalpindi-DEPARTMENT OF URDU

i have always been good in urdu i remember 9th class result where i score 72/75 in grammar its math that has always ruined my result card

I learned some arabic writing (only for headings) and right technique from my friend and got good percentage.

i got good marks in 2nd year only coz of the tution of 2 months .....4 me thats harder then english

agreed

my record is 65 % in urdu and 70 % in english. :D

and my urdu teacher shown in the above post use to say that science student must know how to express themselves, but those long Nazams and gazals and thier tashreeh what they have to do with science students

English and urdu carry 400 out of 1100 marks in F sc. and admissions in universities are based on these marks. So if you want to become a good engineer or a doctor or you want to excel in any science field you must be very good in arts. lolz :rolleyes:

Arre bahi humein to shussta urdu nahi atti.Par phir bhe mehnatt sae itne marks aa jatte thae ke dil ke tassalli o tasshffi ho jate thae.

or Prof.khursheed Ahmed merre pasandeda ustad thae.

unn ke aik tasweer mulahiza furmaye.

khurshed.jpg

Link:F.G.Sir Syed College, Rawalpindi-DEPARTMENT OF URDU
i also did my FSC from F.G Sir Syed College, but i studied Urdu from Mr Sana Ullah, don't know if he's still there.