‘War-like’ arms store seized near LoC in Jammu

thestringshredder

JAMMU: The Jammu and Kashmir state police and Army troops in a joint operation unearthed a large cache of arms and ammunition from a location close to the Line of Control (LoC) with Pakistan in Poonch district on Saturday evening.

A defence spokesman in Jammu said the cache was a "war-like store". "Based on specific intelligence inputs about cache, a joint search operation was launched by the Army and Jammu and Kashmir police in Sabra Nala of Mendhar, Poonch district , Saturday afternoon," the spokesman said.

The area is 230 km northwest of Jammu. By Sunday evening, the security forces had recovered a war-like store from a hideout.

A large quantity of weapons, ammunition and magazines were seized. Among them were two AK 47 rifles with plastic magazine, one 7mm caliber weapon with magazine, one bolt action rifle, three 7mm pistols with .30 calibre magazine, one 7.65mm pistol with magazine, one under-barrel grenade launcher (UBGL), five magazines of AK 47, 1019 rounds ammunition of AK 47, two magazine of .30 calibre pistol, three rounds of .30 calibre pistol, four rounds ammunition of 7.65 calibre pistol, one Arges grenade, besides six radio sets and two mobile phones.

The Jammu & Kashmir police spokesperson described the recovery as "a major blow to efforts of revival of terrorism in the state."

Link - ‘War-like’ arms store seized near LoC in Jammu - The Times of India

What is listed does not go with heading. 2 AK and we are saying war like. Am I missing anything?

what more can you expect from a TOILET paper ?

They are quoting a defence spokesman, which is why the term is wrapped in quotes. All other media channels are also quoting that same person:

'War-like store' of arms seized near LoC in Kashmir

`War-like store` of arms seized near LoC

'War-like store' of arms seized near LoC in Kashmir

‘War-like store’ of arms seized near LoC in Kashmir

BTW, that's not unheard of either, in Pakistan. After shots were fired at Musharaff's helicopter in 2007 (when he was president), local police recovered anti aircraft guns from a nearby rooftop. It's a country where "non state actors", and every tom, dick and harry have stinger missiles and AA guns. So somebody having an AK-47 is not such a big deal.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/06/world/asia/06cnd-pakistan.html?hp&_r=0

In wedding ceremonies, North Indians play the shehnai, and south Indians play the nadaswaram, but Pakistanis play AK-47s. Google "Pakistan wedding AK 47", and you will see what I'm talking about. There are tons of videos of tons of wedding revelers firing assault rifles to celebrate the joyous occasion.

The gun culture is very different in Pakistan, and you don't have to be in the armed forces or "non state actor" forces, to have an AK in your bedroom. So although his boast may sound incredible to Indians, he may in fact be speaking the truth. While most Indians don't get to see a gun in their lives, that's not the case with paksitanis.

Calm down boy :lol:

are you an Iraqi gun runner? AKs in house what u do blow up PA convoys on saturday nights for fun? :cuckoo:

Tell you the truth from a pakistani point of view this doesnt sound like much.......most people i know have a collection of weapons and the list mentioned by the article doesnt sound much different then what we have lying about in our house in pakistan.....except for the grenade launchers.

So, what started from a hoax news from TOI (2 AK47s - Give me a break) has come down to a poverty measurement contest...

BTW, we beat the world on that side for sure... We have Dharavi (with an AC, fridge and TV in every kholi)... tere paas kya hei?

And jinko samajh nahi aaya, unke liye --> Pun intended!

haven't come across your posts in a while, how are you doin...

as far as the article, "war like " was unnecessary!

Yaar baat AK-47 ke ho rahi hai aur tum Poverty Poverty khel rahe ho :offpost:

Pfff...you can get more weapons than this from a house in Lyari! My friend has more weapons than this except the GL at his house!!! All licensed of course and used in a shooting range.

Any more poverty trolling and you get a holiday, one has already received his tickets.

haven't come across your posts in a while, how are you doin...

as far as the article, "war like " was unnecessary!

Life's hectic mate. Getting into a new role and you know how badly the non-conventional energy sector has been beaten up...

How's it going at your end?

TOI will never stop war mongering and sensationalism on smallest of the things...!

war like storage

pigeon.jpg

Most people that live near the LOC have bunkers.......we have a underground bunker.

Sir, i lived few hundred meters from the ALC and we never had bunkers, even in 1999... My dad tells me that they had them in 71, but never after that