United States praises China's growing role in Afghanistan

Sher Malang

Afghanistan
The United States welcomed China's growing role in trying to ensure Afghanistan's stability on Thursday, saying a Beijing conference of foreign ministers on Afghan reconstruction this week shows its commitment to the region as Western troops pull out.

The comments, made by a senior State Department official, are rare US praise for Beijing, which this week hosts Afghan President Ashraf Ghani on his first visit abroad since assuming office in September.

Washington and Beijing, which have typically contentious relations on geopolitical issues from Iran to the South China Sea, have both said they see Afghanistan as a point where their security interests converge.

On Tuesday, China pledged to give Afghanistan US $327 million in aid through 2017, more than the US $250 million contribution it has so far offered since the fall of the hardline Islamist Taliban regime in 2001.

"China's view of engaging in Afghanistan over the course of these past few years has really changed significantly, and in our view, in a very positive direction," the official told reporters during a telephone briefing.

On Friday, foreign ministers from Asian and Central Asian countries will gather in Beijing for a fourth round "Istanbul Process" conference on Afghanistan, which China hopes will help boost development and security there. White House counsellor John Podesta will attend the meeting.

"It's a real demonstration of China's commitment to Afghanistan, to its role in the region and one that we greatly welcome," the official said.

dditional support on counter-terrorism "would be very valuable", the official said, noting that improving coordination on "terror-finance" issues at the United Nations would be an area of US China discussion in the future.

China, connected to Afghanistan by a narrow, almost impassable mountain corridor, has been preparing for more responsibility in Afghanistan after the bulk of US led troops pull out this year.

It says it does not seek to fill a void left by the US withdrawal but has promised to play a big commercial role in reconstruction.

Chinese officials are concerned that instability in Afghanistan could lead to more unrest in China's western Xinjiang region, where the government says militant separatists influenced by extremists along the Afghanistan-Pakistan border have carried out violent attacks.

Experts, however, dispute the influence of foreign militant groups in China, and argue that economic marginalisation of Muslim Uighurs, who call Xinjiang home, is one of the main causes of violence there.

United States praises China's growing role in Afghanistan | Latest News & Updates at Daily News & Analysis

aaj kal US praise everyone who is interested in Afghanistan..

"jab apnay pechwaray pe laat pharti hai aur kutoon ke tarhan bhaagnay wala ho tu har eek ko invite he karta hey ajao ajaoo saray yahan.. may tu bhaagoon yahan say"

aaj kal US praise everyone who is interested in Afghanistan..

"jab apnay pechwaray pe laat pharti hai aur kutoon ke tarhan bhaagnay wala ho tu har eek ko invite he karta hey ajao ajaoo saray yahan.. may tu bhaagoon yahan say"

They are here for a decade more and that could eventually become permanent - Afghanistan is an observatory tower for US to
monitor regional activities and maintain her interests.

They are here for a decade more and that could eventually become permanent - Afghanistan is an observatory tower for US to
monitor regional activities and maintain her interests.

Lets see but I've heard that the new pact btw A.G & US has minimum 3 years of suspension program for non-combat troofs. They will also exit if the situation going worse which is already expected (Back of Taliban & Civil War).

Only in Pakistan's point of view.

Its global point of view.. few days back i was watching American Channel ova that debatable subject was Afghanistan and US withdrawal and after effects... mutual understanding and single agreement btw all thinktanks was "Back of Talibans and situation going worse" its not about Pakistan.. its global.. and you'll see ... according to Mc Crystan, David P & newly appointed US commander to Afghanistan also said that 70 - 80 % of Afghanistan under contriol by Taliban... if you and Indians will not agree... its your opinion but majority infact massive majority understand the ground reality....

Kindly provide a credible source for that peace of information you shared.

I am in the ground and it's better then ever, Taliban's last resort the 'IED' success is also fading away but the issue of insurgency in Afghanistan is more political then militarily.

Kindly provide a credible source for that peace of information you shared.

I am in the ground and it's better then ever, Taliban's last resort the 'IED' success is also fading away but the issue of insurgency in Afghanistan is more political then militarily.

Afgh-security%20-map-ICOS.JPG

The latest report by the The International Council on Security and Development on the security situation in Afghanistan is making plenty of waves. According to the report, 97 percent of Afghansitan is infested with the Taliban.

http://www.longwarjournal.org/threat-matrix/archives/2009/09/icos_rating_on_taliban_control.php

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/27/world/asia/taliban-making-military-gains-in-afghanistan.html

Taliban return to Afghan town that rose up and drove out its leaders | World news | The Guardian

"There are fears that the Taliban and other insurgents will achieve success against Afghan forces once the international force is reduced substantially by late 2014," the Congressional report stated.

