'Stop us if you can': Religious parties in Mardan protest conviction of 31 men in Mashal's murder

Enigma_

Life in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's Mardan district came to a halt on Friday as thousands of workers and supporters of religious parties took to roads to pressure the government into releasing the 31 men convicted in the brutal murder of Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan student Mashal Khan, who was lynched in April 2017 after being falsely accused of blasphemy.

Thousands of members of the Tahaffuz Khatm-i-Nabuwat Organisation, Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) joined by locals participated in the protest that began at Pakistan Chowk after Friday prayers.

5a7d9347ba9d8.jpg

A view of the protest in Mardan on Friday.— DawnNews
Holding banners that read "Mashalyon [Mashal supporters], stop us if you can!", the protesters chanted slogans against Mashal and the government.

The demonstration led by Tahaffuz Khatm-i-Nabuwat leader Qari Ikramul Haq demanded that the men convicted for the murder be released.

Several of the men acquitted by the court, including Ajmal Mayar, attended the rally and were given a "Ghazi welcome" [Muslim fighters' welcome].

5a7daa84e6714.jpg

Religious leaders address the rally.— DawnNews

The rally was scheduled to march from Pakistan Chowk to College Chowk, but concluded earlier at Katlang Chowk after a dua (grand prayer) for those acquitted. The protest resulted in heavy traffic jams in the area.

Advocate Syed Akhtar, a JI leader and one of the counsels of the accused in the Mashal Khan murder case, in his address to the rally said the "entire ummah" stands behind those who have been convicted.

He said the protesters wanted to warn the government that if it goes ahead with appealing the acquittal of the 26 men in court, then "we will block the roads".

'Heroes' welcome'
The JI had also held a gathering in Mardan on Thursday to 'welcome' those acquitted by the anti-terrorism court (ATC).

On Wednesday night, a jubilant crowd of religious party workers had gathered at the Mardan Motorway Interchange to "welcome" the 26 "heroes" who had been acquitted by the court, and to protest the ATC's verdict against the 31 convicts.

The charged crowd chanted slogans against the murdered student and vowed to "move the Supreme Court against the verdict".

At least six of the acquitted reached Mardan on Wednesday night. One of the acquitted, Aizaz, was welcomed and garlanded enthusiastically by the crowd.

Aizaz, who was showered with petals and carried on the shoulders of supporters, addressed the crowd in Pashto, vowing that anyone who committed blasphemy or spoke against Khatm-i-Nabuwwat would "meet the same end as Mashal".

It is pertinent to note here that the joint investigation team (JIT) tasked by the court with probing the murder of Mashal Khan found the student had not committed blasphemy. The JIT in its report stated that a group in the university had incited a mob against the 23-year-old on pretext of blasphemy.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1388351/s...rotest-conviction-of-31-men-in-mashals-murder

God help us. These people are united in supporting cold blooded murders, if these are the things this country gets united for then we are well and truly stuffed.

Looking at the mentality of people nowadays , I myself avoid to speak on religion in public places.

Thanks to Allah... Sindh is safe from mullaism .

What is becoming of Pakistan?
Only Allah can help Pakistan now.
The grip of maulvis has grown too much

What is becoming of Pakistan?
Only Allah can help Pakistan now.
The grip of maulvis has grown too much
Pakistanis failed to defend the truth against falsehoods wielded by militants. First it was Jews, then Hindus, then Bengalis, then Ahmadis.... and today's it's Muslims. So now celebrates the success that false accusations of blasphemy resulted in religious murder. Because even though it was false it was a demonstration of power they wield that others won't challenge.

wow, an Israeli speaks the truth
I am surprised

Rok sako to rok lo bhai esa kia masla hai?
in the words of great Prime Minister of Pakistan, Mr. Gilani 'whose stopping you`?'

wow, an Israeli speaks the truth
I am surprised
I'm an American, not an Israeli. Had Pakistani/Bangladeshi neighbors as a kid, Pakistani classmates in college, and used to have business-related contact with folks from Pakistan every week or so.

Every people, every culture, has its strengths, weaknesses, and taboos. Pakistanis strike me as a mix of greed, hubris, blind faith, and cowardice typical of peoples who lived for centuries under an authoritarian regime. So Pakistanis let militants win because acceding to intolerance seems safest for them personally, have pride in their state's demonstrated strength, have no inherent respect for social goods that get in the way of making a quick buck, and make up their subconsciously-known moral deficiencies in the sense of sanctity gained by collectively bashing those who step out of the state's ideological line. The last is what we're seeing today.

Changing such a culture is possible. But I can't think of any examples, modern or ancient, where that didn't mean that culture getting bashed in a war or civil war where both sides suffered casualties.

And now's the point where cries of yahoodi sazish, etc. crop up, yes? So you drop it rather than being accused of being a foreign agent - because, of course, cases like Mashal demonstrate that false accusations are as acceptable to militants as real ones and you want to live, right?

"Stop us if you can" - the challenge is open and Pakistanis' failure to resist is evident.

The paradox of tolerance is that the tolerant must eventually yield to the rule of the intolerant, or leave, or become intolerant themselves. And in America I've never met an intolerant Pakistani.

The opposition to mullahism are too cowardly to oppose these cavemen
well duhh, they dont want to be killed

I'm an American, not an Israeli. Had Pakistani/Bangladeshi neighbors as a kid, Pakistani classmates in college, and used to have business-related contact with folks from Pakistan every week or so.

Every people, every culture, has its strengths, weaknesses, and taboos. Pakistanis strike me as a mix of greed, hubris, blind faith, and cowardice typical of peoples who lived for centuries under an authoritarian regime. So Pakistanis let militants win because acceding to intolerance seems safest for them personally, have pride in their state's demonstrated strength, have no inherent respect for social goods that get in the way of making a quick buck, and make up their subconsciously-known moral deficiencies in the sense of sanctity gained by collectively bashing those who step out of the state's ideological line. The last is what we're seeing today.

Changing such a culture is possible. But I can't think of any examples, modern or ancient, where that didn't mean that culture getting bashed in a war or civil war where both sides suffered casualties.

And now's the point where cries of yahoodi sazish, etc. crop up, yes? So you drop it rather than being accused of being a foreign agent - because, of course, cases like Mashal demonstrate that false accusations are as acceptable to militants as real ones and you want to live, right?

"Stop us if you can" - the challenge is open and Pakistanis' failure to resist is evident.

The paradox of tolerance is that the tolerant must eventually yield to the rule of the intolerant, or leave, or become intolerant themselves. And in America I've never met an intolerant Pakistani.
Called you an Israeli because you had an Israeli flag in your dp.
but I have to agree with most of what you said,
I hope we as Pakistanis can improve ourselves and make ourselves better

It might sound like a rant but this cant be stopped unless the unislamic draconian blasphemy law is reversed. The madness will increase day by day. It can be compared to a zombie movie for real. Disease increases day by day!
First win the jihad within, then talk about enforcing sharia on others

This is what is Pakistan's real enemy.
India Afghanistan America can necer harm youbas much as u can do it yourself.
Propping up religious partues n involvingvreligion in evry state dissicions have both positive n negative outcomes.
How government and court reacts is intresting to see.
If with the baboons then the state authority is challenged n if againstvthen this religious fanatics will ruin all the peace achived after years of military campains for peace.

Drop JDAM on them problem solved.

You are worthy of the nick you carry.

Yes. We can JDam them.
Yes. We can Daisycutter them.

Question simply is. How much money will we get? Aid or developmental loans? Debts written off?

So per head how much money will you like to have for them?