Why no full time Defense Minister?

Defence Minister ko paise denay hotey hain ... Indians have trouble giving money to.

Please ignore the trolls and continue the discussion.......

Ideally Arun Shourie finance,Arun Jaitley defense.

Seems difficult though.

How about Modi Himself holding the Defense portfolio

I prefer the current arrangement, where Mr Jaitley is actively working for administrative and budgetary reforms of MoD and direct under sight from Modi ji....
It is still better than slew of usless Raksha Mantri's of the past.

Also remember Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi and PVN Rao, held defence portfolio's along with the PM's position

For days we had incursions from the Chinese, for weeks or even months tensions are raising at Pak borders, the embassy attack in Afghanistan..., but no official response from the PM or the part time DM! .

Perhaps there is an alternative narrative as to why the portfolio is being kept close to the heart. Could be a wish to ensure first say and avoid micro-managing a person in what are essentially very sensitive issues. In addition the weight of the PM might have greater impact in pushing(both beyond the CAG and other bodies) defence procurement and modernization projects there were otherwise left stagnating under the bureaucracy within the last government.?

So perhaps the answer lies in taking the opposing view as to why this was not done rather than why not?

How about Modi Himself holding the Defense portfolio

Anyway last say on defence will be only his even in current set up, so why make him just sign few more files and jostle between Raisina Hills and PMO ??

Whom do you guys think would be ideal DM ?? I will back someone who understands defence very well and have been thick and thin of it so, my choice would be either VK Singh or Subramanian Swamy.
Subramaniam Swamy? :o: I'd rather prefer Smriti Irani!! :lol:

Meenakshi Lekhi- Defence Minister (Good at screaming)

Shaina NC- Finance Minister (Sophisticated, Media friendly, Good at networking)

Arun Jaitley- Deputy PM (honorary)

Perhaps there is an alternative narrative as to why the portfolio is being kept close to the heart. Could be a wish to ensure first say and avoid micro-managing a person in what are essentially very sensitive issues. In addition the weight of the PM might have greater impact in pushing(both beyond the CAG and other bodies) defence procurement and modernization projects there were otherwise left stagnating under the bureaucracy within the last government.?

So perhaps the answer lies in taking the opposing view as to why this was not done rather than why not?

CAG has nothing to be afraid of PMO, it's independent body and can blow holes in defence acquisitions if they don't make financial sense.

On paper. But there is a certain weight that goes with Narindra Modi and his popularity that will draw LESS scrutiny or rather less alarms compared to say the previous government.

Subramaniam Swamy? :o: I'd rather prefer Smriti Irani!! :lol:

Subramaniam Swamy is the man due to whom 2G and coal scam were uncovered , which ultimately brought down the Congress. Even serving CM Jaylalitha is today behind bars due to his initiatives. He is real anti-corruption Mr. Clean of Indian Politics by action unlike Crazywall.

If saint Antony's clean image can make him DM then why not Subramaniam Swamy ??And SS has good personal rapo with China and US too.

On paper. But there is a certain weight that goes with Narindra Modi and his popularity that will draw LESS scrutiny or rather less alarms compared to say the previous government.

No buddy, CAG is constitutional body just like our Courts. Executive can't cross it's path either on paper or in spirit and one more thing incumbent CAG head had been appointed by UPA -2.So there is no room for error.

A country like India which has such a large military does not have a full time defense minister...... The current Minister has to handle 2 big portfolios of Defense and Finance along with Corporate affairs. Dont you think we should have a dedicated Defense minister???? Recent Loc tensions increases the need of one.....

What you think??

@sancho @sandy_3126 @AUSTERLITZ @scorpionx @Abingdonboy @SarthakGanguly @kurup @AMCA @levina @seiko and others

We certainly require a dedicated Minister for Defence. Mr. Jaitley is of course a man of courage and will power but unfortunately we have not seen the best out from him yet, cant blame him. Finance and Defense are the two most powerful combinations and I must say that the present govt has not disappointed keeping in mind the limited knowledge and handful of delays the govt had to go through when resumed office.

Lets give him some time. We people have serious patience. Lets at least for this time spend it on something we have hopes on.

I think the current arrangement is absolutely fine. Jaitley and PM are more than enough to handle MoD. What we actually need is a White house styled Press Secretary of PMO... That is more pertinent.

I also believe current arrangement is working good ,Modi gets free hand to implement his policy, but we need more cordination between armed forces and government , maybe CDS or some other post needs to be created.

Thats not exactly true. In 2009 Manmohan Singh was at the top of his popularity having won a second term. And he was very popular (as hard as it may seem now). That didn't stop the CVC to initiate proceedings into the 2G scam the same year. In 2011 CAG came out the report and that magic figure of ~ 1.72 Lakh Crore.

In short, it may seems unbelievable, but the institutions in India (responsible for checks on govt.) are much more strong then what they may seem from outside. Its no different for Mr. Modi.