NATO exit may trigger ′proxy war′ in Afghanistan | Asia | DW.DE | 16.09.2013

Data from the Pentagon's Joint IED Defeat Organization (JIEDDO) showed IED incidents had risen from 250 per month in June 2009 to 900 in May 2010, and had continued to soar to a new high of 1,258 in August. The data also showed US-NATO casualties in the first eight months of 2010 were nearly double the total for the same period in 2009.

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/07/world/asia/afghanistan.html

Read what Army lieutenant general Daniel Bolger said about Iraq & Afghan war "Why we lost"

I will also digup top commanders interviews and qoutes regarding failure and back of Taliban remarks/paragraphs and post here later... Thanks

China should get more involved in Afghanistan,they should develop the wakhan route to enter into Afghanistan.That will also make it easier for Afghan traders to enter into China.

Good relations between China and Afghanistan is the only way we can kick India out of Central Asia for good.

If that is the case...Then the neighboring countries should make sure that it does not happen.....Looks more like that is what you wish should happen....Good job China...As far as I am concerned China should be the one holding the peace torch in Afghanistan, in the process they also would make a lot of money ...win win for both...

Good relations between China and Afghanistan is the only way we can kick India out of Central Asia for good.
It should be more like China and Afghanistan should work to kick Taliban(Good and Bad) out of central Asia....and I am sure India will support that...will Pakistan support as well?

What happens in Afghanistan is none of India's business. Afghan taliban were fighting foreign occupiers. We will not support them if they destabilize Afghanistan. Its for Ashraf ghani to integrate them rather than to alienate them.

Afgh-security%20-map-ICOS.JPG

The latest report by the The International Council on Security and Development on the security situation in Afghanistan is making plenty of waves. According to the report, 97 percent of Afghansitan is infested with the Taliban.

http://www.longwarjournal.org/threat-matrix/archives/2009/09/icos_rating_on_taliban_control.php

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/27/world/asia/taliban-making-military-gains-in-afghanistan.html

That map is bogus it was presented in 2008 which indicated Taliban 'activity' not control and the first link is dead the second is just regular political **** by nytimes on US involvement in Afghanistan plus 2014 has come to end and there is no such achievements by Taliban which it self rejects the claims in the article and makes it bogus plus I can counter that speculative article with many other fact and figures on ANSF's gains.

Afghanistan have 298 districts Gizab is one of them - such districts which are left behind government's attention always suffer from militants attention but as usual they are kicked back by local police by zilch army involvement at all.

"There are fears that the Taliban and other insurgents will achieve success against Afghan forces once the international force is reduced substantially by late 2014," the Congressional report stated.

We are at the end of 2014 no such thing has happened so far though 2014 was a hard and full of challenges for ANSF but they bleed to keep the security stable.

Old and speculative article like hundreds of others of it's kind on the contrary all Afghanistan neighbors are committed to the new Afghan government.

Data from the Pentagon's Joint IED Defeat Organization (JIEDDO) showed IED incidents had risen from 250 per month in June 2009 to 900 in May 2010, and had continued to soar to a new high of 1,258 in August. The data also showed US-NATO casualties in the first eight months of 2010 were nearly double the total for the same period in 2009.

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/07/world/asia/afghanistan.html

IED is the only tool insurgents use against ANSF because they lake the ability to confront them face to face they rather chose ambushes and IEDs but this tactic is getting mortal as well because ANSF is developing it's counter IED skills, for e.g watch this:

Read what Army lieutenant general Daniel Bolger said about Iraq & Afghan war "Why we lost"

I will also digup top commanders interviews and qoutes regarding failure and back of Taliban remarks/paragraphs and post here later... Thanks

Thanks from your effort but I couldn't found anything like 'Taliban controlling 80% of Afghanistan' claimed by all 3 US commanders so rest assured there is nothing as such, I don't disregard Taliban presence in Afghanistan but they are only in very remote areas, deserts or in districts where the government have no attention or is less of importance to it.

What happens in Afghanistan is none of India's business. Afghan taliban were fighting foreign occupiers. We will not support them if they destabilize Afghanistan. Its for Ashraf ghani to integrate them rather than to alienate them.

@Horus .... Why do you always sound so angry dude!....I totally agree with the bolded part.....I can say the same stuff..if these foriegn fighters start entering into the Kashmir landscape like the 90's..it does become India business..."Prevention is better than cure'..also there are some investments that India has made in Afghanistan..that needs to be protected as well.