WSJ: India's frugal mission to Mars

Oh the butthurt. Get well soon morons! Anyway ISRO rocks and butthurt sucks!

@jamahir
edit:- kuch jyada bol gaya shayad,,inappropriate ,, delete kar deta hu.
....aap jao aur jamahirya felao,that suits u,,logo ko padh ke bhi maza aata hae:p:,,,sath me wo software coolie,dogs,yeh woh Sara masala ,,,wah

the soviets landed the venera on hot hot venus of all places... and when was that?? and why does every indian member on pdf so easily insult elon musk??

by the way, please do kill that dog, mujhaidind... he is an embarassment to muslims... or is he really a muslim??

the baby steps of soviet union included launch of colonel yuri gagarin to space in 1961... leave aside launch of quite a few space stations...

janaab, yeh event itnaa bhi great nahi hai ki itni khusi dikhaayi jaaye...
And they launched the sputnik before that, and a dog named laika before gagarin. Do you want a child studying in class 2 to suddenly start answering questions meant for class 6th?

@jamahir
edit:- kuch jyada bol gaya shayad,,inappropriate ,, delete kar deta hu.
....aap jao aur jamahirya felao,that suits u,,logo ko padh ke bhi maza aata hae:p:,,,sath me wo software coolie,dogs,yeh woh Sara masala ,,,wah

i thanked you because i think you are being sincere... i don't know if i am wrong :)

but truly, this forum is beginning to tire me... all fights... total emotional drain... i should go off forum for some time, i think.

all india has done is send a bloody cell phone camera to orbit around mars, with some processing done to supposedly look for methane gas in mars atmosphere which indian "scientists" believe points to presence of life on mars ( just because they have heard western scientists say that ) ... so nothing on genius scale... :coffee:

on the other hand, nasa landed a 900 kilogram rover ( curiosity ) on mars in aug 2012, and which mission has many innovations including the "sky crane" system to land the rover.

not to forget spacex company ( and elon musk ) which displayed the dragon v2 space capsule just two months ago, and which will begin to carry seven people to international space station by beginning of 2017... the only private organization to do so... and on much much more lower cost ( frugal ) than india can ever hope to achieve.

but congrats to india on yet another non-achievement :partay:

Twinkle twinkle little star...
The world envies we are on
Mars...
Up above the world so high...
We have made it in a SINGLE
try....
Jai ho...<(")

i thanked you because i think you are being sincere... i don't know if i am wrong :)

but truly, this forum is beginning to tire me... all fights... total emotional drain... i should go off forum for some time, i think.
i am sincere,,,deleted that part because d analogy i used was too crude(n a bit distasteful)

$ 75 million is small, does it mean that some of the equipment and experimental cuts canceled? Is it just symbolic?

We don't need space programmes atm. Instead GOI should spent this money on development of Muslim minority whose condition is worse than dalits de to discrimination.

What is the Ummah doing about its poor 'worse than Dalits' brothers?? :azn:
Singing the usual "ummah chummah dey dey zara" song is'nt working any more? Or is it only paying for RDX and those "button-wala designer jackets".

I think even condoms developed to make safer masturbation in space! :unsure:

Nope. Condom were invented in Middle Ages and were made of sheep and pig intestines among many other exotic materials.

What is the Ummah doing about its poor 'worse than Dalits' brothers?? :azn:
Singing the usual "ummah chummah dey dey zara" song is'nt working any more? Or is it only paying for RDX and those "button-wala designer jackets".

Nope. Condom were invented in Middle Ages and were made of sheep and pig intestines among many other exotic materials.

I was joking genius!

View attachment 80168

India put a satellite into Mars orbit early Wednesday, the only nation to have done so on a maiden voyage and the first in Asia to reach the red planet.

As the country’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi looked on, space scientists at mission control in Bangalore, India’s tech capital, announced that the Mangalyaan orbiter had entered Mars orbit after a 10-month voyage from Earth.

