Positive news on Pakistan economy amidst media negativity and war scare

It is good news but there are many current factories which are not utilizing their capacity in full and efficiency is lower,buying new industrial land will only benefit when these factories produce at optimal level otherwise there is a risk that investors may use these acquired land for real estate purposes to clean their black money so govt should monitor and regulate their activities closely to ensure they are actually utilized for production

I seriously think a mega country like Pakistan can only be governed by collective wisdom of all stake holders. Providing long term stability,security and authority to implement reforms. This is a huge subject and needs all heads for massive brain storming.

Thanks for sharing

Abay kia thanks for sharing. Yahan bhi hamarai L lagay hoye hain

Sind has PPP infestation or parasites while Punjab is way ahead.

One good thing I learned during the dinner and later discussions is that some not all industrialists are now aiming for Value Addition, product diversification, importance of tax payments, rights as tax payers, joint ventures, international collaboration, modernization/technology, less reliance on imports and a desire to improve exports.

They realize that the next export competition beyond, T Shirts, socks, under garments, bed sheets is stitched shirts and trousers and they are getting ready for that.

Additionally now some of them have realized that in order to ensure consistent quality the need to have an end to end product solution, from cotton to yarn to cloth to end product and they are working towards that end. Although I did meet an equally idiot industrialist whose sole pride is that they are in this business for 50 years and know it better than anyone else. For such groups my take is that in the next two decades they will either cease to exist or may be learn, my bet is on the prior one. But the ones who I think are the future are the ones who are learning required skills and they are the future of this country.

Sir, our problem is that we are not objective and fair in our assessment. We are emotional people and let our emotions cloud our brain. If someone is angry with govt for some reason..may be it is tax collection, or some shopkeeper is extorting money through high profits, or may the person is not happy the way govt is handling the Kashmir issue, he or she will paint the govt as failure and ignore all the positive steps taken by the PM.
PM IK started with the austerity drive from the day one. He auctioned all extra vehicles, cut the staff and decided to live in a much smaller house but the critics just barked against him while every sane and honest person will appreciate him for taking these steps.

Emotional, irrational, sentimental we are but I guess that how most of the nation's are we have a larger share though, these things take time because in this case we are talking about mindset change.

Many of the people think that IKs earlier decisions of austerity, selling buffaloes, small house were all cosmetic but they are not cosmetic international community sees these steps differently.

I was in Faisalabad since yesterday and met some key industrialists, chamber of commerce and another Govt department after those meetings I thought amidst all negative propaganda about Pakistan by media, foreigners and desi accomplices let me share some positive things which are happening to Pakistan’s economy.

First M3 Industrial Park which is over 4000 Acres is now fully subscribed, over 80% of the industrial plots have either started operations or in the process of fast track completion. Many existing industrialist have upgraded their machinery, methods. Diversified their product lines, gone into new ventures with local international joint ventures. Some premium international brands are also included, I ‘ll not name them. One Turkish unit has already started operations, the tax collection is growing substantially. There is no shortage of electricity and on top of everything the infrastructure from phone lines, to roads is highly appreciated by the industrialists and one Govt Deptt which is pushing hard, strangely for positive improvement.

They are acquiring another 3300 acres land, really motivating factor is before acquisition already 35% of it is sold, and they told me that in order to satisfy the demand they will have to increase the new one to 10,000 acres. On a lighter note they were making fund that this will be the first true SEZ part of CPEC which will become operational, K.P is still acquiring land and planning; Sind has PPP infestation or parasites while Punjab is way ahead. This Deptt was set up by previous Govt, but the new one is pushing the limits by already putting in place power infrastructure through NTDC which will have 4 times the capacity of existing Faisalabad power requirement, planning is being done for setting up independent GENCO.

Strangest thing the industrialists shared was that Punjab and federal bureaucracy along FBR is not only positively supportive but removing hurdles as well. There are regular meetings between senior reps of Federal Govt with all stake holders and PM is getting frequent feedback on the project.

Some people were so positive that they said this SEZ will Inshallah extend to Lahore including Jaranwala, Sheikhupura, etc.

After that met one export tycoon of apparel, well more on that and some other good news later or some other thread.

The whole point of making this thread is share positive news about the country, I don’t trust the politicians, the bureaucrats but when a businessman say he is so optimist about Pakistan that he is taking a multibillion risk by setting up a new unit, I trust him because this is the guy who knows what he is doing and he must have done ample homework.

@Mangus Ortus Novem , @Dubious something to cherish
@The Accountant belated tagging sorry.

Good progress on M3 City, 14k acres mean it will be one of biggest industrial parks in Pakistan. Being on motorway also mean they can expand quite a bit. Still believe Lahore and Karachi shouldn't have any more industrial units. It should be spread to other smaller cities. So if they have to expand then take northen or southern route of motorway instead of eastern towards Lahore.

The land is becoming very expensive in Karachi and also Lahore so industrialists don't have much options but to move out.

Good progress on M3 City, 14k acres mean it will be one of biggest industrial parks in Pakistan. Being on motorway also mean they can expand quite a bit. Still believe Lahore and Karachi shouldn't have any more industrial units. It should be spread to other smaller cities. So if they have to expand then take northen or southern route of motorway instead of eastern towards Lahore.

The land is becoming very expensive in Karachi and also Lahore so industrialists don't have much options but to move out.

I cannot name but some industrialists from Karachi have acquired land in the M3 Industrial Zone, what I see is that this might become the largest industrial area in Pakistan, it is already earmarked as SEZ for CPEC.

I’m involved with Tech and often visit Tech stores and have many people as close friends and family in the business. I hear good news from them too. Although they have always agreed that the new taxes and duties plus stricter imports are hurting their sales. But much to my surprise, they’re all very supportive of these taxes. Not all the people of Pakistan as so shortsighted as to only care for the “now” many of them see how it’s the right thing and will help them in the future. They’ve also told me how active the PTA has been recently and most of all praised the fact that Load shedding and such nuances have almost disappeared.

Emotional, irrational, sentimental we are but I guess that how most of the nation's are we have a larger share though, these things take time because in this case we are talking about mindset change.

Many of the people think that IKs earlier decisions of austerity, selling buffaloes, small house were all cosmetic but they are not cosmetic international community sees these steps differently.

We have a lot bigger share of irrational and unstable idiots than any of the nation we want to compete with in progress and technology..however Gangudash is an exception.

None of that was cosmetic..only mentally retard sickoos will say so. Those were extremely important and deep measures taken with utmost sincerity since he did not need to take such steps to get popularity because he was just elected and he was at the peak of his popularity and secondly it was going to affect his own life. Living is a smaller home than his own at Bani Gala and reducing the number of cars and staffs. All these robbers have been spending the hard earned money by the poor nation on these luxuries and they will be held responsible for this on day of judgement if not in this world. He in fact had a very good excuse to continue because those were already purchased by the previous govts.