Opinion: Pakistan must become an authoritarian state to progress

Now coming back to the Topic at hand. We need to carefully analyse the past and present of the country. Facts like;

-demographics
-Literacy
-Culture
-Religion
-Economic system and Duration of economic progress

And so forth.

One thing is certain, Western 'democracy' is NOT suited to people of Pakistan because people here are culturally, religiously, and literacy-wise different. And most important of all - Pakistan people LACK DISCIPLINE AND ORGANISATION. An example of this is the most Pakistan developed was under Ayub Khan, because there was discipline and organisation provided to the people by a Top Military Man. Another example is Singapore where a person of immense authority turned this small city into an ECONOMIC POWER HOUSE IN THIS WORLD.

So what Pakistan needs is a system that imposes Discipline and Organisation, and DEMOCRACY IS CERTAINLY NOT THAT SYSTEM.

Indeed, you and @Aspen are on to something. This is the crux of the whole problem.

When a system is dysfunctional, it is time to explore other options.

I would also recommend looking to our neighbors to the north and our tribals in regards to jirga system to resolve disputes. Throughout our history, the Qazi was one of the most important aspects of our Islamic culture.

Perhaps it is time that Pakistan lives up to its constitution and Islam takes center stage, not just as a state religion, but a political, economic, and social system.

I feel strongely that Imran Khan is the last chance for this system, if he failed, we have no choice but to accept military government to reform our society and hunt the snakes within.

If that fails, there is no choice except French revolution type of change.

Indeed, you and @Aspen are on to something. This is the crux of the whole problem.

I would also recommend looking to our neighbors to the north and our tribals in regards to jirga system to resolve disputes. Throughout our history, the Qazi was one of the most important aspects of our Islamic culture.

Perhaps it is time that Pakistan lives up to its constitution and Islam takes center stage, not just as a state religion, but a political, economic, and social system.

I feel strongely that Imran Khan is the last chance for this system, if he failed, we have no choice but to accept military government to reform our society and hunt the snakes within.

Albert Einstein -- "The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results."

And this has been the sad history of Pakistan - doing the same stuff over and over again. So the biggest and undeniable message is that Pakistan needs to DO THINGS DIFFERENTLY. The existing system of government is a burden on progress and prosperity of a COMMON MAN BUT IT IS A HEAVEN FOR THE CORRUPTS AND POWERFUL. This is a country of 250 Million and if this system is not changed NOW to provide discipline and organisation to people of Pakistan, I am afraid there is going to be severe unrest and severe uprisings which no power in Pakistan would be able to manage or control.

I am absolutely shocked and astounded that the Powerful Establishment which includes the Military do not comprehend the huge devastating implications waiting for them if the system is not changed right NOW!!

I agree Majilis/Jirga and Qazi are something that is sorely lacking in today's Pakistan. Ironically, this is a common feature in authoritarian governments of the Persian Gulf.

One benefit of authoritarian governments is the fact that they can centralize power and silence any infighting to focus on a single objective. Democracies get so lost trying to fight other politicians that none of them can work together towards a single objective, let alone have a Jirga or Majilis type discussion where they can see others as human.

Frankly, Pakistan on its current path is doomed. There, I said it.

I like what Imran Khan is doing, but its not enough. It's seriously not enough. I feel like Pakistan is the Titanic and we're heading for an iceberg. Captain is trying to turn the ship but it's not working.

Imran Khan's reforms are nice but they're cosmetic. Pakistan has huge problems and he is not tackling these problems. Some judges in the judiciary are corrupt to the core and they need to be shot. Tax collection is a huge problem, gov't is still allowing people to get away with not paying tax. 90% of Pakistan's economic problems would be solved if they just fixed tax issue for God's sake. But Imran Khan surrounded by all his fools still can't realize this basic fact. It took a plane crash where almost 100 people died for gov't to wake up and realize that PIA needed reforms. Army is beyond incompetent with COAS Bajwa making calls to corrupt Shabbaz Sharif and Sheikh Rasheed instead of looking after front line in Kashmir. How the hell has Pakistan has not started using drones and cyber warfare against India?

There is extreme incompetence and jaw dropping mismanagement in the gov't, and if Imran Khan is the best we've got, Pakistan is in big trouble. Imran Khan is nice but he does not have what it takes to fix the desperate situation in this country. Look at the people IK has surrounded himself with. Pakistan cannot be fixed with these people.

Fixing Pakistan will require a leader who is not afraid to make enemies in the gov't and piss off powerful institutions like Army and Judiciary. There are a lot of people in judiciary and army who deserve jail time or death for how they have betrayed Pakistan so an example can be made to teach the rest of the country a lesson to wake up.

