Pakistan’s 2020 economic growth to slow to 2.7%: World Bank

cerberus

Germany
Pakistan’s economic growth will decelerate or slow to 3.4% in the 2019 financial year and 2.7% in the 2020 financial year.

The World Bank released a report in which it said this was the result of fiscal and monetary policies being tightened to address macroeconomic imbalances.

Domestic demand is expected to contract while at the same time export growth will be gradual, stated the report, adding that the agriculture and industrial sectors will grow less in these fiscal Year
Growth is expected to recover to 4% in the 2021 fiscal year as structural reforms take effect and macroeconomic conditions improve.

Remittances flows are likely to support the current account balance next year, according to the report. A more stable external environment will also support a pickup in economic activity starting from 2021.

Related: Dollar crosses Rs143 mark in the open market

According to the World Bank, the trade deficit is projected to remain high in 2019 but will narrow in the 2020 2021 fiscal years as the impacts of currency depreciation and other regulatory measures to curb imports set in.
Pakistan’s growth must be driven by investment and productivity, said Illango Patchamuthu, the World Bank’s country director for Pakistan.

The report noted that it is “entirely possible for Pakistan to transform its regulatory environment and reduce the cost of doing business”.

But it said that reforms to improve tax administration and widen the tax base are critical on the revenue front.

Over the adjustment period and beyond, actions outlined in the recently announced Ehsaas Program can protect the poor and vulnerable through social safety nets and safeguarding public spending on health and education, it added.

Follow SAMAA English on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

https://www.samaa.tv/money/2019/04/pakistans-2020-economic-growth-to-slow-to-2-7-world-bank/

Sometimes you have to take 1 step back to take 2 forwards.
WB is doing an info warfare.. this is all part of the hybrid warfare..after they have failed to achieve their objectives on ground..TTP gone, PTM ineffective, BLA, BRA defeated.. and now KSA Russia are investing heavily besides China while Malaysia and many other countries are planning to invest heavily....so Pakistanis should use their brains cells to understand how butthurt your enemy is. Why do you think India staged the Pullwama and tried to attack Pakistan overtly after 1971?

WB is doing an info warfare.. this is all part of the hybrid warfare..after they have failed to achieve their objectives on ground..TTP gone, PTM ineffective, BLA, BRA defeated.. and now KSA Russia are investing heavily besides China while Malaysia and many other countries are planning to invest heavily....so Pakistan should use their brains cells to understand how butthurt your enemy is? Why do you think Indian staged the Pullwama and tried to attack Pakistan overtly after 1971?

The short sightedness of people is being exploited. All this hype over 8 months. We get twice daily updates, claim and counter claim, all distracting and confusing the awam.

I think all judgement should be reserved for the next general election.

World bank and IMF have underforeasted Pakistan growth in the past but they are correct in that it will some time for the change in direction to work.

The short sightedness of people is being exploited. All this hype over 8 months. We get twice daily updates, claim and counter claim, all distracting and confusing the awam.

I think all judgement should be reserved for the next general election.
SlNAnhV.png

Better real 2.7% growth than fake 7%
Most countries lie. Growth rates are estimates. Many things are not considered. If a women places hers kids in child care, that counts for GDP stats. But a woman that stays home to take care of her children is not counted in GDP.

Stats can be manipulated to get attention from foreign investors. India and Bangladesh are doing it why not us.

Most countries lie. Growth rates are estimates. Many things are not considered. If a women places hers kids in child care, that counts for GDP stats. But a woman that stays home to take care of her children is not counted in GDP.

Stats can be manipulated to get attention from foreign investors. India and Bangladesh are doing it why not us.
I was refering to fake growth rate projections in nawaz gov time that was all artificial.

Pakistan Tehrik-e-Baqwas is to blame for all this.

Na khud kuchh kar saktay hain (except dharnas), na doosro ko kuchh karnay daitay hain.

yes you right but you forgot to mention Pti is also responsible for isis, ww1, ww2, 90 billion loan and your birth too..get a life and take your head out of your butt hole kohta patwari...

I remember discussing with some guys on this forum back in 2014 how Chinese investments/loans dont seem to be structured in a way beneficial for Pakistan. The argument ended mostly by my Pakistani counterparts telling me to wait for 2019 when CPEC would start giving returns and growth would be 10% +.

My immature side wishes i could rub their faces in this. Sadly they have left and I miss them.

yes you right but you forgot to mention Pti is also responsible for isis, ww1, ww2, 90 billion loan and your birth too..get a life and take your head out of your butt hole kohta patwari...
Baqra Eid mein tou abhi time hai leken apnay tou isko abhi se hi zibah kardiya :partay::partay::partay:

na doosro ko kuchh karnay daitay hain.

Dosry , jinka kaam tha khaana or lgaana... i guess kuch ziada he khaa gaye ky unka pait adaalto ko awazy dene lg gia instead of Hospital...

Acha un sb ko choro. Tmhy kon kia ni krne de raha wo btao.. tmha masla hal krny ki koshish krty hh hm.

Sometimes you have to take 1 step back to take 2 forwards.
Nice way to justify this crisis created by MR ASAD UMAR where was this logic when dar was finance minister stop this double standard. Asad umar should be sacked.