‘You have thousands of sons like me’

Break the Silence

‘You have thousands of sons like me’

New Delhi: You are a great mother as you have devoted your son to the country. Never ever feel I am away because a spirited mother like you has thousands of sons like me in this land,” were the last words that Assistant Commandant Jatin Gulati’s mother remembers him uttering. The memory takes on a tragic poignancy in the wake of his death in the Maoist ambush against CRPF men in Chhattisgarh’s Narayanpur district.

Family members of Asstt Commandent of CRPF Jatin Gulati (inset), killed in the Narayanpur district Naxal Attack, wail at his funeral in Dehradun on Thursday. Photo

Uma Gulati remembers Jatin's unshakable commitment in wanting to join the force and serve as an officer right from his student days in Dehradun.

"Whenever I asked what he wanted to do in life, his answer was consistent. 'I will become an officer in the Armed Forces and will make you and Papa proud of me one day'. We used to wonder where his pledge will take him but today, we are one of the proudest parents in this country despite losing our only son," she told The Indian Express over the phone from Dehradun.
Jatin (27) spoke to her mother two days before the tragedy struck. He had just completed his 42-day training from Silchar in Assam and was asked to report to the CRPF camp in Chhattisgarh. "He called me after reaching Narayanpur. Jatin sounded great and was happy to join his force combating civil terrorism. What we could not have realised that those were his last words," Uma Gulati said.

Jatin's family got to know about his death through media reports and the CRPF officials informed them of the tragic news a while later. Wrapped in Tricolour, his body arrived at his home in Karnpura in Dehradun on Thursday.

People take part in the funeral procession of Assistant Commandant of CRPF Jatin Gulati, killed in the Chhattisgarh's Narayanpur district Naxal Attack, in Dehradun.

"My son was a fearless soldier. His courage and tenacity made him choose this vocation and he proved it in the real battlefield as well. The officers told us he fought bravely and gave a fitting counter to the attackers before succumbing to his injuries," Uma Gulati said.

"Gulati Major" is how Jatin's colleagues and friends remember him. "He was called Gulati Major because whoever became a commander in our training sessions made him the sub-commander (designated as a Major) because of his tactical acumen and sharp attack and defence techniques. His judgments were infallible and everyone wanted to learn it from him," another assistant commandant who trained with him told the Express.

"He will always be remembered as an officer who in his own peculiar ways encouraged others. Now when he is no more, he is going to give us all the more reasons to live by his example," a batchmate said.

Next: Husband couldn't live to make the promised phone call'

CRPF personnel carry coffins of their slain colleagues, killed in the Narayanpur district Naxal attack, after their bodies were brought to Patna on Thursday.

How can it happen? He had promised to call'

Jammu: "Where is my husband?" a bewildered Shalu (23) asked the senior CRPF officials who had come to her house. She is dumb struck, not ready to believe that her husband Tilak Raj (27), who was among the 27 CRPF personnel gunned down by Naxals in an ambush in Chhattisgarh on Tuesday, is no more. He had talked to her on the phone only a day earlier assuring her that he was fine and that there was no cause for concern.

Tilak Raj and Shalu got married in December 2008, nearly four years after his recruitment to CRPF's 39 battalion.

"How can it happen? He had promised to call up again next day," she murmurs. Raj's parents -- Manohar Lal and Mohini Devi -- were inconsolable. He was the first from this family of priests to have joined the Para Military Forces. While Manohar Lal is a pujari at a local Shiva temple in the town, his youngest son Pawan Kumar works with a private company.

CRPF personnel carry coffins of their slain colleagues, killed in the Narayanpur district Naxal attack, after their bodies were brought to Patna on Thursday. Photo Courtesy: PTI

Ever since Raj left for Chhattisgarh after spending 15 days of leave at home a week ago, he had been calling home every evening, his uncle Satpal said. That day also his family members was waiting for his call when they saw a ticker on a TV channel about a Naxal attack on a CRPF party in Chhattisgarh. They tried his number but could not get through. At around 3 am, the family received a call, informing them that Tilak had been injured in the attack.

Talking about his recent stay at home, his uncle Raj Kumar recalled how he was a jovial person who felt great concern for the poor in view of his own humble background. He also appeared to be aware of the dangers inherent in his job but at the same time asked his family not to get worried, recalled a neighbour.

A pall of gloom descended on this sleepy Billawar town, with people assembling outside Tilak Raj's house to have a last glimpse of him when he was cremated here this evening with full state honours in presence of senior civil, police and para military officials. As people bid a tearful adieu to him, someone in the crowd recalled his conviction in joining the forces to serve the nation and its people.

Source: Indian Express

AFTER READING THIS SAD NEWS, ONLY ONE LINE CAME TO MY MIND," SHAHEEDON KI CHITAON PAR LAGENGE HAR BARAS MELE, VATAN PAR MAR-MITNE WALO KA YAHIN BAKI NISHAN HOGA."
JAI HIND.

Its really very sad and heart breaking!!! I can not explain how i am feeling after reading this article.. May their brave souls will rest in peace and god give patience to their families.
Salute to martyrs.

Their sacrifices will not go in vain. India will overcome this too, just everything else in its past. We are resilient, we have purpose, we are working hard. We will be on top!

These maoists are digging their own grave. One day we will run out of patience and the government will run out of excuses. I pray that day never comes.

The day politicians will come out of their cheap politics our forces will make Maoist history forever.

Jai Hind

RIP to the deads.

Yes we have 1000s of them. It would be best for politicos and maoists not to test for it.

REALLY, THIS ALL IS HAPPENING DUE TO THESE BAS****D POLITICIANS ONLY.. HOPE THAT JUDGEMENT DAY WILL SOON COME, OTHERWISE.. MOTHERS WILL CONTINUE TO LOSE THEIR BRAVE SONS!!:frown:

If this sad misfortunes will continue to take place, then tell me, who wants to be a soldier, I have also heard that the Crpf personnels do not even get proper food and drinking water..Its so sad..
"WAISE BHI UNKO KYA FARK PADTA HAI, JO SIRF AC ROOMS MEIN BAITHKAR DESH CHALATE HAI, BHAI, PITAH, BETA TOH HUM LOG KHOTE HAI"

What the ****:cry::cry:

Hats off to china for handling maoists in nepal and India:angry: