Three ex-military officers, civilian sentenced by FGCM on espionage charges

Muhammad Saftain Anjum

KARACHI:

Three retired military officers and a civilian have been convicted of espionage and handed different jail terms by the Field General Court Martial, according to sources privy to the development.

The four – three former military officials and a civilian – were tried under the Pakistan Army Act and Official Secret Act 1923 by separate Field General Court Martial (FGCM) on the charges of espionage prejudice to the national security, the sources said.

The convicts include Lt Col (retd) Faiz Rasool, who was awarded 14-year rigorous imprisonment; Lt Col (retd) Akmal, who was sentenced to 10-year rigorous imprisonment; Major (retd) Saif Ullah Babar, who was handed 12-year rigorous imprisonment; and Idris Khattak, who was sentenced to 14-year rigorous imprisonment.

Read more: Pakistan Army dismisses three officers for misuse of authority, illegal activities

The sources said Idris Khattak, who claims to be a social activist, was tried by the FGCM in Jhelum, while the retired military officers stood trial in Rawalpindi. The main charge Khattak faced was that he provided ground intelligence for US drone strikes in Pakistan.

According to BBC, Owais Khattak, brother of Idris Khattak, said they received a phone call from Jhelum on Friday in which he was informed that his brother has been shifted to the district jail in Jhelum.

Also read: Alleged militant links: Military trial of Brig Ali Khan begins

Asked if a civilian could stand trial in a military court, the sources said a civilian could be tried in the FGCM under “specific circumstances”.

Earlier in February, a two-judge bench of the Peshawar High Court – headed by Chief Justice Qaiser Rasheed – had dismissed a plea against Khattak’s trial in a military court. The petition was filed by Khattak’s brother.

Copied from

Idris Khattak is a Pakistani human rights activist. Idris Khattak was openly raising the issue of missing persons since years so army make fake case to punish him . our army is naked now without any shame .

Mr. Idris Khattak could appeal in SC to prove his innocence. Khan Shaib, please don't embark on a knee-jerk reaction.
Further, the human rights activists/champions/watchers whatever they are to be sent to Israel/India to prove their championship, where they usually keep quiet and do not raise their voices.

Why not death? What is this mockery?

It took these cucks so many years to finally sentence a "human rights" defender. This is all BS. He will be out as soon as the Americans place one phone call. Don't be impressed by this shambolic attempt.

and those whom deny missing persons and joke here is government of pakistan's
COMMISSION OF INQUIRY ON ENFORCED DISAPPEARANCES

they found 6000+ missing persons

bhai jab gov khud manti hai 6000 missing hain to baat khatam . ap log bhi please india israel ko her cheez main nhi le ayeen .hamari army or agencies koi farishty nhi
ye wohi hain jo kehty hain ahsan ullah ahsan ISI ki costudy se bhag gya .

egyptions and Pakistanis have this habit they almost worship their forces and intelligence agencies .

Khan Sahib, there is no perfection in this world. Every one has pros and cons. PA/Journalists/Advocates/Judges even I and you are no exception.
Khan Sahib, sometimes I think why I and you are not missing persons.
May be am not right but the answer comes to my mind that we are in a war-like situation and some people unknowingly adopt the path which hampers the state or state institution's task against WOT. In such a situation, people should take care and discharge their responsibilities with utmost care.

these were fake cases man for hell sake jsut read full thread . her kisi ko latka do . army want to keep these guys away for some time .

Why not just get rid of them agar itnay burray lagtay hein?
Khan Sahib, there is no perfection in this world. Every one has pros and cons. PA/Journalists/Advocates/Judges even I and you are no exception.
Khan Sahib, sometimes I think why I and you are not missing persons.
May be am not right but the answer comes to my mind that we are in a war-like situation and some people unknowingly adopt the path which hampers the state or state institution's task against WOT. In such a situation, people should take care and discharge their responsibilities with utmost care.

But you are assuming that the PA is leading us very well in this regard. GOOD TACTICS DO NOT A SOUND STRATEGY MAKE.

We have no strategy other than continuously fighting terrorists (which will keep spawning out of a clone factory) without raising the cost for India.

Idris Khattak is a Pakistani human rights activist. Idris Khattak was openly raising the issue of missing persons since years so army make fake case to punish him . our army is naked now without any shame .
There are dozens such activities how many are charged with treason ? Plus you are forgetting three Army officers who are given jail time. As for missing persons when Mama Qadeer was asked for list he only managed to come up with list of 100. Many BLA attacks included those who were claimed to be picked by agencies.

And CIA couldn't have directed him to use the missing persons issue?

It is a good way to get a spy back rather than have him rot in jail like Dr Afridi and many others.

I am all in support of PA catching Pro BLA, JSQM activists and all. But tell me, how can they convict Khattak for spying for drone strikes when PA, ISI and PAF itself was a party to it?

Didn't they totally SUPPORT the drones?? They fooled us all those years that US drones came from Afghanistan and strike us because pOlitIciAns arE bAd.

But then we all found out that US bases in PAKISTAN use to operate those strikes with PA, ISI and PAF on board. Nos you're conviction a man for providing intelligence to the same devil that you bowed upon? Or just because he directly bowed to the devil without having s uniforms on? How about you all put those ISI and military officers in Jail who AIDED the CIA in Pakistan. What a foolish national we're! All my request for PA but such hypocrisy by Gernails is outrageous.

You need to go to mental hospital.. If this would have been the case u would not have been here typing such rubbish..

If you have evidence against the Army, why not present it in SC ?

There are dozens such activities how many are charged with treason ? Plus you are forgetting three Army officers who are given jail time. As for missing persons when Mama Qadeer was asked for list he only managed to come up with list of 100. Many BLA attacks included those who were claimed to be picked by agencies.
many of them were beaten jailed even convicted . idres khattak was providing infor to USA for drone attacks lolllz i thought paksitani army was doing it and drones were coming from Pakistani air bases . do not mix the things BLA TTP AND SEX pornhub HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH IT ITS JUST PURE BS
If you have evidence against the Army, why not present it in SC ?
they will try their luck sure case was failed in court but after audio and many evidences that courts are also under generals whom will go courts .

MAIN KOI PAGAL HOON JO COURT JAOON GA :EX CJ of pakistan said ust last week .