There are huge problems in Pakistan that cannot be fixed without a radical change in governance structure. Pakistan needs a leader who has unrestricted power to fix any aspect of the country because that is the only way to reform Pakistan in a timeframe that we will be alive to see the results.

Democracy is the ideal institution of choice for the elites and mafias of Pakistan. The corrupt class love democracy more than anything else because it is the easiest to exploit and raze the country to the ground. Democracy cannot enforce a thing, their laws are as weak as wet paper, the powerful can get away with anything, justice doesn't exist. An authoritarian state in Pakistan is needed so that people will fear and listen to the government or face consequences. Tax evasion needs a harsh punishment and corrupt judges should be shot on live TV to stamp this stupid mentality out of judiciary. If you do not enforce punishment, Pakistanis will never listen and exploit the weaknesses of democracy like they are doing today.

Power struggle in democracy distracts a single leader from carrying out reforms. You need a powerful leader in charge who makes decisions based on a view of the whole country. Pakistan needs somebody in control, in democracies, no one is in control since everyone is fighting each other. Having a strong and powerful leader is important, no country can succeed without it. If Pakistan wants to progress, we must accept this fact.

If you want to fix Pakistan, you can not fix it with democracy because there are too many enemies within Pakistan who want to hurt it, and democracy gives power to these enemies. An authoritarian Pakistan will not give any breathing space to internal enemies of Pakistan and has the ability to unilaterally fix these problems without resistance that a democracy does not have.

All the successful countries in the world developed to high level and then transitioned from authoritarian system to democracy when development was finished. Pakistan screwed up by doing democracy first and then trying to develop later. No country in the world can develop in less than 100 years with a democracy. Pakistan should’ve had authoritarian system since 1947, then when it is finished developing, then switch to democracy after 2047. Democracy slows everything down and does not allow any major reforms, real reforms to develop a country need very strong leadership and only an authoritarian system in the beginning of a country’s history can implement it in a feasible way. If you wait too long, it becomes very difficult, especially in a democracy where there is resistance to any kind of change. That is why all the successful countries in the world start with authoritarian system to rapidly develop the country in the beginning, then when development is finished, they switch to democracy when no more major reforms are needed. Pakistan has democracy first but not reforms, it is the worst situation to be in because you have not finished reforms and it is hard to start them in a democracy. Pakistan adopted democracy way too early before it was ready. Democracy assumes people can vote are educated, a lot of people in Pakistan are not educated and it results in people voting for things that are bad for the country. Pakistan should have followed the model of the rest of the world, finish major reforms under authoritarian system, when that is finished, transition to democracy when all the reforms are done.

I have no hope for the future of Pakistan as long as it is a weak democracy. Dark days are ahead. Pakistan needs a leader with self confidence who knows they can run the country to take control and do the job with an iron fist. There is no reason to wait for more failure and incompetence. Pakistan needs a strong and decisive leader to seize control by force and change the fortunes of this country for the better with real and decisive action in a completely new direction. Pakistan needs a new centralized power structure and biggest reforms since 1947 to fix the country and pick up where Jinnah left off after he died early. We need a visionary leader, I pray to Allah (SWT) that some future leader has the strength to eliminate the internal enemies of Pakistan and help lift this nation out of these dark and deeply troubling times.

I agree Majilis/Jirga and Qazi are something that is sorely lacking in today's Pakistan. Ironically, this is a common feature in authoritarian governments of the Persian Gulf.

One benefit of authoritarian governments is the fact that they can centralize power and silence any infighting to focus on a single objective. Democracies get so lost trying to fight other politicians that none of them can work together towards a single objective, let alone have a Jirga or Majilis type discussion where they can see others as human.

Frankly, Pakistan on its current path is doomed. There, I said it.

I like what Imran Khan is doing, but its not enough. It's seriously not enough. I feel like Pakistan is the Titanic and we're heading for an iceberg. Captain is trying to turn the ship but it's not working.

Imran Khan's reforms are nice but they're cosmetic. Pakistan has huge problems and he is not tackling these problems. Some judges in the judiciary are corrupt to the core and they need to be shot. Tax collection is a huge problem, gov't is still allowing people to get away with not paying tax. 90% of Pakistan's economic problems would be solved if they just fixed tax issue for God's sake. But Imran Khan surrounded by all his fools still can't realize this basic fact. It took a plane crash where almost 100 people died for gov't to wake up and realize that PIA needed reforms. Army is beyond incompetent with COAS Bajwa making calls to corrupt Shabbaz Sharif and Sheikh Rasheed instead of looking after front line in Kashmir. How the hell has Pakistan has not started using drones and cyber warfare against India?

