The News Editorial takes it hard on Nawaz; Not much of a vision,

Leader

Not much of a vision

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s second televised speech to the nation was, like all sequels, less necessary than the original. Where in his maiden address Sharif had concentrated on the major issues of terrorism and the power crisis that will define his government’s term, this time the focus was on the youth of the country. The need to tackle the problem of the country’s youth bulge – 35 percent of our population is aged 15 or under – should certainly be high on the list of the government’s priorities but the proposals offered by the prime minister were disappointingly limited. Sharif pledged to spend a total of Rs20 billion on the youth, with programmes ranging from the provision of interest-free and low-interest loans to educated youth, skills development for those who pass eighth grade and free tuition for those who hail from the less-developed areas of the country. In a rerun of Shahbaz Sharif’s laptop scheme in Punjab, the PM also promised to provide free laptops to 100,000 students this year. None of these ideas are completely unobjectionable, although the utility of handing over free laptops can certainly be debated. (Laptops for users who cannot access YouTube or many other websites?) But as a whole they reveal a lot to be desired. There seems to be no vision to tackle the problems of access to education, to improve the syllabi and correct distorted history taught to our children, ensure that girls stay in school and public schools receive the funding they need.

Perhaps the most interesting part of the speech was the prime minister’s complaint about how much money government corporations are bleeding. Coming on the heels of the government’s decision to sell a minority stake and hand over management control of PIA, this could be seen as building the case for wholesale privatisation. Nawaz Sharif knows that he may face resistance from the unions and the opposition parties and he may even have to face challenges in the Supreme Court on his privatisation agenda, so this may be the start of the government’s bid to win public support. It is also interesting to note that Sharif did not use the televised address as an opportunity to tout the achievements of his government in its first hundred days in power. That may be because there are precious few achievements to celebrate. The problems facing the country are so massive that even an entire five-year term may not be sufficient to make significant improvement. If this speech is any indication though, the prime minister has nothing more than band aid therapy to offer to a mutilated body. At a time when vision and courage is needed, the prime minister had such limited ideas on offer that one wonders why he bothered delivering the speech in the first place.

Not much of a vision - thenews.com.pk

Patwari & his band of thugs are people without any vision.

The youth of Pakistan needs proper & good education & good jobs, they don't need cheap laptops, loans which they cannot pay later on & yellow cabs (I don't see educated people fitting in this cab schemes). All this BS is only to shut the people mouths & I am sure there will be some who will say "Oh what a great work by our leader" & these will will those who support these patwaris blindly. If these people don't open their eyes & they fail to understand these bastards then only GOD knows what will they understand.

In my opinion any politician who fails to understand Pakistan's most important problems then he or she should not be allowed to sit & rule Pakistan for 5 years.

PPP, PML-N, PML-Q, ANP, JUI, JI, MQM who are no more than 200 people are cancer for Pakistan & they are the biggest obstacle in the way of good future of Pakistan.

Hang some politicians, corrupt judges, rented terrorists & media people then see how they will start working for Pakistan & how all the corrupt, incompetent & spineless politicians, judges, media people & etc. will try to escape Pakistan.

Why China is successful because they punish the corrupt with death sentence to create an example so that no body tries to commit crime. In China the peoples Govt. & the Army are one, but in Pakistan the corrupt politicians are against Pak Army.

I think we will have to wait for after 2013. Next time musharraf may not be a linient one.

we are done with stupid Generals, there is no next time for govt servants to coup and take Pakistan to a further pitt. its time for us the nation to take responsibility, time for us to correct ourselves and fight our own battle with our representatives for our rights.

With corrupt representatives in corrupt system :azn:

Every time this thought prevailed, but sanity did not. This time also it seems that no one has learnt a lesson. It takes 1 sec for a take over and literally one second. If that happens then it will be unprecedented. Politicians and bureaucrats have put the peoplle against the corner. If they do it then this country is doomed for ever, so better someone organised does it in a controlled fashion. In former case let me recommend a movie "hotel Rwanda" it might help understand post revolt. Remember no MNA or MPA goes to assembly for you and me. They go there for their own interests and protocols. I may trust them when i see them going to the assemblies without protocols and i am able to commute on roads infront of parliament and supreme court without any barriers and restriction.
They will waste our money by debating on nonissues. Tell me in last govt what laws they have made, but for their own benefit and taxing common man. Same goes in this one.
@batmannow

well I hate PML N but clearly this government is doing way moe than the last 5 years of PPP ever did! and most of all Karachi situation is improving & target killings extortions and all are on the decline.

what remains to be seen is if this government really carries on working or just does a few more inaugurations and dramas and end it!

well I hate PML N but clearly this government is doing way moe than the last 5 years of PPP ever did! and most of all Karachi situation is improving & target killings extortions and all are on the decline.

what remains to be seen is if this government really carries on working or just does a few more inaugurations and dramas and end it!
What has improved in Karachi yesterday more than 7 were killed. Street crime still takes place and so is bhatta. Yes ultimately Karachi situation will improve, not because pmln wants it but mqm also wants it and some sane characters of ppp as well. It is not for people benefit but their own commercial interests.

Teir vision is evident through the budget they have given. Tax the already suppressed and support the rich. Www.neweconomicorder.blogspot.com (taxation)

that we all agree, that Karachi situation is getting better... :tup:

Then you got a democratically elected Team in shape of Nawaz and his minions. Why so angry then.

Jaan bhooj kar ***** kisam ki cabinet aur minister chunay hain takay aas paas **** may kharay Ns sahab kudh anooookhay nazar ayeen... LOLZzzzzz

my right to object in a democracy.

according to the victorious noora,s no you dont hve any right, to object?
didnt that happend with provancial leadership PTI in lahore? with PTI leadership & its workers?
i think , its better that it should keep happening with them on dailly bassis, cause that what a die hard worker like yourself wants? & thats how our hounrable CM showbaz sharif is gromming damocrazy in punjab, he should be given medal of damocrazy, by PTI at least?lolzz
dreamworld, dreams of democracy looks on good enough in, a deep sleep in which , i think our unexperinced political leadership has sent us?
while they themselves enjoying royal wine buffets in london?