Why Jamaat-e-Islami should get the next mayor of Karachi

W.11

Previously, i was skeptical that Local government elections were being delayed, but now it clear that the parties are gearing up for the elections which probably means that they will now be held.

Jamaat was the party which got the votes in the city before MQM was established. When first local elections were held in Karachi by Zia in 1979, it was Jamaat which brought its mayor who fought for the rights of the city. Karachi's mayor from Jamaat-e-Islami Abdul Sattar afghani was dismissed and arrested when he protested for the motor vehicle tax of the city. Even after losing support after creation of MQM, the party never stopped advocating for the rights of the city. MQM took most of the organizational skills from Jamaat-e-Islami and Jamaat remains organised to this day. Even though both jamaat and MQM had their respective mayors, jamaat's mayors remained relatively spotless and even though MQM which originally advocated middle class, became an elite class party, Jamaat stuck to its roots.

Jamaat e Islami has the organisation and skill set to lead the voice of the city, and their past ha not been marred by corruption unlike others.

PTI doesnt have the local base in the city and its performance and advocacy for the city of karachi in the past years have exposed how badly PTI has used its Karachi voter trust and played with it. Just recently i exposed PTI was not in favour of a strong local government and hence rolling back their original support for musharraf's CDGK and demanding implementation of PPP backed Zia ul haq's system. In two years PTI has only amassed financial wealth from the city by advocating DHA property development on islands which was nature reserve and very near mangroves and can potentially destroy its eco system. PTI's zaidi would couldn't win in last local elections has become ports and shipping minister and is leading this land mafia development. PTI has been backed by K-Electric which has defrauded the city and its blackouts/loadshedding. In two years PTI didn't nothing for the city despite being in the federal government and getting majority seats from karachi.

I still remember that it was Jamaat-e-Islami under Naimatullah Khan that the face of the city which presented as a land fill changed it for the better, some projects such as green bus were innovative.

Karachi people have these following options

1. PPP: PPP has very low probability of winning karachi, only way they can win mayorship is by population surge of rural sindh in karachi and illegal and criminal delimiations which favours PPP, since PPP cant win they delimit in such a way that establishes a parallel authority in karachi by overriding mayor and projecting direct provincial authority in the DMC it wins hence creating same nuissance it has been doing as sindh government.

2. PTI: PTI is softcopy of PMLN with a lesser punjab centric agenda but still it has proven to have done a PMLN based politics which doesnt count Karachi vote as important voter base despite playing a cruicial role in the formation of PTI's government in the centre (PTI direct seats from Karachi and MQM's support and coalition with PTI). PTI has rejected the call for karachi province, it never consulted Karachi local government in its Karachi transformation scheme of 1.1 trillion rupees (a lollipop), rather, it consuted PPP and put PPP's stake in KTP scheme. This shows that PTI is not a friend of Karachi and its voters. PTI would most probably get trampled on in future general elections, if citizens of Karachi really come to their senses.

3. MQM: MQM like PTI is a establishment sponsored party. The PIB or Bahadurabad tola miserably failed in their mayorship to do something for the city and their previous tensure was marred by corruption, but still favour this party over others as MQM still has some base in Karachi.

If Karachi gets a divided mandate, god forbidden, then we are look at a very gloomy picture for the city which is already an orphan since parties like establishment and its proxy PTI, PPP and co are trying their level best to destroy this city. Establishment by clipping MQM and its local government and PTI by furthering its agenda and putting PPP into the mix.

Karachi people should vote for their mayor more enthusiastically than they have voted for an establishment's pawn in the last elections, it is not general elections which makes karachi leadership but the local elections, choosing right parties for the city will determine its future.

regards

For local government jamat or pti. No mqm because military will not allow them to work. Why pti because they might get the budget from centre. Ppp no way because they have a deal with military. Pmln cant win. Jamat can do wonders but if they will not allow to work then blame goes to pti ppp and establishment and karachiites will know thats its state decision to destroy the city.

Do not agree at all. Jamat e islami will be sympathetic to TTP and others as it was in KP during mush's rule. As part of MMA, one can see what happened to Baluchistan and KP.

Karachi needs a military administration.

how is PTI an 'establishment proxy' again?

establishment died in 2008 when zardari took the reigns.

establishment would not have allowed someone like zardari to charge - but the establishment was dead so go figure

After living 3 decades in this city.

I must tell you, that people in power will always squeeze Karachiites.

They would never want Karachiites to be part of decision making for country.

Why?

Because people of Karachi are do'ers, they don't bullshit around when it comes to getting work done.

-- The Karachi is under intentionally manufactured mess so people here keep thinking more about getting food on table and less about politics and power game.

It is a maze designed to keep common people busy while at the same time using them as guinea pig to produce wealth.

It's like a pyramid ponzi scheme.

Pharaos of modern day are ruling.

But the divine laws are crystal clear, arrogance always bites the dust.

After living 3 decades in this city.

I must tell you, that people in power will always squeeze Karachiites.

They would never want Karachiites to be part of decision making for country.

Why?

Because people of Karachi are do'ers, they don't bullshit around when it comes to getting work done.

-- The Karachi is under intentionally manufactured mess so people here keep thinking more about getting food on table and less about politics and power game.

It is a maze designed to keep common people busy while at the same time using them as guinea pig to produce wealth.

It's like a pyramid ponzi scheme.

Pharaos of modern day are ruling.

But the divine laws are crystal clear, arrogance always bites the dust.

Its Karachites own fault, choose your leaders carefully.

1. Jamat was working fine in Karachi's local administration but we had to choose a haramkhor as our leaders. Mind you Jamat's leadership was all local to Karachi. I had fine memories or living in Karachi under Jamat even when there were no counselors, Jamat always had their offices in every part of Karachi....you have an issue a problem just visit their office and rest assure your problem would be fixed and some jamati will come to your house and tell why it cannot be fixed.