There is extreme incompetence and jaw dropping mismanagement in the gov't, and if Imran Khan is the best we've got, Pakistan is in big trouble. Imran Khan is nice but he does not have what it takes to fix the desperate situation in this country. Look at the people IK has surrounded himself with. Pakistan cannot be fixed with these people.

Fixing Pakistan will require a leader who is not afraid to make enemies in the gov't and piss off powerful institutions like Army and Judiciary. There are a lot of people in judiciary and army who deserve jail time or death for how they have betrayed Pakistan so an example can be made to teach the rest of the country a lesson to wake up.

There are huge problems in Pakistan that cannot be fixed without a radical change in governance structure. Pakistan needs a leader who has unrestricted power to fix any aspect of the country because that is the only way to reform Pakistan in a timeframe that we will be alive to see the results.

Democracy is the ideal institution of choice for the elites and mafias of Pakistan. The corrupt class love democracy more than anything else because it is the easiest to exploit and raze the country to the ground. Democracy cannot enforce a thing, their laws are as weak as wet paper, the powerful can get away with anything, justice doesn't exist. An authoritarian state in Pakistan is needed so that people will fear and listen to the government or face consequences. Tax evasion needs a harsh punishment and corrupt judges should be shot on live TV to stamp this stupid mentality out of judiciary. If you do not enforce punishment, Pakistanis will never listen and exploit the weaknesses of democracy like they are doing today.

Power struggle in democracy distracts a single leader from carrying out reforms. You need a powerful leader in charge who makes decisions based on a view of the whole country. Pakistan needs somebody in control, in democracies, no one is in control since everyone is fighting each other. Having a strong and powerful leader is important, no country can succeed without it. If Pakistan wants to progress, we must accept this fact.

If you want to fix Pakistan, you can not fix it with democracy because there are too many enemies within Pakistan who want to hurt it, and democracy gives power to these enemies. An authoritarian Pakistan will not give any breathing space to internal enemies of Pakistan and has the ability to unilaterally fix these problems without resistance that a democracy does not have.

All the successful countries in the world developed to high level and then transitioned from authoritarian system to democracy when development was finished. Pakistan screwed up by doing democracy first and then trying to develop later. No country in the world can develop in less than 100 years with a democracy. Pakistan should’ve had authoritarian system since 1947, then when it is finished developing, then switch to democracy after 2047. Democracy slows everything down and does not allow any major reforms, real reforms to develop a country need very strong leadership and only an authoritarian system in the beginning of a country’s history can implement it in a feasible way. If you wait too long, it becomes very difficult, especially in a democracy where there is resistance to any kind of change. That is why all the successful countries in the world start with authoritarian system to rapidly develop the country in the beginning, then when development is finished, they switch to democracy when no more major reforms are needed. Pakistan has democracy first but not reforms, it is the worst situation to be in because you have not finished reforms and it is hard to start them in a democracy. Pakistan adopted democracy way too early before it was ready. Democracy assumes people can vote are educated, a lot of people in Pakistan are not educated and it results in people voting for things that are bad for the country. Pakistan should have followed the model of the rest of the world, finish major reforms under authoritarian system, when that is finished, transition to democracy when all the reforms are done.

I have no hope for the future of Pakistan as long as it is a weak democracy. Dark days are ahead. Pakistan needs a leader with self confidence who knows they can run the country to take control and do the job with an iron fist. There is no reason to wait for more failure and incompetence. Pakistan needs a strong and decisive leader to seize control by force and change the fortunes of this country for the better with real and decisive action in a completely new direction. Pakistan needs a new centralized power structure and biggest reforms since 1947 to fix the country and pick up where Jinnah left off after he died early. We need a visionary leader, I pray to Allah (SWT) that some future leader has the strength to eliminate the internal enemies of Pakistan and help lift this nation out of these dark and deeply troubling times.

Ameen brother, I have umeed in Allah swt alone. He is the one who is saving Pakistan again and again. We indeed have a divine purpose in history.

A military dictatorship may be the inevitable result if parasites N and PPP are not able to be properly dislodged from their host populations. Imran Khan can be seen as one last ditch effort to bring change from within the system, but that corrupt system has really hurdled pur ability to strive for justice.

@H. Dawary I know this is a favorite subject of yours. I don't remember if I tagged you here. Most of Pakistanis are hoping for a military dictatorship to solve the monumental structural problems Pakistan now faces.

Ameen brother, I have umeed in Allah swt alone. He is the one who is saving Pakistan again and again. We indeed have a divine purpose in history.

