PM Modi orders bureaucrats to clean Public toilets on national holiday

waheed gul

d8cf805dd949624c8f79ba612e1593df.jpg

India: Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has ordered his bureaucrats to come in to work to clean up their offices — including toilets — on this week’s national holiday to celebrate Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday.

The move is part of a nationwide cleanliness drive to be launched by Modi on the holiday Thursday, with the premier himself expected to take a broom to the capital’s notoriously dirty streets.

The initiative has sparked grumblings by officials from India’s infamously slow and vast bureaucracy who say the request to work, although theoretically voluntary, cannot be ignored.

Modi has cracked down on officials since storming to power in May elections, demanding they turn up to work at 9 am and paying unannounced visits to government offices.

“We have already been turning up on time and working till late (since Modi took office). Now we have been asked to wield the broom and we might as well do so,” one reluctant official told AFP in New Delhi on Tuesday.

- See more at: PM Modi orders bureaucrats to clean Public toilets on national holiday | The News Informer

. . . . . . .
Congress valon ne bhi aisa nahi kiya hoga.. jo BJP karvaa rahi hein

Great move Modi ji. Make sure their wives supervise their work on that day :D

Bhai Sahib apniii khair manooo....what if Bhabi inspired by this gets you to clean every nook & cranny of the house while she sits on a sofa sipping a glass of Mint Margarita & telling you 'Jaldiii karoooo.....udhar seh theeek seh karooo.....' ! :unsure:

Oh wait....doesn't she already do that ! :sarcastic:

Why does Modi keep bringing up the toilet issue....doesn't India have bigger problems???

We have hundreds of problems all equally pressing or urgent.

As a Nation and as a Government we have to address many problems simultaneously. For example - Modi is touring so many countries and has launched a national 'Make in India' mission to encourage all companies to manufacture in India, not just use India as a Services base.

Similarly, Cleanliness and sanitation is also a pressing issue that has multi-dimentional impact - from loss of billions of dollars in due to bad health of Indians to loss of tens of billions of dollars each year in lost tourism opportunities because of lack of adequate sanitation.

I would commend Modi for taking forward economic and social issues simultaneously...and hopefully deliver results in both spheres.