2. we could have aligned ourselves with one of the chore major political party and we could have gotten something out of it. but no we had to fool ourselves that only someone who raises mohajir slogan can lead us and tell all those mythical stories about how Karachi can replace Hong Kong with Bhai saab.

all that for what?? to abolish 5% quota seats in Dow medical and NED for interior sind student.
and we still have not learned and still choosing bachy kutchy muhajir leaders including that "constipation face" mayor.

For local government jamat or pti. No mqm because military will not allow them to work. Why pti because they might get the budget from centre. Ppp no way because they have a deal with military. Pmln cant win. Jamat can do wonders but if they will not allow to work then blame goes to pti ppp and establishment and karachiites will know thats its state decision to destroy the city.
Yeah I agree Jamaat or PTI for local government.

People remember fondly time of Mustafa Kamal but they forget how target killing and china cutting was rampant and millions were being funnelled over to London to fund 'bhai'

PPP or PML-N have no chance unless establishment helps them.

I will prefer Jamat e Islami to take local government of Karachi. It was Niamatullah of Jamat e Islami who did wonders in city planning and MQM's Mustafa Kamal cashed it.

Jamat workers and their Karachi leaders are more honest, dedicated and loyal towards Karachi than any members of other Party of the country.

I am sure if JI is given power and adequate funding, they can turn this city back to its original form of late 1970s...…. city of light.

Do not agree at all. Jamat e islami will be sympathetic to TTP and others as it was in KP during mush's rule. As part of MMA, one can see what happened to Baluchistan and KP.

Karachi needs a military administration.

This same Jamat e Islami openly supported TTP and called them martyrs, gave religious ruling that Pakistani soldiers are not martyrs. They thought TTP will win the war but since they lost, now Jamat is changing tactics. I am surprised how fellow Pakistanis have a short memory. In another 10 years people will be calling for MQM to come back and clean karachi ha

separate Karachi from provincial system and make it back a federal territory, this city needs attention and it has been raped left right and center by everyone

unless 18th amendment is taken care of, no mayor can work in his full capacity in Karachi

Naitmullah and Mustafa Kamal both were mayors before 18th amendment.

ab sub jitni huwaii firing kerlein, kuch be nahi ho paye ga unless provincial Govt is not backing you completely.
I will prefer Jamat e Islami to take local government of Karachi. It was Niamatullah of Jamat e Islami who did wonders in city planning and MQM's Mustafa Kamal cashed it.

Beta gee, all before 18th amendment . Update your info.
PTI doesnt have the local base in the city and its performance and advocacy for the city of karachi in the past years have exposed how badly PTI has used its Karachi voter trust and played with it. Just recently i exposed PTI was not in favour of a strong local government and hence rolling back their original support for musharraf's CDGK and demanding implementation of PPP backed Zia ul haq's system.

Where did you get this from ? Go and check KP local body system in the last few years
And for your info, go and study 18th amendment and how provincial govt of Sindh is using it against local body govt of khi since 2012. PTI or any party, unless they do not have provincial govt, can't do anything about it. Look they even can't build the two islands in news these days. Recent example. Despite of no vote bank, Karachi is systematically under controlled of PPP in the name of provincial autonomy. T

This same Jamat e Islami openly supported TTP and called them martyrs, gave religious ruling that Pakistani soldiers are not martyrs. They thought TTP will win the war but since they lost, now Jamat is changing tactics. I am surprised how fellow Pakistanis have a short memory. In another 10 years people will be calling for MQM to come back and clean karachi ha
The current leadership do not support TTP (since March 2014).

Though I do neither belong to nor supported JI in previous elections, but I heard from various sources Mr Siraj is an honest, modest and loyal Pakistani. Furthermore, JI Karachi chapter is well organized, their workers are highly disciplined and leaders are "Karachiites".

For me, PPP, PML(N) and PTI are out. I will prefer JI for Karachi just because their past record was much better than other three big parties.

I am rejecting PTI just because of Aamir Liaqat. Why this man was selected to represent PTI for Karachi NA seat????

Beta gee, all before 18th amendment . Update your info.
Baba Ji!!!!

This is the first step. You use your voting power to elect those who are comparatively better and competent. Since LB poles are near, then we should focus on these elections.

If we think that nothing can be done because of some constitutional road block then we are gravely mistaken.

If you want to improve the situation in Karachi, then start improving from the scratch. PA and NA will follow.

Since its inception in the 1940s Jamaat-e-Islami has been a flop. They are way passed their expiry date. They need to dissolve the organization. What have they achieved? How do they inspire any one?

Jamat had shown people that they can deliver. Afghani and Naimatullah tenure in Karachi was spot less. They were part of the MMA and PTI government in KPK. Everyone says that their ministers conduct was spotless and they did deliver. Just recently in KPK PTI had a government with JI. That time PTI government was successful in KPK. Now same PTI without JI collation is a total failure.

Jamat is the only democratic political party in Pakistan. Maududi Sahib's kids did not came for the leadership of JI infact the leadership was democratically given to Mian Tufail, a Punjabi. Then from Mian sahib it want to a Pushtun Qazi Hussain Ahmed. Then to an Urdu speaking Syed Munawar Hassan. From Syed Sahib it came to our existing Amir Siraj u Haq.

Its a totally Pakistani party, where leadership is chosen because of their conduct and not because of their ethnicity.

If wining the most seats in NA is the achievement then JI has not achieved anything. But if working for the democracy, enforcing democracy on itself, Working for the people, Khidmat i Khalaq is an achievement. Then I think JI is the most successful party in Pakistan.