Senate resolution against Atif Mian by opposition

Someone rightly pointed out that this wont be an issue if there was a Hindu or Christian Pakistani nominated for this position.

Government should contact Atif Main and tell him that listen mate, this is a once in a life time opportunity for you and your CV, come forward and declare yourself qadyani and your submission to the constitution of Pakistan. This is the only way this issue can be resolved. Otherwise, move on to next candidate.
That someone was me.

Someone rightly pointed out that this wont be an issue if there was a Hindu or Christian Pakistani nominated for this position.

Government should contact Atif Main and tell him that listen mate, this is a once in a life time opportunity for you and your CV, come forward and declare yourself qadyani and your submission to the constitution of Pakistan. This is the only way this issue can be resolved. Otherwise, move on to next candidate.
What if the UK government calls you up and says "Here's the thing mate, give up your religion and declare allegiance to Christianity, otherwise give up your British passport"

Not alot of fun when the shoe is on the other foot is it?

Can't believe that even people living in western democracies can have such jahil mentality. You can take the paindu out of the pind, but can't take the pind out of the paindu.

Globally renowned economist, acclaimed economic writer, and one of the IMF’s ‘top 25 bright, young economists,’ Dr Atif R Mian, has been included in the 18-member Economic Advisory Council (EAC) recently selected by Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Dr Atif has been selected as a private sector of the EAC, and will be serving on the council for the first time. Nearly half of the 11 private sector members of the newly named council have previously served on the EAC that had been appointed under the PML-N Finance Minister Ishaq Dar.

Each incumbent government selects its own EAC which consists of a number of private sector numbers in addition to the seven official members which includes the Finance minister, the Minister for Planning and development, the Governor State Bank and others involved in this sector of government.

Dr Atif is John H. Laporte, Jr. Class of 1967 Professor of Economics, Public Policy and Finance at Princeton University, and director of the Julis-Rabinowitz Center for Public Policy and Finance at the Woodrow Wilson School.

He is the first and only person of Pakistani origins to have been named on the IMF’s list of ‘top 25 brightest young economists.’

The 39 year old has dedicated his time to studying the connections between finance and the macro economy. An expert on international debt markets, his latest book, House of Debt, builds on data to describe how debt precipitated the ‘Great Recession’. He is often the go-to economist for the world media on the subject.

Dr Atif Mian has been a name Imran Khan has been mentioning since at least 2014, when he was still leading the PTI sit-in against the PML-N government. Soon after Dr Atif was included in the IMF’s list of 25 brightest young economists, the now Prime Minister had said during a speech that he would never compromise on merit and would have people like Dr Atif Mian as his Finance Minister when he came to power instead of his relatives.

However, the matter had gone sour after Imran received flak from religious quarters for saying he would appoint a member of the Ahmadiyya community like Dr Atif to such high office. Imran Khan had soon after retracted his statement, saying he had not known that Dr Atif belonged to the Ahmadiyya community.

Dr Atif Mian is considered by some to be the best economist that Pakistan has on hand, and is certainly the brightest prospect the country has at his relatively young age. Soon after coming to prominence in Pakistan, he had commented on the state of Pakistan’s economy, saying that the foremost challenge it faces is boosting domestic productive capacity. “The low export numbers tell us that Pakistanis have trouble producing good quality products that they can then sell to the outside world” he had said.

The systematic erosion of space for tolerance, plurality and peaceful coexistence is Pakistan’s core problem, Mian says, and that the ‘rule of just law’ has been replaced by religious extremism and violence.

“It is this core issue that separates Pakistan from Bangladesh and India, and restricts Pakistan’s growth potential.”

Dr Atif will be one of the 11 private sector members who will give their input and economic advice to the government. Prime Minister Imran Khan has decided to chair the EAC himself.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...-bright-young-economists-named-in-imrans-eac/
—————-
@Zibago @janbaaz @pak_marine @Zarvan
@Eagle

Merit is not an issue here but his religious affiliation. This issue is so complex and very few may speak about the same on the basis of history, knowledge & even Islamic Education. There are two opinions currently from each side.

The one says that Atif has been appointed on his merit & portfolio as an adviser like many others in the team. The other side is criticizing him to be Minority only.

I have been reading a lot of analysis about Atif and his approach in different domains about Pakistan. Don't want to create a chaos here, hence, not sharing whatever is being observed about him. However, on few occasions, it has been observed that Atif sees on economic progress whereby he used to ignore our strategic & foreign diplomatic circumstances. In the same zeal towards economic growth & betterment, on some occasions that I read as such about him; found him a bit contradicting in accordance to Pakistan Strategical & Foreign Diplomatic SOPs. So far, his role is not a policy maker but an adviser, as said like many other in the team; only time will tell his addition being fruitful if his approach & advise is not influenced by his personal opinion. Till, he is able to maintain the difference between these lines such as personal approach as compare to best national interest, the things may float towards betterment. Since he is not a decision maker or a legislator at all; this development will uphold IK decision on positive note.

