PM Modi saves 8-year-old Agra Muslim girl's life

Bang Galore

PM Modi saves 8-year-old Agra Muslim girl's life
Siraj Qureshi Agra, May 20, 2015 | UPDATED 20:47 IST

With the cost of treatment of even minor ailments becoming more and more expensive, obtaining a health insurance has become imperative for everyone who can afford it. But for 8-year-old Tyeba from Agra, Prime Minister Narendra Modi proved to be the best health policy the little girl could ever buy.
taiyaba-650_052015074147.jpg
Tyeba

A resident of Mantola area in Agra, Tyeba, daughter of Mohd Khalid and a student at the Anwari Nilofar School, had a defective valve in her heart and was living a difficult life, often having to be hospitalised or treated for the ailment. A footwear factory worker, Khalid could hardly afford the expensive treatment in Delhi hospitals, as suggested by the doctors. With Tyeba's condition deteriorating day by day, Khalid also tried to get Tyeba admitted into the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). But he could not even get an appointment with the consulting doctors, let alone getting her treated.

Two weeks back, when her condition became critical, Khalid took Tyeba to Agra-based Dr SK Kalra, who had just returned from Nepal where he was volunteering as a part of the government's relief crew. Considering the financial condition of Khalid, Dr Kalra suggested that Tyeba should write to PM Modi, also the father of government's 'Beti bachao, Beti padhao' campaign.

letter_650_052015081336.jpg
Inspired by Dr Kalra's words, Tyeba wrote a touching letter to Modi, requesting his help in getting a better treatment which was beyond the financial ability of her parents. Touched by the 8-year-old's appeal, the Prime Minister's Office immediately responded to the letter and arranged for her treatment at New Delhi's GB Pant Hospital, where all the expenses incurred in her treatment will be borne by the government. Khalid also received another letter from the Health Ministry, asking him to report to the hospital as soon as possible so that Tyeba's treatment could begin.

Talking to India Today, Khalid said it was all a dream for him. Writing a letter to Modi was the last-ditch attempt for him. To find that Modi actually took cognizance of the letter and arranged for his daughter's treatment was beyond his belief. He said that he wants his daughter to grow healthy and strong soon, so that she can continue her studies and serve other sick people by becoming a doctor herself.

Expressing pleasure at the step taken by the Prime Minister to ensure health support to Tyeba, prominent industrialist and chairman of Agra Footwear Manufacturers and Exporters Chamber, Puran Dawar, said that after a long time, India has found a compassionate prime minister who actually listens to the 'mann ki baat' of the people and acts on it. "It shows the commitment of the Prime Minister towards the welfare of poor, without any consideration of caste of religion," he said.

"If every politician in India could take a page out of the Prime Minister's book and finance the treatment of at least two underprivileged kids every year, this country will be blooming with new blood that is willing to work for the betterment of this country," Dawar added.

Read more at: PM Modi saves 8-year-old Agra Muslim girl's life : India, News - India Today

LOL, thousands die in india on daily basis from hunger and sickness, and they found one "Muslim" kid for the propaganda. grow up kids, open your eyes and look around

This is what Muslims in India are reduced to, a minority of beggars. Have you seen the labor statistics of Hindu Muslim ratio of workers. Muslim workers are being cast aside like trash so they can't even help their own daughters.

Man she looks pale,suffering from Hypoxia her lips they have a tinge of blue.
Thank god she was operated.
If it was just a hole in the heart which is normal in case of Patent Ductus Arteriosus.(pda) in some newborns.
Then Indometachin would do as the first line of treatment, and later on using the stents.
But she required surgery later on, I guess its a case of Rheumatic Fever or
Infective Endocarditis.

This is what Muslims in India are reduced to, a minority of beggars. Have you seen the labor statistics of Hindu Muslim ratio of workers. Muslim workers are being cast aside like trash so they can't even help their own daughters.
Tu rahega chutiya! How many Muslims from Bharat are trying to run to emigrate to Pakistan? While we have a steady flow of Hindus coming from Pakistan who don't want to go back!

Is she Muslim or Indian?
So Prime Minister of Hindus saves a Non-Hindu living in India....great news

As opposed to what? Pakistanis needing Indian money to treat their daughters?

Mumbaikars Join Hands to Save This Pakistani Teen Suffering From Rare Genetic Disorder!

Even though we do not have the best of relations with our neighbor, Pakistan, but when it comes to saving a child's life, help from India is ever forthcoming.

Mumbai city has opened its heart for an ailing a 15-year old from Pakistan's Karachi. Saba Tarikh Ahmed is suffering from a rare, genetic disorder called Wilson's disease. In this, copper accumulates in the body’s vital organs and gradually degenerates organs like the liver and brain. Nazia, Saba's mother, brought her to Mumbai with immense hope of getting the right treatment for her daughter.