A military dictatorship may be the inevitable result if parasites N and PPP are not able to be properly dislodged from their host populations. Imran Khan can be seen as one last ditch effort to bring change from within the system, but that corrupt system has really hurdled pur ability to strive for justice.

@H. Dawary I know this is a favorite subject of yours. I don't remember if I tagged you here. Most of Pakistanis are hoping for a military dictatorship to solve the monumental structural problems Pakistan now faces.

Military has even bigger crooks than Politicians. Zia , Musharraf , Kiani , Yahya Khan etc etc its a long list of incompetent and foolish generals. Authoritative government doesn't need to be from military . It has done enough damage to Pakistan as it is.

But Ayyub Khan :smitten:

Military rule was corrupt but at least they got stuff done. Civil gov't can't even dream of doing that.

You would be amazed how easy it is to fix a country when you get rid of democracy.

Military rule was corrupt but at least they got stuff done. Civil gov't can't even dream of doing that.

N league electioneering campaign was this slogan in Central Punjab, "Khata he lekin kaam bhi karta he." Lekin aa key, pure 5 saal qaum ko dhaba ke loota he. Becharey miskeen awaam pisgiye, ghorbat bhar gey he.

Ab Pakistan ki aise surat e hal he ke Imran Khan bhi ni theek kar sakta. Shayad koi aur tareeqa dhund na he, shayad koi waqti tor technocrat ki hakoomat sabit kar jaye fauj ke auspices me

You would be amazed how easy it is to fix a country when you get rid of democracy.

Normal societies don't have militaries as rulers . They have Authoritative governments but not Generals ruling the country. I don't know why Pakistani's have this fascination with Generals when they have done nothing but loot maar , killing , abuse of power and what not. Extremism of our society in the 80's is another gift of the military to the people of Pakistan. China has an authoritative government but its a civilian not a General leading the country.

But Ayyub Khan :smitten:

Nope. The guy was responsible for the downfall of fatima Jinnah , even compared her to a dog in the election campaign which he rigged . All these jarnails are good for nothing .

N league electioneering campaign was this slogan in Central Punjab, "Khata he lekin kaam bhi karta he." Lekin aa key, pure 5 saal qaum ko dhaba ke loota he. Becharey miskeen awaam pisgiye, ghorbat bhar gey he.

Ab Pakistan ki aise surat e hal he ke Imran Khan bhi ni theek kar sakta. Shayad koi aur tareeqa dhund na he, shayad koi waqti tor technocrat ki hakoomat sabit kar jaye fauj ke auspices me

Jisay saanp ne kaata hai usay taar ke tukre se bhi dar lagta hai

Jab badhaali ka lehar kisi ke upar charh jata hai, yahan tak ek jelly bhi uskay daant tor day ga

Normal societies don't have militaries as rulers . They have Authoritative governments but not Generals ruling the country. I don't know why Pakistani's have this fascination with Generals when they have done nothing but loot maar , killing , abuse of power and what not. Extremism of our society in the 80's is another gift of the military to the people of Pakistan. China has an authoritative government but its a civilian not a General leading the country.

It doesn't matter if its military authoritarian gov't or civilian authoritarian gov't.

Only thing that matters is that gov't has centralized power to execute orders without resistance

Fake opposition and corrupt judiciary in Pakistan are a nuisance. Once you get rid of them, reforms can be enacted in Pakistan effortlessly like a sharp knife on a lamb.

Jisay saanp ne kaata hai usay taar ke tukre se bhi dar lagta hai

Jab badhaali ka lehar kisi ke upar charh jata hai, yahan tak ek jelly bhi uskay daant tor day ga

It doesn't matter if its military authoritarian gov't or civilian authoritarian gov't.

Only thing that matters is that gov't has centralized power to execute orders without resistance

Fake opposition and corrupt judiciary in Pakistan are a nuisance. Once you get rid of them, reforms can be enacted in Pakistan effortlessly like a sharp knife on a lamb.

It does . Military rulers have a history of damaging Pakistan . I don't want another general coming to power and looting and Killing normal civilians again . In the end he will retire with whisky in his 100 acre farmhouse in Okara. You might be fond of living under fauji boot normal societies don't

Imagine your whole family getting killed for uttering a single word against the government, thats basically China.
I support that every country should choose their own unique way of governance which suit them the best, but you should not make up abysmal lies trying to justify your point, that'll make you sound like an utterly fool.

It does . Military rulers have a history of damaging Pakistan . I don't want another general coming to power and looting and Killing normal civilians again . In the end he will retire with whisky in his 100 acre farmhouse in Okara. You might be fond of living under fauji boot normal societies don't

If civilian authoritarian gov't is best option for Pakistan, then yes this should be implemented