One more: Pakistan Navy's touching gesture for terminally ill children

Xeric

RETIRED THINK TANK
March 23rd, 2011: The Pakistan Navy, in collaboration with Make-a-Wish Foundation, on Wednesday organized an impressive ceremony of granting the last wish of terminally ill children at Manora, in connection with Pakistan Day celebrations.

To make life memorable for the suffering children, Mohsin Mehmood(suffering from heart complications) and Noor Fatima(suffering from cancer) were dressed up in naval uniforms and provided with an opportunity to visit PN ships and hovercraft. On this occasion, the children were presented guard of honour.

Apart from this, the children also witnessed especially organised demonstration of different naval operations and tactical manoeuvres. These included weapons display and small arms firing, landing of men from helicopters, unarmed combat show, and fast boat recovery.

The PN's Commander Coast, Vice-Admiral Tayyab Ali Dogar, was the chief guest on this occasion who presented certificates and naval crests to the children. People from different walks of life were also present on the occasion to boost the morale of these young soldiers fighting the battle for their lives.

Yaar khuda kou chahiye k chotay bachoun kou aisay intihanoun mein na dalay..... Mera tou dil tout jata hai yeh dekh kar.

Sometimes ?
sometimes = above anything else

of course I am always proud to be a Pakistani but you know sometimes a mother tries to caress for his children little more even though she loves loves her child

Very nice gesture by PN mashallah may GOD bless these kids of ours .

Weather is going to change, positive sign.
Wind of change

Weather is going to change, positive sign.
Wind of change

Perhaps it would be more prudent to think of it as a publicity stunt to win back civilian support for the military. More so, since the davis incident and unchecked drone strikes managed to turn civilians against the military.

why has this program started? Not being rude or anything, I think this is great. But why right now?

Not being a pakistani however, i have no way of making any assertive statements. I was simply speculating as an observer. If my observation was incorrect please excuse me.

This is not a program or something. This initiative was primarily under taken by an NGO namely Make a Wish Foundation:
Make-A-Wish Foundation Pakistan
Make-A-Wish Foundation : National Home Page

It's an organization where children suffering from fatal diseases 'make a wish' and this foundation in turn contact that particular agency, company, institution, organization etc who can make the wish come true. These wishes are not restricted to the military only. Other wishes can include:
- Faiza Ghulam Nabi – I wish to be in a Cooking Show of my favourite TV Host Ms Shireen Anwar
- Saima Hussain – I wish to have Barbie Doll and Doll House
- Aqib Mustafa- I wish to have Personal Computer
- I wish to travel by Train

This are the few wishes that i have copied from their website, you can visit the site for more details.

Alternatively, there have been cases where children have approached the military DIRECTLY (though this case was process via the NGO) and the military has listened to them. Here are a few examples:
http://www.defence.pk/forums/land-forces/100461-pakistan-armys-first-female-pilot.html
http://www.defence.pk/forums/land-f...h-come-true-2-girls-thalassemia-join-ssg.html

And yes, this 'program' or 'move' have nothing to do with the timeline, so dont worry and there's no need to term it as a publicity stunt. These kind of things have happened in the past, for instance this case: http://www.defence.pk/forums/land-f...e-history-become-soldier-pakistan-army-5.html It happened in August 2010 and was sponsored by Make a Wish Foundation, then the Army had nothing to worry about.

Perhaps it would be more prudent to think of it as a publicity stunt to win back civilian support for the military. More so, since the davis incident and unchecked drone strikes managed to turn civilians against the military.

You misunderstand my post, so leave it. It was not about any support or something else.
BTW we ever will support army.
I appreciate navy initiatives.