#RemoveMughalsFromBooks: Bhakts campaign on Twitter to erase Mughal history from school books

INDIAPOSITIVE

#RemoveMughalsFromBooks: Bhakts campaign on Twitter to erase Mughal history from school books
On Wednesday, the hashtag #RemoveMughalsFromBooks, was one of the top trends of Twitter. The topic of debate- whether Mughal history should be taught to children in schools or not.
India.com News DeskonMarch 2, 2016 at 10:18 AMEmail
1Shares
Comments
rahman.jpg

March 2: Sanghis it seems have no other issues to raise and hence, taking a leaf out of their respected Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani, are running a campaign to review and selectively ‘cleanse’ the history syllabus being taught in schools across the country. A few days after Irani raised questions in the Parliament at the content in a class 4 teacher’s handbook, a trend has emerged, on the microblogging website Twitter, to remove Mughal history from textbooks being taught in schools.

On Wednesday, the hashtag #RemoveMughalsFromBooks, was one of the top trends of Twitter. The topic of the debate was whether Mughal history should be celebrated or taught to our children in schools or not. The central argument of those in favour of removing Mughals from history, was that Mughal rulers looted and plundered Indian lands, destroyed Hindu temples and monuments, and converted thousands of Hindus. Sanghi twitterati rallied around this argument and pushed for replacement of Mughal history with stories of ‘real heroes’, as some of them put it.Also Read: Smriti Irani on school books: Will abide by constitutional modalities

And of course the argument of the destruction of Ram Temple by Babur, featured as one of the arguments..

Narendra Modi Fan‎@Narendramodi_G
1528 AD – Mir Baki, the Commander-in-Chief of Babur destroys the Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Temple at Ayodhya.#RemoveMughalsFromBooks

8:59 PM - 1 Mar 2016

There were also some who ridiculed the trend and the arguments that it’s based on and responded with sarcasm and humour. People raised the questions on the argument that a part of the history should be removed, saying that hushing up the truth about India’s past cannot make it disappear- because, you know, logic.

Ccg1vc9W0AAaYbW.jpg

Visa‎@Visa83949083
#RemoveMughalsFromBooks
Sanghies playing emotional trick. Making people believe that whatever RSS does is correct.

9:04 AM - 2 Mar 2016

Sandeep Roy‎@sandeeproy1
So, the British came and won the country from no one?#RemoveMughalsFromBooks

8:56 AM - 2 Mar 2016

dhiraj tiwari‎@djmadguy
Where will the historical monuments go?? Will bhakts try to remove them too, which were made by mugals??
#RemoveMughalsFromBooks

We’ll let this tweet have the last word. Enough said.

Be'Havin!‎@WrongDoc

Denial and repressing memory are the immature defense mechanisms of a traumatized society. That's what#RemoveMughalsFromBookssuggests.

#RemoveMughalsFromBooks: Bhakts campaign on Twitter to erase Mughal history from school books | Latest News & Gossip on Popular Trends at India.com

why not remove all other countries from history too??

by the way, the indian airforce designation for the mi-35 helicopter gunship is 'akbar' :

Mi-35_Hind_Akbar.jpg

we must hasten to rename this as 'savarkar'.

however, going by the "swadeshi" ideology of the sangh, neither this ussr/russian helicopter should remain nor should the concept of helicopters must exist.

as sangh ideologues and thinkers have told us, we must promote 'make in india' with the objective of making vedic aircrafts and spacecrafts and automobiles.

"they" have already removed Dravidian history of AIT , erased Tamil link to IVC by banning IVC sport - Jallikattu , trying hard to remove Tamil (in the name of integration) by imposing a Mughal court language i.e Urdu aka Hindi

I am against removing mughals from history books. I am no fan of mughals but our future generations needs to learn importance of unity. They need to know what happens when we are divided. As long as we are united no power on earth can enslave us. We will destroy whole world rather than living in slavery.

Legitimate demand.... Modi ji should reward his bhakts for electing him by fulfilling their nanhi muni khawahish.

"they" have already removed Dravidian history of AIT , erased Tamil link to IVC by banning IVC sport - Jallikattu , trying hard to remove Tamil (in the name of integration) by imposing a Mughal court language i.e Urdu aka Hindi

See that....that's my middle finger waving across your face in response to your crude attempts to hijack south relations with India.

Tamizhan Da- Indian Da...ellam onnu than.

Foreign dynasty or not, its part of your history and that is that.

This is just a fringe group. The rest of India looks at them as a part of our history. These guys just rabble rouse and die down.

See that....that's my middle finger waving across your face in response to your crude attempts to hijack south relations with India.

Tamizhan Da- Indian Da...ellam onnu than.

This is just a fringe group. The rest of India looks at them as a part of our history. These guys just rabble rouse and die down.

What do they teach about you in India about Babur? Fun fact: Turkey actually considers the Mughal empire part of its history(based on dynastic grounds, though personally it seems exaggerated). For example one of the 16 stars of the seal of presidency is dedicated to the Mughal empire, though we dont call it like that, instead we say Babur imparatorlugu(Babur empire).

No need to remove Mughals or Muslim rule/rulers from history books when you guys are so good in twisting history to portray all of them villain and evil people

It is not possible to brainwash school children by editing text books in the Internet age. Children can now do their own research and read whatever they want. 1947 partition could not take place had Internet existed then.

Even though they left iconic and crucial marks on India and Indian people history? One of the most iconic Indian landmark such as the Taj Mahal amd the Red Fort was build by them.
Icionic and Crucial marks? we know how you guys deal with Pre-Islamic monuments or icons? WHEN YOUR PROPHET DESTROYED IT ALL? WHY SHOULD WE ? When it comes to matching our adversaries ? we will give up our life. At least i would kill before i die.

No need to remove Mughals or Muslim rule/rulers from history books when you guys are so good in twisting history to portray all of them villain and evil people
Chupkar, oye!
Bahut jyaada ho gaya.
Woh to villain hain hi? aur kya Dandoora peetna chahiye uske barein mein?( jo hamare pardada bolte thee,inke baarein mein?

Let these Pakistanis know I AM SHUDRA, and i don't understand what these Pakistani idiots are speaking about?

This is long needed activity.
Mughal empire did not cover even 1/3rd of india.
not sure why our history books so much importance to them!?