He is part of the group that cries when their right to discriminate against others is taken away

Such Atif guy? Do you even know his credentials?
He is a globally renowned economist i totally back the pm on this one

Beta tera emaan agar aik Marzayi sey kharab ho raha to masla Marzayi mdin nahi terey emaan mein hy :D
And you are a part of which holy group?

Aur tera eeman agar aik mirzai kay ishq men mubtila ho gya hai tou mirzai se bara masla tera eeman hai :)

Kal ko tera eeman Geert Wilders jesay gustakh kay difa men josh maray ga agar Wilders merit pe kisi position pe a gya.

What if the UK government calls you up and says "Here's the thing mate, give up your religion and declare allegiance to Christianity, otherwise give up your British passport"

Not alot of fun when the shoe is on the other foot is it?

Can't believe that even people living in western democracies can have such jahil mentality. You can take the paindu out of the pind, but can't take the pind out of the paindu.
The brainwashed lot in western countries is way worse than the lot here they actually idealize religious bigotry despite knowing its flaws

PM Khan and Pak Army are cool with pro minority stances you stand with rejected Fazlu for what you want :D
Your religion is khan and bajwa then masla khan aur bajwa men nahi, masla teray eeman men hai [emoji3]

And you are a part of which holy group?

Aur tera eeman agar aik mirzai kay ishq men mubtila ho gya hai tou mirzai se bara masla tera eeman hai :)

Kal ko tera eeman Geert Wilders jesay gustakh kay difa men josh maray ga agar Wilders merit pe kisi position pe a gya.
Just an ordinary Pakistani who also happens to live in Pakistan and not in a non muslim country unlike some hypocrites here :D

That someone was me.

Its not like Muslims didn't have minorities as their advisors. Ottomans used to have Jews in high positions of power. Close to home, Mughals used to have Hindus as advisors in high positions.

If this person can declare his allegiance and submission to the constitution of Pakistan, I personally have no issues with his appointment.

The brainwashed lot in western countries is way worse than the lot here they actually idealize religious bigotry despite knowing its flaws
As Fawad Chaudry said Atif Mian is not being inducted in Islamic Council, he is being inducted in Economic Advisory Council and the only thing should matter are his credentials in his field.

I bet all those questioning Atif Mian's selection cannot even hold a two minute conversation with him regarding economics.

Its not like Muslims didn't have minorities as their advisors. Ottomans used to have Jews in high positions of power. Close to home, Mughals used to have Hindus as advisors in high positions.

If this person can declare his allegiance and submission to the constitution of Pakistan, I personally have no issues with his appointment.
Yup..
Maanay k men kaafir hun then we have no beef with his appointment.

Your religion is khan and bajwa then masla khan aur bajwa men nahi, masla teray eeman men hai
emoji3.png
Oh no not all they will be gine in few years but protection for minorities will increase soon the dallah rizvi lot will be made history :D
As Fawad Chaudry said Atif Mian is not being inducted in Islamic Council, he is being inducted in Economic Advisory Council and the only thing should matter are his credentials in his field.

I bet all those questioning Atif Mian's selection cannot even hold a two minute conversation with him regarding economics.
Maybe the justification will be chandey sey mulk chalayein gay
Thats what their dallah e azam urf Dangar Rizvi said

Oh no not all they will be gine in few years but protection for minorities will increase soon the dallah rizvi lot will be made history :D

Maybe the justification will be chandey sey mulk chalayein gay
Thats what their dallah e azam urf Dangar Rizvi said
You happen to be obsessed with Rizwi as well. Goes on to show that your thoughts and posts are a reaction to the guy rather than based on solid principles and morals.
You are a reactionary zealot, doesn't make you much different from the extremists you're obsessed with.

They want him removed they dont care about his allegiance

You happen to be obsessed with Rizwi as well. Goes on to show that your thoughts and posts are a reaction to the guy rather than based on solid principles and morals.
You are a reactionary zealot, doesn't make you much different from the extremists you're obsessed with.
Lets just say new ttp, s need be called out before they go kaboom its not like religious nutjobs dont have a history of going kaboom

I live in Rawalpindi. Google kar lo, Pakistan men hi hai.
I live right next to it perhaps you can use your proximitto Islamabad to your advantage and find economists capabke of replacing Atif Mian