Mangalyaan, Hindi for Mars craft, cost $74 million to send into space, making it by far the cheapest of recent missions to Mars. The U.S. spent $671 million getting its Maven satellite to Mars orbit, where it arrived late Sunday.

Mr. Modi boasted in June that India had spent less than Hollywood had on producing the film “Gravity” to reach the red planet. On Wednesday, Mr. Modi, wearing a bright red jacket, hugged Mr. Radhakrishnan before addressing ISRO scientists in Hindi and English. “History has been created today, we have dared to reach out into the unknown and have achieved the near impossible,” Mr. Modi said. ”I congratulate all ISRO scientists as well as all my fellow Indians on this historic occasion.”

“We have gone beyond the boundaries of human enterprise and imagination. We have navigated our spacecraft through a route known to very few,” the prime minister added.

India now joins a small club of nations — the U.S., Russia and those in the European Space Agency – to have mastered interplanetary travel, giving it bragging rights over Asian rivals China and Japan whose attempts to get to Mars failed.

“Domestically this will boost the morale of the people that India has gained tremendous economic and technical development and is on the way pretty fast to becoming a developed country,” said Ram Jakhu, a professor at the Institute of Air and Space Law at McGill University in Canada. “Externally, India will have its head held high to say that it is capable of such a complex task.”

View attachment 80169
A father and son looked at a scale model of India’s Mars Orbiter spacecraft at the Nehru Planetarium as a special preview on the Mars Orbiter Mission, in Bangalore on September 23, 2014.

The mission, which took just four years from feasibility study to arrival at Mars orbit, will now study the surface of the planet to establish the presense of methane, among other tasks using the five instruments in its 15-kilogram payload.

The primary aim of the mission was to see if India had the technological capability to get to Mars. Now that it’s done so, the next step will be to complete a moon landing before possibly attempting manned missions, Mr. Radhakrishnan of ISRO told India’s NDTV on Tuesday.

Critics of the mission have questioned whether India, where 40% of children are malnourished, should have a space program at all. But advocates argue that development in space in turn drives innovation on Earth.

“India’s space program has a socio-economic basis for purposes like remote sensing and medical advancement. From that perspective, none of the money has gone in an extravagant way where it isn’t used for the benefit of the common man,” said Ajey Lele, author of “Mission Mars: India’s Quest for the Red Planet.”

To hold costs down, India relied on technologies it has used before and saved on fuel by using a smaller rocket to put its spacecraft into Earth orbit first to gain enough momentum to slingshot it toward Mars. India spends $1.2 billion a year on its space program: a dollar for every member of its population. On Wednesday, for many Indians cheering their country’s achievement, that looked like a bargain.

India Satellite Reaches Mars Orbit at First Attempt - India Real Time - WSJ

Congrats to our Indian neighbors on this great achievement! By the way, disregard any Western naysayers that will question why India is doing this, and "wouldn't the money be better spent elsewhere?" type questions. The West would love it if Asia was perpetually behind technologically and nothing scares them more than a rising Asia that has the potential to end their centuries of economic and technological monopoly. As a Chinese person, I say once again, Kudos! :cheers:

all india has done is send a bloody cell phone camera to orbit around mars, with some processing done to supposedly look for methane gas in mars atmosphere which indian "scientists" believe points to presence of life on mars ( just because they have heard western scientists say that ) ... so nothing on genius scale... :coffee:

So simple, right? eh..

The fact that India was able to maintain communications the whole time is an accomplishment by itself, given the extreme distances. Don't let naysayers get you down. Some people think that space is exclusively for white people. Those people are in for rude surprises in the 21st century.

Mangalyaan, Hindi for Mars craft, cost $74 million to send into space, making it by far the cheapest of recent missions to Mars. The U.S. spent $671 million getting its Maven satellite to Mars orbit, where it arrived late Sunday.

That is called BANG FOR THE BUCK

& it reminds of an old ad
images.jpg