dray

This Gujarat village is harvesting a sunny crop
By Prashant Rupera, TNN | Jul 31, 2016, 01.03 PM IST

.jpg

In February this year, six farmers in Dhundi village, about 35km from the milk city of Anand, registered the world's first solar irrigation cooperative.

Dhundi is home to the world's first solar irrigation cooperative, where farmers harness the sun to water their crops and sell the excess to the grid.

For years, Raman Parmar, 45, used a diesel pump to irrigate the crops on his 12-bigha farm in Thamna village in Gujarat's Anand district, spending Rs 500 a day on fuel. In March last year, he installed a solar-powered irrigation pump, and within four months harvested his first `crop', earning Rs 7,500 for the power he sold to the grid.

Inspired by his example, in February this year, six farmers in Dhundi village, about 35km from the milk city of Anand, registered the Dhundi Saur Urja Utpadak Sahakari Mandali (DSUUSM), the world's first solar irrigation cooperative.

"Within two months, six of us have sold 5,000kWh (kilowatt-hour) of surplus solar energy to Madhya Gujarat Vij Company Limited (MGVCL), the local electricity distributor, after using solar power to run the pumps that irrigate our farms," says DSUUSM secretary, Pravin Parmar.

International Water Management Institute (IWMI), a non-profit scientific research organisation, has been encouraging farmers to harvest solar power, telling them it is "the most lucrative crop". Raman has been their most successful story so far and the organisation is using his example to encourage other farmers.

A farmer needs just about 80sqm of land to set up an 8kWh grid-tied solar power generation system. This system allows a farmer to evacuate surplus solar power to the grid at Rs 4.63 per kWh when he is not using the power to run his 7.5HP irrigation pump.

"Earlier, when we were dependent on diesel pumps, we used to spend Rs 500 to Rs 700 a day on diesel. Now, there is zero cost to irrigate our farms, water is available for free, and we get an additional income of Rs 200 to Rs 250 per day," said Pravin.

The current installed capacity of the Dhundi solar cooperative is 56.4kWh and the IWMI team plans to expand it to 100kWh over the next few months. "We have signed a power purchase agreement to sell up to 100kWh to MGVCL. Soon, we will involve more farmers from our village and strengthen the co-operative to showcase it as a model for the government to replicate elsewhere," said Pravin, who used to grow only paddy but now raises multiple crops since he is not dependent on the monsoon for water.

IWMI, which works with MGVCL and Gujarat Energy Research and Management Institute, estimates that a solar pump can generate 13,000 units of power a year worth Rs 65,000 on just 125th of a hectare. Ten million solar farmers can `grow' 130 billion units of solar power and earn Rs 65,000 crore a year net of input costs.

S B Khyalia, director of Gujarat Urja Vij Nigam Limited, is more realistic. These farmers are benefitting as 90% of the pilot project is funded by the NGO and farmers save the cost of installing solar panels. But this may not be the case when it is replicated at scale. However, by going solar, we will save the cost of providing electricity to farmers," said.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...vesting-a-sunny-crop/articleshow/53473646.cms

@Rain Man

This is one of my favorite as I have been pondering over a year as to install solar panel on my college hostel buildings. A couple of young boys who have set up a company which installs panels and gave me estimates. But it came to around 63/- per watt for on grid (where you don't have a battery backup and 100/-+ for off grid(for night time use). I found out still it is expensive. So I have decided to install on grid where the day time use is more (i.e class rooms, dining hall, offices etc) and sell the excess to CESU via a meter. No night use. Next year the installation would start for 10KW and it will cost something around 7lac appx.

@Rain Man

This is one of my favorite as I have been pondering over a year as to install solar panel on my college hostel buildings. A couple of young boys who have set up a company which installs panels and gave me estimates. But it came to around 63/- per watt for on grid (where you don't have a battery backup and 100/-+ for off grid(for night time use). I found out still it is expensive. So I have decided to install on grid where the day time use is more (i.e class rooms, dining hall, offices etc) and sell the excess to CESU via a meter. No night use. Next year the installation would start for 10KW and it will cost something around 7lac appx.

One of my relatives work in this industry in a senior position, he said that right now the installation costs are high, but the government is planning to bring down the cost to 1/10th of current cost or even lesser within 5 years. Besides, these are almost zero maintenance (apart from some cleaning) installations for a lifetime, the warranty period itself is like 25 years! Average size rooftop of a house have enough space to produce 500 units a month, that's more than enough for most households. :)

Btw, these Toto carts below are now popular for local travel, it costs around 1.20 lakh without solar panel and 1.45 lakh with solar panel on top here in Kolkata. it goes about 100 kms or a little more in one single charge (5-6 units consumption), and 300 kms with solar panel on it. Maybe in some years solar panels will be common features in home exteriors, the glass panels on big buildings will be transparent solar panels, buses, trains, even cars will have solar panels on top. :)

toto-car-500x500.jpg

I had been planning to see the feasibility of toto carts with solar panel fleet for places in NE especially in capital places like Guwahati and Shillong.

The focus of my attention went to the fact that these carts we can do a MII for it as Kits from abroad are available for as low as sub Rs 50k and even after assembling associated costs and paying taxes, your margins are a good solid 20-25k per toto cart without panels.

The only hitch was the solar panel part which i wanted to get into so that the whole assembling to even having fleet of my own could fetch me good profit.

What i am only bothered is whether NE places will have enough sunlight to help me charge the cell.

hundi is home to the world's first solar irrigation cooperative, where farmers harness the sun to water their crops and sell the excess to the grid
Smiled ear to ear when I read this. :-)
It's not just about India, I hope the world switches to renewable source of energy so that we don't need NPPs any more.

I had been planning to see the feasibility of toto carts with solar panel fleet for places in NE especially in capital places like Guwahati and Shillong.

The focus of my attention went to the fact that these carts we can do a MII for it as Kits from abroad are available for as low as sub Rs 50k and even after assembling associated costs and paying taxes, your margins are a good solid 20-25k per toto cart without panels.

The only hitch was the solar panel part which i wanted to get into so that the whole assembling to even having fleet of my own could fetch me good profit.

What i am only bothered is whether NE places will have enough sunlight to help me charge the cell.

I think solar panels can generate power (maybe less) in cloudy weather also, it just needs daylight....at least that's what my relative who is in this industry told me.

Next revolution should come in the form of distributed backyard hydroponics farming, a sustainable way to self reliance.

One of my relatives work in this industry in a senior position, he said that right now the installation costs are high, but the government is planning to bring down the cost to 1/10th of current cost or even lesser within 5 years. Besides, these are almost zero maintenance (apart from some cleaning) installations for a lifetime, the warranty period itself is like 25 years! Average size rooftop of a house have enough space to produce 500 units a month, that's more than enough for most households. :)

Btw, these Toto carts below are now popular for local travel, it costs around 1.20 lakh without solar panel and 1.45 lakh with solar panel on top here in Kolkata. it goes about 100 kms or a little more in one single charge (5-6 units consumption), and 300 kms with solar panel on it. Maybe in some years solar panels will be common features in home exteriors, the glass panels on big buildings will be transparent solar panels, buses, trains, even cars will have solar panels on top. :)

toto-car-500x500.jpg

Was pleasanly surprised to see the ferry boats in princep ghat using small solar panels to light up their boats at night :)