Skipper Sarfraz makes 'racist' remarks directed at South African batsman

Crixus

Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed was heard on camera making racist remarks directed at South African batsman Andile Phehlukwayo who, along with Hendrick van der Dussen, had guided Proteas to a series-levelling win against the green shirts in the second One-Day International on Tuesday.

As South African batsman Andile Phehlukwayo got lucky despite playing a risky shot, a stump mic picked up Sarfraz saying: "Hey black [man], where is your mother sitting? What prayer did you get her to say for you today?" (Abay kaalay, teri ammi aaj kahan baitheen hain? Kya parhwa ke aya hai aaj tu?)

Telegraph Sport

✔@telegraph_sport

https://twitter.com/telegraph_sport/status/1087930577871929344

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed is at risk of a suspension after stump mics caught him over these racial comments http://bit.ly/2FTNkaI

11:30 PM - Jan 22, 2019

301 people are talking about this

Twitter Ads info and privacy

Up in the commentary box, Mike Haysman was heard asking Ramiz Raja what the captain had said. Raja responded: "Difficult really to translate that. It's a big long sentence. [He's] obviously feeling that the left-hander has been very lucky."

Sarfraz's remarks could land him in hot water if the International Cricket Council decides his comments constitute an offence under its code.

The ICC's Anti-Racism Code for Participants states that the following conduct, if committed by a participant at any time during, or in relation to, an international match, shall amount to an offence: "Engaging in any conduct (whether through the use of language, gestures or otherwise), which is likely to offend, insult, humiliate, intimidate, threaten, disparage or vilify any reasonable person in the position of a player, player support personnel, umpire, match referee, umpire support personnel or any other person (including a spectator) on the basis of their race, religion, culture, colour, descent, national or ethnic origin".

If, after due process is followed and a judicial commissioner has determined that an offence has been committed under the code, the offender will be handed an appropriate sanction depending on whether or not they are a repeat offender.

5c4815fa18f28.jpg

Sanctions for the above-mentioned offences under the ICC's code.

Soon after the match, former paceman Shoaib Akhtar had tweeted that the skipper must "explain himself to the media and public regarding his comments to the batsman".

Shoaib Akhtar

✔@shoaib100mph

https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1087938696756772864

Sarfraz must explain himself to Media & public regarding his comments to batsman..

12:02 AM - Jan 23, 2019

763 people are talking about this

Although the general sentiment among the public on social media appeared to be in Sarfraz's corner, some Twitter users pointed out that the captain's remarks were offensive.

Sports journalist Taha Anis said: "People are actually saying Sarfraz should get away with it because racism is acceptable in Pakistan. Shouldn't he get an even more severe punishment precisely because racism is so accepted that we need to do our best to curb out this menace?"

Taha Anis@Taha_Anis

https://twitter.com/Taha_Anis/status/1087959320308916227

People are actually saying Sarfraz should get away with it because racism is acceptable in Pakistan. Shouldn't he get an even more severe punishment precisely because racism is so accepted that we need to do our best to curb out this menace?

Atiq-uz-Zaman

✔@Atiq160Test

People are gonna exaggerate @SarfarazA_54 comments and gonna make him look racist. There is no way he meant to be racist in his phrase. It's acceptable comments in our language and we often use Gora aur Kaala. He was just joking. Some people actually translating it. #Pathetic

1:24 AM - Jan 23, 2019

See Taha Anis's other Tweets

Asia News International News Editor Smita Prakash pointed out that there is "little awareness that it is a racial slur" in the Indian subcontinent.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1459295/s...ist-remarks-directed-at-south-african-batsman

Come on it's a game and these things should consider as normal.

It's not racist - not in the classical sense anyway. Pakistani's do not have the baggage of slavery and colonialism that Europeans do, we don't have the same "racism" that they do. Reference to skin colour is pretty much like reference to any other physical attribute in our society.

Having said that, references to other physical attributes can also be intended in both an innocent or offensive manner and skin colour is no different. We still have the skin colour complex (fair and lovely says hello) where fairer skin is considered a positive attribute and darker skin a negative attribute (a hang up from our hindu caste linked past). So reference to his skin could have been used in a derogatory manner, despite it not being "racist" as we know it to be in the west.

Also i think it's ridiculous that the captain of our national cricket team is sensitive to race related language when in South Africa of all places!

I'd like to add I'm not a natural urdu speaker. I understand the words and the sentence Sarfraz said, but i'm not sure if it's a common term used by people as an insult.

Also why is he sleding in Urdu? Surely the point is to put off your opponent?

Few points, Sarfraz himself is dark as coal. 2nd its likely not very good idea to call someone "kala" because when translated in English it will sound like racist slur, especially to player of African origin.

Kala just means black guy like gora means white guy. It's not really racist unless you're super sensitive.

And out of all people Shoaib Akhtar is trying to play holier than thou. :lol:

This retard has used every ma paan gaali known to man on the bhartis alone.

Gora aur Kaala. He was just joking. Some people actually translating it
This guy summed it perfectly it wasn't a racist slur if you look from Sarfraz's pov if he wanted to really hurt him and make a racist slur he would've used the proper word in English. It was a light hearted comment but he should've been more careful esp when he was playing in SA against SA. :disagree:

We should support him saying it is norm in Pakistan but we shouldn't use it in international forums.. like we call someone 'lamba', chota, chashmish, even phat-phati to someone's bike etc etc... so he said that but without any racial intention..

Players used worse language including abusive words , calling someone kaala ( dark skinned ) is very common I don't agree with it but it's quite common here . I am myself kaala ( dark skinned ) and been called as joke by my friends .

Few points, Sarfraz himself is dark as coal. 2nd its likely not very good idea to call someone "kala" because when translated in English it will sound like racist slur, especially to player of African origin.
This guy summed it perfectly it wasn't a racist slur if you look from Sarfraz's pov if he wanted to really hurt him and make a racist slur he would've used the proper word in English. It was a light hearted comment but he should've been more careful esp when he was playing in SA against SA. :disagree:

Disgusting. He is black himself, I wonder what he sees when he looks in the mirror.

Pathetic that everyone here is more concerned and discussing about a person being called black.

But non is seem discussing about the language used against someones mother. It's a real shame that the skipper don't know how to respect a mother. :(

Such comments become more pathetic when you are representing your country and using such language and worse part is the person against whom he passed these comments dose not even understand them at that time.... so its mere foolishness.
Pathetic that everyone here is more concerned and discussing about a person being called black.

But non is seem discussing about the language used against someones mother. It's a real shame that the skipper don't know how to respect a mother. :(