“High doses of wrong medication have taken their toll on Saba, who has become frail and weak. Eventually when the right diagnosis was made, doctors back home advised that they were ill-equipped to handle the situation and India was the optimum choice, keeping in mind our financial constraints. What we are experiencing is total love and affection, (which) one would expect only from close family members,” said Nazia was quoted telling Mid Day.

After failing to get her daughter the right medical treatment in Karachi, Nazia came to India's financial capital with only Rs 80,000. But it was obvious that the treatment would cost much more. Mumbaikars willingly extended a helping hand when Nazia's sister appealed for donation via social media. Donations worth over 1.5 lakh poured in from strangers and social workers.

Saba's treatment at the Jaslok Hospital which has so far costed around Rs 2 Lakh had a major chunk of the capital coming in from donations. Even doctors made an all out effort in assuring Nazia that money won't come in the way of her daughter's treatment.

"People told me not to tell anyone I was from Pakistan, but I didn't want to lie. I knew the doctors in India were good and I had faith that they would treat my daughter, but the kind of love and affection Hindustan has showered us with is touching," Nazia told NDTV.

Now in a much better condition, Saba's treatment will still take more time. But the love that Mumbaikars showered on her, the help and cooperation from doctors has certainly given the girl a new ray of hope.

Mumbaikars Join Hands to Save This Pakistani Teen Suffering From Rare Genetic Disorder!

LOL, thousands die in india on daily basis from hunger and sickness, and they found one "Muslim" kid for the propaganda. grow up kids, open your eyes and look around

Keep your propaganda for some place else. It was not Modi's office that is sensationalizing this issue. It was published by just another Modi-baiter media outlet that usually runs articles criticizing Modi.

In any case, this is not the first such instance. There have been several in the past that got unexpected help/calls from Modi. This just happened to be a Muslim.

Again, only a bigoted person will look for the religion before helping somebody!

What an insensitive comment! For every Muslim who goes hungry, there are several Hindus, Sikhs and Buddhists that go through the same too! Poverty, hunger knows no religion! Only lack of education, birth control and women empowerment brought on by blind religious beliefs are the causes of poverty!

The state of UP from which this girl comes, has been ruled for a long time by parties with sizable Muslims as well. Get your facts straight before uttering something which is invariably bigoted!

Even though we do not have the best of relations with our neighbor, Pakistan, but when it comes to saving a child's life, help from India is ever forthcoming.

Mumbai city has opened its heart for an ailing a 15-year old from Pakistan's Karachi. Saba Tarikh Ahmed is suffering from a rare, genetic disorder called Wilson's disease. In this, copper accumulates in the body’s vital organs and gradually degenerates organs like the liver and brain. Nazia, Saba's mother, brought her to Mumbai with immense hope of getting the right treatment for her daughter.

“High doses of wrong medication have taken their toll on Saba, who has become frail and weak. Eventually when the right diagnosis was made, doctors back home advised that they were ill-equipped to handle the situation and India was the optimum choice, keeping in mind our financial constraints. What we are experiencing is total love and affection, (which) one would expect only from close family members,” said Nazia was quoted telling Mid Day.

After failing to get her daughter the right medical treatment in Karachi, Nazia came to India's financial capital with only Rs 80,000. But it was obvious that the treatment would cost much more. Mumbaikars willingly extended a helping hand when Nazia's sister appealed for donation via social media. Donations worth over 1.5 lakh poured in from strangers and social workers.

Saba's treatment at the Jaslok Hospital which has so far costed around Rs 2 Lakh had a major chunk of the capital coming in from donations. Even doctors made an all out effort in assuring Nazia that money won't come in the way of her daughter's treatment.

"People told me not to tell anyone I was from Pakistan, but I didn't want to lie. I knew the doctors in India were good and I had faith that they would treat my daughter, but the kind of love and affection Hindustan has showered us with is touching," Nazia told NDTV.

Now in a much better condition, Saba's treatment will still take more time. But the love that Mumbaikars showered on her, the help and cooperation from doctors has certainly given the girl a new ray of hope.

You need to understand these tribal Pakistanis.They think the world is present in their land,Until they have to take a Visa to come to Bharat (Their sworn enemy) to get treated .
They cannot do simple and Complex Surgical Procedures.Their Medical Standard is still the same what we had during Partition(might have improved a bit though)but nowhere around us.
Yeh lo ji their Pacer Wasim Akram talking about the lack of Opportunities or rather the Neglect by PCB!
Saying "Agar mein STAR Sports aur IPL choordunga toh, kya yaha Amrooud Bechunga"?

looks like i lit a match right underneath your hole
Meh, I talk from experience.I treated and treat many Pakistani Patients.
So yeah,shame on you and your NATION, who cannot do what we do here for your own Citizens.Nakhre mat dikhao miyan, hamare samne.(bro,don't show your arrogance here in front of us we know what you are).

Even after 26/11 Mumbaikars helped her. Now this report shows who wants good relations
with neighbours...
@Bang Galore
Thanks for nice report.You deserve positive rating